Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marriage proposal ideas

• 15-09-2005 10:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭

Ok I've searched all over Boards and this is the only forum I can think of to post this, can't believe there isnt a thread dedicated to this.

Anyways, I'm going to be proposing to my girlfriend in around a month's time and I'm looking for a good/novel way of doing it. Had a look around the web but all I could find was books for sale on the subject. Honestly!!

Okay if anyone could give me a few ideas I'd be very grateful.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Fristly, hope it goes well for you.

Secondly, try and steer away from something like this http://www.jokaroo.com/funnyvideos/proposalgonewrong.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

Forget other peoples ideas...
    Be spontaneous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

Don't neccessarily go for the option of proposing in front of a huge group of people. Saw a guy propose to his g/f in Captain Americas and I am not sure she was so happy about it. She looked really embarassed.

Chef is right, be spontaneous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Don't neccessarily go for the option of proposing in front of a huge group of people. Saw a guy propose to his g/f in Captain Americas and I am not sure she was so happy about it. She looked really embarassed.

Chef is right, be spontaneous.
    Hahaha... I saw someone do this in Captain America's too...

The girl just got up and walked out the door.

So now we know it's definitely not a good idea to propose in Captain America's... it's probably a good idea to avoid steak houses in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Good luck!

My wife (good sign eh? ;)) liked what I did, though it was elaborate and difficult to organise.

First off, I got her ring size (difficult), bought a diamond solitaire in platinum setting (find out what kind of precious metal she likes). You can't go wrong with the solitaire. You need to do a fair bit of research before buying a decent diamond ring.

Once I had the ring, I booked a flight and accomodation to Paris (I know....but it was nice), organised the day off work for her, cancelled her dentist appointment, etc.

I said it was a surprise for our "going out" anniversary, but when we got there I proposed on a bench just in front of the Eifel tower.

I know it's UBER cheesy, but she really liked it, and it's something we'll always have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

So, girls like cheese but not when it's on a steak in "Captain America's"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Rumour has they'd kill for a dairy lee...

I would personally take her somewhere romantic, away from everywhere... secluded spot wher you can be together. That way if she knocks you back half of captain americas customers aren't watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Peace wrote:
    I would personally take her somewhere romantic, away from everywhere... secluded spot wher you can be together. That way if she knocks you back half of captain americas customers aren't watching.
    ...and pointing and laughing... which is what I done as I was pretty drunk at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 DaisyDuke

Captain America's is a bad place alright. I'd add the pub to that list, along with night out with mates, mutual or not.
    If you're out with a gang, take her to one side and find somewhere a bit quiet. Proposals in front of a large group of people only work in the movies, and most girls find that they are too much pressure, and rather embarassing. It should be a personal, intimate moment.

Yeah, those poor guys at Captain America's. At least the second girl walked. Imagine if she'd said yes because she felt she had to in front of her entire social circle, only to drag the poor sod away later and give him the "er....about what I said earlier" bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

Am single and very much available, so not nor have I ever been in this position.

Nonetheless, I wold like to give my input to this. OP I think you need to step back and think back to a time and place that is special to both of ye. Then try and recreate that time. Bring her back to that place be it a restaurant, a walk in the woods or on the beach etc... someplace that is romantic, yet hold great meaning to both of ye, then just pop the question.

Its also not uncomman to do so without have a ring in this day and age... lots of my mates have popped the question, the girl accepted and then they go get the ring together afterwards.

Hope that helps.... and best of luck!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Shyster

It doesnt have to be anything extravagant as long as it's memorable,
    Try to link in something special that you have together, like a special place ye go or a private joke you have together... that way its personal and special to the two of you, instead of a public proposal in a restaurant or something .. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

Khannie wrote:

I said it was a surprise for our "going out" anniversary, but when we got there I proposed on a bench just in front of the Eifel tower.

Its funny how many guys propose on top of the eifel tower, my girlfriend and myself were waiting in the que to vist the top of the tower and all you had to do was look around and see the poor guys in suit and pale faces!!
    When we got up on top of the tower, i can honestly say we saw 8 to 10 couples get engaged!! its over done in my opinion.

How about a wkend break to venice, and propose on a gondola!!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

there is a wonderful restaurant called Kampa Park which has a view of the Charles Bridge in Prague, the food and service is second to none (at least it was 2 years ago ;) )
    http://www.pragueexperience.com/places.asp?PlaceID=762

Venice in a gondola... bit extravagent, but I do like that idea.

Anyway here are some ways in which my family or friends did it.

My mate - he placed a ring in his g/f christmas stocking, and placed loads of rose petals all over the room!!! Talk about the big romantic... needless to say she accepted.

My brother-in-law - He brought my sis back to the restaurant they first had a meal together in, got down on one knee and popped the question.

My cousins fella - He booked them a weekend break "Just to get away", down in Cork some place, and decided that the time was right so asked her to marry him. They bought the ring after.

My brother - He proposed on Valentine's Night... they too bought the engagement ring afterwards

Just thought they give ya a few (and others) some ideas etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭danyosan

ok guys, think I'll give you a bit more of the background. BTW thanks for the ideas so far.

I'm waiting for the ring to be made, should have it in around a fortnight.

We already live together and have already booked the church so I know she's going to say yes (thank god!!).

The only thing is she knows I'll be getting the ring soon and that the "official" proposal is coming so I want it to be a surprise. But anytime we are going to do something out of the ordinary she is going to know its coming. Was thinking I'm going to have to arrange a few "false alarms" so I catch her off guard when I do ask

BTW totally agree with the public thing, could never do that myself anyway.

I know this all sounds a bit much, it's just I want it to be something memorable. Not like my Dad, standing at the bus stop and saying "So are we going to or not?"

Church booked and all, so what your saying is ye are engaged but not officially in the sense that she hasn't a ring on her finger. Young ones these days, eh? Only interested in the jewel. LOL Just kidding!!

Ok, now that I have the full story. Can i ask you, can you truely think of a time and place that was/is special to ye? Once to have a place in mind, why not set out a kinda treasure hunt... keep her guessing, and then pop the question when ye finally get to that location!!!

May seem like a lot of work but it'd be fun!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Set up a treasure hunt arround the house for her,
    Stick an evelope iwth the first clue on the front door for her when she comes in.
    You just let her do it while you sort out a nice romatic dinner for the two of you
    or book some where to go out to dinner after she finds the ring.

Don't make the clues to cryptic but each should be a bit of a puzzle and
    each time she finds one it should have a memory attched
    and a few words written about that fun shared memory of your relationship.
    4 clues with the ring at the end of it or six clues with the ring in the final hiding
    spot should do it. Have the ring box slightly disguised and have her bring it to
    you with out opening it, that way you are there to offically ask her when she opens it.

Good luck to the both of you .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

I saw a movie with Freddie Prinze Jr the other night (please do NOT flame me!) & there is a great idea between himself & Julia Stiles character involving some candles & roses...... thought it was uber cheesy, but well worth a shot & a few women who've seen this movie have thought it would work very well for a proposal.... just a thought

Or ye could ask her to wear something for ye & she'll think it's kinky underwear & ye could produce the ring ;)

::: ven0mous :::

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭cocopops

I love Thaed's idea........either that or ya know in the bit in Serendipity when Kate Beckinsale walks into her house and the fire's lit and there's a big massive box wrapped up and she keeps unwrapping it only to find there's yet smaller sized wrapped up boxes inside and she keeps unwrapping and works her way down to a tiny tiny box only to find it's completely empty and then yer man comes out from the next room and says something like 'Looking for something'? with the ring in his hand.......... I'm a romantic though.........lol :) Whatever you go with, best of luck matey :)

Shabadu wrote:
    What? How can you have a surprise proposal if you have the church booked?

Are they really ever a complete surprise ?
    Who proposes with out talking about it first?

That does not mean you can't have all the romantic fun and giggles
    make a special memory that you can tell to your kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

congrats mate, i know what you are going through as i proposed to my gf last week when in the states and i racked my brain for ideas for weeks. I found www.ivenus.com very helpfull.They have a dedicated wedding section in their boards. I know its a womens website but who better to get ideas. I had help from my gf's sister and luckily my gf loved my proposal. Your gf wont care how you propose as long its romantic, unique and plenty of throught put into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

Thaed wrote:
    Are they really ever a complete surprise ?
    Who proposes with out talking about it first?

That does not mean you can't have all the romantic fun and giggles
    make a special memory that you can tell to your kids.
    Good point! I've become less romantic in my auld age :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

cocopops wrote:
    I love Thaed's idea........either that or ya know in the bit in Serendipity when Kate Beckinsale walks into her house and the fire's lit and there's a big massive box wrapped up and she keeps unwrapping it only to find there's yet smaller sized wrapped up boxes inside and she keeps unwrapping and works her way down to a tiny tiny box only to find it's completely empty and then yer man comes out from the next room and says something like 'Looking for something'? with the ring in his hand.......... I'm a romantic though.........lol :) Whatever you go with, best of luck matey :)

SHOOT ME!!!

All this romantic crap from movies, wtf, movies aren't reality people. No point in doing it like that, the bigger fuss is made doing it, the less likely the marraige is to last. Sorry but its true. Back in the old days, people just went "are ya right so Francy? Aye, I am."

Those chilled out attitudes of the older generation kept their marraiges together, if you start off on these ridiculously high watermarks of expected "passion" and "romance" you're only creating expectations that cant be maintained over the course of a successful marraige, i.e. 30 years.

Thanks very much Galwaydude I'll have a look at that website.
    Lexdiamonds, I know what your saying, but there isn't any high expectations. If I was to cook dinner and then propose it would be fine, I just want to make it memorable for her, give her something to gas to her friends about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭SparkyLarks

Sky write it.

SHe's not going to say no, so you don;t have to fear public rejection.

But as she know it's comming if you want to supprise her then you need misdirection.

If she comes home to a romantic meal and a treasure hunt she'll have a good idea what's up. the memories at each clue might make it special though

I know I said that before that I need to fool her a few times. Actually heard a funny story about the sky writing. Guy goes into Sky writers and asks how much is it. Decides it's too much and tells the salesman as much. Salesman keeps on and on at him looking for the sale with no luck. Then to try and convince the guy to pay up, tells him that there is another one on that weekend, so go down and see what you think. So guy goes away packs up a picnic, and takes his girlfriend with him. Thought this was hilarious, got the sky writing thing for absolutely nothing and his wife now knows nothing about this story to this day.

Keep the ideas coming folks, still haven't decided on course of action yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Yep kinda ruined it for me too when I discovered that the church was booked and the wedding cake was in the oven....(?)

- I know of girls who have the whole lot guessed at when the poor bloke has been doing his best to keep it secret.....

Are you sure shes the one? What about those girls whose eyes crinkle when they smile? Or the ones that instantly convince you to start a family just by walking into the room?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

Raiser wrote:
    Yep kinda ruined it for me too when I discovered that the church was booked and the wedding cake was in the oven....(?)

- I know of girls who have the whole lot guessed at when the poor bloke has been doing his best to keep it secret.....

Are you sure shes the one? What about those girls whose eyes crinkle when they smile? Or the ones that instantly convince you to start a family just by walking into the room?
    Er, for some reason I get the impression they had talked about marriage before. I certainly don't think she booked the church without him knowing about it.

What are you trying to achieve by asking him if he's 'sure she's the one'?

Firstly, the whole concept of there only being one person out there you could settle down with is laughable. Secondly, he's made his decision. It's fairly apparent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Raiser wrote:

And that is a helpful comment how exactly ?

If they have been living together and the guy has the church booked, then I'd be fairly certain he knows she's the one for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Milkman

was tring to find the thread from a few months ago as well.
    Somebody posted up details about a hotel in dublin which has suites with outdoor jacuzzi's. Can anyone think what its called.

oh roll on the server upgrade and search returns!

M.

hey if anyone can find that thread about that hotel I'd be very grateful. Found the old thread about proposals, but no mention of any hotel with jacuzzi's.

westbury hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

danyosan wrote:
    The only thing is she knows I'll be getting the ring soon and that the "official" proposal is coming so I want it to be a surprise. But anytime we are going to do something out of the ordinary she is going to know its coming. Was thinking I'm going to have to arrange a few "false alarms" so I catch her off guard when I do ask
    If she knows, then how about this:

Go jogging on a sunny day, and "bump" into a mate who has a picnic basket + blanket. Said mate then fecks off. Have picnic, then afterwards, propose. Ensure that its in the middle of a park, so ye have some privacy, etc.

OR

Where you had your 1st date. Go there (unless its a total dive), have a drink, bring her to where you kissed her first, and then propse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Milkman

Danyosan,
    found the thread by trawling through over the w/end.
    Its the place I was thinking of is Chief o'neills http://www.chiefoneills.com

enjoy and best of luck.
    M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,362 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I like the idea of taking her to wherever you kissed her first, or maybe where ye first met.

Arrange to go somewhere where that place is "along the way" and just go, "you know, this is where we first met/kissed", get down on the one knee and produce the ring...

That or strew the bed with rose petals when she's out and let her come home to a candle-lit apartment with you standing in a tux with the ring in your hand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭annR

I really don't like the sound of those contrived proposal situations . . .it might be some women's idea of romance but . . .*so contrived*!!!!

I like the idea of a situation where real feelings of love and romance are naturally prompted . .like where you first kissed, or somewhere special for you as a couple. It will lead to a genuinely very romantic moment and then while you're surfing on that, pop the question.

Well that's how I would like to be proposed to.

where'd the rest of the thread go? There was 3 pages of replies last time I checked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭branners69

I woke the girlfriend at 7am on a Saturday morning, drove to Glenveagh National Park in Donegal from Dublin. I had the ring bought, asked her dad the night before so was all sorted!!

I proposed just where the lake and the summer house meet, surrounded by the mountains. The sun came out and it was a stunning view. I found this place when I was working there some 5 years earlier. When I decided to propose it came to me that it was the most beautiful place I had ever seen!! I proposed as gaeilge so again it was something different and special to us..

What I am trying to say is sit down and think.. I wouldnt ever think about doing the Paris thing cos its well worn out.. it lacks originality and is a real follow the crowd solution, I'm surprised they dont have prepackaged Paris Engagement weekends with the ring thrown in!!

By the way you might find some ideas on www.weddingsonline.ie, you have birds on there bragging about how their fella proposed!! But definitely sit down and think about it, if I can do it anyone can.. just takes a bit effort!!

If you want to run your idea past someone pm me. I have 3 sisters so I know what sort of ****e( I mean stuff) birds like!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭NineMoons

Think a lot depends on the type of person your partner is. Some women love the idea of the stereotypical but romantic Paris thing, some might want the world and his wife to see their fella going down on one knee (though NOT Capt. America's for God's sake :D ) and others will love the private moment on a mountain or by a lake. So try to think about her and whether she'll want a crowd or a tete-a-tete or what.

I met a boy once who proposed to his girlfriend in their local church, all lit up with candles. He said he couldn't think of a better place to ask her to share her life with him than the place that life together would start. But he was American. They're a bit mad like that :D

Personally I quite fancy Mick's proposal to Kitty in Michael Collins:

"Shush-shush-shush, will ya marry me, yeah?"
    "Yeah."
    "You will?"
    "Yeah."

A'course, it didn't end well, but still. I liked the spontaneity and simplicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

I like the first kiss thing, tis very romantic - and somewhat unique as not many people will have had their first kiss where you had yours. Though for me it would be a carpark and for a friend of mine it would be a nightclub dancefloor.

The place-of-your first kiss mightn't work if its somewhere crowded.
    How bout on a special day for ye? Like a year to the day of your first kiss? or anniversary? or first official date? A combination of the two could be nice. If you want to do the whole trip abroad thing, why not try one of the greek islands? Or the place you went on your first holiday?

I'm horribly slushy though- I like the thought of something special to you as a couple, just the two of ye.

Oh like maybe go on holidays to the first place you went, have lots of nice pictures, if you can have it overlap with your first kiss anniversarry, and go to the place you had it on the way home/on the way on hols, it would be so nice. Oh coming back from a nice sunny holiday, no ring but all loved up, you pull over for a "break" and pop the question in as close to the place you first kissed her.

Yeah 'fraid I can't do the first kiss thing, was in the middle of a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

hey mate, when do you expect to ask her, have ye been going out long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

mine was 38 thousand feet above international waters (Atlantic) coming back from Ney York in business class and getting the stewardess to bring the ring down with a glass of bubbly....

Initially she waved the drink away and I nearly freaked.....

but then she saw it and I went down on bended knee (there's a lot of room in BA business class!) and she exploded in tears..

The cabin crew gave us a complimentary bottle of bubbly as well...

The whole thing will stay with me forever.

You really have to do something above and beyond though, you will be telling the story so many times in the future, it'll put a smile on your face every time.

Keep the idesa coming folks...Just remembered, going over to Scotland on the ferry beginning of November, anyone think it would be a good place to do it, out on the deck of the ferry? Be bloody cold that time of year though, and what if it was raining..nah scratch that thought..
    Lol...sorry just thinking and typing at the same time.

murfie wrote:
    When we got up on top of the tower, i can honestly say we saw 8 to 10 couples get engaged!! its over done in my opinion.

Heh, just noticed this. Didn't do it at the top. She wouldn't have wanted me to either. I did it at a park bench in the park that surrounds the tower. Waited until it was secluded enough too.

Love the "in the air" idea. When the concorde was being decomissioned they interviewed the air hostesses....apparantly a very popular time to do it was when the sound barrier was broken. :)

Been thinking about this more and more now, what do people think of this idea? It's starting to grow on me, it's just that it's weather depending that worries me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,362 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Hot Air Balloon?

All these ideas are good ie hot air balloon, but as soon as I told her we were doing something like this she'd know right away that it was going to happen, thats why i need it to be inconspicuous.

I think the ferry idea is good. You'll have trouble not being busted / ruining the surprise by the sounds of things. Sure let us know what you decide. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

The first day the port tunnel is open would rock.