Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tickets

• 22-08-2005 6:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Hey everybody i would like to introduce myself. im a big galway hurling fan nd i wud like 2 find out wen the galway and cork final tickets go on sale??
    thanx in advance :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

The simple answer is: they don't. They are not put on public sale, but are issued through various sources. Now if you happen to come across a spare one, you know where we all are! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 turlough man

Flukey wrote:
    The simple answer is: they don't. They are not put on public sale, but are issued through various sources. Now if you happen to come across a spare one, you know where we all are! :)

Sound man. ill c wot i can do 4 u. i alredy hav 2 get 3 so ill hav my work cut out 4 me :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

OK, now after I am sorted, I think there will be a few hundred other people hereabouts that you can get them for too. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

the hunt begins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

I'm already guaranteed my 2, the perks of having a mother who was secretary to the president of the GAA back in the 1970s :D

My Mum (being a Cork woman) will be using them this year but hopefully the Dubs will make it to the football final and I'll definitely be using them.

dcr22B wrote:
    I'm already guaranteed my 2, the perks of having a mother who was secretary to the president of the GAA back in the 1970s :D

Rubbing our faces in it! I hope they are the worst seats in the house (i dont really but im bloody jealous!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

This is what pisses me off the most about the GAA. Surely there should be some sort of award system for fans that have attended the previous games. I was at the last 2 Galway matches in Croke Park. I even flew home from England for them. But I am now as likely to get a ticket as fans that haven't gone to any match. Where is the justice.

Surely the GAA should have a system where by if you produce two or three ticket stubs for your counties games then you should recieve a ticket for the all ireland final or at least it should increase your chances of getting a ticket.

Have a ryanair-esque queing system for tickets. Have two queues outside ticketmaster or hq. People with 3 or more ticket stubbs in one que and people with no ticket stubbs in the other.
    Have a percentage of tickets for sale for these people and send the rest out to the clubs. No offence to dcr22b but for the past presidents to be awarded so many tickets see other thread is a bit naff as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

solice wrote:
    Have a ryanair-esque queing system for tickets. Have two queues outside ticketmaster or hq. People with 3 or more ticket stubbs in one que and people with no ticket stubbs in the other.
    Have a percentage of tickets for sale for these people and send the rest out to the clubs. No offence to dcr22b but for the past presidents to be awarded so many tickets see other thread is a bit naff as well

Folks it's not rocket science.

We have cards for petrol, cards for shopping, it would only cost the GAA a few grand to put these terminals into every GAA ground in the country.

They could establish very quickly who was attending all the matches, and who was more deserving of tickets.

However ...... They don't want to ...... Simple as that :mad:

They are happy with the money coming in from Corporates, the sponsors, the 10 year seat holders etc...

The tickets from the neutral counties generally end up with the touts, they know that as well.

Culchie wrote:
    Folks it's not rocket science.

We have cards for petrol, cards for shopping, it would only cost the GAA a few grand to put these terminals into every GAA ground in the country.

They could establish very quickly who was attending all the matches, and who was more deserving of tickets.

They are happy with the money coming in from Corporates, the sponsors, the 10 year seat holders etc...

The tickets from the neutral counties generally end up with the touts, they know that as well.

Great Idea why didn't I think of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Culchie wrote:

Firstly the money that comes in from premium tickets and corporate boxes is needed, so I've no problem with those tickets, and they very rarely get into tout hands.

The GAA feel that club member in say Athenry,who perhaps looks after U14s or helps put nets up or mark pitches or just generally contributes his time to the club - but who doesnt get to go to many Galway games (likely because of club committments) deserves a ticket to the All Ireland final more than someone like our fired AthAnRi, who goes to most games but because he's living away is no longer an active club member. Personally I think thats fair and reasonable. The guys who look after the grassroots have to be looked after themselves when it comes to the biggest day of the year.

However, what I would disagree with is the big allocation of tickets to non-competing counties. A leading official from the Ballygobackwards club in Fermanagh will get a ticket far quicker than AthAnRi, even though he couldnt give a fiddlers who won between Cork and Galway and would enjoy the game just as much if he was watching on telly. Now the argument is that these guys also put in a huge amount of work, and it wouldnt be fair to make them wait until their county reached an All Ireland for them to be present in Croker for the biggest day of the year in the GAA calendar. Personally I think the final should be for the finalists - and only when demand in those counties is satisfied should it be opened up to neutrals.

Dublin have a system whereby you pay €120 at the beginning of the year and you are guaranteed a terrace ticket (€170 for stand) for every championship match, which you also have to pay for. You also get free entry into all national league home games and big club games for this.

This usually seems like a great idea to fans when their team makes a final and they are struggling for a ticket. But would they have shelled out the lump sum at the beginning of the year when things might not have looked so rosy for the county and they knew the only ticket they'd have trouble getting would be an All Ireland final ticket?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Vorak

well said

So if i was in Dublin and i paid 170 for a guaranteed stand ticket for any dublin match during the year, am i guaranteed a stand ticket for the final?

Imagine that 13000 people paid the 120-170 euro at the start of the year....lets assume that the dublin county board receives the same allocation as cork did last year 12000 (i think). Do the Dublin county board still guarantee the ticket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

solice wrote:
    Imagine that 13000 people paid the 120-170 euro at the start of the year....lets assume that the dublin county board receives the same allocation as cork did last year 12000 (i think). Do the Dublin county board still guarantee the ticket?

The max they could sell is well below 13,000, and as far as I know it would be <10,000 as this is the capacity of Parnell Park, and what your buying in effect is a season ticket to Parnell Park.

Then i like that. Really good idea!

However you can only sell as many "season tickets" as you know you will get when playing in the smallest venue you will be playing in, if you know what i mean.

As well as this, for counties other than dublin, 170 for a guaranteed stand is a bit naff considering that there were plenty of tickets to be had so far this season in croke pairc. cork and waterford hurling quarter, cork and clare semi, kk and gal semi. So why would i have to fork out 170 euro to be guaranteed a seat in an empty stadium.

The only time that i would need it is in the final, resulting ticket would then be over 200 euro. Sounds like the gaa would be going down the line of touting. I know they are desperate for money (thats why they quarters and semis are all played in croke pairc) but equating themselves to touts is not the way to go

solice wrote:
    Then i like that. Really good idea!

However you can only sell as many "season tickets" as you know you will get when playing in the smallest venue you will be playing in, if you know what i mean.

As well as this, for counties other than dublin, 170 for a guaranteed stand is a bit naff considering that there were plenty of tickets to be had so far this season in croke pairc. cork and waterford hurling quarter, cork and clare semi, kk and gal semi. So why would i have to fork out 170 euro to be guaranteed a seat in an empty stadium.

The only time that i would need it is in the final, resulting ticket would then be over 200 euro. Sounds like the gaa would be going down the line of touting. I know they are desperate for money (thats why they quarters and semis are all played in croke pairc) but equating themselves to touts is not the way to go

Firstly it's a guaranteed right to purchase a ticket for Croke Park, not an actual guaranteed ticket. You still have to fork out the cash.

Secondly the reason you for out the cash is becasue you have an interest in Dublin County football and the league. It's just aside that it give you a guaranteed right of purchase.

I know what you are saying and its a system taht as far as i can see is is a really good idea for dublin. But could not be implemented in any other county

Firstly the money that comes in from premium tickets and corporate boxes is needed, so I've no problem with those tickets, and they very rarely get into tout hands.

The GAA feel that club member in say Athenry,who perhaps looks after U14s or helps put nets up or mark pitches or just generally contributes his time to the club - but who doesnt get to go to many Galway games (likely because of club committments) deserves a ticket to the All Ireland final more than someone like our fired AthAnRi, who goes to most games but because he's living away is no longer an active club member. Personally I think thats fair and reasonable. The guys who look after the grassroots have to be looked after themselves when it comes to the biggest day of the year.

However, what I would disagree with is the big allocation of tickets to non-competing counties. A leading official from the Ballygobackwards club in Fermanagh will get a ticket far quicker than AthAnRi, even though he couldnt give a fiddlers who won between Cork and Galway and would enjoy the game just as much if he was watching on telly. Now the argument is that these guys also put in a huge amount of work, and it wouldnt be fair to make them wait until their county reached an All Ireland for them to be present in Croker for the biggest day of the year in the GAA calendar. Personally I think the final should be for the finalists - and only when demand in those counties is satisfied should it be opened up to neutrals.

Dublin have a system whereby you pay €120 at the beginning of the year and you are guaranteed a terrace ticket (€170 for stand) for every championship match, which you also have to pay for. You also get free entry into all national league home games and big club games for this.

This usually seems like a great idea to fans when their team makes a final and they are struggling for a ticket. But would they have shelled out the lump sum at the beginning of the year when things might not have looked so rosy for the county and they knew the only ticket they'd have trouble getting would be an All Ireland final ticket?

I totally agree with you except for the fact that you consider me to be no longer an active club member simply because I live away from home. there are plenty og GAA clubs over here too my son. And obvioulsy I agree that corporates, and coaches deserve their place. But they are all gonna be in the boxes any way so It doen't affect the common supporter.

However I disagree with the non-competing counties idea. If you are from a non competing county then you are as entitled as anyone to go to the all ireland final. However a reward system as suggested by Culchie would be ideal. Surely if the Kilkenny football fan is such a fan of Football then I believe he will have gone to plenty of football matches in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

solice wrote:
    I know what you are saying and its a system taht as far as i can see is is a really good idea for dublin. But could not be implemented in any other county
    Westmeath did something similar when they redid Cusack Park. You were able to buy a 10-year year ticket (or maybe it was 5 year) which gave you access to all games (excl championship games not involving WM) and options on tickets to big matches involving WM at other grounds.

Imposter wrote:
    Westmeath did something similar when they redid Cusack Park. You were able to buy a 10-year year ticket (or maybe it was 5 year) which gave you access to all games (excl championship games not involving WM) and options on tickets to big matches involving WM at other grounds.

But you can hardly expect to get away with charging someone to guarantee to them that they will be able to buy a ticket for a match when there are 30,000 empty seats anyway.

Cork v clare the attendance was just slightly over 50,000 (i think it was 50196 but i might be wrong). I bought my ticket 5 minutes before puck in

AthAnRi wrote:
    I However a reward system as suggested by Culchie would be ideal. Surely if the Kilkenny football fan is such a fan of Football then I believe he will have gone to plenty of football matches in the year.

Whilst I believe 'my system' is the best solution, I do think that the neutral counties get too many tickets.

Last year my Club in Mayo get 12 tickets for the All Ireland. A Club in Carlow or Antrim gets a minimum of 4.

That's not right either.

It would probably all work out OK if the tickets that are issued to neutral clubs but not taken up and used (non-transferrable) were returned to the competing counties ..... but they are not.

Another thing .... The All Ireland Tickets given to neutral clubs are normally the best fund raising vehicle they have, as the lucky winner who buys a raffle ticket for a Euro, can then get double/treble face value on eve of the match, so once again the tickets fall into the wrong hands.
    The Club may have raised a couple of grand from the tickets, badly needed as well.
    Club Happy, Neutral Member Happy, Tout Happy. True Supporter from competing county Unhappy.

In Summary, Competing counties should get 50% of all available tickets (after sponsors corporates) , allocated according to points received by attending games (that qualify such as National League etc) on a swipe card.
    Any tickets given to neutral counties should be non transferable (GAA ID cards issued with each membership). These should be validated at turnstile or ticket check.

Any tickets not used should also be returned to competing counties.

We live in a modern world, the answers are there, but the GAA isn't looking too hard, as the status quo suits them very nicely thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

solice wrote:
    But you can hardly expect to get away with charging someone to guarantee to them that they will be able to buy a ticket for a match when there are 30,000 empty seats anyway.
    As explained already to you, they are buying a season ticket to the county ground (Parnell Pk, Cusack Pk etc) where one of the advantages is that you get the option of buying tickets to big matches. Any good supporter wouldn't have a problem with this as they'd save money over the year AND get access to tickets for sold-out county games.

Culchie,
    My old club in Westmeath used to only get 2 tickets for each all-ireland. I suppose the procedure for distribution and whatever differs in different counties.

As for the system you are proposing the cost of implementing something like that would be too expensive for the purpose it serves (a handful of matches a year). The existing structure with county boards and then clubs distributing tickets is by far the simplest and cheapest for the GAA. For the most part it also gets the tickets into the right hands. When matches don't sell out the tickets get issued through Ticketmaster, but that is not a GAA regulated source for tickets and people should realise this and try to get tickets through their clubs in the first place.

solice wrote:

Cork v clare the attendance was just slightly over 50,000 (i think it was 50196 but i might be wrong). I bought my ticket 5 minutes before puck in

Your missing the point... it's a season ticket for the local games be it in whatever ground that is. One of the benefit is that it entitles you, if you wish, to have access to tickets ahead of the rest.

Imposter wrote:
    As explained already to you, they are buying a season ticket to the county ground (Parnell Pk, Cusack Pk etc) where one of the advantages is that you get the option of buying tickets to big matches. Any good supporter wouldn't have a problem with this as they'd save money over the year AND get access to tickets for sold-out county games.

Culchie,
    My old club in Westmeath used to only get 2 tickets for each all-ireland. I suppose the procedure for distribution and whatever differs in different counties.

As for the system you are proposing the cost of implementing something like that would be too expensive for the purpose it serves (a handful of matches a year). The existing structure with county boards and then clubs distributing tickets is by far the simplest and cheapest for the GAA. For the most part it also gets the tickets into the right hands. When matches don't sell out the tickets get issued through Ticketmaster, but that is not a GAA regulated source for tickets and people should realise this and try to get tickets through their clubs in the first place.

Hmmm.

In fairness (unless Dubs are playing) the only day you will find very difficult to get a ticket is all-ireland day. I think even Munster Finals, most people get their ticket.

However, An All Ireland title for many many counties is once in a generation thing. My father has been following Mayo since 1953, and I had to get a ticket from a well known Dublin player for whom I'll be eternally grateful last year, so the system stinks, and it cuts to the bone. Hopefully you will experience the absolute thrill of your county being involved on All Ireland Final day. It is a day that true fans of competiting counties should get tickets....full stop.

To put such a system in place, and cover every county ground in the country would cost approx €250 per terminal and budget about another €1 for each card issued to a member (who receives it when paying in to their first game). Card could be activated there and then.

Terminals can be portable, only need to be downloaded once a week or after the match with any phone line to a database.
    Cards are updated immediately upon being swiped.

Would help the GAA build a proper database and profile of their supporters anyway, and marketing opportunities and revenue would guarantee significant return on investment anyway.

Imposter wrote:

It would pay it self off. First off the Connacht football and both the Munster hurling and football finals are always sold out. If sunshine supporters were encouraged to go the first second rounds then it would actually bring in more money for the GAA. Like wise the crowds for the quarter finals and especially all ireland semi finals would increase. Croke park was far from full for any of the matches played in the hurling to date. In fact you could comfortably fit both crowds from the all ireland quarter finals into it and still have room left over for more. Yet it is highley unlikely that all of the supporters from both semi finals wishing to make the final will be accomodated. Which is most unfair.

It's not the corporate seats or the ofical seats for referees that are the problem. and while nuetral seats are part of the problem I find that the main problem is from fans from both counties that haven't gone to a single match all year decide that they will go to the all ireland final. And usually some how manage to get a ticket.

Culchie wrote:
    To put such a system in place, and cover every county ground in the country would cost approx €250 per terminal and budget about another €1 for each card issued to a member (who receives it when paying in to their first game). Card could be activated there and then.

Terminals can be portable, only need to be downloaded once a week or after the match with any phone line to a database.
    Cards are updated immediately upon being swiped.

Would help the GAA build a proper database and profile of their supporters anyway, and marketing opportunities and revenue would guarantee significant return on investment anyway.

Plus they could actually charge 5 uro for the card and that would also help pay the cost off. So effectively it would cost the GAA nothing. this kind of system is used in nearly all premiership grounds in England and is done so to reward the loyal fan when the big games come round. It's so simple and so effective.

Tis ...... but the point is they don't want to do it.

Smart people in the GAA you know, don't under-estimate them.

It's not in place for a reason.

AthAnRi wrote:
    this kind of system is used in nearly all premiership grounds in England and is done so to reward the loyal fan when the big games come round. It's so simple and so effective.

I've been in two different premiership grounds over the last two weekend and have ony seen such a system for season ticket holders, and by it's very defintion have a season ticket makes the system unnecessary.

Culchie wrote:
    Tis ...... but the point is they don't want to do it.

Smart people in the GAA you know, don't under-estimate them.

It's not in place for a reason.

Correct me if I'm not thinking along the same lines as you, but why have a system in place like has been described throughout this thread when the GAA can create hype and publicity all over the country by having people hunting for tickets.

We saw it in the Dublin v Tyrone match..... 100's of tickets spare outside the stadium being sold by touts for < face value, people buying on the double and being stuck with them etc.., all because of the hype....

The GAA don't care, the tickets will shift one way or the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭madmorphy

solice wrote:

The first point is if you are a genuine fan "not one of the usual who claim to go to every match but don't shower" a season ticket doesn't cost you any money but guarantees you the right to purchase a ticket should you make the final.League football and hurling home games are free,so if you add up all the admission fee's you've broke even,throw in a few club games and your on the pigs back.

The second point is that it's up to each county board to set up their own scheme for their loyal fans not headquarters.Who knows who will be in a final from one year to the next.When u do get to a final headquarters gives the tickets to the relevent county boards to distribute.

Why some people are claiming this seems ok for dublin,but wouldn't work in their own county i haven't got a clue(except maybe kilkenny).

Bluetonic wrote:
    I've been in two different premiership grounds over the last two weekend and have ony seen such a system for season ticket holders, and by it's very defintion have a season ticket makes the system unnecessary.

The system is in place in Goodison, Old Trafford, C.O.M. Stadium and Anfield. Aston Villa run a similar type programme where if you want to go to see the top three or four teams play you have to produce three ticket stubs from the previous matches. if the tickets haven't been sold by that stage then they go down to last 3 etc.

the reason you may not have seen the system in action is because a lot of tickets are bought on the net or over the phone where a membership number must be quoted before tickets are bought. For a lot of the smaller matches tickets would go on general sale. However buying tickets this way will not be added to your card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭claw14

Lads, reading this tread for a while. Bottom line is, it's the genuine fan's that go to the games up to the all-Ireland final, after that it's who ya know. That's the way it is. Gaa are not going to change the way they do things. Why invest money in the earlier games by installing ticket machines when there is no need in their eyes. They'll fill Croke Park on All Ireland day every year, how it's filled they don't care.
    FYI :-
    Game against Antrim in Galway city (Pearse Stadium) 1500 - 2000 at it on a Saturday afternoon. (Not a high profile game, but 2000 people ?????????)
    Quarter final Galway V Tipp........2,800 tickets sold by the Galway County Board
    Semi Final V KK 19,000+ tickets sold.
    All-Ireland final ??????who knows
    Where were these people for all the other games ?????
    Just my two cent worth.........and the hunt begins for 9/11

AthAnRi wrote:
    The system is in place in Goodison, Old Trafford, C.O.M. Stadium and Anfield. Aston Villa run a similar type programme where if you want to go to see the top three or four teams play you have to produce three ticket stubs from the previous matches. if the tickets haven't been sold by that stage then they go down to last 3 etc.

the reason you may not have seen the system in action is because a lot of tickets are bought on the net or over the phone where a membership number must be quoted before tickets are bought. For a lot of the smaller matches tickets would go on general sale. However buying tickets this way will not be added to your card.

Rubbish, I've been to Goodison for the opening game of the season and there was no such system in place and never has been, they have no smart card, no scanning terminal, no nothing. The ONLY system them have in place is the Evertonia membership which is basically a flat fee up front to give you one weeks advance on ticket purchases.....there is NO loyality difference, someone who buys one ticket a season has the same priority as someone who busy 10 tickets a season. Even The Derby goes on general sale nowadays in Goodison.

claw14 wrote:

Try the caves of Afghanistan :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭claw14

Bluetonic wrote:
    Try the caves of Afghanistan :D

Might be easier to get a ticket there than in Cork or Galway !!!!!
    But then again if Georgy boy says there are tickets there, I don't know if I would believe him :D

Bluetonic wrote:
    Rubbish, I've been to Goodison for the opening game of the season and there was no such system in place and never has been, they have no smart card, no scanning terminal, no nothing. The ONLY system them have in place is the Evertonia membership which is basically a flat fee up front to give you one weeks advance on ticket purchases.....there is NO loyality difference, someone who buys one ticket a season has the same priority as someone who busy 10 tickets a season. Even The Derby goes on general sale nowadays in Goodison.

Jees man chill out, Maybe not in Goodision I was there once last year so maybe I got them mixed up with some other ground. Hardly crime of the century. Any way thats totally off the point so stop trying to make an arguement where there isn't one. The fact is it is definately being implemented in the premiership. My point basically was that it pays it self off.

But as most people have said and which i agree with it won't happen because of ignorance.

Bluetonic wrote:
    Lads, reading this tread for a while. Bottom line is, it's the genuine fan's that go to the games up to the all-Ireland final, after that it's who ya know. That's the way it is. Gaa are not going to change the way they do things. Why invest money in the earlier games by installing ticket machines when there is no need in their eyes. They'll fill Croke Park on All Ireland day every year, how it's filled they don't care.
    FYI :-
    Game against Antrim in Galway city (Pearse Stadium) 1500 - 2000 at it on a Saturday afternoon. (Not a high profile game, but 2000 people ?????????)
    Quarter final Galway V Tipp........2,800 tickets sold by the Galway County Board
    Semi Final V KK 19,000+ tickets sold.
    All-Ireland final ??????who knows
    Where were these people for all the other games ?????

This is my point. It's the sunshine fans that are the problem. All out for Glory and they are the very people that come out of a final and criticise ever one of the players when they are not happy with a performance.

I will admit that I wasn't at the Antrim match but In fairness if i was living in Galway I would have been. But I was one of the 2800 that got a ticket for the Quarter final. I even payed £150 to fly over for that and another £150 for the Semi Final. I think that makes me somewhat dedicated especially since I thought we were going to lose both games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

If anyone comes across a ticket will they let me no. Cork Fan.

Dan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭lynchtp

If anyone comes across a ticket will they let me no. Cork Fan.

Dan.

Aren’t you Rugby fan Dan.
    Will you help people out with All black tickets - I doubt it.

Just putting the tickets on general sale would help with the neutrals - Limiting the ticket numbers at point of sale will dispel the touts and a true fan will queue if needs be. (I don’t mean through ticketmaster btw).

Allot of people have given up going to the full seasons games for many reasons
    like, the cost of the tickets, the fact that most high profile games are in HQ, TV coverage has replays (unlike the waste of space screen in HQ).

So if the semi were played locally they would attract more people, cork and Clare or Galway would have fill Semple stadium, even if it had HQ's capacity.

Galway Killkenny would have done the same in limerick or tipp.

I agree that HQ needs to be used but was it worth it for the Cork Kerry attendance.

The GAA need all the money it can get and it knows that its loyal supportes will travel. Its using the fans of gaa to meet its financial needs.