Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nutcase on Nenagh bypass

• 05-09-2005 11:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭

On Sunday 28th Aug at about 11 or 12 in the morning I was driving on teh Nenagh Bypass. This is an extremely straight road, long with very good hard shoulders but not a dual-carraige way. I went to overtake a car, I indicated, I looked in my mirror and saw a car coming up quite fast behind me, but with no indicators on, and still away back, looked very safe for me to overtake.
    Out I went and noticed the car behind me starting to pull out also. As I was just coming beside the car I was overtaking I saw the car that was behind me was now overtaking me! IE he was in the on-coming hard shoulder and there were 3 cars abreast on a two lane road. FFS!!!
    I braked and pulled back in. The clown disappeared into the distance.
    It was a brand new black Audi with some kind of unusual foreign plates.
    I'm posting this just because I'm still shocked by it and cant believe anyone could be so stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Wow, imagine driving head on into that :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

Maybe he was on his way to some sort of formation driving exhibition and was getting some practice in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Must have been in a hurry to get to shannon airport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

Lifes a gamble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Think that was bad....was on N3 and had just come out of the 3Km no pass zone outside kells on the way to Navan....seen this idiot behind me from Kells weaving in and out the whole way from Kells trying to pass on no pass zone.........again Foreign plates....luxembourg or something like that.....well if you know the road after you are coming to the end there is a long winding cornor towards the right coming from Navan....anyway was half way around this turn and next thing this foreign car goes straight past me on the hard shoulder.....I blew the s**t out of him but he kept going and passed another 3-4 cars before just weaving back into the correct lane making another drive slam on brakes....then processes to pass out another car the correct way and off up the road with not a bother on him......me and the other 3-4 cars where in pure amazement......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 201 ✭✭Rodney Trotter

Big Nelly wrote:
    Think that was bad....was on N3 and had just come out of the 3Km no pass zone outside kells on the way to Navan....seen this idiot behind me from Kells weaving in and out the whole way from Kells trying to pass on no pass zone.........again Foreign plates....luxembourg or something like that.....well if you know the road after you are coming to the end there is a long winding cornor towards the right coming from Navan....anyway was half way around this turn and next thing this foreign car goes straight past me on the hard shoulder.....I blew the s**t out of him but he kept going and passed another 3-4 cars before just weaving back into the correct lane making another drive slam on brakes....then processes to pass out another car the correct way and off up the road with not a bother on him......me and the other 3-4 cars where in pure amazement......

Did you report this incident to the Gardai in Navan or Kells?

If not, shame on you and you have absolutely no reason to complain. The Gardai rely on the Law abiding citizens to report such behaviour and the Gardai, themselves, cannot be expected to be present to observe such driving personally.

If you did make a report, then , well done.

Did you report this incident to the Gardai in Navan or Kells?

If not, shame on you and you have absolutely no reason to complain. The Gardai rely on the Law abiding citizens to report such behaviour and the Gardai, themselves, cannot be expected to be present to observe such driving personally.

If you did make a report, then , well done.

rang that stupid traffic number thing and left a message there but got no call back on it......last time I used that thing.....the next time I had a problem on N3 as well on way to Cavan when bloke in van in front of me was either falling asleep or was locked because all of a sudden he would weave into on coming traffic and then straight back onto proper lane........so I rang the Navan office and they where out in a flash and stopped him.....no callback either about that and I gave number so not sure what story was but he was about to kill himself and a few other people!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

What is that traffic number?? Couold have done with it on August 9th when there was a syupid bitch putting on her makeup ALL the way up the quays behind me. Ended up getting out of the car at the lights and saying "would you mind not putting on your makeup in the car behind me".

I took her reg ..

If that was you - your a selfish cow!! Get up early and put your makeup on at home. I don't see why I should be at risk because of you. Bitch!!

1890 205 805

Seems to be just an answering machine from my experience but could be changed now

Will see it on sign posts around roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Big Nelly wrote:
    Think that was bad....was on N3 and had just come out of the 3Km no pass zone outside kells on the way to Navan....seen this idiot behind me from Kells weaving in and out the whole way from Kells trying to pass on no pass zone.........again Foreign plates....luxembourg or something like that.....etc.

Doesn't sound very much like a Luxo' to me, they're (in the main, exceptions are always possible) as conservative and law-abiding as you're ever going to find on the Continent. What was the plate like (letters/numbers/colours)? yellow/black or red/white?

ambro25 wrote:
    Doesn't sound very much like a Luxo' to me, they're (in the main, exceptions are always possible) as conservative and law-abiding as you're ever going to find on the Continent. What was the plate like (letters/numbers/colours)? yellow/black or red/white?

Sorry man Luxembourg was the first country that came to mind...was one of those plates with the country letters at side.....like from all the eastern european countries that are flooding the road now.....havent a clue what country and havent number anymore!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

Latvian??
    probably... in my experience they drive like lunatics. Even in town. Had one up my a$$ this morning and thought if I had to slam on my brakes at any stage, I'd probably have that gob****e sitting in my passenger seat!!!
    No reg on the front, and when he finally got a chance to overtake me I could barley make out the reg... kinda hard when you can only see a blur ahead of you!

Have called the gards before and reported someone and all they said to me was "what do you want us to do about that now luv???". :mad: Really nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Big Nelly wrote:
    1890 205 805

Seems to be just an answering machine from my experience but could be changed now

Will see it on sign posts around roads

I read in the papers that they are phasing this out as it has become "just another phone in the station". Imagine that the cheek of people ringing the cops to report bad/dangerous driving on a special number that is on roadsigns throughout the country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

It was a brand new black Audi with some kind of unusual foreign plates

How do you know it was a brand new car? Perhaps from the model? I don't think I've ever seen cars from other EU countries with the year of registration directly in the plates, as in "05D12345"

Can you describe in some detail what the plates looked like?
    Latvian??
    probably... in my experience they drive like lunatics

There are a lot of Latvian cars where I live (Lucan). Most of these are German makes (lots of VW, Audi, BMW) and most are slightly older (typically mid to late '90s) and definitely not brand new (but I might be wrong there of course)

I can't say my experience tallies with yours. Imho the average Latvian driver in Ireland is a better driver than the average Irish driver

And yes, it might be about preconceptions too. Only a few nights ago I saw a car doing about 90km/h in the overtaking lane on the newest part of the M50 being flashed by a quickly approaching Latvian reg Audi A8 doing about 130km/h

Can't say I blame the Latvian driver there tbh...

P.S. Don't get me wrong. Latvians (or any other people) that drive their car over here and live here, should get it on an Irish reg, pay VRT if applicable, pay Irish motor tax and get the car insured as an Irish car, like the rest of us. Heard very recently through the grapevine that this has started to be enforced by the Gardai. No compliance = car confiscated on the spot :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

Have a look on this site to see if ye can spot the plate(s)/country of origin in question -

www.olavsplates.com/country_index.html

Silvera wrote:
    Have a look on this site to see if ye can spot the plate(s)/country of origin in question -

www.olavsplates.com/country_index.html

We always knew it but here's the proof. Silvera is definitely a plate fetishist :p

But seriously, thanks for the link, mate. I've bookmarked it already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Latvian??
    probably... in my experience they drive like lunatics. Even in town. Had one up my a$$ this morning and thought if I had to slam on my brakes at any stage, I'd probably have that gob****e sitting in my passenger seat!!!!
    Happened to a friend. She was driving on the Grange from Donaghmede to Baldoyle. Speed limit on that road is 30mph and there's always speed traps around.

She took it easy and had an LT reg car up her behind - it was driving so close that it hit her. Then when she stopped, he rammed her three/four times and drove off.

She got his reg, Howth cops were out in a flash and caught him in Baldoyle. The driver was so drunk he was incapable of standing.

She was lucky, but it's almost impossible for the Guards to track Lativian regged cars down.

I also see a lot of LT regged cars driving like lunatics on the N3 every week.

There really should be some time of passport scheme for foreign reg cars so at least their owners can be tracked. Such cars that don't leave the country after three months should then be forced to become Irish regged.

There really should be some time of passport scheme for foreign reg cars so at least their owners can be tracked

Agree
    an LT reg car up her behind
    Lativian regged cars

LT is Lithuanian, not Latvian or even Lativian ;)

Haven't had much experience with LT regged cars myself tbh

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

unkel wrote:

Haven't had much experience with LT regged cars myself tbh
    Some tend to drive quickly but not any more than Irish registered cars!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

Has anyone else noticed the amount of LT and LV German make cars with blacked out windows? It's another symptom of Irelands lack of law enforcement that this amount of foreigners can can get away with not taxing their cars yet the Gardai are very quick to penalise Irish cars without tax. Seems to me like they just want an easy life. I've seen foreign regged, non taxed cars being let through Tax/Insurance checkpoints without any hassle from the Gardai.

TBH, I'm much more bothered about the blacked-out windows (about which you're quite right - there's a fair few of them about compared to "non-blacked out") than the tax thing... e.g. why the apparently-generalised need for them where LT/LV car owners are concerned? Re. Gardai not enforcing, I believe that's a language issue... or lack of skills thereof - but then we're hardly going to put 'fluent LT/LV' as a Gardai job requirement, are we? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

In other countries, you get a lot more of the blacked out/tinted windows than here. It's the weather, you see, so it's fairly commonplace on the continent and in the US to have tinted windows. Can't really give out too much for not getting their windows changed when they bring the cars over here - they're obviously only over for a short term thing or else the cars would be reregistered on arrival?

jlang wrote:
    In other countries, you get a lot more of the blacked out/tinted windows than here. It's the weather, you see, so it's fairly commonplace on the continent and in the US to have tinted windows. Can't really give out too much for not getting their windows changed when they bring the cars over here - they're obviously only over for a short term thing or else the cars would be reregistered on arrival?
    You must be joking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Redneck_Rebel

I'v spent alot of time on the roads in tractors and the sight of you on the road make people lose their common sence. The usual thing is when people try to pass you on small tight roads that they can't see on and cut in front of you either almost smashing into the on coming car or getting rooled over by my front tire. I do let people pass when it is safe. I don't want to single out one groupe but it is on the most part D reg's that pull this stunt. The best examlpe of stupidity was when a D reg again(I'm not trying to single dubs out) decided that he would fit passed a friend of mine, he had started well til the jeep slid down the ditch and the arch was around the bar for the auto back door half hour later we managed to get free. All that sh1t for the sake of backing 10 yards.
    Ah well there are alot of idiots on the road, don't be one of them and take it easy.

Bond-007 wrote:
    You must be joking!

Second & Triple that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

unkel wrote:
    How do you know it was a brand new car? Perhaps from the model? I don't think I've ever seen cars from other EU countries with the year of registration directly in the plates, as in "05D12345"

Can you describe in some detail what the plates looked like?

TBH I had other things on my mind at the time ;)
    The car looked shiney and new - couldn't be more specific than that sorry. Also I looked at the plates in an atempt to get his mumber and phone the cops but he was gone too quickly - FWIW I think the reg actually started with "D" ?!? I think it was an EC plate but not a German or French one which I think I would have recognised.

FR plates are white with black lettering on front (very similar to IE, more-or-less same size, font etc. - older ones are black with shiny metal), yellow with black lettering on back , start and end with a number, 2 or 3 letter group in the middle, last 2 digits to indicate geographical provenance (like the Irish D for Dublin, C for Cork etc.). ie: 626 VA 57 (my old CX 25 GTi-T), 1234 ABC 75, etc.

German plates are white with black lettering, start with a 1, 2 or 3-letter group which likewise indicate geographical provenance (again like the Irish D for Dublin, C for Cork etc.) then another letter and a s/n. ie: Dü(sseldorf) - B 12345. Distinctive coloured 'stampies' (car tax) between the letters and the number.

Luxembourg plates are yellow with black lettering (very similar to UK ones, but physically not as long), usually start with 1 or 2 letters and then a number (3 to 4 digits). Simply issued in sequential order: A000 to A999, eventually AA000 to AA 999, then... My '92 Pug 205 used to be L-reg'd KY 960. Some are just a 3- or 4-digit numbers (friends in high places ;) ). Like in Belgium, car owners can 'keep' their reg for life and transfer it from car to car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

unkel wrote:
    I can't say my experience tallies with yours. Imho the average Latvian driver in Ireland is a better driver than the average Irish driver
    That's my experience too. I am on the road an awful lot and I don't think I've ever seen an LV or LT reg car being driven badly or nearly causing an accident. I'm not saying they are perfect but IME they are much better than the average Irish driver. I get some strange looks when I state this opinion to eejits moaning about "dem f*ckin Russian lunatics in their big cars" :rolleyes:

Still, I would like to know what exactly is the situation with tax and insurance on these vehicles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Ann Elk

BrianD3 wrote:
    Still, I would like to know what exactly is the situation with tax and insurance on these vehicles.

If its another EC country, if the conform with the law in the country of origin, re tax and insurance, they should not be stopped from entering Ireland on a 'visit'. The idea behind it is that community legislation is supposed to establish a minimum standard to which all member states should adhere thus allowing for free movement.

The problem is that it is extremely hard to establish how long the vehicle is here/is intending to be here for, and no-body seems particularly arsed to ring Latvian insurance companies/government depts to check their cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Ann Elk wrote:
    If its another EC country, if the conform with the law in the country of origin, re tax and insurance, they should not be stopped from entering Ireland on a 'visit'. The idea behind it is that community legislation is supposed to establish a minimum standard to which all member states should adhere thus allowing for free movement.

The problem is that it is extremely hard to establish how long the vehicle is here/is intending to be here for, and no-body seems particularly arsed to ring Latvian insurance companies/government depts to check their cover.

Do they not have a register on the ferry?

Surely there is some kind of database for incoming and outgoing car regs.
    One that the Gardai should be able to access.

Jumpy wrote:
    Do they not have a register on the ferry?

Surely there is some kind of database for incoming and outgoing car regs.
    One that the Gardai should be able to access.

They may have to register on the Ferry, but no-one checks with insurance companies. As regards a database, there is no such one set up afaik, due mainly to data protection issues the insurers i work for has very strict rules on disclosing any information to the police - it is a very drawn out and tedious business - i'd imagine the same applies to the Gardai and irish insurers.

Given the huge proportion of uninsured drivers on Irish roads, i wouldn't hold out for any speedy resolution here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

I work for a large US multinational with a couple of thousand staff. There are numerous foreign vehicles in the car parks every day. The customs & excise have set up camp outside the gates at least twice (that I've seen them). They are stopping people with non-irish registered vehicles (including a former scottish manager of mine who was on UK plates 2 years after moving here!) and taking their details. It's hard to pretend you're 'just visiting' when you're driving into work! I know of a few cars that have been registered here but still plenty of EST, LT, LV, PL, E, I, D, A, NL, F, B and GB plates floating around.

I have known of cases where the C&E have seized foreign reg cars that have been driving around taking the p**s out of the system. I have known them to show up in a certain town with a car transporter and drove around collecting their haul.

They do give a sh*t and will do something if you report it to them.

They will act when it comes to ceasing cars which are here long term illegally and havent complied with import laws, but the post i was addressing is this one:
    BrianD3 wrote:

And its a seperate issue, there is no huge push on by any body to check the tax/insurance status of these vehicles in their country of residence. There should surely be a more rigidly enforced system in the ports to check this even on people who are here on short term holidays, otherwise they have a bumb with joe bloggs who is screwed because there is no insurance company to claim from.

You can always claim off of the motor insurers bureau of Latvia. They have to cover uninsured driving.

Bond-007 wrote:
    You can always claim off of the motor insurers bureau of Latvia. They have to cover uninsured driving.

You could indeed do that but you might be a little on the old side by the time the cheque came through, and in the meantime bye bye no claims bonus and hello premium hike - not much consolation for people strapped for cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Sesshoumaru

I think its good that these people come here and tax/insure their cars in their home countries. We live in the EU for christ sake! Its supposed to be a single market where you can buy services from any country you like. All you folks getting worked up at them not paying local taxes, you are just helping our crappy government perpetuate our rip off tax/vrt/vat scheme we have running here. I wish I could tax and insure my car in another country within the EU and buy it in another country for that matter!

So the irish economy should pay these folks and then they should send their money home (unlikely!) to fund Estonia's roads programme etc. while they contribute to the wear and tear on roads that we're paying for? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I think its good that these people come here and tax/insure their cars in their home countries. We live in the EU for christ sake! Its supposed to be a single market where you can buy services from any country you like. All you folks getting worked up at them not paying local taxes, you are just helping our crappy government perpetuate our rip off tax/vrt/vat scheme we have running here. I wish I could tax and insure my car in another country within the EU and buy it in another country for that matter!

It might shock you to know that your insurance policy doesnt cover you to drive overseas permenantly, which means theirs dont either. Its also near impossible to trace them if they commit a crime( imagine how you'd feel if a latvian reg car ranover and killed your child, then proceeded to drive off and all the gardai could tell you was "we have no way to find them". whereas if they were registered in Ireland they could easily find out who was driving ). They can commit all sorts of motoring offences with mpunity.Oh and its also illegal.

Stekelly wrote:
    It might shock you to know that your insurance policy doesnt cover you to drive overseas permenantly, which means theirs dont either. Its also near impossible to trace them if they commit a crime( imagine how you'd feel if a latvian reg car ranover and killed your child, then proceeded to drive off and all the gardai could tell you was "we have no way to find them". whereas if they were registered in Ireland they could easily find out who was driving ). They can commit all sorts of motoring offences with mpunity.Oh and its also illegal.
    Why are the Customs not actively targeting Latvian and other types of foreigners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

murphaph wrote:
    I work for a large US multinational with a couple of thousand staff. There are numerous foreign vehicles in the car parks every day. The customs & excise have set up camp outside the gates at least twice (that I've seen them).

Me 2 - love to see them do it here; there's only one road out of the place but customs can be a bit retarded too.

[OT rant]Taking the ferry from France to Ireland lately with my fully taxed, NCT'd and insured Irish reg 2+2 coupe I was stopped, questioned and searched three times - twice in France and once in Ireland. The first time a Focus C-Max on English plates towing a caravan with all windows on both car and caravan full to the bollox with bags passed me. Who's more likely to be hiding something? Me with my sports car, empty rear/passenger seats and one bag in the boot or him with his huge bus and half an army's supplies with him? I'm not sure if their objective was to catch smugglers or discourage anybody who couldn't possibly be a smuggler from using the ferry, but I won't be going back any time soon. ****tards[/OT rant]

murphaph wrote:
    So the irish economy should pay these folks and then they should send their money home (unlikely!) to fund Estonia's roads programme etc. while they contribute to the wear and tear on roads that we're paying for? :rolleyes:

Yes - in much the same way the reverse (with an Irish citizen working overseas intra-EU) would apply. The EU - it's not all take, y' know, there's also a bit of 'give' in the equation...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

ambro25 wrote:
    Yes - in much the same way the reverse (with an Irish citizen working overseas intra-EU) would apply. The EU - it's not all take, y' know, there's also a bit of 'give' in the equation...
    but we're not allowed to emigrate to another country and not register, tax and insure our cars in said country. We can all roam around Europe in our cars but once you put down roots, get a job and intend on staying, you no longer can drive under the laws of the country you came from.

ambro25 wrote:

In agreement 100% percent ambro25, the whole point of the community is to ensure protection for the four fundamental freedoms, however we still need to realise that people are people and naturally a certain percentage of them will seek to avoid pying tax or insurance regardless of the country of origin. What is needed is a system of cross border communication whiich make insurance info more accessible for the authorities thus enabling them to tacke such issues before they have serious consequences.

Of course we can't just single out foreign drivers, a similar approach is also needed at home to tackle the epidemic of uninsured drivers. I don't know about anyone else but a system which penalises someone who drives without insurance, or a driving licence with a driving bad is enigmatic at the least. The UK was condsidering an approach of reminder followed by mandatory confiscation of any car not declared off the road if proof of insurance was not produced on an annual basis. Asfaik the idea was dropped for its possible adverse effect on civil liberties - probably a wise decision.

LFCFan wrote:
    but we're not allowed to emigrate to another country and not register, tax and insure our cars in said country. We can all roam around Europe in our cars but once you put down roots, get a job and intend on staying, you no longer can drive under the laws of the country you came from.

Not disputed, wholly agree. However, the "driving under the laws" needs some tuning - you always 'drive' under the applicable Road/Driving Act/Rules of any country you are in with your vehicle. We're discussing tax laws, here - and the principle of free movement of goods intra-EU.

Surely, no-one will deny that VRT is a breach of this fundamental pillar of the EU market since its inception 1957: this tax which denies me the right to benefit from cheaper prices when buying the same car in FR, L or GB (factoring in the VAT differential, higher in IE and about which I have no quarms), and constrains me to pay over 30% of the value of a car which I bought before coming over here to work, for no other reason than the fact that I didn't buy the car in Ireland.

I'm not objecting to road tax, nct and -say- an admin fee for re-registering a car on IE plates, but you see the point...
    Ann Elk wrote:
    In agreement 100% percent ambro25, the whole point of the community is to ensure protection for the four fundamental freedoms, however we still need to realise that people are people and naturally a certain percentage of them will seek to avoid pying tax or insurance regardless of the country of origin. What is needed is a system of cross border communication whiich make insurance info more accessible for the authorities thus enabling them to tacke such issues before they have serious consequences.

I agree 100%
    Ann Elk wrote:
    Of course we can't just single out foreign drivers, a similar approach is also needed at home to tackle the epidemic of uninsured drivers.

Indeed - so below.
    Ann Elk wrote:
    I don't know about anyone else but a system which penalises someone who drives without insurance, or a driving licence with a driving bad is enigmatic at the least. The UK was condsidering an approach of reminder followed by mandatory confiscation of any car not declared off the road if proof of insurance was not produced on an annual basis. Asfaik the idea was dropped for its possible adverse effect on civil liberties - probably a wise decision.

Disagree - to an extent. A car is as much a weapon (in the wrong hands, to be understood as untrained/drunk/reckless/...) as a personnal commodity to go from A to B - along with use comes responsibilities, one mandatory (legal) and moral of which is to ensure that adequate compensation can be had by a wronged/injured/damaged/... party. Considering the basic fact that no-one can garantee a bump will never happen, not even Michael Schumacher, then in my eyes non-compliance = criminal behaviour, and confiscation (until the fine is paid and the car legitimately insured) is a pretty benign and temporary inconvenience.

ambro25 wrote:

Disagree - to an extent. A car is as much a weapon (in the wrong hands, to be understood as untrained/drunk/reckless/...) as a personnal commodity to go from A to B - along with use comes responsibilities, one mandatory (legal) and moral of which is to ensure that adequate compensation can be had by a wronged/injured/damaged/... party. Considering the basic fact that no-one can garantee a bump will never happen, not even Michael Schumacher, then in my eyes non-compliance = criminal behaviour, and confiscation (until the fine is paid and the car legitimately insured) is a pretty benign and temporary inconvenience.

Point noted, and i see where you're coming from the problem with it lies in how to define the offence;

If you base it on a negligence standard you need to show that the owner is negligent in not having the vehicle insured - not too dificult if the car is in use at the time, but problematic if it is sitting on the driveway because you're on holiday.

If you make it a strict liability offence you run the same risk of penalising people who may have the car parked up for not having renewed due to cash flow problems, administration errors on behalf of the insurers etc.

Basing it on any other standard would require the proof of guily mind - a high burden of proof for even the most serious of crimes.

I realise that some of the potential difficulties above could be overcome by a little fine tuning, but the main concern is the extent to which an approach could cut across property rights - it was deemed to be a little to close to a big brother state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭lynchie

Bond-007 wrote:
    Why are the Customs not actively targeting Latvian and other types of foreigners?

They are.. Twice in the past two weeks I've seen Customs checkpoints in Clondalkin. They had about 15-20 foreign reg cars pulled over.

A friend of mine from Scotland was pulled twice already. According to them, failure to provide a return ferry ticket or prove that you intend to take the car out of the state requires you to register the car here (and pay VRT)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Ann Elk wrote:
    In agreement 100% percent ambro25, the whole point of the community is to ensure protection for the four fundamental freedoms, however we still need to realise that people are people and naturally a certain percentage of them will seek to avoid pying tax or insurance regardless of the country of origin. What is needed is a system of cross border communication whiich make insurance info more accessible for the authorities thus enabling them to tacke such issues before they have serious consequences..

Free Trade is all well and good but they are driving around without insurance. I notice everyone chose o ignore that part of my last post, so ill put it in again, You are not covered to permenantly drive in another country with your policy here. They also cant keep track of or issue fines etc to foreign cars, unless they bring in on the spot fines.

Without general tax harmonisation across the entire EU (this will never happen folks) the idea of paying road tax in your home country and living somewhere else is a joke. Why can't I pay Lithuanian rates of road & income tax while I'm at it? Why should lower rates of taxation be available to EU citizens who move from their home countries and not to all citizens?

The fact is this: we're paying extra for the foreign plate cars in Ireland. I'd say the majority of them are actually from the UK too.

Insurance is a whole other ball game. These people are NOT informing their insurers of their vehicle's real location people. The calculated risk way well be much lower than what they are exposing themselves too. Nobody is forcing our EU cousins to come here and work. They are provided with the same infrastructure people born here are and they should pay the same for it.

Stekelly wrote:
    Free Trade is all well and good but they are driving around without insurance..

however we still need to realise that people are people and naturally a certain percentage of them will seek to avoid pying tax or insurance regardless of the country of origin.
    Stekelly wrote:
    I notice everyone chose o ignore that part of my last post, so ill put it in again, You are not covered to permenantly drive in another country with your policy here. .

That depends on your company - Irish companies don't do it but that's not to say that no-other European company offers this option - the are entitled to do so if they wish.
    Stekelly wrote:
    They also cant keep track of or issue fines etc to foreign cars, unless they bring in on the spot fines.

Agreed hence "What is needed is a system of cross border communication whiich make insurance info more accessible for the authorities thus enabling them to tacke such issues before they have serious consequences"