Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Warning It could happen to you!

• 29-08-2005 9:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭

A lock stock incident happened to me on friday...

It all started when our house was broken into by scumbags, and we interrupted them. myself and my mate came back from the shop to find three scumbags in our house. tense standoff ensued, i managed to text friends to come down. they arrived 3 hours later (7 of them). that sent them a clear message to leave.
    We moved out that night (were due to anyway), we have about €8000 worth of computers at least in the house. So we visit the house the next day to find the door broken in... but the suckers didnt get a thing!

Anyone else have this happen to them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

....... What?

you come home, with a mate, and find three scumbags there..... then you ask them to wait there while your 7 other mates come to kick the crap out of them...... then you move out, but leave 8k of computer hardware in the place for them to steal?

man, if I was still in the insurance business, I woudl be scratching your head by now because I would have worn mine down to the skull at this stage

This thread doesn't make a lick of sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

kodute wrote:
    they arrived 3 hours later (7 of them)

What did you do in the meantime? Make them some tea?

Don't get it at all?!??! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

You boys just have to wait 'till zed gets here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Are you saying you had a standoff in the house for 3 hours while waiting for your mates to turn up? How did you get three scumbags to hang around for 3 hours?

I take it you took the computers with you when you moved out that night though. Anyway, where abouts was this? When I was living in Waterford, in The Glen, the house got broken into at 11AM. Luckily one of the guys was still in bed and the thief ran away with only the video recorder. Could have been worse, we had quite a bit of computer gear there too.

The landlord got a Chubb lock fitted to the door after that. Good thing too as one day I came home to find someone had tried to kick the door in. There were foot prints on the base of the door and it was cracked a little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭stevieg_irl

3 hours?
    of doing what? having a chat? playin pro ev?

jor el wrote:
    When I was living in Waterford, in The Glen, the house got broken into at 11AM.

Some places in waterford are kind of bad like that alright. A friend of mine was livin in a certain estate with a reputation for being rough - it was so bad the stole a sega saturn out of his place. Bear in mind this was last year. A SEGA SATURN FFS, youd think they'd have the sense to rob the telly or something. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

well done jor el. you could make sense of it.

they wanted to hang around, so they could get something off us. Yes we moved everything out before they came back!
    This was in....(drumroll)...LIMERICK. castletroy to be precise!

Personally I find it hard to believe anyone with 8 grands worth of computers in their house could intimidate anyone..

Ahhh :rolleyes: alright, getcha now. Like squatters. Right. No, this never happened to me.
    Had 3 young blokes try to brake into my house via the back door. All they managed to do was brake the bl00dy lock on the door so I had to stay home the next day from work and wait for the locksmith to replace all the locks.
    Pi$$ed me off that I had to pay the locksmith so much money just coz some stupid kids got bored and tried to brake into the house.
    Got such a fright though when I pulled the curtains on the back door and saw the lads trying to jimmy the door open. Got my hockey stick (always kept handy for emergencies) and called the cops. Not that they bothered to show up till almost 2 days later, when all the damage was repaired.

But no squatters, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 BAm MArgera

So lemme get this straight, you caught the scumbags breaking in, then told them to come back 3 hours later when your friends will be there, so they trotted off and came back and......... Am I missing something here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

c - 13 wrote:
    Some places in waterford are kind of bad like that alright. A friend of mine was livin in a certain estate with a reputation for being rough - it was so bad the stole a sega saturn out of his place. Bear in mind this was last year. A SEGA SATURN FFS, youd think they'd have the sense to rob the telly or something. :D
    Yeah, I stayed in Ballybeg in 1st year. Not as bad as you'd think.

Still, there are some strange thieves in Waterford. Friends of mine were living in Barrack St and the house was broken into one weekend. A wooden chair and a bag of dirty washing were stolen! Very strange :confused:

jor el wrote:
    A wooden chair and a bag of dirty washing were stolen! Very strange :confused:

:confused: Clever! Guaranteed they never saw that comin!
    Wonder what they will make out of that? Call MacGyver!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Where's that picture of "Reality" and "Imagionary" from Father Ted when you need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

is this a joke or somethin...your right op it was a lockstock incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

You wouldnt want to be relying on your mates if your in trouble would you? 3 hours!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Ill have to help explain, because i was one of the 7 Zeds to come down. No buttraping ensued, but instead of 2 lads trying to defend themselves against scumbags, they kept things calm. What good would fighting them do? Whats to say that they wouldnt return with a hiace full of friends? if the police got involved, same thing again! They did indeed bring them in and talk to them, and played xbox. As strange as it sounds, that was the best they could possibly do.

And when 7 of us arrived the scumbags knew they were out of their depth. If we we tried to beat the crap out of them, that would be the end of the house. Instead, we remained friendly, intimidated them by means of outnumbering them, and as soon as they were gone, got all valuables out of the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

What a weird story...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

yeh thats amazing how nobody threw a dig...well done!!!

well you guys get 10/10 for originality in handling that situation from me anyway !!
    and also an entertaining story for monday at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Yeah, kodute sucks at telling stories. But its laughable that the scumbags broke into the house 3 days in a row, and got nothing but a jar of change!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Man, what a messed up story.....

That should be in a film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭spartacus93

Dats a strange story, but ye probably did the right thing, well done. Don't think I would have been able to keep the cool. Fair play!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

that is a bit mad!!! what part of the country did this take place in?
    I lived in Finglas West for a year, in the heart of the badlands and we had people trying to break into the house on a nightly basis-same group of lads most of the time. I used a pellet gun to scare them away one night, when they were in the back garden, so the next night they came back and stood at the front of the house with a golf club, and a large pile of stones and took shots at the windows of the house. they then egged the house so badly you couldnt see out the windows. Landlord was a dodgy guy himself (on the run AFAIK) so he said he'd "sort them out"....god only knows what he did, but the scumbags never bothered us again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

thank you lord chessington for explaining it properly. Its a bit mad i know but there really was no other way to get rid of them peacefully. Ringing the guards would just bring more trouble on us.