Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I have a dream

• 02-09-2005 1:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭

I had the strangest dream ever last night and I have a couple of questions about it.
    I was playing in a big tournament and it was down to the last few tables but it was self-deal for some reason. Anyway as I dealing the cards I was sure I dealt myself AA, it was folded around to me and then I really looked at the cards only to see AQo. I looked to my left and saw that the small blind was about to fold, so I raised, small blind folded and the fecking BB called. Flop came AQJ8 rainbow I kid you not a 4 card flop (well it was a dream). BB checks, I put in a small bet looking for some action and he comes over the top all in, I call. He has AKo, turn brings an A. now I have a house, hand done and dusted :D . Last but by no means least the river, I happy I don’t care what it brings but for Fcuk sake not a fecking K. Well we all know the Fecking BB hit the fecking k. I was gutted, 2 fecking outs.

Anyway what I want to know is:
    1) Could I have played the hand differently?
    2) Surely he should have reraised me preflop, was this bad play on his behalf or was he trying to trap me.
    3) This is the first time I have dreamt about poker, have any of the rest of ye dream about poker (only poker not the forum for any other tales of weird dreams or other one handed shenanigans)?
    4) What does it say about me that in My dream, in which I was dealing, I still received a terrible bad beat on the river? :eek:

Lastly, when I woke up this morning, I really felt gutted that I got done on the fecking river.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

Maybe you should change your supplier - sounds like a bad batch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jem

I just think u are fcuked.And due to Captain mannering you expect a bad beat before they even happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Are you sure you were the guy with the AQ and not the AK. You could have been dreaming about the other guys cards. In which case it's cheating, and you should be barred from your dream casino. You sicken me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I onced pushed UTG with Q2o when I looked at the same card twice and thought I had QQ. Thank christ I managed to steal the blinds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭tap28

Maybe you should change your supplier - sounds like a bad batch
    That is not a bad idea in general, but last night I was sober and had no other drugs bar caffeine in by system. That the truth mr policeman.
    Are you sure you were the guy with the AQ and not the AK
    No the AQ was definitely mine, the problem was as I was dealing the cards I could see on the TV screen I dealt myself AA. : Confused: to be honest I feel I was the one being cheated and everyone else should have been barred from dream casino ;)
    And due to Captain mannering you expect a bad beat before they even happen.
    Now that you mention it I was out in the captain’s house yesterday and the chips, cards and even the table were still there as we had left them on Friday.
    Maybe that what caused it? Maybe it is some sort of posttraumatic stress for poker players. Maybe I’m the first to suffer from it. I can just see it now, in years to come loads of poker people will have and it will be called The Taps after me. One day you will be walking down the street looking dazed and confused because your calculating the odds of that fecker hitting runner runner on you and some will say that man has the taps the poor fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭AmarilloFats

U vant to zleep vit your muther!
    Ze queen on ze flop represents ur mother…U and she are together, happy. Rainbow flop = varied full life…U dealt zerefore you are taking ze respoziblity for ur lifski… Zen ur Father comes along..A clear homo oedipusy complex syndrome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

NickyOD wrote:
    I onced pushed UTG with Q2o when I looked at the same card twice and thought I had QQ. Thank christ I managed to steal the blinds.

Done something really similar to that except it was A4. a 4 can really look like an A sometimes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Hmm misreading cards, sounds familar, ah here it is:

"All fold around to john who makes up the small blind. I had 5 2 of spades and there were two spades on a low flop. John checked and I moved in for about 50,000 into a 15,000 pot. Luckily he passed, calling me a bully ! I looked at my cards again as I mucked them and noticed the 2 was a diamond ! Someone passing by also saw them and commented about the size of my Cajones."

Extract from my EPT FRance trip report, the John is John Gale WPT champ and WSOP runner up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

I cant believe I got tricked into reading a bad beat disguised as a nightmare. Why would you want to play the hand differently, you got him all in with 3 outs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Shortstack wrote:
    Hmm misreading cards, sounds familar, ah here it is:

"All fold around to john who makes up the small blind. I had 5 2 of spades and there were two spades on a low flop. John checked and I moved in for about 50,000 into a 15,000 pot. Luckily he passed, calling me a bully ! I looked at my cards again as I mucked them and noticed the 2 was a diamond ! Someone passing by also saw them and commented about the size of my Cajones."

Extract from my EPT FRance trip report, the John is John Gale WPT champ and WSOP runner up!

Did you not manage to do this in the Fitz double chance aswell? Seem to remember you lost the hand though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Given that it was your dream casino, your first mistake was not picking up the King on 6th Street and tearing it up into little pieces, before shoving them up the big blinds nose..

Your second mistake was dreaming about poker, when you could have been dreaming about naked women..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

bohsman wrote:
    Did you not manage to do this in the Fitz double chance aswell? Seem to remember you lost the hand though

Ah yes the way AK magically turned into K4 left me looking a bit silly :D