Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to Vegas in a few weeks........

• 15-08-2005 1:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭

Okay..... im off to the states for two weeks in September. 10th - 24th. Ill be spending most of my time down in San Diego, but a few days here and there in Vegas as well, and I am just looking for some advice.

I have read some reviews etc on the net... and as far as I can tell the Aladdin seems to be the best place to play poker. That or the new poker room in the MGM. Also where is the best place to stay there??

So questions.....

1) What is the standard of play in the small stakes NL cash games.

The smallest stake games I could come across were the 1/2 NL games. I would assume that the standard on these would be pretty low... at the major casinos anyway. Is this the case, or is there a lot of sharks at these tables. Is it better to play a tight or loose game at these tables? Is there as many crazys as there is online?

2) Would I be better off just playing the tourneys….

There are also tournaments on twice a day in most casinos. Most are a $50 + 5 entry. Are these good value, do they get a lot of runners and is all the money paid out. Most of them are rebuys, which I don’t like…. but if its all that’s there… then hey..

Does anyone know which are the best?

3) Major Tournaments on while there?

I have never been in a major tournament (lol… I have never been in a minor tournament either – all but home games have been played online)
    Is there somewhere I can check to see all the bigger tournaments while I am in the area. Maybe I could have a go at qualifying for something online.

4) What is the etiquette when playing in Vegas.

Do you tip the dealer every hand you win… or is it just big wins etc.. and how much do you tip? This and any other etiquette advice would be helpful.

As said above all my live experience is just home games with the friends. I realize it would be valuable for me to get some games in before I go, and I will try and get into the Macau a few times before then. How important would it be to do this?

Any other advice for the trip would be welcome as well….……… and I am sure I will think of other questions to ask as it gets closer….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

DOnt go near the Alladin,mplayed a tournament with a 35% rake, mostly hidden in a get 50% extra chips for $10extra all of which went to the house on top of the rake.

I recommend Ballys for 1/2NL with a 200max buyin or Harrahs which has 1/2NL with a 120 max buyin. Tip $1 for pots over a tenner, a few dollars for large pots. Standard fairly weak a lot of clueless tourists.

I found most small tournaments overraked the prizepool, one or two affordable ones downtown - Binions and the Golden Nugget

Major - 2 o clock in the Bellagio 500FO sattelites from 10 or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

bohsman wrote:
    DOnt go near the Alladin,mplayed a tournament with a 35% rake, mostly hidden in a get 50% extra chips for $10extra all of which went to the house on top of the rake.

I recommend Ballys for 1/2NL with a 200max buyin or Harrahs which has 1/2NL with a 120 max buyin. Tip $1 for pots over a tenner, a few dollars for large pots. Standard fairly weak a lot of clueless tourists.

I found most small tournaments overraked the prizepool, one or two affordable ones downtown - Binions and the Golden Nugget

thanks for the reply bohsman.....

thats surprising... about the alladin.. but the guys writing those reviews may not be interested in the rake etc... just the atmosphere.
    bohsman wrote:

???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Heading over myself on Wednesday for 12 days (3 in LA, 9 in Vegas), anyone else have any suggestions? Is there any lo-limit (1/2 2/5) PL Omaha Hi to be had anywhere? Is that monkey game in the Bellagio daily Oscar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

Juan Pablo wrote:
    Heading over myself on Wednesday for 12 days (3 in LA, 9 in Vegas), anyone else have any suggestions? Is there any lo-limit (1/2 2/5) PL Omaha Hi to be had anywhere? Is that monkey game in the Bellagio daily Oscar?

Just back myself.Played in MGM / wynn and bellagio.PL omaha was on the list but no1 was signing on for it(at least while i was singing in).the monkey game is daily with about 60 runners . $1000 friday /sat. top 5 payout top heavy.came 10th
    played 2/5 NL 200 max buyin (wynn has higher buyin limits).standard is mixed.Later in the night the standard improves with the pros taking on the big stacks in groups of 2 to 3 .thought the bellagio had the best poker room and you can make money if you avoid the free drink(harder to do than you would think..Fcuk it im on holiday)
    GL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Cheers ZR, will give those cardrooms a spin.

JP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

???????

500 freezeout starts at 2 every day there are single table sattelites on from 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

500 freezeout starts at 2 every day there are single table sattelites on from 10
    $1000 FO on Fridays and Sats I think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

Tourneys in vegas are shocking with most structures leading to gamblefests. Most casinos just want to get the tourneys over asap. Stay away from the luxor/mandalay bay daily tourneys although the 1/2 nl game in the luxor was full of fish. enjoy it over there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭CoD

willis wrote:
    Tourneys in vegas are shocking with most structures leading to gamblefests. Most casinos just want to get the tourneys over asap. Stay away from the luxor/mandalay bay daily tourneys although the 1/2 nl game in the luxor was full of fish. enjoy it over there

im going to the luxor in november, so any more info on it would be great :)

I played the luxor noon tourney last year, wrecked my head. Limit for the first 3 levels, then NL.

yep... i've heard of those luxar tourneys alright.... thats a very odd way to go about it.... think ill be avoiding those...

the satts for the bellagio 500 sound like an interesting one alright... ill have a go at a few of them while there anyhow.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Let us know how you get on. I'm going over in May so anything I can learn from your experience would be great. Also staying in LA for a few days so if you take the trip up to the Commerce or Bicycle from San Diego let us know what thelike for poker.

This site has lots of good links to info on poker in Vegas. In case you haven't come across it:

http://www.lasvegasvegas.com/pokerblog/

well im flying in and out of LA so may get the chance. I have been over there before and don't like LA much..... can't wait to get back to San Diego though......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

were is everyone booking there flights??

well I only decided to go pretty late on.... due to winning a MTT. The buddies got there flights from dublin to LA for 550 with aer lingus... great price. Im paying 740 with BA to go cork - heathrow - LA. (they had flights as little as 650, but the times didnt suit)

basically... get your dates, then shop around....

i got 572 euro rtn to Las Vegas. so thats good then ?

is going to vegas for a week to much ?

blahblah06 wrote:
    i got 572 euro rtn to Las Vegas. so thats good then ?

is going to vegas for a week to much ?

thats a pretty good price alright...

too much? that kinda depends on you... if you go and blow all your money in the first few nights.. then it might be, and I know quite a few people who did this.

There is lots of other things to go see around the area as well... rent a car and take a trip down to the Grand Canyon... that will take a day or so.. etc etc...

what are your reasons for going to LV... is it just poker?, are you going alone?
    Its a long flight over there... so to me, wouldn't take the effort if I wasn't staying for at least a week... but I would probably take a break from it during the week.

going over with the gf. its gonna be my 21st. just gonna be playing the cheap poker tables etc

Three words: Blue Man Group

Best show in Vegas, and well worth the $100 :eek: ticket

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

MadsL wrote:

Sounds like some kind of gay orgy

Steps out of thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

MadsL wrote:

first half hour of BMG was crap .1 word teletubbies.
    O at the bellagio is a far superior show IMHO.
    Also la femme at MGM is weel worth a look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭K!LL!@N

MadsL wrote:

I loved this show.
    Thought it was fantastic.

Killian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Jimbling,
    While you're in LA you should DEFINITELY check out the bicycle casino. The cash games are great, there's a bigger range of games to choose from than anywhere I saw in Vegas. Also the WPT Legends of Poker festival is on at the moment and is continuing until mid September. Look up www.thebicyclecasino.com and click on tournaments and then WPT Legends of Poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

How are you getting on Dave?

Give us a full report! 3000-4000 words!
    d.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Alright Des,
    Having a ball over here, in San Diego at the minute staying in a mate's 2 bedroom apartment with 14 others! The place is just one big mattress but it's good craic.

Pokerwise I haven't played in ages which is great, needed a BIG break from it after the World Series. I cashed in the $500 FO at the Bellagio on a trip back to Vegas about 3 wks ago but just couldn't manage to get cards at crucial times. Went out in 7th in the end on the button with As8s. I had enough for 4 rounds and it was folded around to me. All in was only move but BB had 99...

I did check out the bicycle casino last weekend though on a pissup trip to LA and played a 2-5 NLH cash game for about 45 minutes, leaving $100 up which paid for the night out so that was pretty sweet. There's a serious amount of money to be made in that place. The standard of play was absolutely terrible and the range of games was massive, it even had a load of PLO games going which is very rare for the states. It's the best cardroom I've been in so far and it's extremely player friendly which is really refreshing after Vegas. It reminded me alot more of what we have at home as opposed to the solely money orientated cardrooms in Nevada. I'm heading back there on Sunday actually for a tournament which is part of the WPT Legends of Poker Festival. It's a $300 multiple rebuy event with a guaranteed prize pool of $300,000! No joke. I'm going to bring enough for one rebuy and one top up but hopefully I'll only have to use the top up. Most of my good results have come in tournaments I've played directly after big breaks from the game so fingers crossed I can get a result.

That's about all my news. I'm planning a return to Barcelona in September and I think Niall, Marq and Oscar are heading along too, I'm sure there'll be a load of others too so it should be good craic. My result this Sunday is going to determine when I come home; if I don't cash I'm going to head back next week but if I do I think I'm going to do a bit of travelling with some mates, maybe down to Mexico for a bit. I'll let yous know how it goes anyway, good luck in the mean time.

Daithio wrote:
    Jimbling,
    While you're in LA you should DEFINITELY check out the bicycle casino. The cash games are great, there's a bigger range of games to choose from than anywhere I saw in Vegas. Also the WPT Legends of Poker festival is on at the moment and is continuing until mid September. Look up www.thebicyclecasino.com and click on tournaments and then WPT Legends of Poker.

thanks Daithio... and the casino looks like a good spot, Ill def give it a go... I'm sure ill be spending one or two nights in LA. The poker festival will be over before I get there though... it seems to end on the 1st of Sept... so no luck there.

It also says on there website that the 'nooners' are suspended until further notice... know anything about that? maybe its just cash games that will be on.. what are the usual buy ins etc on those, as I can't find anything about cash games on the site....

best of luck in that tourney buy the way.... but just a warning, the website says its a 150,000 guaranteed.....