Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PSP Dead Pixels anyone?

• 01-09-2005 7:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭

anyone suffered any?

just finished charging mine up powered up and noticed one dead pixel! how do i stand as reguard to returning it?? should i just grin and bare it? its only 1 dead pixel that iv noticed so far :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Liquidus

no, but id say more dead pixels will appear as they get older?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

ive had mine since may and only have 3, but youd forget about them tbh especially when your playing a fast game like ridge racer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭mobileplaza

yea ridge racer rocks... really annoyin though! espcially when watchin umd movies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

I just got a stuck pixel (stays on one colour) while playing Wipeout, so I'm gonna try download this clip that flashes red green and blue (I think it's those colours), to force the feckin thing out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

absolute ****e quailty control, also i think you have to have more than 5 dead pixels, before they will replace screen, although i'm not too sure about that one..

well it cuz be that the jap psps screens are sharp and are made in japan and the euro screens are made in china by samsung, which could be of lower quality.

going off the point here but what connecter do i need to hook up my pc to psp, the port is too small for normal usb cable?

Liquidus wrote:
    going off the point here but what connecter do i need to hook up my pc to psp, the port is too small for normal usb cable?

No it's not, any USB cable will suffice, make sure you're putting it in the right way up!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

qz wrote:
    I just got a stuck pixel (stays on one colour) while playing Wipeout, so I'm gonna try download this clip that flashes red green and blue (I think it's those colours), to force the feckin thing out!
    I reckon i'm in the same boat, its stuck on what looks like a green pixel just off the centre of the screen. Where or what is this clip that you speak off?

Also, is it a dead cert that one pixel isn't enough to bring it back?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Yay Japanese!1 I've had mine 6 months and have no dead pixels.

delly wrote:
    I reckon i'm in the same boat, its stuck on what looks like a green pixel just off the centre of the screen. Where or what is this clip that you speak off?

Towards the end of the first post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

i got no dead pixels on my psp (it's a jap one though)

when you're making screens at such a huger production rate (read in the indo that 2million psp's have sold world wide) it's impossible to check every single one for dead pixels.

as regards to the pixels themselves, they will appear from the very start i mean that new ones rarely appear after a long use.

i've heard about that flashing video that's meant to fix stuck pixels, tell us if it works.

with regards to connecting the psp to the pc, you'll need a bog standard usb cable (as stated above) you get these cables with certain mp3 players (iriver's one that i know of) and digital cameras

note not all cables supplied with mp3 players and cameras work.

theres a port at the top of psp, but its half the size of normal usb port, so is there a connector, or another port on the psp i cant find

Liquidus wrote:
    theres a port at the top of psp, but its half the size of normal usb port, so is there a connector, or another port on the psp i cant find

Your cable should look like this.
    cable.1.jpg

Liquidus wrote:
    yes you need a cable that has one end a normal usb and the other fits into that connecter on the psp

i think it's called a "A to B usb lead".

you should be able to get them in peats, maplins or any game shop that sells the psp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Available from all good camera shops...

yeah i need one of those, been searching for wallpapers for psp, heres a load of em

http://mras.revhost.net/pspbgs/

Liquidus wrote:
    yeah i need one of those, been searching for wallpapers for psp, heres a load of em

http://mras.revhost.net/pspbgs/
    funny i quite like the default wallpaper, well i'd need to as i can't change it.

Cremo wrote:
    funny i quite like the default wallpaper, well i'd need to as i can't change it.

You can, it's just kinda tricky.

well, it's okay for the moment i'm still trying to get use to going around it so i think i'll leave it for the time being

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Default one changes colour every month, it's pretty cool!

so my next purchace will be the cable, and the 1gb sandisk mem stick so i can watch stuff on it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Kevok

No dead or stuck pixels. :D

My DS is the same. Karma at work ater my first LCD monitor was just outside the warrantee for replacement due to dead/stuck pixels.

32mb memory stick is killing me, It can only hold 2 minutes of video at decent quality. Using http://www.pspvideo9.com to convert my "modest" collection of tv shows to psp video. Just waiting for delivery of 2, 1GB sticks.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

ok, i've downloaded the movie onto my formated memory stick, but as there was no folder marked 'movie', i copied it into the root and every subfolder, but alas the PSP can't find any movie files. Any ideas?

/EDIT found the answer here

wow, two sticks :O

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I have one dead pixel (which is blue) just to the left of center.

Its poxy!

delly wrote:
    ok, i've downloaded the movie onto my formated memory stick, but as there was no folder marked 'movie', i copied it into the root and every subfolder, but alas the PSP can't find any movie files. Any ideas?

Follow the three steps

qz wrote:
    Thanks, but i got a linky up above. Not used to being on dial up compared to dsl in work. It makes looking for answers a whole lot harder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Franky Boy

I'm stuck with a small chip in the screen which is really starting to piss me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Kevok

A chip? Claim it was during shipment and they should replace it. Dead pixels are an excepted production anomaly, a chip is not.

Kevok wrote:
    A chip? Claim it was during shipment and they should replace it. Dead pixels are an excepted production anomaly, a chip is not.

Yeah, his PSP is a few months old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Thumper Long

lads picked up the PSP today and had 4 stuck pixels and the flashing video thingy fixed them within 5 minutes :D top class ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Furp

Mine has one stuck pixel yesterday but after an a few hours of playing a game and watching movie clips its dissapeared, and hasn't come back.

the quality of the screen is excellent, i also updated to firmware 2.0 and used the browser for boards but trying to post a thread was way to slow.

I tried the video thing for about half an hour or so with no effect, which left me a little discouraged.

On another note, you know when you do the version 2 upgrade, and it says don't power off or remove disk? well best not to pull out the power cable as it totally screws up your machine, and locks it on the Sony start screen. They had no choice but to replace it with that type of error :rolleyes:.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,396 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

delly wrote:

The product is faulty, they have to bring replace or repair it. Ask nicely and if you are refused then you can kick up a stink. It's your right as a customer. Sony are spouting crap to try and reduce the number of returns since there have been loads.

Retr0gamer wrote:
    The product is faulty, they have to bring replace or repair it. Ask nicely and if you are refused then you can kick up a stink. It's your right as a customer. Sony are spouting crap to try and reduce the number of returns since there have been loads.
    Thankfully i didn't have to go down the pixel problem route as the firmware upgrade fecked it up first. But ye, its a load of pants what they are saying about it being a normal part of an LCD screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

just relealised mine has one, its like all colours or some****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

Charged up my spanking new PSP to find 10 dead pixels (including a HUGE cluster in the centre of the screen). Brought this one back to the shop to have it replaced, charged the new one up to find 15-10 dead pixels, it's like looking at the night sky for ****s sake. Sony couldn't give a **** about quality control. Well I'm getting my money back, that's for sure, Sony have lost a customer for life now.

Oh yeah, I tried the Pixel Fixer software download for both PSP's. Didn't work in the slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

the jap screens were the best, so id assume they used a crap make for the euro version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭kaisersose77

Bad one, theres one i can clearly notice on mine when the screen goes black and i know theres others but i dont go looking for them ! :) cos i know they'll annoy me. Luckily i dont notice a thing when playin games so hopefully it stays like that.

I think there's one phrase that can explain why we're all victims of the dead pixels syndrome...... "Made in China".

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,396 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

That sounds awfully dodgy Laguna. I think I'll be getting mine early when i go to America so that i can replace it if or probably when it is faulty. 15-20 dead pixels is an absolute joke. Do Sony want these things returned. It might seem like they sold more on paper :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Made in China?stfu.

Why STFU? I've had a Philips monitor made in China that had 5 dead pixels, I've had two wireless routers that didn't work, made in China. All within the last month, not including the two PSP's. Why STFU?

STFU because, everything really is made in china, not just "faulty" goods.
    just bad luck there man. Not everyone got 10+ dead pixels, maybe that shop has that bad batch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Sony will exchange the PSP if you have even just one dead pixel.

Blisterman wrote:
    Sony will exchange the PSP if you have even just one dead pixel.
    how

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭kaisersose77

not a chance of them taking it back for just one dead pixel! Multiply that by about 10 and they might. If the ppl in shop where u bought it are sound they'll probably take it back but sony themselves would probably say its a standard defect with lcd's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,322 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Didn't Sony release a statement saying that dead pixels are not a fault with the PSP and wont replace them?