Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Cross Training Reports

• 14-08-2005 4:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭

Get those cross training reports here:

Writing mine now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

my icepop sucked :mad: it ruined the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

Great day was had.

Attendees
    TKD People:
    loz
    Roper aka Barry

Judu/BJJ:
    Kev
    Kevin_rc_ie (Banned ;) )

BJJ/MMA:
    TwoKingMick
    StrateBlastJim
    Tracey
    Dee
    Rob
    Columok
    Vasch Ro
    UCDKevin

Capoeira:
    Cabelo

Escrima:
    Bambi
    John

Wado Ryu Karate:
    Philip (aka Cade?)

think thats everyone!

We started off with a good warm up. Did a spot of boxing (good craic). Roper schooled me with his fancy hands.
    Then we did some thai (minus the knees). After getting kicked for a while Mick decided it was time to do some clinch (+strikes) and we eventually did bitsa ground.
    Cabelo showed some cool capoeira skillz ;) and Bambi and John did some stick fighting that i think everyone had great craic with.

Then we finished up and got an icecream :D

Thanks to everyone who turned up, had a laugh and the balls to step up onto the matt with a bunch of strangers. Philip and Cabelo in particular showed up on their respective lonesomes which took a lot of guts so well done lads.

To those who claimed that they'd turn up and didnt bother well make as many outlandish claims as you like. Your time for credibility has passed.

To those who didnt even pay any attention to our efforts of enhancing our boards community well you missed out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭Kev

P1010082.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

Oh my god, samara is after us all.

Mick "invites photoshoppage unto himself" Leonard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Silverfox

All those in favour of Mick keeping his top on at ALL future Boards events? ;)

Well the martial arts meet-ups certainly object.

Whether the queer beers mind or not is a whole other question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭cade

damn that was cool,
    fair dues to roper for giving us the top class facilities and equipment.

i'm definately attending the next gathering, it was great getting to try my hand at a few different arts.

a personal thanks to kevin_rc_ie for showing me the judo rolls, twokingsmick for the clinch work and Columok and kev for the Bjj, you may just have me hooked.
    have to say it was nice to put a face to all the names.

You're welcome dude.

Thanks for having the winning combination of guts and an open mind to show up. It must have been a bit intimidating especially when a few of us knew each other.

Glad to help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Cabelo

Great day lads, I look forward to the next time we all get to practice again.

I'd like to thank Roper for the use of his hall, Columok for his BJJ skills and mick for introducing me to Mario Lopez.Also, Thanks to Kev for a lift that was well out of his way and good conversation.

Thanks guys. It was a pleasure just to practice with people open to new ideas and having a bit of a laugh. I can't wait for further opportunities to train as a group and I ask sincerely if anyone else can possibly get a place to train every now and again (though maybe a little closer to town next time, I got very lost today ;) ).

I'll train with you guys again as soon as I can.

good craic all round, big thanks to the roper lad for putting it on, fair play. and to cabelo for showing up by his lonesome to give people a taste of that crazy spinny stuff

Massive boo's to loz for showing up with one hand as long as the other...where were them fairy cakes dude?? :mad:

Apologies to mick for visciously face-butting his knee :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

columok wrote:
    Great day was had.

Attendees
    TKD People:
    loz
    Roper aka Barry

Judu/BJJ:
    Kev
    Kevin_rc_ie (Banned ;) )

BJJ/MMA:
    TwoKingMick
    StrateBlastJim
    Tracey
    Dee
    Rob
    Columok
    Vasch Ro
    UCDKevin

Capoeira:
    Cabelo

Escrima:
    Bambi
    John

Wado Ryu Karate:
    Philip (aka Cade?)

I would like to be in the Wado Ryu Group too !! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

Thanks to Roper, the hall was just perfect for the amount we had down.
    A number of surprise's, Bambi is a guy !!!! and whats more he's lethal with a stick even if its foam padded, cheers to Bambi and his mate John for the introduction into stick fighting I really enjoyed it.
    The stick sparring 101 was a real eye opener for me and I can definately say that an interest has been sparked there.

Cabelo's Capoeira:looked really cool and I would have liked to have seen a bit more of it, I think I need to learn how to cartwheel first though :)

Colum O keefe did some classic BJJ self defence and some Royce Garcie impressions and finally admitted that this thread
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=285004 was a complete troll :D .I would have liked to have seen Colums infamous Rugby Clinch in action but time beat us.

Some good "basic's" from Roper , the side kick has been seen in a new light and a review of a good "round house style" kick and a nice little bit of pad work.

Mick did a little clinch work and people rolled , cartwheeled and sparred.
    All in all a good afternoon , cheers to one and all, I think everyone walked away with something.

In real life its actually quite strange introducing yourself with your boards user ID, it was like we were all super hero's with secret identities :)

John,

The use of pulling guard is an underrated concept. Especially on the street.

The rugby clinch is the strongest martial arts clinch.

Colum

Also: I am a superhero so the dual name thing is ok with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

How's life?

First off, and most importantly, me taking my shirt off is the most important aspect of any training session. Who is this silverfox person who mocks me so? John.
    In anyways, i had a great laugh at the auld cross training.The scout hall was a perfect venue for the days action. Everyone who showed up was there for a bit of craic and a wee chat, no ego's or anything, so that was cool. Probably better that certain people didn't show up in that regards. Speaking of which, where were all the kempoists. Probaby the second biggest racial group on boards and not one showed? Disappointing. But at least now we're certain dub1dude is a liar and a troll.
    As for the training itself, i felt a little vunerable kickboxing with so many lefties and no groin guard, but as usual i relished the oppertuinity to introduce some new people to my knees. I like knees. Fair play to everyone for taking part in that :)
    The stick stuff was really good. The guys had a real no nonsense approach to stick fighting, which i really liked. You could almost call it Aliveness (with a capitol A of course), but i won't.
    I was disappointed i didn't get to try more capoeira, but we ran short of time. I was like a kid in a candy store. But by god did Kevin pick it up fast!
    Big thanks again to Barry for hosting us, and bring back some foggy memories of side kicks.Hope we can do it all again soon enough, with more fresh faces.
    And everyone who was new to bjj on the day, don't let the fact that columok has heard of bjj confuse you into thinking he has skillz.

One last note for everyone who was embarassed to introduce themselves by their internet name, thats why you should always include a bit of your real name in your "cool" interweb persona.

And everyone who was new to bjj on the day, don't let the fact that columok has heard of bjj confuse you into thinking he has skillz.

I have skillz man. Me and mumu we've been training for the last 15 years.
    The stick stuff was really good. The guys had a real no nonsense approach to stick fighting, which i really liked. You could almost call it Aliveness (with a capitol A of course), but i won't.
    Aliveness is a copy right of Straight Blast Gym. Consider yourselves served.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭loz

Bambi wrote:

Massive boo's to loz for showing up with one hand as long as the other..

Promise muffins next time ! - i promise !

Excellent day had, thanks to all, loved Bambi and Johns sticks - much more technical than it looks, and Kev_banned's judo throws.

With probably 20 front chokes from Mick in less than a minute - i'd say clinch needs working on !

Just want to say total respect to the bjj/mma guys\gals - you make things look so easy - and thanks for the tips and the chance to roll

I wasnt even going to attempt any of Cabelos stuff !! - skill !

Respect

Loz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭soma

I'm just hoping that when the DVD comes out, there's an option to put a shirt on mick :D

Rght now that im in work i've time to write up a report :D

first things: the venue was perfect, nice high ceiling, loadsa mat space and a half hour from my neck of the woods..top marks to Rper there. We'd actually met before up in andy ryans place without realising it

first of de boxing...dont really have much of a clue about this but i threw shapes and most of the lads didnt batter me, looked like a few people had sweet skillz

de kicking boxing..didnt go in for this, the good lord intended me to walk on my legs not kick so i just watched, looked like roper and loz were having a blast thought. Roper must have spotted that most of us werent into de kicking, so we got a remedial 101 in kicks, much needed for me :D

Next off de clinch..what an eye opener that was, highlight of the fecking weekend. I used to joke in trad jj sparring that grabbing people made them forget how to hit. It doesnt anymore :( . Yis can argue about mma and groundfighting not being "street" but theres no arguing with that clinch stuff, its like a fist and knee ambush on your head

didnt get to do any capoeira, it looks sweet though...hopefully next time

da stick, I was convinced beforehand someone would get dinged up without face protection but it looked like everyone was excercising restraint...cept me lol. All the lads picked it up damn quick to and were holding their own at the end.

Lowlights, lack of cakes. Colum shamelessly dissing de gracies... i remember the old days when royce was regarded as having almost supernatural abilities, kids these days aint got no respect :(

You could almost call it Aliveness (with a capitol A of course), but i won't

lol good call, stick sparring is the sexy-fun part of fma but theres plenty of other stuff that disciples of Saint Matthew of Thornton would frown upon, the sparring is a game sorta but it keeps people honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Sounds like a good day, unlucky for you all I wasn't there - Mick looks like he dropped to 60KG! I could of taken him!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭scuttery1

Story all,
    Just adding my 2 cents a la yesterday's "meet & beat", great craic!
    Props to Barry aka Roper for providing the facilities & to all the ppls who turned up and strutted their stuff.
    Gotta say as a MMA virgin it was an eye opener! I haven't been manhandled like that since I was nabbed robbing gooseberries in H. Williams in the 70's :D I now have an interest in a different kinda roll, one without figs in the middle of them!
    My missionary zeal to bring the joy of timber swinging to all and sundry moves on!!!!
    Scariest thing on the day was the pair of hot pink bag mitts that materialised!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Hey there kids.

Had a great session yesterday, so here's a short 'report'.

After sitting around for a while with me nursing a flu, I decided to get things rolling with a warm up game I do with the kids who train with me, just to see who'd be willing to embarrass themselves. Surprise surprise, everyone was, so I knew we'd have a good day. Anyhoo, started the ball rolling with some boxing. Had fun moving around with Columok, Vasch and Mick. Colum made some sh1tty excuse about only boxing for two weeks or something. I didn't really listen.......... and started throwing bombs............ :D

After that we we kick boxed a bit. I hope nobody minded me showing a few basics. For some reason or another, when I think of MA's, I always think of kicking and that everybody does it. I plain forgot the diverse group we had there, so I hope the people who didn't get to kickbox spar didn't mind! To be blatantly honest, I thought I was going to get a few jibes from the MMA types, but everyone gave it a good go and why not eh?

Mick took us through the clinch a bit and owned me of course. I didn't get slammed though, he kept that for Kevin. It was another reminder of how devastating a range it can be for the ignorant. If you're not at least doing some rudimentary work in this range you're neglecting a huge part of training for an encounter on the STREET or wherever you see yourself. Even with my improving clinch skills, I still got owned and taken down at will. Great stuff, and stamina sapping, especially when you can't breathe through your nose.

I loved the Capoeira, but was never going to try it as I dance like a giraffe on ice. It's damn funky though, and fair play to Cabelo for coming down by himself.

Had a fun roll with Columok, I owned him but he'll never admit it on here. He almost tapped when I pulled half guard on him........then wiped my nose on his rashguard. My tapping hand got a good workout with Dee later who took me to the school for non-attribute based training!

Then I had my first taste of stick fighting. I have to say that I am extremely sceptical when it comes to weapons sparring. Let's just say I've encountered some warped individuals in this regard. And yesterday was no different, everyone turned slightly warped when they got the stick in hand!! In a good way this time though!! Bambi aka Oisin and John took us though the basics and then just let us have a whack at each other. I had great fun with it, in fact I think everyone who had a go did. LOL at Micks aliveness comment! It certainly felt alive when I was getting whacked!!! :D

Well everyone seemed to enjoy it. I was particularly impressed as everyone was with Cabelo and Cade's nerve for coming down not knowing anyone. Fair play lads and I hope you learned something new.

Oh and my most embarrassing moment of the day, having introduced myself and done the "my real name bit" with 20 people:
    Me: "Hey man whats the name?"
    Cabelo: "It's Cabelo".
    Me: "Oh yeah, but what's the real name then?"
    Cabelo: "Uh, actually that's it. It's Portuguese".
    Me: "....... "

Sorry Cabelo!!!!!!

I say another one in about three months sounds reasonable.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

scuttery1 wrote:
    Scariest thing on the day was the pair of hot pink bag mitts that materialised!

Eh I should probably explain that they are the "Punishment Mitts", given to the laziest trainer on any given night. :)

They do however, look good with a pair of lycra fight shorts and a string vest...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭Kev

brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭cade

ya see that, i could be the next Derek Zoolander, Blue Steel baby yea..

no seriously, you can tell i'm an evil git, it's all in the eyes,
    as Colonel Kurtz said "The Horror", ya see i lure you within reach with all smiles and giggles, then... i'll stare you to death, been practicing on me pet budgie, learned it from The Men Who Stare At Goats, useful stuff

Objections !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭dub1dude

Fair enough... I was trolling a little.

But I had great fun with you guys with the discussions and all that. I did mean every word I say.

Although I didn't turn up on the day, I wanted to so badly but I was encouraged not too after discussing it with some of my friends.

Sorry guys, but I suspect you all knew I wasn't going to go.

Once again sorry for upsetting your forum and discussion... it won't happen again. I have no interested in trolling and copying and pasting anymore.

It was fun for a while but at the end of the day it would of been embarrassing for me to turn up to your meet after so many outlandish claims and stuff.

Had fun discussing with you guys and you made me think alot about my general direction in Martial Arts.

I just hope I have done the same for you guys.

I'll keep an eye out for any further of your meets and I will go. That was the beauty of reamaining annoymous.

Cheers guys, hope to see you soon.

Untill the next time.

Well, nothing I can say to reply to that...

But I thought I should just so other people feel they can reply to. That's now nice a guy I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭flowerpotfrog

hmm i've been following these threads for a couple of days, the reason i didn't go myself is that i didn't feel i was justfiable member of the community.

with regards to dub1dub, in the other message boards i use, trolling is highly frowned upon, i don't know what the situation is on boards.ie
    You say:
    I did mean every word I say.
    but you admit you made:
    outlandish claims

i don't know exactly what you mean. luckily you didn't waste too much of my time.

That was all I'd wanted to say, but I didn't know if I'd be slapped for it ;) He wasted plenty of time though... and his "apology" is confusing at best. Trolling is just nasty.

Dub1:

You sir, deserve no kempo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭flowerpotfrog

ban him from kenpo class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭dub1dude

I'm still new to this boards stuff so I don't know exactly what's meant by trolling.

All I'm saying is I'm sorry for being a ass at times, but I was making a point and people in turn made their points. So at the end of the day I benefitted from everybody's input to the conversation and I enjoyed the conversations and the swapping of ideas. I just hope some people benefitted from my input.

My appology is basically to say I'm sorry for not turning up to the boards meet and I am sorry if I was "trolling".

I wanted to go so badly but wasn't sure if I was welcome. Everyone seemed to turn anything I thought I was saying as a positive into a negative (like I was being textually assaulted) so I didn't really feel comfortable with the whole idea of going there.

You seem like genuinely nice people and some of the things I did say were unfair.

Every story I told you guys really happened. As for the outlandish claims they were basically the bits I added to the stories to spice them up and one or two of my conquests that never happened but I wish they did.

Sorry to everyone and I hope you enjoyed your boards meet, hopefully I can go to the next one and enjoy the fun you all had.

Yours in the arts,
    Dub1dude

Yawn....................