Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spiderman 3 villans revealed!!

• 27-09-2005 1:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭

Kirsten Dunst lets slip the villans in Spideman 3.
    During an interview this weekend promoting Elizabethtown, Kirsten Dunst confirmed rumors to Zap2it that Thomas Haden Church will play Sandman and Topher Grace is Venom in director Sam Raimi's Spider-Man 3, opening in theaters on May 4, 2007.
    "We have really great people though as the villains in this film, Thomas Haden Church and Topher Grace -- Venom and Sandman," said Dunst, who plays Mary Jane Watson in the Spidey films.
    "Maybe I wasn't supposed to say that," she added before reversing her claim. "It's the other way around. You're right," she conceded to a journalist.
    Dunst has yet to receive a script for the third film that will begin shooting in January. "But I know the general story. There's a lot that they're trying to fit into this one."

Venom and Sandman eh. :D
    They would both look amazing on the big screen. Not sure how they will fit into the movie though with Harry on the verge of following his fathers footsteps. Maybe Venom will just be Eddie Brock until near the end of the movie when he finally becomes Venom. That'd be a good cliffhanger for Spiderman 4. I'd prefer Sandman to be the main villan with maybe Harry pulling the strings behind the scenes. I'd rather have Venom/Eddie as a secondary character so he can be used in Spidey 4 (if they make it).

Nothing official has been confirmed by Marvel, Raimi or Sony so it could just be Dunst getting all mixed up. I think she said earlier in the year that Lizard was going to be the villan. Take the news with a pinch of salt until something official is released.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭mycroft

Nothing official has been confirmed by Marvel, Raimi or Sony so it could just be Dunst getting all mixed up. I think she said earlier in the year that Lizard was going to be the villan. Take the news with a pinch of salt until something official is released.

Hmmm this comic sums up my opinion of Kirsten Dunst and the Spiderman Franchise

20040716l.jpg

Though she redeemed herself with that fantastic "go get em tiger" at the end of two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭_Turismo4

I was hoping they would introduce Venom in the third instalment, it will be interesting to see the FX involved.
    also we could see spide in black!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Rcuomo

yea peter will probably get the venom suit in this one and ditch it towards the end where brock takes it over...brock hasnt even been introduced into it yet (only in name) and the film would have to fit alot in to do the sandman origin and venom/brock origin too...cant wait to see spidey in the venom suit, it will rock im sure. i have trust in sam raimi.

whats with all the kirsten dunst hating going on?
    i think she's perfect for mj...she's also hot and a good actress to boot...

As far as I know the Black suit spide wears is a space Xenomorph, and if memory serves me right, it takes over parkers mind.
    blacksuit.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Rcuomo

yea, and parker realises it's trying to take him over so he ditches it, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

I heard the Lizard was to be in it too, to be played by Dylan Baker.

And they're gonna need some serious fx to make Topher Grace a convincing Venom, he was always much bigger than Spidy was'nt he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

I'd say they are going for the Ultimate Venom look (very much the same build as Spiderman).
    Personally I reckon Spiderman might get the suit and use it to fight Sandman. Then he'll realise it's taking him over and ditch it. Eddie Brock will have to be introduced in this one and it'd be cool to have the final shot of 3 be him bonding with the suit to create Venom. That'd be a sweet setup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Here's some good intros for Venom and Sandman for those who are unfamiliar with them.

http://www.spiderfan.org/characters/sandman.html

http://www.spiderfan.org/characters/venom.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Rozie

I've heard Chameleon and Green Goblin 2, as well.

Though there were a lot of rumours that it was going t be both Venom and Sandman - so I wouldn't discount it. It's a bizaree mix though; I would have gone for Venom and Carnage; Venom and a new character, or Venom and Green Goblin 2/Hobgoblin.

3 is way too early for Carnage though - they need to save him and not blow all the symbiote stuff in one go. Then again, saving him could be the same trick twice which most comics book movies don't do.

But the Symbiote stuff is too big not to...

Hard to know, really.

Even if it's likely to be wrong, Venom and Sandman is the only "official" word we have, which is a shame. Because if she's wrong again, there's no Venom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Hmm... Venom is definetly the obvious choice for the third film, but I kinda think that the whole villian double-feature is a little unnessicary. It's usually the mark of the Batman films now, but I do get a sense of "Me too!" coming from changing the format from 1 to 2 baddies. I don't see the point at all.

Anyway, enough of the old ranting, because according to imdb.com, both Thomas Haden Church and Topher Grace have been cast, so I think the quote from Kirtin Dunst is fairly spot on. Personally I think Church is an excellent piece of casting for the role of Brock/Venom, he should be excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

I really can't see Topher Grace playing Venom. Having just looked him up on google he doesn't fit at all IMO. Although in saying that, I'm not familiar with the Ultimate series at all so hopefully it will work.
    Still though...there's something not quite right with a skinny little Venom the same build as Spiderman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

Can't wait for this.

Creature wrote:
    I really can't see Topher Grace playing Venom. Having just looked him up on google he doesn't fit at all IMO.

Well, in the original post the quote went "the villains in this film, Thomas Haden Church and Topher Grace -- Venom and Sandman" which seems to be indicating that Chuch is Venom, and Grace is the Sandman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

I cant be a co-incidence that theyve hired Topher Grace. He's the image of Toby McGuire!

Well, in the original post the quote went "the villains in this film, Thomas Haden Church and Topher Grace -- Venom and Sandman" which seems to be indicating that Chuch is Venom, and Grace is the Sandman.

Well then that'd be just as bad seeing as Sandman is just as big as Venom! Anyway according to here its the other way around.

Creature wrote:
    Well then that'd be just as bad seeing as Sandman is just as big as Venom! Anyway according to here its the other way around.

Hmm... That's a pickle so, but I'm actually hoping Church is Venom, and not the other way around. Just as long as they don't **** up Venom, I don't care what happens with Sandman.

If you reread the snipit, Kirsten Dunst corrects herself saying its the other way around. Topher Grace is Venom, Church is Sandman.
    Apparantly Topher Grace is on a big body building routine. If he bulks up a bit and they use a bit of CGI, I don't see a problem with him being Venom..
    Carnage would be WAY too much to put into 3. Save him for a later sequel.

They may be doing Venom similiar to Spiderman; a Wussy kid who gets big powers. I was never much of a fan of Brock anyway, but I love Venom. I wouldn't mind a "Redo" of the character.

It seems weird though. Tophar would have been a much better choice than Tobey, I think. The voice is much better, and Tobey's mannerisms annoy me. He's way too child like, and even after the Spider bite, doesn't stop being a total nerd.

Bacchus wrote:
    If you reread the snipit, Kirsten Dunst corrects herself saying its the other way around. Topher Grace is Venom, Church is Sandman.
    Apparantly Topher Grace is on a big body building routine. If he bulks up a bit and they use a bit of CGI, I don't see a problem with him being Venom..
    Carnage would be WAY too much to put into 3. Save him for a later sequel.

Actually, you're quite right. How silly of me. :o

From what I remember from the Comic Book, Flash Thompson (Joe Manganiello SpiderMan1) becomes Venom.
    Apparently he never got over MJ and he’s obsessed with her and the Suit somehow finds him..
    But from what I’ve read he’s not in the 3nd Film.

it's a shame he's not in it as he’d fit the part well.
    joem.jpg

Um, no, Eddie Brock becomes Venom... who's a reporter at the Daily Bugle.

Thought it was Thompson, could have swore i read that somewhere, ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

i could have swore sam rami made a big deal about *not* doing venom...ahh well still great news.

i could have swore sam rami made a big deal about *not* doing venom

Why...? That would be kind of stupid. Once he gets Venom out of the way, he'll have more freedom. And it leads the way to do Carnage and all the others. Carange is kind of the ultimate Spidey bad-guy, so it would be a shame not to have him somewhere in the movie series.

Green Goblin and Doc Ock had a strong personal impact on Peter, it seems to be how they're playing it. So Venom is perfect for that, and they'll probably use Sandman purely for the impressive CG and to have a "just a not particularily great guy" type bad guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

I'm not involved in this one I'm afraid. But I have been in the house they use as Peter Parkers in the movies on a few occasions.
    _Turismo4 wrote:
    I was hoping they would introduce Venom in the third instalment, it will be interesting to see the FX involved.
    also we could see spide in black!

You're thinking of the recent cartoon series I think.
    _Turismo4 wrote:
    Thought it was Thompson, could have swore i read that somewhere, ah well.

I can't see them doing the whold Secret Wars thing as to how Spidey got the venom suit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭K!LL!@N

I think it can be fairly certain that John Jameson, JJ Jameson's astronaut son, will be the one to bring back the Venom symbiote, unknowingly or otherwise.

I think we'll also see Harry Osborne take on the mantel of his father.

I would actually prefer to not see Venom in a starring in this instalment.
    Instead i'd rather see Harry Osborne's descent into madness and Sandman as the villain.

Also, what about Dr. Connors as Lizard?

With Spiderman using the Venom suit for a time but ultimately realising it's true intentions and Brock becoming Venom in the closing stages of the film.
    Although how they'll treat this i don't know, as it was originally Reed Richards from the Fantastic Four that seperated Spiderman and the symbiote.

Also, i think Topher Grace is far too small to make a convincing Venom.
    He would have been far more suited to play Carnage.
    I can't even see him being able to bulk up enough to pull it off.
    Venom has always been much bigger than Spiderman.

I guess we'll have to wait and see.

Killian

Certainly wrong more like. Spider Man was the one who brought the suit back to Earth. His original suit was destroyed while away in some part of the galaxy taking part in the Secret Wars and that's where he got the new suit. When he realised what the new suit was he got rid of it and that's when Eddie Brock got it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭K!LL!@N

In the context of the story so far and the limits a film places upon the story.
    They're not going to be able to do the whole Secret Wars storyline.
    I know the original back story of the symbiote and how he came to have it, i was just giving my interpretation of how they will handle the story in the confines of the next film.

Killian

Pic of Thomas Haden Church as Flint Marko aka Sandman.

Very impressive. He looks a lot different to what I expected, but in a good way. Good to see they've stuck with the old stripey green t-shirt too :P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

FX Meister wrote:
    Certainly wrong more like. Spider Man was the one who brought the suit back to Earth. His original suit was destroyed while away in some part of the galaxy taking part in the Secret Wars and that's where he got the new suit. When he realised what the new suit was he got rid of it and that's when Eddie Brock got it.
    Yes, but within the context of the movies Jameson's son is the only feasible way they could work in the suit coming from outer-space.

Either that or they could go with the lame Ultimate Spider-man origins where venom is originally a cure for cancer or something silly like that.

Personally I've never been a fan of the character of Venom... he seems to be very popular with kids though, so I guess that's why Rami has been pressured into including him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

what are the ods that they will introduce venom at the end of the movie, have him the main baddie in the next movie, and then do a spin off movie with carnage in it

madrab wrote:
    what are the ods that they will introduce venom at the end of the movie, have him the main baddie in the next movie, and then do a spin off movie with carnage in it

My thoughts exactly. They already have the whole Harry/Goblin thing to fit in as well and Sandman (who I expect to be the main villan in 3). I suspect Eddie Brock's character will be introduced in 3 and his hatred for Peter Parker developed. The suit will be discovered (possibly by Jameson's son) and won't feature much until the end where it bonds with Eddie or Peter. The way I see it, the Venom story will be left for the next movie/trilogy and this will be the setup for that.

Personally I'd love if Marvel made their movies (Spiderman, Hulk, X-Men, FF etc) in trilogies. For example, with Spiderman I'd like this kind of setup.....

Finish this trilogy by completing Harry's story (becoming the Green Goblin/ redeeming himself etc). It would bring things full circle and feel like a complete story. Then they could go on to make a second trilogy with a new cast and director (although I'd love Raimi to stay onboard) involving the Venom storyline.

S1 -> S3 : Harry's path to the Green Goblin ending with some sort of final redemption by saving Peter from... say Sandman. Perfect. Also set up Venom for the next trilogy by finding the suit/introducing Eddie Brock.

S4: Peter gets the suit and deals with this. Meanwhile, build Eddies hatred toward Peter. Throw in The Lizard for good measure. The already have the setup in place for Lizard and he would be a difficult foe for Spiderman considering he'll be having problems with the Venom suit. End with Peter rejecting the suit/ locking it away/whatever
    S5: This one could concentrate on a new villan (much like S2 did) and have Eddie Brock in the background, slowly building up his story. Throw in a villan, maybe bring back Doc Oc or Rhino. End with Eddie finding the suit and bonding with it.
    S6: Full on Venom vs Spiderman. The story should be fleshed out enough by now so Venoms rage should be understandable. Need another villan though cos Venom doesn't have a grand plan, just revenge. Maybe bring in Hob Goblin or something aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

Bacchus wrote:
    My thoughts exactly. They already have the whole Harry/Goblin thing to fit in as well and Sandman (who I expect to be the main villan in 3). I suspect Eddie Brock's character will be introduced in 3 and his hatred for Peter Parker developed. The suit will be discovered (possibly by Jameson's son) and won't feature much until the end where it bonds with Eddie or Peter. The way I see it, the Venom story will be left for the next movie/trilogy and this will be the setup for that.

Personally I'd love if Marvel made their movies (Spiderman, Hulk, X-Men, FF etc) in trilogies. For example, with Spiderman I'd like this kind of setup.....

Finish this trilogy by completing Harry's story (becoming the Green Goblin/ redeeming himself etc). It would bring things full circle and feel like a complete story. Then they could go on to make a second trilogy with a new cast and director (although I'd love Raimi to stay onboard) involving the Venom storyline.

S1 -> S3 : Harry's path to the Green Goblin ending with some sort of final redemption by saving Peter from... say Sandman. Perfect. Also set up Venom for the next trilogy by finding the suit/introducing Eddie Brock.

S4: Peter gets the suit and deals with this. Meanwhile, build Eddies hatred toward Peter. Throw in The Lizard for good measure. The already have the setup in place for Lizard and he would be a difficult foe for Spiderman considering he'll be having problems with the Venom suit. End with Peter rejecting the suit/ locking it away/whatever
    S5: This one could concentrate on a new villan (much like S2 did) and have Eddie Brock in the background, slowly building up his story. Throw in a villan, maybe bring back Doc Oc or Rhino. End with Eddie finding the suit and bonding with it.
    S6: Full on Venom vs Spiderman. The story should be fleshed out enough by now so Venoms rage should be understandable. Need another villan though cos Venom doesn't have a grand plan, just revenge. Maybe bring in Hob Goblin or something aswell.

That would be brilliant!! Unfortunately they dont care how the story gets told just as long as it makes money Look at the Hulk or worse the Punisher *me shudders.

Sony pictures have released the very first pic. = Can't wait to see more!!!
    tchurch.jpgSony Pictures

Interesting link,To what Spidy 3 could look like?.

imdb Has Confirmed Venom
    Tobey Maguire .... Peter Parker/Spider-Man
    Kirsten Dunst .... Mary Jane Watson
    Thomas Haden Church .... Sandman
    James Franco .... Harry Osborn
    Topher Grace .... Venom
    Dylan Baker .... Dr. Curt Connors
    Elizabeth Banks .... Betty Brant

_Turismo4 wrote:
    That's amazingly naff looking.

The Sandman looks great though.

That's amazingly naff looking.

The Sandman looks great though.
    I know :( ’’ poorly done: But is cool to see Spidy in Black.

Sheeesh... just noticed this isn't due out until May 2007.

We're in for a bit of a wait. Hopefully they'll have more time to a better job on the CGI this time around.

I was just reading that Theresa Russell has been cast as Mrs. Marko, wife of Flint Marko also known as the Sandman (Thomas Haden)
    Good choice.

russel.gif

From what I've read on the sony site, spidy is wearing a new black suit in SM3, but it doesn’t look like the one from the comic books.
    Looks more like the same design as the blue and red one...

Anyone hear more on this?
    spiderman3copy.jpg
    http://spiderman.sonypictures.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭master_kennette

Black suit was worn by spiderman before Brock the Venom wears it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

bump bump bump

venom in all his glory captured highly illegally

quality is awful but you can see that venom has been restored to his full glorious self. i am now officially excited by a 3 second gif image of leaked footage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭nialldinho

any chance you can copy the gif and post it here?

i really can't be bothered registering for another forum that i will never use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

Ah wasted two mins of my life signing up to see something that could be anything!!!!!!!
    Poor quailty!!!?!?!?!?!? Dont bother watching this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

lol sorry, didn't realise you had to register.. see attachment

Lots of pics from aint it cool:

CCsandmanposter.jpg
    CCmjposter.jpg
    CCgwenposter.jpg
    CCbrockposter.jpg
    CCharryposter.jpg

Lots of info too:
    http://www.aintitcool.com/display.cgi?id=23949

Contains spoilers though.

Nice pics.

I see Sandman is protecting someone (MJ?) in the first pic. Whats the bets he turns out to be the hero at some stage by saving the city from Evil Spidey. That would be cool. I reckon Sandman will turn out to be a better 'villain' than Venom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Brow

In that picture with Sandman the person behind him is holding a bear or something. Maybe its his kid if he has one? Maybe he'll be a tragic villian of some kind.

He was always going on about his sick mother in the comic books... maybe they've changed it to a sick child.