Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best €1 beer

• 09-09-2005 6:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭

i'd go for rolling rock.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Warsteiner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

feylya wrote:
    Warsteiner
    seconded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Few years ago on Holidays I experienced some local beer called "Krystal" - 19c a bottle. Beat that. Wouldn't have taken much to beat the taste though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

I second Rolling Rock... lovely beer for the price...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I once got bottles of Stella for a euro each. Definetly where my vote is going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭dimerocks

rollling rock would be grand if it didnt give the worst hangovers ever so i dont give that my vote.where do you get warsteiner for that cheap.its not quite a euro but i give my vote to Tuborg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭BigCon

How come no one has mentioned Miller?
    It's only €1.12 a bottle in Dunnes (if you buy a slab) and is one of tyhe nicest tasting beers around ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Where are people getting Warsteiner for €1?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Sico wrote:
    Where are people getting Warsteiner for €1?? :eek:

Indeed, where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

I once got bottles of Stella for a euro each. Definetly where my vote is going.

ye its 10 bottles for 11 euro in my local off licence, it pretty good! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Becks is ok for €1 a bottle. Of all those dead cheap french mini-beer bottle crates, Bier d'Or wins for flavour. Tuborg is great in that it tastes lovely and doesnt give a hangover, it falls on value however as you have to drink so many of them to get drunk.

However St Bernard lager wins. 89c a can and has a mild flavour such that it's like a light beer. Not so much gut and you can down em like water but man they get you locked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭nude_hamster

rolling rock !! :D:D ..but in spain....San Magel!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭stag39

Warsteiner
    Blub2k4 wrote:
    seconded

thirded!!!! got it in the offie in the maple center in cabra!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

stella all the way for a quid a bottle

it and warsteiner are a quid in an offy in dundalk to those who were askin :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭thos

Hollandia
    Bavaria

€1 a can, cant go wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭fish fingers

has to be tuborg for me. not a great taste near the end of the can though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Castlemaine XXXX.
    €1 a CAN, not bottle. Excellent. Plus it tastes good too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Kazu

i vote for :D:D:D:D

rolling rock
    Hollandia
    Bavaria
    Warsteiner

But Castlemaine XXXX. is toxic **** :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Warsteiner

this warsteiner sounds good...where would one buy some in the south dublin area?

O'Briens Off license in Sandymount has it, I've seen it in a few places though, off-license in fairview across from the park is another. Tesco had it at one point, they may have it in some of the larger ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Tuborg is 19.99 for 24 330ml longnecks in tescos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

Its gotta be rolling rock. Mmmmm! :D

ambrose :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

amacachi wrote:
    stella all the way for a quid a bottle

it and warsteiner are a quid in an offy in dundalk to those who were askin :p

In Limerick, Tesco, Dunnes and Lidl we're all selling Stellafor less than €1 bottle or 330ml can. No wonder my former home has problems!!! It would be quiet funny(in a sick/sad sort of way) to see all the alco's knocking back the Stella!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭decbuck

rolling rock definitely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

1. Warsteiner
    2. Stella
    3. Grolsch

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

€1, that's very much at the upper end of the scale. I'd be hard-pushed to find a can at over 80c... Going to Ireland this week and am not looking forward to the total ruination inevitable with the combination of Dutch salaries and Irish prices :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,331 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

1664 or San Miguel

drinking Tesco Premium French at the moment (well not right now) - pretty nice at €16 for 20 longnecks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

tuborg.

rolling rock is the worst american piss-water beer i've ever had. worse than bud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

loyatemu wrote:
    1664 or San Miguel

drinking Tesco Premium French at the moment (well not right now) - pretty nice at €16 for 20 longnecks.
    good, I want to try that next

1664 was going for €1 a year or so ago, the proper stuff too, very smooth with little hops, very nice.

worse than bud.
    I thought the mods had banned the use of the word b*d, why do other swear words get blocked out but not it, its the most offensive stuff I have ever come across. Go wash your mouth out with tesco value gin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Bavaria is quite nice too, if theres nothing else cheap enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

San Miguel is lovely indeed although you have to be careful where you buy it as the price can vary alot in places...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭nude_hamster

loyatemu wrote:
    1664 or San Miguel

ya San miguel rules...just that compared to spain...it tastes awful here amd is much more expensive

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

If we are talking about quality and taste it has to be Warsteiner. Rolling Rock is a nice enough beer but it gives you an almighty hangover!!

In second place would have to be Grolsch and then Stella.

Stay the hell away from Hollandia. P*ss in a can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Stella, Grolsh or Rolling Rock.
    Happy days really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

feylya wrote:
    Warsteiner

Agreed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭delboy159

How about the Bergadler Pils in Lidl? It's 6 bottles for €7, but they are 500ml bottles which puts them at 77c for 330ml... The hangover can be fairly light too. You don't have to go looking for a deal on it either - thats its normal fixed price

I'm a big fan of Warsteiner also.

Anyone else have an opinion on the Lidl stuff?

My top 3 are:

1. Pils in Lidl
    2. Warsteiner
    3. Miller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I usually go for rolling rock, but if a few of us are buying together a crate of 20 millers for €20 is always the best option. Tuborg ain't bad either, I'll be living in Cologne this year where Tuborg is 50c for a 500ml bottle. Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

dimerocks wrote:
    rollling rock would be grand if it didnt give the worst hangovers ever.

i find that statement the opposite for me, rolling rock has no hangover effects for me. its stella that gives brutal hangovers even just a couple of cans of stella gives me hangover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭BogOak

someone said beck's. beck's for a euro, i doubt it. i'd add krombacher to the list. i got it for a euro somewhere, navan road i think. warsteiners a good one an all.

Kingp35 wrote:
    Stay the hell away from Hollandia. P*ss in a can

I'd go as far as to say, stay away from cans they are all ****e.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Fink Brau from lidl.

24 250ml bottles for 22 euro, I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

Peteee wrote:
    Fink Brau from lidl.

24 250ml bottles for 22 euro, I think

All I can say to that is "Yuck"! I've been know to drink some pi$$ in my time but that Stink Brau is the vilest stuff I've ever had the misfortune to drink. I guess what I'm trying to say is I hate that stuff. :) Warsteiner not bad though.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Dingatron wrote:
    All I can say to that is "Yuck"! I've been know to drink some pi$$ in my time but that Stink Brau is the vilest stuff I've ever had the misfortune to drink. I guess what I'm trying to say is I hate that stuff. :) Warsteiner not bad though.

Cant argue with cheapness! Must check out this Warsteiner

Blub2k4 wrote:
    I'd go as far as to say, stay away from cans they are all ****e.

ye and germania aswell...ugh :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭cuaifeadh

Although I'd have to say Tuborg for old time's sake, I'd say that there is nothing more satisfying(no matter how unbelieveably **** it tastes) and cheap than your own home brew!! *rubs tummy* Not sure if it qualifies although seeing as you can't buy it in shops :C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

Used to drink Warsteiner all the time - O' Briens were doing cases of it. But stopped when a mate pointed out how much it makes you fart. I thought it was just me, but checked with other mates and we all agree - very, very breezy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Dimitri

Sadly i grew up knacker drinker so my palate has adjusted to the taste of dutch gold. Tuborg is good too but i tend towards miller when i have the cash and am drinking from a can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Thrasher

BraveDonut wrote:
    Used to drink Warsteiner all the time - O' Briens were doing cases of it. But stopped when a mate pointed out how much it makes you fart. I thought it was just me, but checked with other mates and we all agree - very, very breezy

Now that's just plain silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Winter Slide

can't say Warsteiner has ever had that effect on me. I think its a great drop. Rolling Rock however drinkable it may be gives me the ****s! Lovely

O'Briens have Stella, Warsteiner, Grolsch and Rolling Rock for a euro a bottle