Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calling in sick

• 27-09-2005 6:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭

Pighead has to admit that he has on occasion abused the whole "calling in sick"card when he simply couldnt be bothered to go into work.There i was lying in bed,not sick,not stressed out,not even hungover,simply not arsed.
    How does that make you feel,do you immediately think"what a waster that Pighead is"or are you reading this thinking "big deal pighead who doesnt do it"
    I was actually at home the other week on a sickie when i seen the two different reactions come into play.flatmates laughed and went " :rolleyes:" when they seen me come out of my room at midday still in my transformers PJ's but one of my flatmates friends looked aghast when he was told i'd called in sick without actually being sick.He went on to scold me saying i am costing the company and the country money and i could get sacked if i keep it up
    No..not really. Because I know the policy and I know that there is nothing they can do to me as long
    as I don't go against policy...
    Am i a workshy thief who is no better than a dole scrounger or am i merely exploiting a company who exploit me(ie crappy salary)

Abusing sick leave:right or wrong 88 votes

Ah i deserve an old day off every now and again
    0% 0 votes
    its totally wrong you workshy scrounger
    100% 88 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Sick days are great craic. Depends on your job I suppose, if you work for a decent boss/company the I suppose you wouldn't be as inclined to take sickies. When you work for corporate multinational slave drivers, then hell yeah, sickie all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Tis lazy tbh, lying makes baby jebus cry.

Also how can it be an "old" day off, you didnt book it in advance, in fact you just invented the day off in your lethargically lazy monday minded way..so really its a "new" day off.

Whoo 1500'th post ..I feel a new era coming on..

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

Whoo 1501 posts!!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Longfield wrote:
    Also how can it be an "old" day off, you didnt book it in advance, in fact you just invented the day off in your lethargically lazy monday minded way..so really its a "new" day off, "auld" changes everything tho if thats what you meant..

What was the point in posting that?

DaveMcG wrote:
    What was the point in posting that?

Not much tbh :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Longfield wrote:
    Tis lazy tbh, lying makes baby jebus cry.

Also how can it be an "old" day off, you didnt book it in advance, in fact you just invented the day off in your lethargically lazy monday minded way..so really its a "new" day off.

Whoo 1500'th post ..I feel a new era coming on..
    I'm glad you pulled me up on that actually,i detest bad grammar myself.Good man Longfield and many hearty congratulations on reaching your 1500 milestone,a truly momentuous feat.
    Anyway before Giblet starts shouting at me i'd better swiftly revert back to topic
    We all need a day off every once in a while, whether it's for a breather or just to have a personal mental healthy day. Life is hard and working the bulk of it isn't always fun so what the hell, we deserve to have sick days and personal days and no one should be hassled for taking them.

Just remember to take care of yourself and always put yourself first because no one else is going to, especially not your employer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I never pull sickies...I am cursed with some sort of bad luck that means any time I pick up a bug or flu-type thing I'm always FUBAR of a monday morning. My boss believes me (I think) but it does look suspicious.

I've went in to work in some sorry states due to the previous night being filled with drink or other substances, in the past...too mean to loose out a day's pay :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

Depends how often ya do it I suppose.
    Every now and again is grand but I really hate when the same people call in over and over quite frequently in work because ya just cant rely on them to be there when something needs doing.

Depends how many people work where you are too and how much responsibility is on ya , for instance if yer working somewhere where deadlines are an issue theres no point taking on somebody that goina call in every second week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

sickies are wrong no matter what

the corporate machine told me so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Sandals

even when your sick?, nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

I've had 2 sick days in the last 2 years and were when I was really physically unable to get out of bed.

To pighead : how is the company you are working for exploiting you? Are you earning minimum wage doing the ****tiest job in Ireland? If I were your employer I'd bash your door down and drag your sorry little ass into work and make you write out 1,000 lines "I must not lie, it is a sin" ,,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I like my job, so I don't see any reason to ring in sick. I'd only end up sitting at home wishing I was in work anyway.

alleepally wrote:
    I've had 2 sick days in the last 2 years and were when I was really physically unable to get out of bed.

To pighead : how is the company you are working for exploiting you? Are you earning minimum wage doing the ****tiest job in Ireland? If I were your employer I'd bash your door down and drag your sorry little ass into work and make you write out 1,000 lines "I must not lie, it is a sin" ,,,

Violence is not the answer.

(The Creative Zen Nomad Extra 30gb is no longer for sale; I sold it, to PowerhouseDan)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

alleepally wrote:
    To pighead : how is the company you are working for exploiting you?

All companies in business exploit their workers. They pay as little to the workers as possible and get them to work as hard as possible. That's good business acumen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Surely everybody here has fond memories of days when they were home sick: I remember Daddy Pighead making me hot butter and milk when I had a terrible cough.He used to call me his brave little soldier and i felt 10 ft tall. My mother was fantastic with her toast soldiers and her fried eggs that were just the right amount of runny.

My friend Kernel, remembers that on the days when he was sick, he could always count on his father to come home early from work with a puzzle for him. And who can forget jelly and ice cream in bed on those long sick days indoors
    And that to me is what sick days are all about. Give a child your warm heart and he'll get better, not only in his body, but in his soul. And so will you. Then you can return to work renewed, feeling better about yourself, your child, and everything in the world.

seamus wrote:
    I like my job, so I don't see any reason to ring in sick. I'd only end up sitting at home wishing I was in work anyway.

Ahem,
    Yeah I think most people feel the same way, good work.

Pighead wrote:
    Surely everybody here has fond memories of days when they were home sick: I remember Daddy Pighead making me hot butter and milk when I had a terrible cough.He used to call me his brave little soldier and i felt 10 ft tall. My mother was fantastic with her toast soldiers and her fried eggs that were just the right amount of runny.

My friend Kernel, remembers that on the days when he was sick, he could always count on his father to come home early from work with a puzzle for him. And who can forget jelly and ice cream in bed on those long sick days indoors
    And that to me is what sick days are all about. Give a child your warm heart and he'll get better, not only in his body, but in his soul. And so will you. Then you can return to work renewed, feeling better about yourself, your child, and everything in the world.

Pighead you are actually brilliant, your some man.

(The Creative Zen Nomad Extra 30gb is no longer for sale; I sold it, to PowerhouseDan)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Sandals wrote:
    Violence is not the answer.

It might do pighead some good :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Blondie86Star

Pighead wrote:

I remember those days! Ah memories....
    On the topic in hand I have only called in sick twice once was when I had theworst flu in the world,, missed 5 days cos of that, pretty pissed cos i need the money. The other time was when my ex boyf took me on a surprise weekend away, it was the fri, i was workin on the sat, sun off, so had to pull a sickie.

Well worth it tho...

Sex, is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Blondie86Star

A lady never tells! ;)

I'm sure you're using your imagination tho! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

out sick since monday cause ive been on the piss since last wednesday. F*cking classic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I've had a few jobs where, if I didn't come in, someone else would have to do my workload too. In those cases there's no way I'd just stay at home!

but... if no-one "misses me" for a day or two, now that's different kettle altogether ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

best thing bout being your own boss you can call in sick whenever you damn well feel like it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Pighead wrote:
    There i was lying in bed,not sick,not stressed out,not even hungover,simply not arsed.
    Tbh Pighead, it sounds like you're bored with your job, it might be time to move on to new pastures. Maybe a change of scenery, new career, travel, feed starving kids in Africa, etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

seamus wrote:
    Congratulations, you've achieved the key factor in being happy in life: finding something you enjoy doing and getting paid to do it. Unfortunately, not all of us are as lucky...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Sickies are only wrong if other people rely on you. But if you have one of those vague jobs where you can spend weeks doing nothing (software tester, programmer, etc.) then a sickie is harmless. Working in a shop is a completely different story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭Dellgirl

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Pighead

Pighead...you make me cry for the ol' days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Sandals wrote:
    even when your sick?, nonsense.

where i work it is wrong to be sick even if you genuinely are and bring in a doctors cert to prove it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Sickies are ok, once there not abused and you rely on the people ringing in sick to do work as part of your team and then this puts pressure on you!!

I've been good this year and not pull any sickies (tho I've been sick alright, just not that bad!)

Sleepy wrote:
    Congratulations, you've achieved the key factor in being happy in life: finding something you enjoy doing and getting paid to do it. Unfortunately, not all of us are as lucky...
    I thought it was quite sad actually. I don't get paid as much as I should, and I'm not as important as I'd like to be, but I enjoy it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Pighead wrote:

You make me smile :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I've had 7 sick days this year, all of them i was incapable of work.

I could do with a day off but just can't coz of the days I've had this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

OMG , i must be a saint , In 5 nearly 6 years in the same job , I have only take 8 sick days ,6 of them this year and i was actually sick... i deserve an employee of the decade award

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭MR DAZ

Yeah but when your in work Joeface...you sit surfing boards all day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

Mr Daz .. am kettle , pot, black, :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

From an employers perspective, I am paying you a wage. It may not be the best wage, but if you don't like it feel free to go elsewhere.

I allow two paid sick days per year, if certified by a doctor. Not your old chum family doctor, but the company doctor, who I will send round to your sick-bed at no cost to you.

No cert, no pay. More than two days, no pay (except at my discretion). If I get three sick days from you with no cert in one year you are so fired. We put this in your contract at the beginning, so don't make out you didn't know.

Why should I pay you while you are not productive, and also pay someone else to do what you should have been doing?

We carefully monitor Monday morning absence in my company, and we keep track of lateness on Monday also. If you come in to work inebriated you are sent home, without pay, as being sick uncertifed.

I am your employer, not your mother. I am not exploiting you, I am *using* you, just as you are me, to earn a living.

In other words, get back to work you work-shy slacker!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭man-in-cognito

Once the initial phone call is out of the way, it's grand. It's trying to sound convincing on the phone that's the stumbling block for me.

I used to call in sick a lot, but I don't anymore, in fact, not unless I'm genuinely sick. Main reason is my department is understaffed and it puts a lot of pressure on the others if one of us is out.

MIC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

there is no point taking sickies nowadays. Daytime t.v. is just not as good as it used to be.

Havent taken a sickie in years, always felt guilty taking one if i did. Though if it ever goes back to having to work 12 hour days again i wouldnt feel so bad as i dont get overtime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

From an employers perspective, I am paying you a wage. It may not be the best wage, but if you don't like it feel free to go elsewhere.

I allow two paid sick days per year, if certified by a doctor. Not your old chum family doctor, but the company doctor, who I will send round to your sick-bed at no cost to you.

No cert, no pay. More than two days, no pay (except at my discretion). If I get three sick days from you with no cert in one year you are so fired. We put this in your contract at the beginning, so don't make out you didn't know.

Why should I pay you while you are not productive, and also pay someone else to do what you should have been doing?

We carefully monitor Monday morning absence in my company, and we keep track of lateness on Monday also. If you come in to work inebriated you are sent home, without pay, as being sick uncertifed.

I am your employer, not your mother. I am not exploiting you, I am *using* you, just as you are me, to earn a living.

On reading the threatening post, Ferdi went under the desk to hide.

Sounds reasonable, if a little lacking in compassion. For smaller companies, uncertified sick days or "duvet days" are quite literally putting the company at risk. For big corporates, they just reduce the profit a little.

I don't do it purely because if I don't want to be in work, why don't I just go find a new job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I assume you accept specialist's certs? Seeing that your company doctor wouldn't be qualified to assess the case properly tbh.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I am your employer, not your mother.

Thankfully you're neither. I'd say the atmosphere is fantastic at your place, yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭bottlerocket

Pighead wrote:
    My mother was fantastic with her toast soldiers and her fried eggs that were just the right amount of runny.

Gotta go with pighead on this one and also thank him for solving the conundrum of what to eat on my (legitimate) afternoon off. Although my eggs weren't quite so perfect. Perhaps I need some of mama pigheads home cooking tips.

Sick days are fine if you don't take the piss but if your company treat you like crap its probably a little more justifiable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Shinners21

I pull the odd sickie, mainly for hangovers etc... I know its wrong but everyone does it!! :rolleyes: :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Thankfully you're neither. I'd say the atmosphere is fantastic at your place, yeah?

Yeah, sounds sh*te all right! :D

But this is the letter of the law rather than how it is applied. Nobody in our company has yet been let go for breaching these rules - we have to be understanding of people too, but staff have to understand we are (very small company) in business and that jeopardising our profits means endagering everybody's job, mine included.

Our staff don't generally take the pi*s (or if they do they do it very well!) so we treat them well, Christmas bonus, off early for the match/concert etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭limbovski

I've pulled 4.5 random sick days in the last month. By random I mean I wasnt sick, its just that I didnt feel like going in. I heard yesterday we are 'allowed' about 12 days a year. My next question is can we take them all in the one go? :D

The underlying motivation here is that firstly I'm leaving the place anyway so its true I have started to kinda take the p*ss. Also no-one would miss me even in the slightest.

However at the moment I actually am sick and I cant call in sick because theres taking the piss and theres TAKING THE PISS. so yup a bit of boy who cried wolf syndrome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

Most large companies has a policy has of 2 USL before they dock your salary. Certified Sick leave is usually paid but usually theres a maximum number of days you can take in the year.

One piece of advice. If you "take" a USL, especially on a very sunny day. Do not go driving around in a sportscar with the roof off and the shades on. It leaves a very wierd sunburn/tan line that nigh impossible to explain. I mean how can you get sunburnt only on your head, and then not around the eyes, while sick. Think Ferris Bueller.. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

the trick to doing it is knowing the Hr plicy (how many days b4 they send u to a doc) and looking a bit poorly the day before (sudocrem under the eyes, vic inhaler dabbed also works). I only do it cos they wont let me have unpaid leave and besides the managers do it. They told us we had no days off at end of year so im sitting there dying of flu and the director calls in sick cmon lads! but if yer off 3 days in 6 months ya have to sign warnings and stuff grrr to really pull a proper sicky, get to know a doctor who wille asilty write you a note and take 2 or 3 days!

I have been late once or twice because I really wasnt capable of getting out of bed with a hangover..but did on those very rare occassions (maybe once a year) make it in by midday and somehow made it through the afternoon semi productively.

I once called in on a sickie when i was on a night shift back in the day when i was a burger flipper in McDonalds about 14 years ago as there was a party on in someones house that night.
    I knew the boss didn't believe me (I'm a TERRIBLE liar) but what could he do (am very rarely sick)..I still feel a little guilty about it to this day! When I was young it was good craic working there and I really did enjoy being the "grill" king so probably thats where the guilt part comes in.