Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Andy Black Tonight

• 15-08-2005 9:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭

Seen that alot of familer names have qualifed, but anyway i was wondering if we will know who he is or will he be annonamus untill he wins / gets knocked out?

If it is known it'll be unfair to him as the €100 bounty would alter the odds a lot, but on the other hand he's raises will get a lot more respect. But on the other other hand he would get annonayed by a lot of chat for him.

If it's not known who he is then lots of people will be claiming to be him.

Anyone play this sort of thing before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

He said his name will be andyblack so you shouldn't have any problems there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Is this tonight on PPP? What time and what's the entry. Can I have seperate VC and PP accounts on the same PC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

pokertroll wrote:
    He said his name will be andyblack so you shouldn't have any problems there.

Cool, thanks.

Is this tonight on PPP? What time and what's the entry.

Ya PPP @ 8. €10+1 buy in. €500 euro added and €100 bounty plus a signed photo on Andy.

Can I have seperate VC and PP accounts on the same PC?

I've no idea but i don't see why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

I have seperate VC and PPP accounts though you'll have to ping the manager when you're at the final stages of the PPP set to get it unlocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

NickyOD wrote:
    Can I have seperate VC and PP accounts on the same PC?

Well it was a while back, but when I tried it it didn't work. And when I got onto the support they told me that I couldn't have a VC and PPP account at the same time (at all - not just same pc).

Since then I was informed (by a user here) that that is not the case, but I still haven't joined up to VC.

I am rethinking this now, as I would like to play in more MTTs and on Empire etc... they just start too late (some guys got to get up at 7.00).

Are the tourneys on VC the same as PPP. I know the software is the same, but is the structures etc the same. (ie 2000 starting chips and 20/40 blinds - with 8min rounds). And are the torneys mostly rebuys and speed there as well????
    Ya PPP @ 8. €10+1 buy in. €500 euro added and €100 bounty plus a signed photo on Andy

might end my PPP boycott and enter in that tourney tonight alright......

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I might go back to PPP briefly too and give this a go for the laugh. VC is exactly the same apart from the PPP exclusives etc. Same old rebuytastic reg. feee on rebuys robbing bs'tads no matter which skin. I read somewhere that Victor wants to revolutionise poker. Yeah as long as there is a reg. fee on the revolution eh.
    Anyway why is Andy being posed like some kind of model? Dearie me.

Ugh! €10 buy in? So will this just be another 8/12 minute level crapshoot with horrible blind strcture where its 2 card push or fold poker by level 5 just like on VC? Could they not have a nice €100 deep stacked tourney with long levels and a more serious prizepool? Do I really want a signed photo of Andy that much? :)

EDIT: Oh christ and its a rebuy aswell!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

NickyOD wrote:
    Could they not have a nice €100 deep stacked tourney with long levels and a more serious prizepool?
    QUOTE]

i think its good its $10 buy in as i think they are trying to appeal to the masses to come play against andy black. if it was a $100 you wouldnt get that. i think its nice that the average jo blogs will be able to say that they were playing on the same table or tournament as andy black.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

NickyOD wrote:
    Ugh! €10 buy in? So will this just be another 8/12 minute level crapshoot with horrible blind strcture where its 2 card push or fold poker by level 5 just like on VC? Could they not have a nice €100 deep stacked tourney with long levels and a more serious prizepool? Do I really want a signed photo of Andy that much? :)

EDIT: Oh christ and its a rebuy aswell!! :eek:
    $500 added tournemant with a $100 bounty on Andy. Winner (from last thursday also gets to play him head to head on PPP tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I take the point about letting the average joe play but yet another rebuy with 8 minute levels! Surely a 20 or 30 freezeout with 15min levels would do the same thing and make for proper poker!

Imposter wrote:
    I take the point about letting the average joe play but yet another rebuy with 8 minute levels! Surely a 20 or 30 freezeout with 15min levels would do the same thing and make for proper poker!

Is it really 8 minute levels. Andy black or not I'm not sure I'll bother. I'll play with him in the Fitz sometime. Now a $100 or more freezeout with 15 minute levels. That's more like it.

VC/PPP don't have enough of large buy in deeped stacked tournaments, and a ridiculous amount of these stupid low buy in turbo rebuy crapshoots. I'd rather play bingo, or better still play on PS where even the freerolls have 15 minute levels.

BTW. Off topic: A tip for your FPPs on PS. Play a 40/50/90FPP WCOOP sat for 500FPPs and win a seat (and you will) then play the 500FFP sat and win W$215. Unregister and sell the $W. Free money. :D

Imposter wrote:
    Hiya Imp. I woul agree with you on personal preference. But 1. Rebuys with rounds longer than eight minutes run much too long for most customers (they dont like it). 2. The majority speaks in a situation like this which is why we chose this format. The majority of rebuy tournies are speed. This is not. Believe it or not $20 / $30 buyin is simply unnatractive to many players. We posted this format as it is the most popular whilst not posting it a too low a level to be inundated.
    $100 freezouts have cancelled in the past.. and make the tournament completely inaccessible for a lot of people.

Hiya Imp. I woul agree with you on personal preference. But 1. Rebuys with rounds longer than eight minutes run much too long for most customers (they dont like it). 2. The majority speaks in a situation like this which is why we chose this format. The majority of rebuy tournies are speed. This is not. Believe it or not $20 / $30 buyin is simply unnatractive to many players. We posted this format as it is the most popular whilst not posting it a too low a level to be inundated.
    $100 freezouts have cancelled in the past.. and make the tournament completely inaccessible for a lot of people.
    That's fine, it's obviously the direction the tribeca network want to go in but when you say majority how do you know there wouldn't be more players if you went in the other direction? I realise you'd probably be competing with Ladbrokes, PS and pretty much all the other sites for players though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 pokerpaddy

i heard andy on the radio saying that he wasn't going to bluff in tonights game - yeah right!

PP your shameless pimping will not win favours here! :D

AND he means.. 7pmGMT which is 8pm British Summer Time

Imposter wrote:
    That's fine, it's obviously the direction the tribeca network want to go in but when you say majority how do you know there wouldn't be more players if you went in the other direction? I realise you'd probably be competing with Ladbrokes, PS and pretty much all the other sites for players though.
    Well I take my analysis from past tournaments and feedback. Periodically I introduce new tournaments (remember my big freezeout efforts?) these went in vain they were simply not popular enough and not profitable. I let them continue to run despite this but eventually was forced to pull them. Its not really down to the TT network. This tournament is PPP only and the framework of it constructed in-house. I am ALWAYS willing to post a tourney at a time and a price point that you desire.. but if it proves to be unsuccessful I will have to pull it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

a tenner rebuy with a few extra quid in the pot is the right amount to get new players in.

and the one dollar tournies were a great intro.

i have a feeling i'm gonna win outright, number one, oh yeah, tonight. maybe.

a tenner rebuy with a few extra quid in the pot is the right amount to get new players in.

and the one dollar tournies were a great intro.

i have a feeling i'm gonna win outright, number one, oh yeah, tonight. maybe.

I spotted you on the list. Just officially got set up on PPP and deposited a monster €100. I'm all over it baby!!

n1, gl, here we go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

If your getting first, Im on 2nd........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Is this going to be a weekly event? This ^^^^ ad seems to imply that?

don't know, must be. Watch out for me tonight, i'm on fire today!! Just hit 2 pokers in a row there on the same table!!

there's only 60 registered so far. Hopefully it'll fill up

Thats more than enough. I'm looking forward to this one. This one's for the glory of Rome!
    just won my stt for the 7.5k tonight so I've got the bit between my teeth alright.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

roryc wrote:
    Just hit 2 pokers in a row there on the same table!!

Told you this Internet poker thing everybody is going on about is fixed... :rolleyes: :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

seems to be mostly boards players registered...bragging rights are up for grabs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭colin300

It kicks off with 117 prizes to 18th place so good look all.

oscar started off on andys table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

Hows things going guys??? my comp is buggered so out of action for 3 weeks. hows the game going

add on period:

Andy Black is in 1st :)
    Ionapaul in 2nd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Mmmm some how I missed the add on and pushed when 6 limpers with nothing (thinking it was still the rebuy period) and got called. Nice early bath.

Im gone! Totally card dead the whole tournament, then Paddy Power pulled the usual. Gave me KJ and put K J 10 on the flop. I call an all in and run into Q 10. Turn 10 river 10.

Cheers again PPP

Good luck to all left in the tourney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I'm now chip leader :) Wonder how I'll feck this up...no online MTT luck recently

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

ionapaul wrote:
    I'm now chip leader :) Wonder how I'll feck this up...no online MTT luck recently

Well you were playing well yeaterday in the Fitz.....goodluck.

at the break I'm 5th, ionapaul is 6th Andy black is 9th...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

Iago wrote:
    at the break I'm 5th, ionapaul is 6th Andy black is 9th...

Just had the aces cracked by JJ, delay on river, knew it was coming! 12k pot lost and I am down to 3k

Wow this is brutal. Been playing the shorty the whole tourney. Got no action with Aces twice and Kings twice. WTF? I thought everyone went nuts in a rebuy. Bunch of tight ass mofos. Of course when I raise with K9o I get 3 callers. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Nicky just knocked me out - go on and win the thing!

ionapaul wrote:
    Nicky just knocked me out - go on and win the thing!

I aint gona win **** with 8BBs!!!

Doc and Kinaldo still in also

Andy black gone. Knocked out by Scotty

NickyOD wrote:
    I aint gona win **** with 8BBs!!!

Doc and Kinaldo still in also

andy black out in 30th when Ac4c beaten by JKo hitting a K on turn...

I'm down to 8 bbs and struggling :(

nickys starting to motor, up to 8th...

Wow some fool just pushed with Aces and walked into my KJo and the aces held up unreal. PPP is rigged. :)

up to 21K now but everyone is short. Oscar on my table.

**** **** **** ****ing tribecca sites....

Ddin't mean to raise so much and ended up with more than half my chips in preflop with 99. Had to call te reraise and walked into Hooks. out in 21st. BASTARD!!

AQ just got outdrawn by A3 and I'm back in trouble again!!

I'd of had close to 40K if it had held up instead I'm down to 14K with the blinds at 1600/3200 not much left now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

i think i need to work on my bubble play

lol, i was out in 24th.
    Kinaldo was out in 20th.
    ouch.
    blinds went too fast for me.
    but good fun all the same.
    logging off, d.

dont forget nicky in 21st and oscar in 22nd.

Boards owned that bubble lads

roryc wrote:
    dont forget nicky in 21st and oscar in 22nd.

Boards owned that bubble lads

I own the bubble in every single tourney I pllay. I am the bubble master and don't you forget it.

14th. Ran into AA with my 88.
    Who are you Iago?

just doubled up with AJ outdrawing Ak down to the last 9

kingofish

meh...raised with KQo and ran into a SB holding AA DOH!! down to 24k.

with 18K left on the SB and the blinds at 3k/6k I pick up 44 one limper and I push. He calls with KQs and hits a straight on the turn.

out in 8th for a grand profit of $41 woot!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭sugardaddy

what is vc and ppp?i dont have a credit card so is their an other way for me to participate?who is andy black?surely anybody is beatable so like why the huge amount of publicity