Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new orleans live!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I saw that before. It's really interesting. They're the only operating web server in new orleans or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

yeah they were tryin to get fuel tanker in for the generaters last night. apparently they have guns and stuff 2 just in case the gangs come their way. better reports than the news though

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

fending them selves off against teenagers who need there counterstrike fix :D

these are pics from the site!

madness

haha now i can't stop thinkin of the office level!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

the city is like a war torn country now.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

all mighty usa are a bit slow the relief aid :rolleyes:

seen a couple of pics of people looting the bank, their not poor now.

all mighty usa are a bit slow the relief aid :rolleyes:
    but their quick to start a war on iraq tho;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Watching video feed. Buildings on fire. Few odd cars driving around.

yeah seen the feed, the servers are mad slow, but id assume thats because there are thousands of people on them.

http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/6633/dsc01633ea.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Sparky_S wrote:
    yeah seen the feed, the servers are mad slow, but id assume thats because there are thousands of people on them.

http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/6633/dsc01633ea.jpg

I know its not funny situation, but check out the "homie" on the very right of that photo - pure thug. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I wonder what will happen with all these looters and stuff afterwards. Will they get away scot free?

id say with the suitation thats involved, a case could come up that it was there will to survive by robbing food and water.....and money and flatscreen tvs and laptops etc. etc.
    oh and did i mention cars.

Also with the amount of damage the hurricane caused id say every thing will be covered by insurances anyway.

I know its not funny situation, but check out the "homie" on the very right of that photo - pure thug. ;)

yo man, hes some rich mofo now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

if during the course of a looting spree they don't get shot dead by any number of armed forces currently ordered to "shoot to kill" in the city, they probably will get away scot free. Personally though I find the idea of someone being shot for stealing food to feed himself and/or his family quite dispicable. Only in America I guess.

One thing's for certain, Bush won't be getting "4 more years" after this farce. 5 days without aid is unbelieveable. Having him appear on the news several times in the last few days smirking like a medicated chimp while all this is going on is more than I can stand. Poor fella though, you'd know all he has is air between his ears just by the look of him.

Heard a comment this morning on TodayFM which I thought was quite ironic... Someone texted in asking something like "I donated to the tsunami relief fund and how long will it be before charities are asking us to donate to the hurricane relief fund... Giving our money to the richest country in the world". Maybe if 44% of the city's budget for flood defences hadn't been cut and used to fund the war in Iraq, a tragedy of this scale might have been averted.

End of rant on American government for now..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

rymus wrote:
    if during the course of a looting spree they don't get shot dead by any number of armed forces currently ordered to "shoot to kill" in the city, they probably will get away scot free. Personally though I find the idea of someone being shot for stealing food to feed himself and/or his family quite dispicable. Only in America I guess.

I know. It's madness! The US is one messed-up place.

simu wrote:
    I know. It's madness! The US is one messed-up place.

the only country in the world that is The First World that has parts of it in the 3rd world economies

was listening to joe duffy, or rather that woman who is standing in, and some yank was telling us if we donated money to keep it too ourselfs and spend it on seatbelts for school buses instead, saying that america doesnt need the money.
    I laughed.
    /me waits for red cross and concern ad for help the people of louisanna.

no sane Irish person would donate money to the US. If they can spend several billion dollars murdering countless innocent Iraqi people they can surely pay for an impressively hefty relief effort for their own citizens. Or so I would have thought. Did anyone in New Orleans or the surrounding areas vote for Bush? Hmmm... makes ya think

No. I feel very sorry for the people caught up in the disaster but I wouldn't give a donation towards a disaster in a country as rich as the US.

exactly... I wouldnt wish that kind of experience on my worst enemy but the country is capable of dealing with it without outside assistance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Eh I don't know why you are being so cruel and heartless towards the citizens just because Bush is a bad egg? Its not like its the rich people in their mansions who are suffering, its the poor lower class black population that probably didn't even vote Bush in the first place.

The skewed logic that many of you have is astounding. Because some people in the upper echelons of their society diverted money towards other areas such as war means that those in desperate need should suffer? Perhaps I didn't read the line in the rulebook on "How to be a Decent Human Being" that stated that we should be asses to citizens of a country that has different ideals to us. Many of you were quick to donate to the Tsunami crisis in Indonesia but they are responsible for so many deaths and a cruel regime. What they have done to the people of East Timor over the past 30 or so years is dispicable and yet that didn't stop you donating money. However Americas action in Iraq causes you to laugh at the poor suffering there.

To be honest I will probably donate money towards them because many of them won't have insurance and aid money only goes so far. They do need help and to just laugh at the idea of giving aid is disgusting. I hope that if Ireland ever suffers a similar fate that the international community would be quick to help us, or perhaps they would go with your idiotic logic that since we have one of the highest GDP's per Capita we don't need any more money. Some of you should learn that the actions of few should not result in the punishment of many.

Eh - who is laughing?

They may have been slow and bumbling starting out the relief effort but the US does have enough resources to help the people caught up in this disaster (in the short term) and it will do so. Of course, in the long term, many of the poorer people who have no insurance will be badly off but this it's hardly to job of the rest of the world to fight social inequality in the US. It is a democracy and the people do have a voice - maybe they'll think more carefully about who governs them after this experience.

Ultimately, it's up to individual donors to make the decision and personally I think money I give to charity would be better spent on supporting development in 3rd world countries.

Calm down.

cruel and heartless towards the citizens? Maybe towards the ones who choose to hamper the rescue and evacuation efforts by looting and shooting at helicopters. I genuinely feel for the ones who are just trying to survive and get the hell out of the place as soon as their inept government will allow.

Youve taken it up all wrong. Just because I choose to point out the idiocy and incapability of the elected leader of the country doesn't mean that I assume every citizen of the country deserves to die painfully. I wouldn't assume that the ordinary citizens of say, Iraq should be blown to pieces just because they live in Iraq.

Donate if you feel it'll ease your fix for being a thoughful human being. Just keep in mind that your money will be going directly to possibly the most corrupt government on the planet. Aid money goes as far as the government decides it should go. If Bush decides not to support the entire black community that didn't vote for him, he's no better than Hussein imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

rymus wrote:
    if during the course of a looting spree they don't get shot dead by any number of armed forces currently ordered to "shoot to kill" in the city, they probably will get away scot free. Personally though I find the idea of someone being shot for stealing food to feed himself and/or his family quite dispicable. Only in America I guess. .

Yeah cos the people looting electrical stores are looking for food to feed themselves. Oh and the people are robbing the bank to BUY food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

possibly the most corrupt government on the planet? How ignorant are you? Read any book on Africa and come back to me.

I was in New Orleans in July and loved the place, the people were so friendly, I'm give them money gladly if the asked for it. America gives alot of aid to the world, not to mention other resources. It would be no harm to give some back. Money they may not need, but medicine, doctors, etc could save more lives than any money we give them.

simu wrote:
    No. I feel very sorry for the people caught up in the disaster but I wouldn't give a donation towards a disaster in a country as rich as the US.

Is it jump on the US time again already. Seriously most of you are just waiting for excuses to give out about them. They refused aid and said they didnt need it so why would you even be thinking abouyt a donation, let alone giving out about it.

simu wrote:
    Ultimately, it's up to individual donors to make the decision and personally I think money I give to charity would be better spent on supporting development in 3rd world countries. .

Yeah cos the ultra concerned leaders in africa distribute all the money among the poor.

Stekelly wrote:
    Yeah cos the people looting electrical stores are looking for food to feed themselves. Oh and the people are robbing the bank to BUY food.

Perhaps if you re-read my post you'll get it.. but then again perhaps you wont.

Sick, twisted people. Do you give aid to Asia or Africa despite the fact that dictators in indonesia have killed millions of people, not to mention Sri Lanka and the Tamils. Course Mugabe is nearly saint now, so widespread are his good works.

Go on, be fashionable, hate America. Sure they rebuilt Europe after World war 2, and Soros foundation is rebuilding Eastern Europe (slowly) but apart form that what have the ever done for us?

hate America? no.. I love America. What I don't love is the complete twat that's currently running it.. Or have we not yet learned to distinguish between country and government? Come back to me when you have.`

yes i love america too, but like said, the idiot who would be lucky to know how to spell potato, is what i dont like about america.

So you wouldn't give aid to a country because you disagree with their politics? Humanitarian aren't you? I suppose you didn't help Niger either?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

rymus wrote:
    hate America? no.. I love America. What I don't love is the complete twat that's currently running it.. Or have we not yet learned to distinguish between country and government? Come back to me when you have.`

On that basis you should donate to the American Red Cross, even if it's only a token. At least it shows some truth of your beliefs. Bush is inept and has been shown to be so to the American people and the government has had made an absolute mess of the relief effort.

As regards some of the other posts it ill behoves people to enjoy the awful scenario that has unfolded. Sure criticise the complete shambles of the government but undisguised glee at the tragedy just because of a loathing of US policies/country says a lot more about the posters themselves.

How do you feel about helping Belorussian children? Sure **** 'em, I hate their dictator leader, I don't care if summers in Ireland help them live longer.

You know I don't like the Irish government either, so get lost Rape crisis centre, no charity you'll get from me no, no siree.

So you wouldn't give aid to a country because you disagree with their politics? Humanitarian aren't you? I suppose you didn't help Niger either?

Well i donate money to any aid thats required, but this time im not going to doante to america, because i believe they got themselfs into this mess, plus it will show up what GW has done to their system.
    They would be ok if he didnt take the money they would us on the war in iraq.

BTW are you donating to america?

no.. I wouldnt give aid to the richest country in the world because eh... theyre the richest country in the world.. If I could be assured that any aid I'd give would go directly to the people starving in the streets that Bush doesnt give a shít about, then I'd gladly empty my pockets. Don't be so stupid to presume I'm not concerned just because I don't willingly fork out cash to an already wealthy superpower.

You're right, it was stupid to build a city 3m below sea level in a hurricane area. You know what? I'll go back to France in 1760 and warn them about it.

It was the planning the 60's that ****ed things up, George W. didn't rewrite the plans or anything.

BTW, not all aid is money, the EU can send medicine, supplies, doctors, field hospitals, engineers, builders. I already said money would be of little help, read my posts before you reply to me.

rymus wrote:
    no.. I wouldnt give aid to the richest country in the world because eh... theyre the richest country in the world.. If I could be assured that any aid I'd give would go directly to the people starving in the streets that Bush doesnt give a shít about, then I'd gladly empty my pockets. Don't be so stupid to presume I'm not concerned just because I don't willingly fork out cash to an already wealthy superpower.

You realise that the dictators in africa have more money than most of the richest people here, and have a damn site more than George Bush has. Yet you dont mind giving money to their people. They are far worse run countries and have commite far worse attrocities than what you could even wish to accuse George Bush of.

BTW, not all aid is money, the EU can send medicine, supplies, doctors, field hospitals, engineers, builders. I already said money would be of little help, read my posts before you reply to me.

Understood, your a good person, i do agree that its not all about money and id gladly go over there and put my skills to work, but then again america would probably be better with their own construction workers and hospital staff as id rather see them creating jobs for themselfs.

Stekelly wrote:
    You realise that the dictators in africa have more money than most of the richest people here, and have a damn site more than George Bush has. Yet you dont mind giving money to their people. They are far worse run countries and have commite far worse attrocities than what you could even wish to accuse George Bush of.

Which is why... as a rule I give aid to nobody. Boourns, I'm a bastard. Oh no, I'm a terrible example of a human being. Whatever. I'm going to bed. Enjoy your argument.

Do all you people really think that George Bush is sitting in a room with various important people from the government telling him to send aid or do this and that and he just ignores them and plays his psp or something/ hes not the only decision maker. If nothing else , sorting this can only make him look good, which would take care of his uncareing attitude because it would be a purely selfish act.

I'm not saying that it has been handled correctly, becaus eit most probably hasnt, but how come no-one criticises any other country for their handling of disasters? they send help and wish all the best, but becaus eits america all people can think to do is criticise.

its probably because america affects everything in the world, wheather we like it or not.
    like look at the oil issue, europe had to stand in to keep them from rising, but only this evening did i notice we will still have an extra 10c on the litre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

so..its a link dangling by a thread.
    Bush, and his cabinet (personally i dont think he is as stupid as everyone thinks, plus if they were casting for the new james bond, he would be my number 1..)- the elected leader of a democratic country - has refused to sign up to the kyoto protocol, which expects to lower greenhouse gas emissions by 2007 or something. These greenhouse gas emissions are complicit in global warming and thus the warming of the oceans, which has a knock on effect on air streams and the like, which in turn dictate storms et al..
    now i dunno if signing up to the kyoto protocol would have made a differenc e butttttttttttttt...
    plus most of bush's support is in the south, the area worst affected..
    its just a point..

rymus wrote:
    Which is why... as a rule I give aid to nobody. Boourns, I'm a bastard. Oh no, I'm a terrible example of a human being. Whatever. I'm going to bed. Enjoy your argument.

I never said you were a bad person for 2not giving. I havent given anything to anyone in ages, I didnt give anything for the Tsunami appeal and dont mind admitting it. I have just started a family and am in no way ashamed to say that I will look after my family first. I dont earn a very good wage in the grand scheme of things ( or in a average wage scheme of things) so dont have much income to spread around abroad. I was just commenting on your attitude that giving to america is wrong because of their policies, but you advocate giving to other countries with much worse governments.

Plus it seems more fashionable to give aid overseas since the mid eighties. The money given to the Tsunami appeal could probably have gotten all the homeless people inn Ireland housed a couple of times over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I think a lot of the frustrations lie in the fact that most of the National Guard who would normally deal with this are in Iraq, which is where they should never have been in the first place.
    The fact that it's taken 4 days to even get there is an abomination. I'm just listening to Senator Trent Loff (Republican, Mississippi) on CNN who's spinning that particular question into being nothing more than Media hype, and that the people on the ground arent asking that question. It really is disgusting.

Stekelly wrote:
    Yeah cos the ultra concerned leaders in africa distribute all the money among the poor.

Uh - I was referring to NGOs that work directly at ground level. I know you'd love me to be a rabid anti-American but I'm not. Nah!

Blackjack wrote:
    I think a lot of the frustrations lie in the fact that most of the National Guard who would normally deal with this are in Iraq, which is where they should never have been in the first place.
    The fact that it's taken 4 days to even get there is an abomination. I'm just listening to Senator Trent Loff (Republican, Mississippi) on CNN who's spinning that particular question into being nothing more than Media hype, and that the people on the ground arent asking that question. It really is disgusting.

It didnt help that a large peoportion of the police force resigned either, justwhen they are needed most. Fair enough they live in the city and have lost homes and their possesion but this is the type of things they sign up for.

Its like joining the army and leaving becaus ethey ask you to go to war.

yeah most of the national guard are in iraq, hense not many of them are at home, but this is the reason america has spent most of its resources on the war in iraq.