Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roisin Ingle's new blog

• 30-08-2005 4:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

Good Jesus. I think she exerts a gravitational pull - I noticed objects in orbit around her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

YAY! Someone else hates Roisin Ingle?!? Thank Christ, what the hell are her columns even about? Where are they going? Ahhhhh, god I despise her. How the hell did she end up in the Times, of all places?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Roflmao! Who did that, I wonder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Who is this person?

And WHY must she FREQUENTLY use CAPITAL LETTERS for no APPARENT reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

fantastic!!!
    I know a few people who love Ingles article who I cant wait to send this to!
    Odd thing is, they'll probably think "oh wow, I didnt know she's done a blog as she's so busy writing stuff..."

Who is this person?

And WHY must she FREQUENTLY use CAPITAL LETTERS for no APPARENT reason?

Page 2 in Irish Times Weekender magazine on Saturdays....
    Read it and you'll understand :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Sauron

finally, I was waiting for someone to take the piss out of her... she really enrages me tbh....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

lol really dont like that girl at all at all howd she end up in the times!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

She doesn't use commas, which offends mine eyes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭RedPlanet

NoelRock wrote:
    YAY! Someone else hates Roisin Ingle?!? Thank Christ, what the hell are her columns even about? Where are they going? Ahhhhh, god I despise her. How the hell did she end up in the Times, of all places?

I once read her column and she was on about her mother who apparently is some higher-up big wig in the Irish Times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭QualderWahl

<bitter rant> That fictitious blog is brilliant. I thought that I was the only person who was deeply enraged by Roisin's pointless "observations" which are forced on Irish Times readers every Saturday!

It is great to see some of these pompous hacks who like to glamorise their boring, middle-class, bourgeoise lifestyles being taken down a peg or two. Whilst I am delighted that Roisin managed to snare herself a BOYFRIEND and an EX-HUSBAND (who apparantly urgently required a visa for an EU country) I feel quite sure that the nation does not need to be privy to this information. </bitter rant>

Roisin, sure she's a grand girl really :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Sadly, on a related note, her 'book' will be released tomorrow too!

Keep it up Magpie :) pure class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Slightly off-topic, anyone else glad they changed the columnist for the 'People We All Know...' piece that appears on the same page as the what's hot and what's not bit in the IT Weekender magazine? Some posh cow was writing it for ages, I always thought they needed to re-titled the column 'People We All Know...If We Live in D4, Have A Husband Who Is A Banker, And Do Very Little With Our Lives' - half of the columns were about 'The Filipino Maid', 'The Personal Trainer', and the tragedy of going without these people's services for a day or two! That column used to make me shake with anger, the author always came across as so put-upon, as if living a life of unbelievable luxury paid for by someone else was such a struggle! Must stop now before I go into mega-rant mode :)

IonaPaul, you took the words out of my mouth in relation to the "People we all know" column. People we all know indeed :) It's far from nannies and personal trainers that most of us here in Ireland were brought up.

I find it quite incredible that the Irish Times, the self-proclaimed "paper of record" provides a forum for these people to voice their ridiculous ideas and opinions. I accept that the Times attempts to appeal to the affluent demographic but surely they must realise that the average reader is a student / young professional / middle-income earner who does not have the disposable income to host olive and feta cheese dinner parties or to complain about the inadequacies of the landscape gardener.

I was at home down the country recently and noticed an elderly man in the shop buying the Times on Saturday morning. The magazine was missing and the teenage girl working at the counter asked if he wanted a replacement. His succinct answer was; "sure why would I want to reading that ****e". The perfect critique of this and all other lifestyle magazines !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

Sorry to have to ask.
    But is her name Roisin Ingle OR Roisisn Bungle
    Am I missing something here.

The OP calls it Roisin Ingle's new blog
    But the link is about Roisin Bungle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭drunkenfool

lol who cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

chef wrote:
    Sorry to have to ask.
    But is her name Roisin Ingle OR Roisisn Bungle
    Am I missing something here.

The OP calls it Roisin Ingle's new blog
    But the link is about Roisin Bungle.

I think the words you are missing are 'satirical alter-ego'

It's kinda funny, but also kinda mean, she's just a fat girl, trying to get by any way she can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

impr0v wrote:
    I think the words you are missing are 'satirical alter-ego'

It's kinda funny, but also kinda mean, she's just a fat girl, trying to get by any way she can.

Doh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Ann Elk

I find it quite incredible that the Irish Times, the self-proclaimed "paper of record" provides a forum for these people to voice their ridiculous ideas and opinions. I accept that the Times attempts to appeal to the affluent demographic but surely they must realise that the average reader is a student / young professional / middle-income earner who does not have the disposable income to host olive and feta cheese dinner parties or to complain about the inadequacies of the landscape gardener.

Well said all - Ireland is full of that crap, the 'budget' clothes from BT's in on off the rails, the 'budget' holidays in wish you were here - there's bugger all budget about them in my eyes.

And well said on the Roisin Ingle thing, her and that yoga teaching brother of hers need to be tied up and shot with balls of their own s***e! It must be a name thing, the only other ingles I know are in the Waltons......'nuff said!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Sifo

Roisin ingle or bungle? Here's a picture of Master Bungle himself, you decide!! :)

Bungle

If Bungle had his hair in plaits I'd be hard pressed to tell them apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Roisin Ingle - would you?

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    I was waiting for someone to ask that!!!! :D
    I probably would.. just to see what all the fuss is about...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭coreilly1

nlgbbbblth wrote:

She'd probably make you a feta cheese and olive sambo afterwards. result

coreilly1 wrote:
    She'd probably make you a feta cheese and olive sambo afterwards. result

lol I never looked at it that way before ! I suppose Bungle might just have her uses :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Sifo

nlgbbbblth wrote:

eh yeah but it'd have to be anal.... :D

Roisin's new book is out today

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I think it's very sporting and forward thinking of the Times to give a column to a manatee. Equal opportunities for sea beasts and all that.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Robbo wrote:
    I think it's very sporting and forward thinking of the Times to give a column to a manatee. Equal opportunities for sea beasts and all that.

Post of the day!

I tip my hat to you, good sir!

Full marks for use of 'manatee' and the decidedly pirate-tinged 'sea beasts'. I salute you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

Roflmao

I had stopped buying the Irish Times on Saturdays in recent weeks but this thread has definitely inspired me to buy it tomorrow ! I can't wait to read Bungle's piece of SERIOUS LITERARY FICTION knowing that you lads will be also reviewing her "work" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

posted by Ann Elf
    It must be a name thing, the only other ingles I know are in the Waltons......'nuff said!

I thought it was that classic tv prog "Little house on the Praire" that added the moniker Ingles to our cultural savy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Ann Elk

Tomohawk wrote:
    I thought it was that classic tv prog "Little house on the Praire" that added the moniker Ingles to our cultural savy...

Youre dead right my man - how the feck did i get that wrong.......i feel deeply ashamed

Roisin is really SPIRITUAL

Keep them coming! There's an extra bonus in that reading Róisín I.'s real column will be far funnier as well from now on.

Hey - I wonder if she'll find the spoof blog and mention it in in the IT? It is a form of flattery in a strange way!

Updates every saturday from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

The real deal's column this week in the Weekender was particularly awful. It's probably because I am a soul-less lover of the rational and scientific, but just hearing or reading the word 'spiritual' makes me dry-retch with disgust. Give me Richard Dawkins' slagging off religion any day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

our hero is on 2fm right now, talking about self-help books :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭omnicorp

it just gets WORSE and WORSE all the TIME

heh heh. could have been a lot harsher though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I don't find it that funny tbh, I mean, if you're going to parody something, you might as well parody it well. It seems pretty half-arsed.

seems pretty half-arsed.

I agree, but I'll have to keep it up until the real Roisin Bungle reads/acknowledges it in her column.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Well done Magpie, a true public service !

Well, I really like it and it makes me laugh.

/awards simu badge of approval

i really like roisin ingle

Your opinion stopped being valid right there. Anyone who likes this creature is either A. a fool or B. Roisin 'Bungle'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Dfitzer

Excellent Comeback.
    Reading the Irish Times has obviously expanded your vocabulary