Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stormin Norman Fitz.

• 23-09-2005 2:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭

What's the story with this guy?

Is he good? is there a method to his madness?

Last two times on a Thursday night I've been at his table, first night he had a huge stack, we're down to the last two tables, he calls all in, I had roughly the same size stack he'd called some all-ins with some very odd hands, so holding A 10s I call assuming he had nothing, he shows 52o, which left me enough chips to go out and smoke for an hour and let the stack make it's own way the final table.

Much the same last night he would re-raise or go all-in with nothing, is it just the fact it's the thursday night and he's not bothered, is he good or is he just known for being a charecter?

I know it's only a free roll and the play for the most part is loose, but it must have cost him 40/50e with re-buys

any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

He's a pretty good player in the big games, but like most regulars, he acts the bollix in the freerolls! Wouldn't say he was great player now, about average in the fitz regulars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

From what I've seen of him he does the same no matter what the buy in. He never folds. When you're at his table you either get paid off big or take one for the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

haha if u think he's mad then you should see Bob both will do anything to get chips but once they get hold of some they're much tougher to play against

their results are impressive and they've both played in the wsop, can't argue with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

i remember a hand invilving him from last tuesdays double chance. an unraised hand something like K 10 10 A K and first to act he bets out strong with a few limpers to act and the first reluctantly calls like he's calling for a split. luckily i and a couple of others folded and stormin goes "im playin the board" but the other guy had a king. i loved that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Yeah I think Norman's just a character full stop. I was at a sit n go with him last night...he's great craic to have at the table. Dangerous player mind you, very hard to put on a hand. Could have nothing could have the nuts...either way you can't tell cos he plays the same regardless. Sound fella!

Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

I reckon if you could get him to stop acting the bollix and take it seriously, he would be one of the best players around. I saw him one night play some solid poker, get a huge stack and blow it on the bubble with pure crap play. I agree with Divers though, I think he's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

careca wrote:
    I reckon if you could get him to stop acting the bollix and take it seriously, he would be one of the best players around. I saw him one night play some solid poker, get a huge stack and blow it on the bubble with pure crap play. I agree with Divers though, I think he's grand.

Oh I don't mind him as a person at all, he's great crack at the table, very nice guy, I was just wondering if I ever should test the waters in the montly 270e and I'm at his table will it be much of the same, crazy plays :D, but as someone mentioned before it does make him very hard to read

My first 270 game I had Norman to my left, Joe O'Neill to my right, Charles straight across from me and Roy Brindley to his left...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

roryc wrote:
    My first 270 game I had Norman to my left, Joe O'Neill to my right, Charles straight across from me and Roy Brindley to his left...

What you mean to say is 'They had RoryC at their table'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

roryc wrote:
    Sounds like fun...:D
    how far did ye get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

I was the last to go before the final table last night, so who exactly is 'stormin norman'? He's probably the guy who put me out.

Bubblety Bubblety BUBBLE !

19th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

who exactly is 'stormin norman'?

normanwalsh.jpg

Shush!!

He stated that he doesn't want to talked about on the computerywebbedy thing. Must be refered to as Player X at all times. Lol, it should be in the charter.

As someone said earlier, he is a quality player but suffers from the odd brain fart from time to time. He has the two things that make him tough to play against in any tournament. Aggression and aggression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

As someone said earlier, he is a quality player but suffers from the odd brain fart from time to time. He has the two things that make him tough to play against in any tournament. Aggression and aggression.

Yep aggressive is right. The first night i ever played the fitz freeroll i made a few "noob" errors, stringbetting and the like. To my misfortune stormin norman was at the table and didnt take too kindly to such mistakes. Lets just say i didnt make any more. From what i've seen i would definitely be wary off him in a proper game.

I love the way he can make an enormous chip stack appear and then disappear in the blink of an eye. Pure genius.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

NickyOD wrote:
    I love the way he can make an enormous chip stack appear and then disappear in the blink of an eye. Pure genius.

that's a bit harsh, he has a style and quite often it works for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

He's a better player than the vast vast majority of players on this forum. He doesn't take freerolls very seriously.

kinaldo wrote:
    that's a bit harsh, he has a style and quite often it works for him.

it was a joooooke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

One of the better players in the country when he's on form.
    Has a fantastic instinct for the game that I haven't seen in many players. And I I've seen practically all the players in this country at some point over the last two years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

His instincts might be good, but his understanding seems a little off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭rrtt

Is this thread a joke? One of the best players in the country ? Maybe im missing something but ive never seen this guy play well. When i go to the fitz im hoping that him or the Italian guy are at my table. Dont mean to sound disrespectful as im not a great player myself but your having a laugh.

Hector, I think it's more that his focus is off. He's actually not a bad thinker of the game when you sit and down and talk to him about it, but he's an awful tilthead.

rrtt, we're not having a laugh. Perhaps when you've played enough with Norman to judge these things accurately your comments won't sound so idiotic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭rrtt

ok .ill reserve judgement on the guy. i must have been mistaken.I've only played with him about 10 times, but after going through the notes i have on him, i couldnt help thinking you were joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

I learned the majority of my tournament play from watching and talking to Norman in the freerolls 2years ago, When he wants to be he is one of the best in the country but his downfalls have already been mentioned

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Stormin suffers from a weakness alot of regulars do, namely regularitis. Regularitis is where you assume a player you have never seen before is a bad player and simply plays tight only putting chips in with big hands. It also brings on a fever that convinces you if you go all-in this player you have never seen before will fold because he/she is too scared.

I remember playing the €100 game in the fitz about a year ago when I was a complete n00b. I was at the table with Norman, Andy Black and a few other regulars.
    I'm comfortable enough chip-wise. I limp in late position after about 3 other callers, Norman from the BB pushes for about 5k chips on 100-200 blinds, there's about 1k in the middle from the limps and blinds.

Everyone auto-folds around to me. From playing freerolls I think I have an idea of Normans play and call his all-in of 5k with Jc8c. I have about 3k remaining.
    I hit my flush against his AK. Norman storms off in a temper and everyone else at the table just gives me a look of disbelief. I didn't get much respect after that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

I think the hand Norman went out on in the wsop main event is a good indication of the type of player he is.

What did he go out on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

Norman picks up AJ and raises, guy in middle re-raises , Norman goes all-in.
    The rest is history.

So has he actually achieved anything in the game? or is just the fitz fan boys who admire his ability to go all-in with air?

ntlbell, have you ever won the end of month 250 freeezeout in the fitz? how many live tournaments have you won?

Oh, and just out of interest, are you a ranked player who has won a european ranking event?

'Cos Norman Is

Marq wrote:
    ntlbell, have you ever won the end of month 250 freeezeout in the fitz? how many live tournaments have you won?

Oh, and just out of interest, are you a ranked player who has won a european ranking event?

'Cos Norman Is

None of the above, But I don't see what I've done has anything to do with the question?

I never said he couldn't play, I never said anything against the guy, I asked a simple question to try find out why all the hype, you answered it, what I've done has nothing to do with it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Calm down kids. We all have the right to ask questions regardless of our acheivements. Of course our rights would be more appreciated if we didn't ask the questions with a sarcastic tone.

I like Muso.

Marq wrote:
    I like Muso.

Why?

Because you acted out of turn (like a fitz fan boy) and he got you out of jail (like a fitz fan boys buddy) ?

<sarcasam> </sarcasam>?

explain or retract.

i am greatly offended. no joke.

placing the qualifier "<sarcasm>" within your thread does not make it any less offensive.

Marq wrote:
    explain or retract.

i am greatly offended. no joke.

how many coding tournaments have you won?

how many RFC's have you written?

XML obviously isn't one of your talents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

let the childishness begin!!!

jtsuited wrote:
    let the childishness begin!!!

Childishness and Irrelvant thoughts are two different things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

WTF are we all doing up at this time of night.

Retract, were playing poker.

We're all degenerate gimps.

Sh1t, just noticed its my 500 post. Some crap for a milestone :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭JuliusFranco

holy crap!
    ntbell has issues

holy crap!
    ntbell has issues

Why? because I know more about RFC's than an average poker player?

It is scary untill your paid stupid amounts of money to do so, slightly like poker.

amount i know about RFCs = 0 unless there anything like KFCs cos i sure love chicken

i know that Norman is a very good player, i have nothing to add that hasn't been said in this tread already

Alan

What's an RFC?

Ntlbell, why do you think Player X is over-rated by the Fitz fanboys? What experience of his play do you have?

amount i know about RFCs = 0 unless there anything like KFCs cos i sure love chicken

i know that Norman is a very good player, i have nothing to add that hasn;t been said in this tread already

Alan

Maybe you haven't read the thread, the thread, by established players like fintan was demonstarting the brutal play of players like norman, i was only asking if it was true, so if your opinion means more than someone who HAS won alot more than norman means more, then yes, i've isssues.

hahahahahahahaha
    aaaaaaaaahahahahahahahahahaha

lafortezza wrote:
    What's an RFC?

Ntlbell, why do you think Player X is over-rated by the Fitz fanboys? What experience of his play do you have?

An RFC in poker terms means nothing, as much as what I have won in terms of poker means nothing when questioning what someone has done in the world of poker

my expirience of norman is 0 but again, i'm not sure what that has to do with asking what all the fuss is about regarding said player.

hahahahahahahaha
    aaaaaaaaahahahahahahahahahaha

very intelligent, very creative, yes we'll keep an eye on you.

lafortezza wrote:
    What's an RFC?

I don't think he's over rated at all, I don't know anything about the guy, apart from what I hear in the fitz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

ntlbell wrote:
    Maybe you haven't read the thread, the thread, by established players like fintan was demonstarting the brutal play of players like norman, i was only asking if it was true, so if your opinion means more than someone who HAS won alot more than norman means more, then yes, i've isssues.

I'm not sure where you're coming from here. Player X is here:
    http://pokerdb.thehendonmob.com/player.php?a=r&n=379
    The other player you're referring to doesn't seem to appear on that database at all.

Player X has a brilliant instinct for the game; sometimes his reads are excellent, but as has been pointed out, he is very tilty, and his technical knowledge might not be as good as the younger players coming through these days. (But the same can be said for a lot of older players... new players coming into the game tend to have a totally different approach than the old brigade).

At the end of the day, he's a good guy, and I like being at his table.