Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ganja Etiquette

• 16-08-2005 5:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭

OK, I've read the charter, and I couldn't find anything against it, and I don't think its being posted before.

Lots of people argue about this, so I thought I'd post it up.

1. The person who rolls the joint (no matter whose weed it is) gets to spark up the joint and get first hit.
    2. If someone rolls a nice joint, it’s good to give the person a complement on his rolling skills.
    3. If someone starts bogarting the bowl and starts using the excuse that it’s okay for him to Bogart it since it's his weed; this is definitely not cool. The punishment depends on the quality of the weed and how much he put in. (if it was real crappy and he was real cheap with it, then you bug on the person and rag on him)
    4. If someone is too palsy to light the bowl (due to being too stoned or the person is just a retard) then they must relinquish control of the lighter to someone more able to get it lit. This does NOT mean the person who lights gets free hits... this privilege tends to get abused ("hey lemme light it for you.")
    5. If someone is so much of a palsy that they blow INTO the pipe/joint and blow all the **** on the floor, this person must be ragged on and the person can't smoke on the next round (unless it was his stuff)
    6. If you smoke with someone in your house, you should let him or her eat some munchies you may have lying around... don't be cheap with your food, if you have any.
    7. If someone who's smoked asks for a sip of your soda, you must give him some, (cotton mouth is not fun).
    8. Converse of #7: if you ask for a sip, don't take a large gulp.
    9. If smoking from a joint, never put the whole thing in your mouth and get it all sopping wet. It is disgusting and it messes up the joint.
    10. If you’re smoking from a bong and there is not enough in the bowl for a whole other hit, you should save the smoke in the chamber for the next person. (Don't let go of the rushhold or 'carb' and take it all yourself)
    11. Never bogart
    12. Never bitch about someone else's weed being no good. If you don't like it don't smoke it!
    13. If a friend gets you high sometime in the future you need to get that friend high
    14. Thou shall not turn down a smoke. Ever!
    15. Phrased in the form of a narrative: My buddy and I are sitting around smoking the weed that I just scored. After flaming-up, and taking a few moderate puffs, I pass it on. The sounds that follow can only be described as vacuum-like. After a couple of huge, lung-busting tokes, the guy passes back the remnants of something that could have, at some point, been a joint. If it's not completely "canoed", then it's absolutely soaked. I not so subtly drop that old Cheech & Chong line "Hey man, can I wring it out for you?" He just looks at me.
    16. I have noticed the following: After smoking-up, the odd "crass-monkey" some people will actually eat the stained, disgusting roach. This must be because they want that "extra bit" of oil, resin, or whatever is left on the paper. This situation can be compared to the patron of a good restaurant picking up his "as good as empty" plate and licking off the remaining morsels of food. Sure he got that little pool of gravy, but was it really worth it?
    17. If you buy weed from a friend or a friend of a friend, it is polite to roll a joint, (a small one, if you wish) and smoke with the person who sells you the stuff.
    18. It is very impolite to hand someone an empty bowl, without notifying that person of its possible cashed-ness. A proper warning would be 'Here ya go. I think it might be cashed.
    19. The person who fills the bowl is given the opportunity to take the first hit. It doesn't matter whose weed it is.
    20. Always remember to thank a person who has gotten you high. I know it sounds silly, but I know people who never say thanks and it gets a little annoying.
    21. The person who brought the bud picks the music.
    22. When using a bong, DON'T blow out the ashes, unless that's what the "homeowner" does.
    23. NEVER go to someone's house EXPECTING him or her to catch you a buzz. Of course, there are exceptions to this rule...
    24. If you spill the bong, clean it up! (And don't forget to put water back in!)
    25. When the roach gets too small, if someone has a problem with it, it is common courtesy here to put the roach in a bowl and finish it that way. That way the people who don't mind burning their fingers don't get it all.
    26. Thou shall not roll pinners.
    Written By:
    Groda Lotsapot

What sad bastard sat down and wrote that out. The mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

What a load of bollocks.

Oh and the Yanks smoke their weed totally differently.
    This is useless to Irish smokers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I guess that's all in order...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

ronoc wrote:
    What sad bastard sat down and wrote that out. The mind boggles.
    Probbly high at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I think UB40 put it much better than that load of American nonsense...
    Mi Spliff wrote:

(Chorus)
    You can`t dep on mi spliff because mi spliff dep already
    You can`t dep on mi spliff mi have the hash-ish leb and sensi

Yes people smoke the herb yeah all over the world some bway
    name Peter and girl name pearl.
    All the weed ina the world belongs to you and me
    It isn`t man made it is here naturally

A man a fix him price so then a man a loose him life
    A man loose him life because a man a fix him price
    A man fix his price so then a man a loose him life
    The police will say no it is pure pappy show well their the
    Best ina the buisness

For centuries and centuries man has used the herb for leisure
    For pleasure do not disturb.

Various parts of the world it is called by many names such as
    Pot, grass, sensimila, trush-en-peng, marijuana, hear me now
    cannabis

Rock me now lambsbread save me now green weed green weed

So mek me bun up a draw you don't`t have to go far but when it
    lick you you will baul out lord,
    Yes we bun it in a pipe yes we bun it in a pipe have two draw
    a new meaning of life

Now we well satisfied we both gone slant eyed its a wonderful
    feeling and I tell you no lie

Now we well satisfied we both gone slant eyed its a wonderful
    feeling and I tell you no lie
    And we walk and a trot we a chat bout this and that if you have
    a good draw nothing nah beat that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Whats wrong with pinners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Sad muppet!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Am i missing something ?? Its just a list of pointers for if your a nuub smoker?? Whats so bad about that? Okay, i dont agree with some of the points but a lot are valid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

hey, I gotta agree with syco.
    These are the basic rules when smoking with friends. Read up if you havent before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I think one of the rules should be, don't pollute good weed with tobbaco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Blisterman wrote:

Also

"Dont pollute tobbaco with crap soapbar"

There are exceptions to that!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

"Don't substitute weed with coffee."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Not a subject I thought I was naieve on but what the hell is a pinner?

Oooh! Just realised I've some smoke in my room, woo-hoo!

mavericks wrote:
    Smoking weed is for social inadequates.
    Nice sweeping generalisation there.
    mavericks wrote:
    Ever notice the people who end up smoking weed at the end of a good party usually don't score. Stoners and people who bang on about smoking weed are easily some of the most boring people on the planet

Maybe they are smoking weed cause they didn't score :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

mavericks wrote:
    Ever notice the people who end up smoking weed at the end of a good party usually don't score.

Ever notice the people who end up smoking weed at the end of a good party
    usually aren't the ones locked scoring some fat minger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

mavericks wrote:
    Ever notice the people who end up smoking weed at the end of a good party usually don't score. Stoners and people who bang on about smoking weed are easily some of the most boring people on the planet
    Ever notice that people continue the party at the house where the stoners goto?

Ever notice that the person holding the party is a stoner/trying to get stoned?

Ever notice that stoners are the life of the party, as opposed to those who never try anything in life?

Ever notice that most stoners already have girlfriends (or are the girlfriends), and thus don't need to score?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

the_syco wrote:
    Ever notice that people continue the party at the house where the stoners goto?

Ever notice that the person holding the party is a stoner/trying to get stoned?

Ever notice that stoners are the life of the party, as opposed to those who never try anything in life?

Ever notice that most stoners already have girlfriends (or are the girlfriends), and thus don't need to score?

heh, a song from the streets jumps to mind.
    Also, theres no definite etiquette for what to do and what not to. it varies depending on the locations, whoevers stash it is, and how far along you already are.

Labrador man.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Hash = Overrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Blisterman wrote:
    I can't really afford not to. Rolled a joint with the dealer a couple of weeks ago.. passed it to him and he didn't apreiciate :( the dude smokes pure weed splifs.. nice if you can afford it.
    Not a subject I thought I was naieve on but what the hell is a pinner?
    a really thin joint I think (a 'toothpick' I'd call it)

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Hash = Overrated.
    Aye, but block format is available, whereas grass is hard to get, and even then can b useless if there's not enough seeds in it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

and never pass the spliff on if it's gone out or isnt lit.... that's the HEIGHT of rudeness imo...

Aye, but block format is available, whereas grass is hard to get, and even then can b useless if there's not enough seeds in it!
    Today 08:24

Woooooot :eek: :confused: . Please tell me you dont smoke the seeds :confused: .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Christ whats wih the rules!

Jesus, all it is is
    The roller tokes first
    Nobody should hog an unfair amount leavin the last guy with fcuk all
    Dont get ash all over your mates car
    Dont ask for your smoke, wait

Jesus christ, better than the 20 commandments there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭stevoslice

Three words: -
    Puff, Puff, Pass...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Christ whats wih the rules!

Jesus, all it is is
    The roller tokes first
    Nobody should hog an unfair amount leavin the last guy with fcuk all
    Dont get ash all over your mates car
    Dont ask for your smoke, wait

Jesus christ, better than the 20 commandments there

Being a regular roller and passer onner, I have a problem with the last rule there. What if your mate is bogarting, is it then not okay to say 'pass the damn spliff bogart!' ?

K.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

me and the lads wrote out a similar "constitution of spliff politics" we called it. around 4 summers ago, looking back on it it was funny. and it still is, whats even funnier is the fact that we didnt stick to it cause their was just so many joints going around. not any more thank god calmed down to a gentle once a weekend, but in all honesty though its a waste of time... its only smoke their shouldn't be rules involved, only rule i would have is dont ask for a joint its ignorant, there's pleanty to go around wait your turn you'll get there in the end :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Being a regular roller and passer onner, I have a problem with the last rule there. What if your mate is bogarting, is it then not okay to say 'pass the damn spliff bogart!' ?

K.
    No you just ask him/her have they ever seen "Casablanca" or The Big sleep" or "The Maltese falcon"... They'll soon cop on. ;)

I've only ever heard the term bogarting in the US or in movies from there...please don't tell me it's the new hip stoner's lingo here now as well...

Only rule I know is that you pass it to your left or clockwise, whichever applies.

Woooooot :eek: :confused: . Please tell me you dont smoke the seeds :confused: .
    A bag of weed with no seeds won't get you stoned. A bag with seeds will. Something to do with the male / female plant thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

the_syco wrote:
    A bag of weed with no seeds won't get you stoned. A bag with seeds will. Something to do with the male / female plant thing.
    That's not true at all. It's just bad weed you're getting tbh.

The really good sticky green stuff will not generally have seeds in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭miss_gonzo

there are no rules

thats such a stupid list

glad i stopped smoking.

That's not true at all. It's just bad weed you're getting tbh.

The really good sticky green stuff will not generally have seeds in it.
    Today 20:29

Ye, a bud with a lot of seeds is generally regarded as crap where i come from :), but then a think different plants have different characterstics. Just dont smoke those seeds :eek: , i m8 of mine was really desperate once, so he crushed a huge section of seeds, did nothing :rolleyes: .

the_syco wrote:

Sorry, that's rubbish. Cultivators will purposely keep male plants away from female planst to stop the females getting pollinated and producing seeds...a plant producing seeds puts all it's resources into that, instead of going to "bud" and producing the resin we all so covet (well most of us).
    Any weed you get including seeds is nowhere near as high in THC or other active ingredients as weed without them....avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Hash = Overrated.

Soapbar is shlte, but have you ever actually smoked proper bubble hash. You really have to know a grower to get real proper hash. 1/2 a pinhead of real hash will have you destroyed nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

smoke the seeds if you never want to have any kids lads, the seeds make you infertile!

the_syco wrote:

It would be truer to say the opposite, but still wrong. Female plants are the ones you want to grow, and will produce seed if pollinated, if not pollinated they will produce more resin and THC in the later flowering stages and get very potent.
    Seeds mean it was grown wild or by an inexperienced grower who allowed his plants to pollinate. The last 2 times I was in holland I never got a single seed in the crystal rich grass I got. 10 years bag I got seeds in about 50% of the grass there.

VinnyL wrote:
    smoke the seeds if you never want to have any kids lads, the seeds make you infertile!
    No, plant them in the flower pots outside your local garda station or on your local TD's lawn.

Originally Posted by mavericks
    Stoners and people who bang on about smoking weed are easily some of the most boring people on the planet
    Because they are sitting there quietly, rather than dancing around screaming in a staggering blackout with their flute hanging out wearing a lampshade as a hat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

rubadub wrote:
    , rather than dancing around screaming in a staggering blackout with their flute hanging out wearing a lampshade as a hat?

Have we met?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

the_syco wrote:
    lol someones gettin ripped with some nasty homegrown stuff! propper bud needs to be sticky big buds no seed not much leaves and stink to high heavens, seeds mean who ever decided to try home growing had a male plant in the mix and the buds were pollinated :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭AB03

At the end of the day, stoners are more passive, easier going, nicer to talk to and more of a laugh than locked idiots. Period.
    You will never find a stoner and his mates who trek down to the garage at 1am on a saturday night looking for a scrap, but if they happen to come across a bunch of locked idiots, trouble could quite easily ensue. Simple as.

About all the rules things, they are definately american rules, has the yank stamp all over it.
    The rules we abide by are, no askin for a joint (unless nescessary, which is never) + the person who rolled it, smokes it.

Unfortunately, we get the worst of the worst pot in europe, literally. Not many places get the crap soap bar we are accustomed to here.
    I blame it all on gilligan the greedy fecker. Back in the 80s when there was very little pot around, and that which was around, was black leb or moroccan. Gilligan obviously got in contact with some turks who were banging out crap soap for next to nothing and seized the opportunity. We all then took it for granted that this *was* hash/weed/cannabis and there wasnt much else better, cept the weed in amsterdam and thus since then, we've been shafted because time after time, the people bringing in the tons dont care, because they make the dollar anyway, cos it gets sold one way or another. If the people buying keys in the hundreds were to say they wanted something better and would pay slightly extra for it, then the people selling the tons would have to listen. Of course, this would take a concerted effort on behalf of some of the bigger dealers around the city/country, which is very difficult as only the person selling the ton knows all his own contacts, the contacts obviously never come face to face idividually (well, its rare).
    At the end of the day, I cant see the soapbar situation changing, except by the two following methods :

The nigerian communities are bringing lots of good weed with them, god knows how its getting here, but it is. If they were to infiltrate the market, we could all be smoking quality ganja within a year, but they'd have to bring a lot of firepower to back themselves up as the irish dealers would not stand for it and turf wars would happen.
    This will happen eventually when the next generation of nigerian/african dealers grow up. There will be turf wars over the sale of crack and weed in certain areas, white on black, but not in any way race oriented, just money I would imagine.

Second way, and Im extremelly glad this is starting to be the case, people are starting to grow their own. We can all be smoking top class primo ****in weed, if we grow it. I know its succesful and completely viable (Im not going to say how I know, but I do), even to the person who only wants to grow 1 plant and gain 1 oz every 2 months or so. It is the way forward for the non commercial smoker (and the commercial growers alike). I urge anyone reading this thread to check the forums in the following sites:

www.overgrow.com
    www.marijuana.com

Theres plenty more out there, but they're a good start.
    You wont regret at least looking into the subject, believe me.

Say no to soapbar!
    Its the worst muck on the planet and we're nearly the only ones who put up with it. Its filled with all sorts of filler, shoe polish, wax, anything and everything you do not want to smoke, its in there. Its put severe pressure on my lungs over the years and I hate the fact that, as a cannabis smoker, its the only option I had, until recently.
    I urge you all to change over aswell. Stop smoking the ****, put the soap dealers out of business and maybe then we can get some good stuff from them. Even some nice dark bubbly hash from leb or morocco would be the business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭AB03

Yeah, and that thing about the weed with seeds being stronger,

YOU ARE GETTING RIPPED BUDDY!!!
    AHHAHHHAHA!!

Biggest load of crap I ever heard. Its the complete opposite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Sifo

stoners are generally more laid back, drunken louts are the ones who usually sh*te on all night about the women they pulled and the fights theyve had, i like getting a good drunk on me too (female of course aye aye!! - see thats a stoner comment, mid-sentence just come out with a rant, i'm not even stoned atm) anyhoo, all those rules are grand if thats what ya wanna go by, but not everyone will agree, i guess it comes down to the group you get high with... we generally just pass them around to the left, but if theyve already got one pass it to the right, either ways fine, no need to get uptight about it!!!

though shall not covet thy neighbours spliff!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

if you have nice lump a soap bar handy, and dont wanna smoke camel sh1t, you can clean it up. check it out on the www.wellcoolstuff.com forums, the guide to cleansing soapbar. you get a nice smoke out of it, but a bit less than when you started. lovely smoke though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I think we are going a bit overboard on this whole hash=peace and love for all thing, as if its some magical thing that makes all users passive.

Lets face it, 98% of scumbags smoke the stuff. Ecstasy may make you all cool and non confrontational, but most scumbags use it regularly too (although coke is more popular by now, but thats not really relevant since we know how that affects some people)

Not to down on anything, I smoke regularly and do yokes occasionally, but its just not as if all stoners are peace lovin

On a similiar note, I always laugh whenever I see one of the thrice daily "dirty scumbags" threads, nd some lad who on a thread like this advocates hash goes into a rant against the tracksuit wearing community of Dublin
    If he despises criminals so much, quit smoking hash, as your most probably lining the pockets of grown up schwars who import it by the truckload.
    Clowns

Me, as for the whole lining the pockets of criminal gangs reason many legalise it heads espouse, tbh with the price of housing nowadays good luck to whoevers making money in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

AB03 wrote:
    At the end of the day, stoners are more passive, easier going, nicer to talk to and more of a laugh than locked idiots
    Coz clearly someone is either a stoner or a locked idiot, there are no in betweens

lol someones gettin ripped with some nasty homegrown stuff! (
    Usually stuff with seeds is not home grown, more likely highly compressed mexican or african ditchweed.
    Any homegrower who allows there plant to seed is an idiot who are wasting their time and risking the law for nothing. If you are going to grow at least do it right, and buy decent seeds too, I know scumbags who admitted putting hemp seed from pet shops in their ditch weed to make it weigh more, do not presume the seed in a bag of weed will produce the same high. You can buy feminized seeds which cut out a lot of hassle, well worth the extra cost. Don't skip on growing.

You can extract oil (then class A) from soapbar using butane
    check the hashish section at www.overgrow.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Spicy Lauren

Lads, will ya stop arguing and pass that J over this way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭MadPatrick

I'm actually pretty good on those rules, but if you have a girlfriend on your right you have to break the left hand passing rule.
    Soapbar is utter ****, I tried weed once and paid too much for it and it wasn't any better than hash, but then I went to Oz and the weed over there was super, then Thailand which was even better. Really sticky = really good.
    I'm in Scotland now and the weed is good here but alot of people, especially Spanish have real proper hash, you don't even have to burn it, it just crumbles. Thats the business, but I prefer weed.
    Most kind of pot doesn't burn by itself so you have to put in tobacco, and you get stoned anyway. It is cleaner without though.
    And if someone doesn't pass, ask them if they were eating chicken. Got that off some Spanish people, thought it was quiet clever.