Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Media Bias

• 29-08-2005 2:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭

Can someone from outside Cork and Dublin help me out here?

Am i right thinking that the Dublin media hate cork?
    Leaving Cert results day, RTE news did about ten mins coverage which broke down as follows:
    18 mins...various Dublin schools/pupils...no mention of results
    1 min, 50 seconds...refugee kid in waterford gets results
    10 seconds max.....the Leaving cert results record is broken in cork with 3 pupils achieving 9 A's...no further mention of it.

Todays Irish Times...could've showed one of the gooch's magic moments but instead made cork to look like thugs. (admittedly a good photo, though if it was a dublin player would it be there?)

The Lee in the middle of cork city was recently swam in by international swimmers...if that was the liffy it'd have been televised live and declared a national holiday!

Or am i just paranoid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

just a little paranoid.

Dublin media is based in Dublin, far easier for them to do interviews, get news stories in Dublin (less expense as well).

The west of Ireland feels the same ways as you do. We could be cut off from the rest of world due to 14 feet of snow and it barely gets a mention, but if the pipes freeze on a school in Foxrock it will make the news?

Where is Cork anyway? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Cork Boy

Culchie wrote:
    just a little paranoid.

Dublin media is based in Dublin, far easier for them to do interviews, get news stories in Dublin (less expense as well).

The west of Ireland feels the same ways as you do. We could be cut off from the rest of world due to 14 feet of snow and it barely gets a mention, but if the pipes freeze on a school in Foxrock it will make the news?

Where is Cork anyway? :p

Ya but the RTE in Cork had footage of the 3 pupils together....
    obviously someone in RTE in Dublin decided it wasnt worth the air time!
    Ok, i was exaggerating a little but there is some truth to it and everyone knows it! we need another culchie taoiseach...come on Michael Martin!!!

I hope that is not your best proposal ... Micheal Martin?

I'd rather have Fungi the Dolphin than that incompetent . No smilies, I'm afraid this time, as I'm serious !!!

Incompetent? What would you call his implementation of the smoking ban?
    A policy which scotland, oz and NI are copying!
    Every teacher i've ever met agrees he was a great education minister!
    He was shunted to his current post cos you can do anything spectacular there if we alrready have full employmnet, just like charlie was shunted to Europe! He has the Grocery Order under review, he wants to chop it and lets hope he does.
    The health portfolio is a poisoned chalice which he was never given a proper crack at. All minister look for short term solutions by throwing cash at it.
    His smoking ban will free up lots and lots of hospital beds and doctors in years to come.
    Also, unlike others (McDowell for one), he doesnt pander to publicans/vintners/hoteliers.
    Should i go on.....

Cork Boy wrote:
    Incompetent? What would you call his implementation of the smoking ban?
    A policy which scotland, oz and NI are copying!
    Every teacher i've ever met agrees he was a great education minister!
    He was shunted to his current post cos you can do anything spectacular there if we alrready have full employmnet, just like charlie was shunted to Europe! He has the Grocery Order under review, he wants to chop it and lets hope he does.
    The health portfolio is a poisoned chalice which he was never given a proper crack at. All minister look for short term solutions by throwing cash at it.
    His smoking ban will free up lots and lots of hospital beds and doctors in years to come.
    Also, unlike others (McDowell for one), he doesnt pander to publicans/vintners/hoteliers.
    Should i go on.....

errrrmmm , nope that's enough.

So I take it you like Micheal Martin then :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Buy the Examiner! I'm living in dublin right now and these rags the jackeens call papers are crap. Full of Trinity graduate, my opinion is worth its weight in gold crap. :)

Culchie wrote:
    errrrmmm , nope that's enough.

So I take it you like Micheal Martin then :)

I respect the man. He doesnt appear to be in the pockets of business or too afriad to lose his seat.
    I dont promote him because he's from cork, i just think he's a man of integrity, which is hard to find in the Dail today.

I'd love to see him in the justice dept, he'd have the ra in portlaoise in ten seconds! (ok thats wishful thinking but i'm sick of the way bertie and mcdowell lick their asses)

I thought he should have compromised over the smoking ban, by having smoking areas.

I'm a non smoker, but would have preferred to have seen smokers in the pubs than not in them.

The pub business in now finished.

Please don't say to me it is the high prices, as the anti-smoking lobby keeps saying, because it was the smoking ban that was the straw that broke the camels back. The prices were high before the ban.

All those do gooders that said they would go back to pubs have yet to be seen. I haven't seen one single new customer, not one in my local, that wasn't there beforehand.

So the do-gooders put up their fight telling pub customers what was best for the industry and smoking ban was introduced, but did the anti-smoking lobby come back to the pubs.....nope.

Compromise was the way forward, but he was too stubborn and principled for his own good, IMO.

Culchie wrote:
    I thought he should have compromised over the smoking ban, by having smoking areas.

I'm a non smoker, but would have preferred to have seen smokers in the pubs than not in them.

The pub business in now finished.

Please don't say to me it is the high prices, as the anti-smoking lobby keeps saying, because it was the smoking ban that was the straw that broke the camels back. The prices were high before the ban.

All those do gooders that said they would go back to pubs have yet to be seen. I haven't seen one single new customer, not one in my local, that wasn't there beforehand.

So the do-gooders put up their fight telling pub customers what was best for the industry and smoking ban was introduced, but did the anti-smoking lobby come back to the pubs.....nope.

Compromise was the way forward, but he was too stubborn and principled for his own good, IMO.

Thank you for finishing with IMO, i apologize for not doing the same...

IMO, the timing was coincidental...the prices were already high and i think people were finally realising they cant afford to drink so much anymore.
    I'm a smoker and i'm in favour of the ban myself.
    If people actually won't go to the pub cos they have to go outside for a smoke, they have a serious problem, IMO :D
    The pub business has killed itself by ripping us off for years (remember the new millenium?)
    If you had a pub with Irish prices in a wealthy economy without a chronic need for drink due to a lack of alternative entertainment it wouldnt last long...wow, have we gone off teh topic or what!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

alright, this is not the place to discuss the ability of a Government minister, especially not in relation to a long dead debate. Back on topic, and as a general and pre-emptive warning, let's steer clear of name calling etc., even if it is in the name of fun.

I don't think the picture on the IT was put there to make Cork look like thugs, it was just a striking image from the match. I mean, fights always happen, but the fella was trying to gouge his eye out or something. I think it also captured the unusual side of GAA quite well too, where in other sports a clip at the heels could lead to a sending off, in GAA all he got was a yellow card. (Not saying it's a bad thing that the sport isn't full of divers, just a general point).
    I didn't catch the LC result coverage, but I'm amazed if RTE didn't give much time to the 3 Cork students, given that it was a first, not to mention amazing achievement.

Sorry for going off the point so much!!!
    Ok, the picture was a decent one in fairness, my point was though
    "If it were a dublin player would it have made front page?"

And also, does anyone else feel the dublin media (especially rte) is biased?

Cork Boy wrote:

I have no reason to believe that it wouldn't have.

As for RTE, I don't think so, but as a Dubliner there's every chance that I'm missing something. I mean, on something like a political level, there's a bigger potential for an event in Dublin than elsewhere as all the Governmental buildings etc. are here. I can't say I've ever felt there was little or no coverage of non-Dublin events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭mycroft

Cork Boy wrote:
    Sorry for going off the point so much!!!

I'm sorry I thought there was a point here but it got lost in that whingy cork accent.

Dublin is where a third of our population lives. It's the center of commerce and media. When a non story like leaving cert results happens, what is the producer going to do, go out to fecking galway to get his shots, and have to justify the expense of a links van, over night expense for reporters, cameramen and journalists, for what is essentially a puff piece.

You've basically listed off the kind of purile filler stories the media is filled with and asked is this dublin media bias, when a better question would be "why aren't hacks going further afield to get their lazy puff pieces" When the answer is in the question. Cause they're ****ing lazy.

It's flip side, any story about drunken behaviour, O'Connell st is where they send their cameras, cause hey cork is filled with civil people leaving the clubs.

Hilariously you whinge (again the accent) about the photo, while even admitting its a superior photo. Hey they picked it because it's good, not some mad cackling evil laugh get the cork boys, no. because it's good.

And Martin is from waterford ffs

now, now, Mycroft, attack the post not the poster.

flogen wrote:
    now, now, Mycroft, attack the post not the poster.

I was, i just, added the occasional dig at cork, and it's denizens

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Culchie wrote:
    The west of Ireland feels the same ways as you do.

The Irish Times covers (us poor people in) the west quite well. We all don’t have neglected by the world mentalities, well, not all the time anyway.
    flogen wrote:
    as all the Governmental buildings etc. are here.

It might be off the mark of your point, but that's not strictly true. For example, part of the Department of the Environment is here in Ballina as has been for some time... just being pedantic ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

mycroft wrote:
    And Martin is from waterford ffs

He and the other poster were talking about Micheál Martin. A Cork man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Culchie wrote:

thought he should have compromised over the smoking ban, by having smoking areas.

Smoking has not being banned in Ireland and there are smoking areas, which are fully air-conditioned, all-weather smoking areas. You can still smoke as much as you want, but not in certain places, so it hasn't been banned. There are lots of lies around the smoking ban. They say smokers are being forced to go outside or not allowed in pubs. That is not true. A smoker can spend all day in the pub if they want, but just not smoke there.

They say smokers are forced to go outside to smoke, which is not true either. Before or since the ban started, I have never seen anyone going up to anyone in a pub and say "You, get a packet of cigarettes, take one out and go outside and smoke it." Have you ever seen that happen? I doubt it. So no one is forcing them to go outside. It is purely their own choice. To say any different is pure fiction.

They say it is discriminating against smokers which is also not true. Nobody is allowed to smoke in the pubs, so it applies to everyone. How can something that applies to everyone be called discriminatory? Whether you want to smoke or not is irrelevant, the law still applies to you. You may never want to rob a bank or murder someone, but it is still illegal for you to do so. The law applies to you just as much as it does to the professional criminal. The smoking ban applies just as much to non-smokers as it does to smokers, so no one is being discriminated against, or do you think that criminals should be allowed to murder people or rob banks if they want to?

They say places are not being provided for smokers. That also is not true. They can smoke outside. There is moving air there and they will get all sorts of different weathers, so as I said they have a fully air-conditioned, all-weather smoking area. What more could they want?

They say it is not fair to send people outside in the cold and rain. As I said already, no one is forcing them to go outside, it is their own choice. Also, if they are not worried about lung cancer and other smoking-related diseases, a bit of pneumonia certainly isn't going to concern them. It would be a bit ironic if smokers complained about having to go outside on health grounds, now wouldn't it?

Don't forget too, that the law was brought in primarily to help those that have to work in the previously smokey environments. As a bonus the customers benefit too.

The law is not there to victimise smokers or launch some vendetta on them, as some people like to protray it. It is not there as a bigotted or intolerant measure aimed at smokers. It was not put in place because people smoke, but because of the hazards that environmental tobacco smoke has. It is designed to completely remove the smoke, not the smokers. Smokers are as welcome in pubs and other enclosed workplaces as they ever were. It is a health measure aimed at tackling the smoke, not the smokers. Smokers may be inconvenienced by it, but the common good, from which they too will benefit, comes first. That is the way things are in most societies. So it is not intolerant or bigotted.

So when you look at it, it is a very fair, non-discriminatory, healthy, free to choose law and everyone benefits from it. You can't say that about many laws, can you? Now, stick that in your pipe and smoke it, but please go outside first.

As to a media bias. There may be some truth in it, but Dublin gets a hard time too. They may be printed in Dublin, but they are national papers. not all the journalists are from Dublin. They say the same type of thing about the Dail too. The Dail has TD's from all over the country, so it can't be said to have a Dublin bias.
    Cork Boy wrote:
    The Lee in the middle of cork city was recently swam in by international swimmers...if that was the liffy it'd have been televised live and declared a national holiday!

Actually there was some coverage of the Cork swim on TV, not live, but it was on it. It got no less attention than the Liffey swims have, for which there is no national holiday. Anyway, even it was a national holiday, Cork people and others would all benefit, so you would not be complaining, now would you?

Flukey, people have been warned about going off topic already, please save your opinions on the smoking ban for last year.

For the last time, stay on topic.

Sorry Flogen, but it had come up, so I was just addressing it, along with the original point. Most threads evolve as they go along.

Ok, how many people have talked bout the cost of sending journalist teams outside of dublin?
    Did anybody read the piece where i said (roughly) "RTE Cork already had rolling film and interviews but someone in RTE news in Dublin decided it (record breaking results) wasn't important as normal results in Dublin schools"

I started this forum by asking am i paranoid and could i have non dublin/cork opinions. At no point did i say "they're all out to get us"!

Secondly, regards the photo, yes I admit it was a good photo, an excellent one if I may say so myself. My question, not point, was, would they show a dublin player doing the same?

Thirdly, whoever tried to counter my argument by calling it "Cork Whining" and talking about cost of sending out crews (which i had already covered......) can we have a round of applause for him please? And lets have a whip around for a medal for Best Debater Ever

Cork Boy, nobody can answer the question you have about the photo, except maybe Geraldine Kennedy. I'd say it would be printed if it were Dublin, but I can't say for sure.

I don't think you're getting paranoid, but you do have to factor in a number of details, and they don't all involve a hatred for Cork or other counties besides Dublin. If it is true that RTE Cork had good footage of the LC incident already then I don't know why it wasn't used but I would be amazed if it was because it was from Cork.

This thread is getting messier and messier as time goes by.

Ya its not really going anywhere, might as well shut it down

I'm from Dublin, but I do favour more things being done outside Dublin. There is too much in regards to all sorts of things, but the rest of the country isn't totally neglected. Dublin is the capital and the largest city in the country which is the main reason the main media organisations are based there. However, just because the Times or the Independent are published and printed in Dublin or that RTE and TV3 broadcast from Dublin, doesn't mean there is some sort of bias towards Dublin. RTE has plenty of bases outside of Dublin and there is good coverage of events on a national basis. I think that is a good thing and would encourage more of it.

A lot of Dublin's problems could be helped by doing more in the regions. If we had more jobs and better infrastructure elsewhere, and there is a lot of good infrastructure there, it would take more people out of Dublin which would reduce things like traffic congestion. Dublin gets a lot of infrastructure because of its size, but the rest of the country has come on a lot, so it is far from true to say they are neglected. I'd like to see more.

I agree with decentralisation, though not in its current form. Moving whole departments outside Dublin is a bit mad. They should be near the seat of government. There are lots of units within departments that could be moved though, and many such units are already around the country. They should do more of that, but keep the main elements of departments in Dublin.

There should be more encouragement to get other types of jobs outside of Dublin. The infrastructure elsewhere is improving and more should be done on that and to encourage businesses to set up in those places. We had another job loss announcement in Donegal today, a county which doesn't even have any working railways. That type of ridiculous situation is the type of thing that should be addressed. Look at a mainline rail map of Ireland and there is a large swathe of the north midlands heading up towards the northwest that have nothing. A direct line between Dublin and Derry and maybe one between Belfast and Galway and other such links could help address that.

Dublin gets a lot of attention, but it is a victim of its own success. It is a vicious circle and more needs to be done to break that. Better infrastructure is the key thing. Maybe people outside Dublin need to worry more about their own areas instead of worrying about Dublin. In some ways you are actually adding to that bias, by drawing more attention to Dublin. I don't mean that as a criticism. If the regions are to thrive a lot of that has to come from the locals. So don't worry about Dublin but focus on your own regions and boost their case. It would be good for your areas and for Dublin too.

Flukey, you make some very good points, especially about the viscous circle.
    And true, Dublin is the capital (don't tell people in cork i said that!) and the biggest city by far as Galway and Limerick are really only towns and Cork barely qualifies as a city.
    See all the ads for "Go West" lately? What a farce! They only apply to
    1. Hotel workers
    2. People who work in the drug industry.

I'd like to see people find a good marketing job outside of dublin!
    And if you do more luck getting planning permission.
    Or getting your kids to school!

As for Donegal? What political party will ever care about it when it only has so many seats in an area that needs huge govt investment!

Traffic congestion will never improve in Dublin. We are too much in love with our cars. Car pools are non existant as far as i know. Cycling is a serious health hazard for many reasons and cycle paths are so poorly maintained i've seen better back roads. And you gotta love when you're cycling how the cycle path suddenly merges into a busstop or dissapears onto the main road where 40% of drivers think you have no right of way whatsoever!
    The Dart is a joke (btw, after all the upgrades, whats improved? why not call a spade a spade and an attempt at repairs an attempt at repairs)
    As for walking, your journey time can double just waiting for the little man to turn green! Complete farce!

Cork Boy wrote:
    I started this forum by asking am i paranoid and could i have non dublin/cork opinions. At no point did i say "they're all out to get us"!

Secondly, regards the photo, yes I admit it was a good photo, an excellent one if I may say so myself. My question, not point, was, would they show a dublin player doing the same?

And the answer is, Why. The Fúck. Wouldn't they? Seriously what evidence do you have that they would have, that drawing out this piece of jealous paranoia.

Thirdly, whoever tried to counter my argument by calling it "Cork Whining" and talking about cost of sending out crews (which i had already covered......) can we have a round of applause for him please? And lets have a whip around for a medal for Best Debater Ever

Em, really, where?

Cause all you I can see is this
    Ya but the RTE in Cork had footage of the 3 pupils together....
    obviously someone in RTE in Dublin decided it wasnt worth the air time!
    Which is a pretty much nonsense, and speculation on your part.

Basically you've got a traditional non story (leaving cert results) and a paranoid fantasy about cork players and dublin players photos and invented a mythical conspiracy on the back of poor coverage of two non events.

Get over yourself.

About the speculation on my part...
    Why then, did Dublin pupils, whose results were not anything new (hence we are talking about the news) get 120 (20 mins = 1200 secs) times more air time than the pupils outside of Dublin who got record results?

Cork Boy wrote:
    About the speculation on my part...
    Why then, did Dublin pupils, whose results were not anything new (hence we are talking about the news) get 120 (20 mins = 1200 secs) times more air time than the pupils outside of Dublin who got record results?

Because it's not news. Not in any real sense, it's a non story. Getting worked up with a lather over such a non event is tedious nonsense. It's a filler story on a slow news day, getting hot and bothered about it, claiming that it demostrates a clear bias, is tedious.

If the pupils outside dublin had died, and they led with dublin leaving results you'd have a point, getting worked up about who covered what and for how long over a puff piece is just pointless whinging.

I think this thread ran it's course some time ago, around the point the Smoking Ban debate came up. Now we have decentralisation and the Go West campaign.

Thanks for the memories; We'll always have Paris; It never got wierd enough for me, etc.