Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anyone play merrion 20e rebuy? (ANGRY RANT bad beat)

• 21-08-2005 11:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭

Notice: First of all i must point out that i realise what happened to me tonight was avoidbale and that those who mess with fire get burnt blah blah blah blah, but god damn it!

Was playing in my first twenty euro rebuy this evening. Registered just as the director was announcing shuffle up and deal, sat at table ten and all was well. (Things got even better when i was dealt pocket jacks)

Basically wasnt playing to well went down to about 1k but doubled up with king high straight flush :)
    From that moment on it was just hell.
    There were these two english lads playing at the table. They both worked as dealers in a casino around the corner we were told, they were the only people talking at the table, joking around and generally having a laugh. Obviously just out for a bit of craic, no harm in that,
    What gets me though is when i get dealt a pair of sixs, in sixth or seventh position, First to call, one of the english lads raised to three hundred, blinds at this stage being 25/50. there was no other callers so i decided to make a move having observed the looseness of the english lad.
    Mr englishman number two sitting to my left calls to go all in having roughly half my stack. It folds around and english man number one calls me having about 3 k. english man number one has k 6 (im happy) english man number two has 34o (im shocked and delighted) flop comes xxk, (im disgusted) CHIPS!

Very next hand i get two nines comes to the end of it i reraise all in and am left once again facing the two english friends, number one has 3 6o and number two who rebought has ace 6, the fecker flops an ace and im absolutely disgusted.

Now i realise i played the hands poorly but my luck was just so bad, not so much that i got outdrawn but that i got outdrawn by people who were calling with such terrible hands.

Im sure ill get berated now by people saying ace 6 isnt terrible blah blah blah
    but in my humble opinion you dont call an all in raise preflop with it

anyway this is a sympathy cry in order to enable me to go back and play another game of poker. hehe

thanks for listening guys.... tear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Did you reach your limit of rebuys? Otherwise why play a rebuy tourney at all? In a loose rebuy tourney you can *always* expect to be outdrawn by Ace rag. You should sit down willing to rebuy when outdrawn, or don't go in at all.

BTW you were only 55% favourite with the sixes and 65% with the nines, according to twodimes, so they weren't the most horrible outdraws you'll ever experience, unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I wouldn't consider them bad beats.

How about this one ?

.....and we were down to the last 10 from a field of about 80 I'd say..... Only one more to go to get onto the final table.... I was looking good.

Of the 10 left in the room, I am 2nd in chips, marginally behind a young lad immediately on my right. I had been impressed by this guys reads of players throughout the evening, and had the opportunity to use this observation to my advantage.

Under the Gun I get dealt the infamous AA. A call from me would look very unusual so I raised 3 times the blind, and it was folded around to the lad on the Big Blind on my right, who I had already sensed had also picked up a nice hand.

As I said before, I had been impressed by his read of people, and he was giving me quite a studying, deciding whether to fold or re-raise me all in I guess. So, I actually fed him a bit of a 'false tell' which he fell for, and he came over the top all-in. I was delighted as I really felt I had induced a mistake out of him.

He has AQ, so I'll leave the poker mathematicians to work it out, but I must be at least a 6/1 favourite, with him being dominated. However it wouldn't be the first time AA was cracked, so I braced myself for the flop.

Over it game, a beautiful rainbow 9 3 9 .... any flush or straight possibilities are gone ... I'm looking being massive chip leader on the final table, only runner runner 2 Queens can help this guy now ..... again I'll leave the mathematicians to work it out.
    The guy to my left said he folded a queen then, so this guy needs the only 2 queens left in the pack to come out now on the turn and river............and they did.

Bad Beat !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Amaru

Now THAT'S a bad beat! I believe its referred to as the "perfect perfect", and you're only likely to see a handful in your poker career. Its something close to 1000/1. Thats about as bad as bad beat stories come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

yeh thats the worst you can get. Needing to hit 2 cards and hitting both of them.... Strangely enough a friend of mine lost on almost the exact same hand in a British tourney. Actually it may even be worse.....

AGAIN it was aces against queens :)

flop came A 4 4

one thing led to another and they both ended up all in, and then came the 2 remaining queens.

Horrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭span

Ouch, that's gotta hurt culchie. Here's the odds for ya. Just to rub it in more ;)

Preflop AA 91.5% AQ 7.25%

Flop 9 9 3 rainbow:

AA: 99.6% AQ 0.3% and 0.1% split

with one queen already dead it's 99.8%, 0.1% and 0.1% for the split

span wrote:
    Ouch, that's gotta hurt culchie. Here's the odds for ya. Just to rub it in more ;)

Preflop AA 91.5% AQ 7.25%

Flop 9 9 3 rainbow:

AA: 99.6% AQ 0.3% and 0.1% split

with one queen already dead it's 99.8%, 0.1% and 0.1% for the split

er, yeh, well thanks for that Span :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Culchie wrote:
    er, yeh, well thanks for that Span :(

You know the auld saying "What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger". Some of the bad beat stories would bring a tear to a glass eye. Have to say yours is the "Multiple pile up, call the ambulances" of bad beat stories. I hope I never have one that can top that. On a positive note be thankful it wasn't in a cash game for a monster pot. :(:(

smurph wrote:
    You know the auld saying "What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger". Some of the bad beat stories would bring a tear to a glass eye. Have to say yours is the "Multiple pile up, call the ambulances" of bad beat stories. I hope I never have one that can top that. On a positive note be thankful it wasn't in a cash game for a monster pot. :(:(

Well to be honest, what has happened in recent days puts it all into perspective, so by the time I had left the room, I was over it.

Not a big deal at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Amaru wrote:
    Now THAT'S a bad beat! I believe its referred to as the "perfect perfect", and you're only likely to see a handful in your poker career. Its something close to 1000/1. Thats about as bad as bad beat stories come!

Well, I dont think it can really be classed as a bad beat, seeing as the money was all-in preflop.

I agree hitting runner-runner like that is rare though. I remember hitting runner-runner sixes at the final table of the 270 game in April, keeping me in. Unfortunately, I think it crippled ocallagh, and cost him a great chance of winning! :o

99.8% is bad beat enough for me :)