Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what societies/ sports clubs are you going to join?

• 24-09-2005 7:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭

im thinking:

dance soc
    tcd arts workshop
    paintball soc
    maybe capoeira

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI

Societies; Probably nerdy ones like Astronomy & Space, SF, Mathsoc, and maybe Digital Arts too.

As for clubs, probably Karate or Taekwon-do, and maybe Boxing (does anyone know if it is worth joining Boxing club if you have no prior experience, or if you have a generally abysmal level of fitness and strength? (as is the case with me))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

i was a member of the boxing club and i'm female, you get really fit doing all the pressups etc and you get a great work out.classes are also free unlike certain clubs where you have to pay 3eur a class.
    tae kwon do is really cool for a martial art and if you like breaking things with your hand or foot and want to develop leg flexiblity/ strength.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

What is Capoeira? I'm going to join the trampolining, choral society, sci-fi society, hadn't thought much more about it though. I'll probably end up joining loads that I'll never go to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Frankiestylee

ye olde DURNS is a legend society. I urge ye to join and enjoy the madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

DURNS, TFM, Music soc (for the piano), TAW, and perhaps scifi, in case I want to waste some time playing poker..

capoeira is a non competitive martial art, they play music and musical instruments and you learn a lot of coordination/ flowy movements similiar to dancing. it's actually great craic fishie, give it a go (they might have a demo in front square during freshers week like last year)

i heard the tkd club was actually pretty good in tcd. it's probably not INTA though

How's the piano coming along pet, progressed past mary had a little lamb?

Oh of course. I'm now on "There Was A Crooked Man", bangin' tune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Just DURNS for me

Oh **** yeah, I'll be joining TFM too!

Freddy77 wrote:
    I don't know if it's INTA or not what difference does that make to anything?

Irish National Tae Kwon do Association, the biggest TKD in ireland i think and with whom i used to train. id prefer to stick with their syallubus then doing RITA as that's the way i was trained/ learned, they'v also sent more people to competitions then any other organisation, as they affiliated with ITF.

in fact i'd probably just go back to my old club if i we're to take it up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

hrmmm..netsoc, DURNS (though John made me an "honorary member" at one stage...despite the fact i was already a member) hrmmm...dunno, need to think about it more. last year i joined tonnes and did nothing with any of em ....this year i think i'll keep it short and actually get involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭<Jonny>

Do you have to rejoin societies every year?

(and what is Durns?)

Freddy77 wrote:
    just shut up.

kev?!

<Jonny> wrote:
    Do you have to rejoin societies every year?

(and what is Durns?)

Yes you do have to rejoin. Fortunately by the end of first year you've whittled down those two dozen or so societies you joined in freshers week down to a handful or less.

DURNS is the best of the music societies. Known as the rock soc but we're into everything. And I mean EVERYTHING.

Freddy77 wrote:
    Yes, yes you do.

DURNS is Dublin University (Trinity) Rock Nostalgia society. It's a society for people interested in alternative music. rock music, heavy metal, music in general, modern music. http://www.csc.tcd.ie/~durns/index.php

Looks cool, I might join up. But I think your site might be borkéd, I clicked on the links and they don't do anything (tried it in Opera and IE6)

Yeah the site is bolloxed. I notified our webmaster about a week ago and he obviously hasn't got around to it yet. The forum link works though but it's a black hole once you get in there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

DURC, netsoc, possibly paintball soc.....the rest I'll decide during freshers week.

Freddy77 wrote:
    just shut up.
    Ah kev, ever the gentleman. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Chick

Nursing Soc again obviously, and anything else that might keep me fit! Suggestions anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭article6

DURC, netsoc, possibly paintball soc.....the rest I'll decide during freshers week.

DURC is a fantastic club to join if you're short. Else, stooping every time you enter their room is a bit of a pain. Netsoc is also good since you get lots of file storage, I think the Comp Sci Soc are meant to be expanding this year too.

I will be rejoining Netsoc, Comp Sci and Sci Fi. Quitting DURNS and DURC. And I get free membership of the Phil and the Chess Club - such are the benefits of committee life. The Chess Club will hopefully have their "free membership if you beat us in chess" deal again. Thankfully I won't be playing. And obviously the Phil will keep everybody challenged and merry not only in Fresher's Week, but throughout the year.

Anyone know if Digital Arts is any good? I do like to dabble around in Blender and Reason, though I can't say I've made anything of much worth.

Also what's this about lots of free filestorage with Netsoc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

Photography
    Games
    Music (can you get use of a piano if you join this?)

Maybe a few sports one.

Music (can you get use of a piano if you join this?)

MY piano.

*growls*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭article6

Anyone know if Digital Arts is any good? I do like to dabble around in Blender and Reason, though I can't say I've made anything of much worth.

Also what's this about lots of free filestorage with Netsoc?

I've heard Digital Arts is good, they do very nice music sometimes. Netsoc gives you free file storage. Obviously "free" includes the subscription cost to join Netsoc in Freshers' Week, but that's just nit-picking. The official limit is 400MB, over three times what College gives you. Source: Netsoc Filestorage Guide .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

netsoc have had to reduce quota's several times, lots of disk's been failing on them....dunno what its currently at.

(nothing like the old days pre-quota..)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭punka

Digital Arts are nice, v. friendly and v. embracing of new members. I went along to quite a few of their events last year, they get in guest speakers and also have evenings where people can play their own compositions. Last year they had somebody playing during Fresher's Week, dunno if that's happening again this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 602 ✭✭✭edibility

Is there a list of socs/clubs online anywhere does anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

LiouVille wrote:
    Thank you!

I'll be joining the Gamers, Computer Science, The LGBT, The Literary soc, Maths, the drama soc if there is one, and maybe the Anarchists for the laugh :D and whatever decent martial arts clubs there are, and maybe the boxing club, if enough girls do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

edibility wrote:
    Thank you!

I'll be joining the Gamers, Computer Science, The LGBT, The Literary soc, Maths, the drama soc if there is one, and maybe the Anarchists for the laugh :D and whatever decent martial arts clubs there are, and maybe the boxing club, if enough girls do it.
    Jaysus! you'd want to be some kind of twin-turbo horseless amphetamine ridden wonder-hasselhof to attend all of them.

edit: afaik trin boxing has a sizeable female membership, at one stage it was more than men. Though whether that's still true I am unaware.. I reckon it's all the models who lost weight swearing by it (eg Iman, bowies wife: http://www.nndb.com/people/980/000043851/iman-face.jpg)

Not too keen on judo tbh, but tkd and boxing yeah....what other clubs are there?

edibility wrote:

The LGBT,

Let me Know if you want someone you've allready met to introduce you.

joe.

Hmm Kev's joining boxing is he, Suddenly I'm thinking I might give it a miss in the same way i gave judo a miss.

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Jaysus! you'd want to be some kind of twin-turbo horseless amphetamine ridden wonder-hasselhof to attend all of them.

Heh.....yeah, I probably qon't attend all of them, but meh, they cover my interests fairly well so we'll see :P
    JUST_STOP wrote:
    what's wrong with judo? belelive me it's the best of what's on offer. well, unless you give me some reasons why you want to do a "martial art".

I want to do a martial art because I'm already a purple belt in the club I'm with at home, and have competed worldwide. I don't want to do judo as its very different (as far as I know) from traditional and point karate, which is what I've studied. I did it when I was younger and far prefered karate, so I'd probably be the same now. So please, don't be patronising, thank you!

Joe - thanks, may do :)

well Ninjuitsu is pretty good, although they don't do it in TCD, it's one of the best all round martial arts as it combines 7 different ones and it takes years before you get really good at but once you are you become a Ninja.

you have to do pressup/ handstands against the wall,and the workout is pretty gruelling, they have secret doju's everywhere.

A ninja eh? :P I'm actually going to join a ninjitsu club when I go to dublin as theres one in rathmines near halls, but I was kinda hoping there'd be a trad/points karate club in trinity as I'd love to still be able to compete when I move.

White_Belt wrote:
    Almost everything you said ther was untrue. Ninjitsu is probably the worst ma in the world. especially what they do in ucd. it's crap.

go post that crap on the ma forum.

**** off Kev.

edibility wrote:
    and maybe the Anarchists for the laugh :D

Save your money. They don't do anything.

Rightio, will do. Although it would be amusing to see who the hell joins and is actually serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Knackered

Now be fair,the Anarchists did get a guest speaker that nobody cared about at one stage! I joined way too many last year, seven I think, just emptied my wallet of those frickin membership cards. Im only rejoining 2, Netsoc, for the filespace, and Sfsoc, as they do quite a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Yook

Knackered wrote:
    Now be fair,the Anarchists did get a guest speaker that nobody cared about at one stage! I joined way too many last year, seven I think, just emptied my wallet of those frickin membership cards. Im only rejoining 2, Netsoc, for the filespace, and Sfsoc, as they do quite a lot.

yea, SFSOC always had something going on, now that I think of it, i'll prolly be rejoining that now.

So my list:

Netsoc
    Pokersoc
    SFSOC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Some boring old political party; DURNS for the gorgeous John2 and hangout room and Rockesctra; NetSoc for the access to my filestorage from home; really wanna get into TFM; Phil + Hist + Theological for speakers and debates and imminent takeover respectively; Paintball and maybe one or two others.

And then try my best to give them loadsa money.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

hello barry!

i joined /me takes deep breath

Amnesty International
    Cards Society
    Christian Union <- that Girl scared me into joining! folling me around with coffee and tea!
    Computer Science
    Dublin University Business and Economics Society
    DURNS
    Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Society, <-- Great partys, knew the chair
    Netsoc
    One World
    Sinn Fein <-- take that enda!
    Science Fiction
    Sign Language
    Trinity FM.

looking back, what a waste of money, only do things with like 3 or 4...

http://www.tcd.ie/Clubs/DUCAC/Sports_clubs.php having found this, I realise I'm spoilt for choice on martial arts >_< currently tied between tae kwondo and the shotokan karate club, gonna try both out methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Christian Union
    Oh forgot to mention them. Shall join them.
    Sinn Fein <-- take that enda!
    You're more than entitled to vote for whoever you want, no matter how fúcking stupid and militant they are.

Hmm Kev's joining boxing is he, Suddenly I'm thinking I might give it a miss in the same way i gave judo a miss.

Why not join it? You'll have the perfect excuse to finally kick his ass. :D
    hello barry!

Who's barry now?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Knackard is a Guy i know called Barry

edibility wrote:
    A ninja eh? :P I'm actually going to join a ninjitsu club when I go to dublin as theres one in rathmines near halls, but I was kinda hoping there'd be a trad/points karate club in trinity as I'd love to still be able to compete when I move.
    hrmm...in rathmines - you talking about the bujinkan dojo? very enjoyable to do - and the instructor alex is good - it is down a dodgy side street though, like hidden dojo **** :D

bujinkan budo taijutsu for teh win. must take it back up one of these days.

kev what would you know about Ninjitsu if you've never done it before, have you ever gone to a seminar? ever go to see a lesson in UCD? i v done both.

off topic, Bujinkan budo taijutsu != ninjitsu. ninjitsu is just one of the nine schools that fall under bujinkan, among which are also jujitsu and some classic weapon arts.

Its a very interesting - and there is some kick ass weapon training in it.