Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harte sees sense

• 25-08-2005 8:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭

Hoganstand wrote:
    Thursday, August 25, 2005

The perceived gap between Ulster football and Leinster is now merely a mirage, according to Tyrone boss Mickey Harte.

Reflecting on his team’s dramatic tussle with Dublin two weeks ago in the All-Ireland SFC quarter-final, the O’Neill County boss believes the Metropolitans’ display dispelled the notion that the men from the East are still playing catching up with their northern counterparts.

"People were suggesting that they (Dublin) weren’t just up to that standard, and people were suggesting that Leinster football was behind.

"But I think that it’s quite evident now that that’s not the case, because you don’t perform to that level if you haven’t got the equipment to do so.

"And I think that people can now sit up and take notice that Dublin have a deent team and that Leinster and Ulster or any of the provinces aren’t so far apart any more," Harte opined.

Fair play to him, about time someone admitted it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭CCOVICH

*marie* wrote:
    Fair play to him, about time someone admitted it.

Yeah, because he was going to come out and rubbish Dublin's chances just before playing them. That wouldn't motivate them or anything would it?

Mind games. Very professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭*marie*

He didn't say anything about Dublin's chances of beating Tyrone, he's just showing his respect for Leinster. (Although imo only 2 maybe 3 counties in Leinster deserve any praise).
    He's setting a good example to all those who rave on about Ulster and a so-called "dominance".
    However I happen to think that Dublin are going to be hammered on Saturday, they've done us proud this season and we can expect greater things from them next year. (How I hope I'm wrong about Saturday!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

We'll show him on Saturday.

Unfortunately, I can't be there to see it, even though I have a ticket if I could use it. Other commitments, made prior to the draw, and which cannot be changed. :( I'll catch it on TV, but its not the same as being there. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Yeah, because he was going to come out and rubbish Dublin's chances just before playing them. That wouldn't motivate them or anything would it?

Mind games. Very professional.

Indeed. Harte is basically saying (and I mean no offence to the Dublin team before the usual brigade begin their attack): "Dublin made a game of it the last day because we didn't respect them, this time we fancy ourselves to beat the bolox out of them".

Whether or not he's right, will be seen tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Lemlin you are a twat!

That was very poor sarcasm. I suggest you rewatch Fr Jack's sarcasm to Bishop Len (!'m soooo, sooooo sorry!) - now that was good sarcasm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Lemlin, what planet are you on?

Ah Culchie, you make think of Mayo as being a planet all of its own, bless your little cotton socks, but we're all on planet Earth if you hadn't noticed.

I'm not the one with the rise of the bloody Lemlins (wtf :eek: ) on my signature am I ?

I've hardly posted a word about Mayo, other than the Maughan thread, as it isn't worth talking about until a new manager comes in.

However, I feel quite sure, we are being subliminally subjected to 'Cavanmania' and 'Ulster Blind Love Syndrome' though.

Not to worry, the school holidays will be over soon, and you can learn something about the other counties in ireland next month, ask teacher.

^^^LOL
    Don't you just love when someone calls a person a name on boards, and that person replies with a post that really lives up to what they were called?

I know, he fairly walked into that one ! (through his landscaped gardens) :D

I'm not sure if its totally escaped yas Marie and Culchie but Waylander was being SARCASTIC.

And I wasn't saying you overpost about Mayo Culchie so chill out. Jez, to think people accuse me of taking things too seriously on this board.

I was joking about you thinking Mayo is a planet because you asked what planet I'm from. Its called humour lads and lasses.

As for the Lemlins, like I told you, its a joke between me and my housemates that yas wouldn't get. The wonderfully landscaped gardens bit has to do with my mate that studies horticulture, yas wouldn't understand the rest.

Relax, you ARE taking things too seriously.
    No-one can even have a few jokes on this forum anymore...we ALL need to lighten up.

Sounds like Utopia to me ..... let's rejoice ! :D

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Jesus christ everyone shut up and get back on topic.

I totally agree with what ccovich said there. It was obviously a comment to motivate Harte's players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

well in all fairness what manager comments on tv or radio that another team is useless or that they are going to beat the living crap out of them.all managers comment with respect to their opposition.

they may be saying different things in the pub,the clubhouse or the dressing room but if a manager would say the other team/province is way behind,he will becriticized and ridiculed beyond relief so what do you expectnhim to say?