Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clubs/Societies

• 15-08-2005 6:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭

Are any of you involved in clubs or societies in UCD? If not, what makes you stay away? If so, what do you like about them?

Just a general query, but I think it'll probably help any potential freshers. Especially those who don't want to waste a fortune on joining everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

I always wanted to get involved, was just far too lazy to do anything about it! But next year, I'm really going to try, well I intend to anyway!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I'm the Club Secretary of PatSoc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Ooh, PatSoc. What's that going to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

In a word?

Sodall

Like DutchSoc!

The Dutch people got a bit annoyed when they found out it was the Dutch gold society. Oopsies!

SebtheBum wrote:
    In a word?

Sodall

You won't be saying that when the invasion starts. Oops, I've said too much...
    Blush_01 wrote:
    Like DutchSoc!

The Dutch people got a bit annoyed when they found out it was the Dutch gold society. Oopsies!

I got fired from that Soc when I suggested that we have a field trip to the Dutch mountains. They gave me some BS about there not being any mountains there but I know the real reason is because they're anti-Irish!

Ronan's anti-Irish? That's never struck me before... but it would explain why he's so angry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Syth

I am thwe webmaster for Games Society, but only because I know people involved with it and I so I can try to get more console game contests. I am also webmaster for the mathematics society, again because I know people. I find the talks they host to be interesting, and the people to be interesting too. I am a sysadmin for the internet society becuase I like that sort of thing. I also go to a fair few sci fi events.

Think the Rocky Horror Show will be on again? I was sick for the last one. Darn and blast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭larryone

yes RHPC will be on again.
    I have a funny feeling i'll be in it again.
    viva la Rocky!

I used to go to loads of society events, mostly for free booze. Now I go to stuff my mates are into for the laugh. I've joined loads of societies and gone to loads of events, but most of what i've ever been "involved" in would mostly have been the Caving&Potholing Club (was captain, then equipment gimp, then...) and Netsoc (head sysadmin. syth is my b1tch) and Juggling (active juggler and former webmaster).
    Netsoc were sponsored by Heinikken when I started college. events like "Netsoc vs the Beer" "The Beer strikes Back" and "Return of the Beer" were great. There was huge ammounts of beer at the christmas party they had in the pod. All that coupled with the fact that i was interested in computers got me involved there...
    Caving and Juggling are major interests of mine.
    I also go to the odd movie/whatever sci-fi put on
    & I go to alot of the pagansoc events and discussion groups.
    Been to the Strauss Ball a few times.
    Some music soc (i include many music societies here) and comedy soc gigs
    Various free coffee mornings
    Mountaineering Club stuff
    various bits and bobs and events over the years....

Why get involved? benefit of free stuff/drink and general interest in stuff...

Surely that is getting involved, if only a little?

BTW - did you ever get your hat?

my hat?

Experiment: failure.

This message board will self destruct in 5, 4, 3, 2....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I'm gonna be one of the instructors with the taekwon-do club :)
    Go me.
    Anyone who's even remotely interested in trying a martial art in UCD should join the TKD club. It's fantastic :) It's not just about the training... it's about hauling yourself to the bar when you're almost too tired to move, and drinking away the pain :)
    (I'm also random nerd society postermonkeybitch... but that's not as impressive.)

I love martial arts. I tried TKD. I hated it. Just wasnt for me. I've loads of mates who love it tho, and the TKD club has a fantastic social side to it!

I reckon if you're into martial arts, try a few out before joining - most clubs let you go to the first couple of sessions before you join...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Alana

larryone, always wanted to join juggling soc, what ye got planned for next year, and could I bring me some fire chains...? :D

Never really got involved in any soc's bar music soc, which this year started off well, and then the sec left UCD and it all fell apart, but got involved with one of the newspapers and that was really good fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

I was promotions person for the Ninjutsu club last year. Well technically that was my job, but we all just did everything together so it wasnt like it was any trouble or anything! :)

I've been a member of the club for 3 years now, as for what keeps me there? Well the ppl obviously are a big plus, I've made some great friends there that I will still see every week even though I've left college. I've been on countless drunken nights, trips away, weekends down the country and over to England. Random parties, 21st parties, new years eve parties, BBQ's, cinema trips, training seminars...the list goes on! Of course there is the small factor of the training itself, one of the things I love about it is the fact that no matter how tired I am, how hungover I am, how sick I feel or how fed up I feel before training, I'm always guarenteed to come out of it feeling great. Always!

One thing I will say to all freshers reading this is to go join at least one of the clubs or socs and really get into it. Theres no point wasting your money say joining five or six different clubs. Pick one or two things that your genuinely interested in trying out, and then do it. Go to the meetings, training sessions, meets or whatever is organised. Its pretty much a given that no matter what club/soc you join, they'll head up to the bar afterwards, so go to that too, cos it really helps when trying to get to know ppl in the club.

On a side note, does anyone have any good suggestions for getting freshers involved in things at the start of the year?

blondie83 wrote:
    On a side note, does anyone have any good suggestions for getting freshers involved in things at the start of the year?

Beer. And talking. But mostly beer.

Alana wrote:
    larryone, always wanted to join juggling soc, what ye got planned for next year, and could I bring me some fire chains...? :D

Planned?
    Nothing is ever planned in juggling, with the exception of a trip to tralee for the juggling convention there. Mostly ppl just turn up on monday evenings, bring whatever juggling stuff they have, or pick up some of the jugglesoc gear and go for it. There's always some experienced jugglers there to help out or show you new tricks or whatever. If you have fire poi, then bring them. I made a set for myself a while ago with some chains and kevlar, and can do a few nice moves. I'm more a fan of diabolo than anything else...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭moynihan

I'm Netsoc Auditor this year, we plan to have lots of drinkin events, and I jmade a deal yesterday to score cheap pizza's too. Should be a good laugh this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

is there a photography society/club in there?

there is as far as i know a photography society, but i'm not sure how active they are. I know they have (or at least had) a dark room in the physics building... more like a dark closet tho

and yea, netsoc will be fun =0)

netsoc was RUBBISH last year. Much better the year before, IMO.
    L&H continued its downward spiral - a pity for a society with so rich a history.
    C&E continues to wow popular support by appealing to the lowest common denominator - booze and scantily clad members of the fairer sex.
    DramSoc kicked ass as ever. Pity I didnt get involved, fool that I am. :rolleyes:
    SWP had a few demonstrations, but pretty ineffectual overall.
    FilmSoc wasn't as good as in previous years.
    PhilSoc's improvement was amazing. Best small society in Ireland. Who can argue with that?

SebtheBum wrote:
    netsoc was RUBBISH last year. Much better the year before, IMO.
    L&H continued its downward spiral - a pity for a society with so rich a history.
    C&E continues to wow popular support by appealing to the lowest common denominator - booze and scantily clad members of the fairer sex.
    DramSoc kicked ass as ever. Pity I didnt get involved, fool that I am. :rolleyes:
    SWP had a few demonstrations, but pretty ineffectual overall.
    FilmSoc wasn't as good as in previous years.
    PhilSoc's improvement was amazing. Best small society in Ireland. Who can argue with that?

Netsoc was more of a thorn in my side than most people - believe me. It's in the middle of something of a revival at the moment =0)
    I'd certainly agree with most of what you were saying there, as for DramSoc... I highly recommend people go to the plays dramsoc put on. Alot of them I've seen are absolutely fantastic! Will definitely be going to more this year (once i find time, etc...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Kate_17

Is the FF Cumann any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭pretty*monster

SebtheBum wrote:

Alas no, we were only the second best small society in Ireland. Best small soc in ucd, which was quite an achievement (and due in no small part to all the posters I put up, oh yes indeed).

I've heard that the Kevin Barry Cummann are nothing like Fianna Fail. But then I dont really know anyone who's involved with them... I kinda half knew a girl who was vaguely involved ages ago, and she said it was a good laugh, but that's as close to an answer to your question as I can get.

Alot of my coisins are big FF heads, my uncle has been known to drink with Bertie down the local, and they asked me once if I was in KBC, and if not why not. I laughed. My faith in most political parties in this country disappeared a long time ago.

But if you're into it, I dont really see any reason not to join them. They tried to convince me to join once. As did alot of the other political societies. I just told all the lefties that I preferred capitalism =0) They probably thought I'd join cause I look and smell like a hippy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I was Secretary of YFG last year and am Social Sec this year.
    I really enjoy being involved. I've made so many friends, learned loads more about politics and got involved in my local area too.
    We organise meetings and social events mainly. Some people join their local branch too but some don't.
    I'd really encourage people to get involved with a political society (whichever one). Except the communists of course! :D

Couldnt agree more about how bad netsoc was last year Seb, this year'll be different(we hope) plenty more events more booze and as I said earlier free pizza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Kate_17 wrote:
    Is the FF Cumann any good?
    I gave thm two euro in return for, sweets, crisps, a tee shirt, 3 drinks (whiskey, ken or guinness) a pen, several trips to the dail bar and meetings with nearly every minister, includin mcdoweel (even if he is a pd) and the taoiseach.
    Im not a FF'r, but thats great value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

half the time filmsocs films werent even on, i think they had a reshuffle during the year that feck things up but dunno. Joined ninjitsu but just wasnt any good, i stuck with it for a while but didnt improve.
    Gonna join frisbee next year.

You DONT need to be in L&H, C&E or any other society to go to their events. The cards will get you concessions in sime clubs though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

You DONT need to be in L&H, C&E or any other society to go to their events. The cards will get you concessions in sime clubs though

Which is why you only join them because they give out the best "free" stuff! Lawsoc with it's slice of Four Star Pizza - genius!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭kasintahan

Photosoc gave me a free doughnut, some coffee and a laminated card. But that's the only dealings I had with them all year.

Filmsoc are th ultimate in takin your money in the tent and disappearing all year. I reckon we should picket their office this year till they put on some damn flicks

That's always been the case, the reason you join (or the whole point of joining) is so that you can vote for next auditor the following year.
    First years are always crucial in L&H auditor elections anyway, cos they haven't become affiliated/"tainted" yet. But sadly, very few ppl I know bother with this anymore.

We have the freedom to used democracy with our societies.
    Sadly, most of us have chosen to waive that right... :(

Alana wrote:

Never really got involved in any soc's bar music soc, which this year started off well, and then the sec left UCD and it all fell apart, but got involved with one of the newspapers and that was really good fun.

I thought Lou was Auditor? She's a classy lass though. Destined for bigger and better things too, if I know anything about her. Her plans for London are cool!

Peter, as far as I know FilmSoc had major monetary difficulties relating to the previous year. They simply couldn't afford to do anything. That said, there office was almost always occupied by people I assume were either committee or friends of committee and they were always watching or listening to something.

I was so disappointed in L&H and LawSoc this year. I always enjoyed going to the debates in first year and found them not only entertaining, but also informative. However this year there was very little on by comparison, and the "comedy" debates they put on were abysmal. Apart from Seán and his toilet seat, there was little to keep many people amused, and much of the gags were downright offensive. They did have decent guests, but their advertising was disgraceful, in my opinion. And the book they've just released has an hilarious flyleaf!

DramSoc had a spectacular year. They're working really hard to rid themselves of the clique-y image they have, and I'd urge anyone who wants to get involved, in any way whatsoever to muster up the courage and audition. I was only involved in one play, but it's magnificent fun. A big problem with DramSoc is that you become so involved that the real DramSoc-ers get incredibly close and can appear to be somewhat of an impenetrable force from the outside. That said, they're far from it. Appearances can very much be deceiving, and I expect great things from them this year - or else!

PhilSoc were amazingly impressive. They went from being a group of old buddies getting hammered together to being a spectacular society who catered for so many diverse interests that it was shocking, and all in the space of a summer. The complete overhaul on both those involved and modi operandi (?) was unreal.

That said, most societies I had had some dealings with in first year were disappointing this year. It's probably due to the manner in which they're run - the entire society hinges on the committee elected before the summer, and that's why the societies vary so much from year to year. Somehow though, I think '05-'06 is going to be a vast improvement on last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭kasintahan

Blush_01 wrote:

DramSoc had a spectacular year. They're working really hard to rid themselves of the clique-y image they have, and I'd urge anyone who wants to get involved, in any way whatsoever to muster up the courage and audition. I was only involved in one play, but it's magnificent fun. A big problem with DramSoc is that you become so involved that the real DramSoc-ers get incredibly close and can appear to be somewhat of an impenetrable force from the outside. That said, they're far from it. Appearances can very much be deceiving, and I expect great things from them this year - or else!

They NEED a bigger couch. The two, two seaters facing each other in the spandrel of the stairs were occupied 24/7 by an ORGY of Dramsoc heads. Enjoyed some of their work last year though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

i was last years vice chair of UCD Labour party society, im this year`s secretary. We`re planning a big social event on freshers week if anyones`s interested in joining.

My mate joined the Labour Party student society last year and he said it was really good. I am a socialist of course, so they're a bit "centrist" for my likin', but apparently they were more active than the rest.
    *cough*SWSS you suck ass. Royal.*cough*

Gotta stop smoking. ;)

To be honest I reckon one of the reasons scoieties were so weak in the last few years is the Socialist Union. For the last two years everyone's been considered a hack to be involved in anything and the societies got very little support from the union(tyrin to get ents support on an event has been a nightmare for instance). It'll be interesting to see if there is any change to that this year, now that the right wing are back in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

Does anyone know WTF happened to F1 soc last year?

I paid 4 euro, got no sweets and I was promised go karting trips every day! I want answers now!

kasintahan wrote:
    They NEED a bigger couch. The two, two seaters facing each other in the spandrel of the stairs were occupied 24/7 by an ORGY of Dramsoc heads. Enjoyed some of their work last year though.

The couches got thrown out! They rescued some stuff, but... well...

Besides, I know a certain LawSoc-er who christened that couch, amongst many otehr places on campus. Just be careful where you sit... everywhere.

Zane, honey, they lied, took your money, and spent it on karting trips for themselves. That's why you should join other societies that will love you and give you CONTINUAL free stuff - like the ELS. We even have cake (occasionally). And our coffee has been known to be irish! Maybe that's because the milk we use is 100% irish - support irish farmers, drink irish coffee!

Moral of the story - whiskey loves you.