Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saw Doctors - Dublin date

• 24-08-2005 8:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭

Olympia Theatre, Dublin – 22 October 2005

The Saw Doctors will perform their first Dublin show in a year at the Olympia Theatre on 22 October 2005 in support of the release of their new album, The Saw Doctors: The Cure.

The Saw Doctors were a little-known local bar band from Tuam, Co. Galway until they were asked to play the opening act for The Waterboys UK tour in 1988. The band had their first taste of success with their second single, I Useta Love Her, which became the biggest-selling single in Irish history, spending nine-weeks at the top of the country's charts. Another notable single is the bands ode to a local highway N17 and the theme song to the BBC Northern Ireland comedy series Give My Head Peace.

The band's new studio album, The Saw Doctors: The Cure, will be released on 7 October 2005. The twelve new songs on the album include the first single, Stars Over Cloughanover, which will be released in Ireland this September.

Should be deadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Saw them play in Trafalgar Sq in London on the Sunday before St Pats day here... thats when Londoners celebrated.
    The water in the fountains was dyed green... Paddy Casey played supported, and they served alcohol in tents!
    Feckin mad craic and the lads made the crowd go nuts!
    Must go to the Olympia for more fun :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

The Saw Docs are always a great show. Playing belfast the day before so I'll go to that..