Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near Misses

• 25-09-2005 7:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭

Playing on the first hole today, a ball landed about 2 metres away with no call of 'fore' as i was walking towards the green. I was a bit shocked at this but the worst was to come when i was about to take my putt, the call came 'fore right'. I covered my head but the ball was (no exaggeration) a few inches from hitting my head. I said to the guy thanks for the call but it nearly hit my head. He never apologised either which was annoying. :mad: so anybody else any near misses? or actually gotten hit before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

yeah, i've been hit. but then again i've almost hit others (I've no real depth perception :eek: :o ) when i got a new driver and was blasting 25 yards further than normal and didn't really cop on to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

True story - My m8 lived in a golfing estate, they have the houses lined up on either side of the fairway.
    We walked out the house and onto the rough, turned around to see to guys driving off in the distance. I could not make out where the ball had gone until it hit me square on my forehead :o . I dropped to the floor but was ok.
    To this day i dont think the guys new they hit me, we just ran for it :D.
    Such a funny episode, my m8 was killing himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭randomfella

I always thought it would do more damage than just a sore head? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Ye i was also a bit worried i might just pass out later or something crazy. It was a solid connection to the forehead, kinda knocked me off my feet. I wonder what the odds are of getting hit on the forehead by a golf ball :D .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭soma

I'm amazed the ball didnt split the skin on your forehead open.. it's not hard to considering the thin layer of skin lying on your tough skull..

..I got hit dead-centre in the back with a golf ball years ago, and damn it hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭randomfella

In the back of the head or the temple could be fatal i'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

I've heard of someone who as blinded in one eye after being hit by a ball through their glasses.....they reckon he would have been killed if the glasses hadn't taken the impact of the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭css

My nearest miss was feeling the air vortexes of a ball brush the back of my neck as it wizzed by..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭bookiebasher

played rathcore last tuesday and was going down the 7th when a ball wizzed past my ear.my playing partners were shocked and the guy that hit the shot marches down the fairway without even an apology.
    As my friend quotes "there is not point in being a b****x bar you show it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I was playing during the summer on a wednesday morning. It was a very foggy day. I was walking down the 8th tee and was an absolute solid 300 yards down. When all of a sudden i heard a fizz and bang a ball struck my bag and hit me in the back ( i carry my bag) I was on the ground in bits and eventually the player came down and was my mate playing behind. It wasnt his fault really as i was well outa driving range, well i thought it was.

And if you were weondering i hadnt been away i was just banned the last month 1/2 =/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

Was playing in the States last year and had just finished on the green. I was sitting in the buggy off to the side of the green and my mate was putting his clubs back in the bag on the back. We heard a yell of "FORE!" (you know by the tone that you are in danger and it's not just a courtesy call!) so I ducked down in the buggy in time to hear the ball ricochet around the buggy and hit me in the back, pretty hard. I got back up, mumbling about the stupid bastids behind, then noticed my mate hunched over, holding his head with blood flowing through his fingers.
    It seems when the shout came, he looked around to see what all the fuss was about and caught the ball right on the corner of his brow (less than an inch from the temple). The players and the club could not have been more apologetic and the club gave us a free round next time. We finished out the round and then went to the hospital. He got six stitches and it cost him over $100 per stitch (covered by insurance).
    To be honest it wasn't entirely their fault. We were parked in a bad spot and he should have ducked when he heard the shout but we did get a good story to tell and a free round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Got hit square in my ankle one day,some gut on a fairway beside me sliced his ball completly and took me out of it! Pure agony...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,367 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Got hit smack in the nuts off the tee with a 5W
    My friend was hitting the 5W to a par three and I was standing directly across from him (well I guess I must have been slightly in front) he shanked it straight into my, luckily the trousers took the force I didnt even get a bruise, thanks christ.:eek: