Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Merrion 500NL

• 11-09-2005 2:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭

By far the best tournament in dublin at the moment, although not too many people know about it. The Merrion need to advertise it a bit better. Great structure and a varied standard of play. 7500 starting stack and 30 min blinds starting at 25-50. I was gone just before the final table, but even with 11 left the average was about 20XBB which leaves a lot of room for play.

About 2 rounds in I was dealt 45o in the sb. Limp limp limp flop A23 rainbow. Jeoff (the dealer) is speaking to me but suddenly the volume is turned down and I can't hear a thing... I'm first to act and while nodding blankly at Jeoff I check, as does everyone else. Turn is a 6. Check check check.. Button makes it 300 to go. The 6 brought a heart flush draw, so I re-raise to 1k, fold fold fold and without hesitation the button re-raises to 4k... I stick it in. He calls for an extra 1k and shows A6.. 6 on the river leaves me with 1300... I nearly puke.. I go for a smoke, kick a few chairs and return to my seat. I nick one hand, 20 mins later dbl up with AK vs 55, get moved to another table and in 20 minutes after a few fearless raise/follow throughs I'm up to 8.5k.

After the break I move up to 23k and decide to slow down. I play about 4 hands in 2 hrs and maintain my stack... The blinds move up to 500/1k and I decide to change gears... whch costs me 10k on the first hand. A few hands later, holding KQ on a 88K flop I manage to walk into a very well played AK, and an even craftier Q8... Gone in 12th position..

Sick from getting right back into it, but looking forward to next month. Mark MacMahon was still in, Dave Doyle was CL I think, on about 40k and a few lads from the north were doing well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭RMcG

sounds good Niall i completely forgot about it....****...how many runners started mate???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

4 tables Rob, not sure on the exact number..

anyone know how it ended up??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

ocallagh wrote:
    4 tables Rob, not sure on the exact number..

anyone know how it ended up??

The old guy, Des (reminds me a lot of Paddy Hicks the way he plays, very aggressive and used his chip lead well) won it.
    I came second and Dave Doyle came 3rd.
    Very enjoyable tournament but a pity about the numbers this time - the merrion have really gotta luck at promoting this more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Working in marketing myself, I'm amazed at the lack of marketing undertaken by the Fitz, the Merrion and the Mayfair (while it was operating). Is it because of concerns about bringing the confusing legalities regarding card rooms further into the public domain, raising their heads above the parapet as it were? I would *love* to market these poker tournaments, must be so much fun working in the online casinos marketing divisions. You can be sure that Dermot Desmond will market the crap out of his venture (probably targetted marketing to high-net worth individuals) when it is operating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Same as that Paul, I'd love to market these places. Incredible really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

ionapaul wrote:
    Working in marketing myself, I'm amazed at the lack of marketing undertaken by the Fitz, the Merrion and the Mayfair (while it was operating). Is it because of concerns about bringing the confusing legalities regarding card rooms further into the public domain, raising their heads above the parapet as it were? I would *love* to market these poker tournaments, must be so much fun working in the online casinos marketing divisions. You can be sure that Dermot Desmond will market the crap out of his venture (probably targetted marketing to high-net worth individuals) when it is operating.

I know in England its completely ilegal to advertise casinos, not sure of the laws here but may have something to do with keeping it out of the Herag and government view