Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Maughan gone

• 09-08-2005 3:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭

John Maughan has resigned as Mayo manager

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2005/0809/mayo.html

No surprise there, now lets see if O'Manoney and the county board can resolve their 16 year old differences.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I feel sorry for him after last Sunday as I think he got it right, maybe he was lucky last sunday, too many times he did not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I asked this question before and never got an answer. I do not understand why Maughan is so unpopular in Mayo. He brought them as close to winning an All Ireland as anyone has in 50 years last year, and although they were poor in the final, all season they had played lovely football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

To be honest Maughan was Mayo's most successful manager, so I'm not sure I understand the animosity shown towards him either. I do know that he had many fallings out with a number of players, but in many cases the players themselves could be blamed for that.
    Remains to be seen who will take over at the helm, and if they can do as well.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Maughan as a coach is excellent, as a tactician it is felt in Mayo he has failed too many times, eg, 97, Holmes left on Maurice Fitz all game, he should been switched, 04, Heaney getting roasted by pace and high balls, should have been switched, possibly with Pat Kelly, the issues people have with him is that he misses the obvious tatical switches, that 'lay' people can spot.

He is also a very arrogant man, he prances around Westport and Castlebar as if all women should suck his lad and all men afraid off him, and he loves to let people know who he is.

His total lack of man management has also annoyed people down here, Brady, best midfielder in Mayo and possibly in Ireland, too much messing with him, Austin O'Malley, Fintan Ruddy, Alan Roche, Enda Devanney, MArty McNicolas, the list goes on, and a lot of high quality players there.

I personally think he put his heart into it, as an individual I don't like him and have come across his arrogance and ignorance, but wish him well, he will be back in Management soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭por

Blackjack wrote:
    To be honest Maughan was Mayo's most successful manager, so I'm not sure I understand the animosity shown towards him either. I do know that he had many fallings out with a number of players, but in many cases the players themselves could be blamed for that.
    Remains to be seen who will take over at the helm, and if they can do as well.

True he has been successful in 'getting to Croke Park' however I think his legacy will be his inability to close the deal in 1996 and to allow a relatively average Kerry team win the All Ireland easily in 1997. I still wonder to this day why Dermot Flannagan was allowed on that pitch in the state he was in, he lasted 10 mins max , and then he brings on Horan and re-gigs the whole line up.

People need to see a change, and of course John O' Mahoney will be the one most would like to see, but expect the same animosity to be shown towards him if he fails on successive occasions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

It seems to be a case of him being a good trainer but a bad manager. The county board and structures seem to be part of the problem too. If that can be sorted, cue John O'Mahoney. He won't come in unless there are changes in how things are done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭lukin

yop wrote:
    He is also a very arrogant man, he prances around Westport and Castlebar as if all women should suck his lad and all men afraid off him, and he loves to let people know who he is.
    Well if that's the case he's got very little to be arrogant about, he's never won an All-Ireland for a start. If he had he might be entitled to be arrogant.
    I wouldn't be surprised if he is, he certainly comes across that way in interviews.
    He was certainly far too confident going into last year's All-Ireland Final. That win over Tyrone went to his head I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I think he actually won an All Ireland B title with Clare. But that aside, he lost last year to a very good Kerry team, who i think will retain their title this year. I do not think there aer many managers who would have got Mayo as far as they went with the same players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

That is part of the problem Waylander. Some say he was picking the wrong players and there are a few that should be there, but aren't. With them and better tactics, he could have got them further. O'Mahoney may be able to finish the job. I'd like to see Mayo win the All-Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 cougar

Lets look at this objectivly. John Maughan had his chance and this year and last, lost to a very skillfull Kerry team. However it is not just Maughon's fault, after the way Mayo performed against Cavan recently, I dont think anybody expected them to do anything.
    Maughon probably realised this and has stepped aside before he is pushed. Maybee someone like John O'Mahoney can push the team forward however without a few new forwards I still don't expect them to do much for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Waylander wrote:
    I asked this question before and never got an answer. I do not understand why Maughan is so unpopular in Mayo. He brought them as close to winning an All Ireland as anyone has in 50 years last year, and although they were poor in the final, all season they had played lovely football.

I answered this on the other thread, before the weekend.

Hi Waylander.

2 main things really.

Maughan is a great man for getting a team fit, old sargeant major stuff (ex army man) however he has been found out on numerous occassions with a lack of tactical awareness.
    Major Fault.

However, the real reason for extreme discontent in Mayo at the moment ( and it has stayed within Mayo to a large degree) is the basic fact that he has fallen out with our best players, and also has failed to pick the best 15 players in the county.

David Brady is the obvious example, a difficult player to handle, but by far and away the best midfielder (and leader) Mayo has to offer....also present All Ireland Club winning captain.
    He felt out with him the eve of the Mayo/Tyrone game last year and never spoke since (Brady wanted to be captain when existing captain got injured).

He fell out with Kieran McDonald for a year. Damien Munnelly and Michael Conroy, probably the 2 best under 23 footballers in Mayo (very good).
    Then there is the Austin O'Malley episode. Every single Mayo supporter will tell you he is the best thing since sliced bread, kept Mayo in Division 1 of the league last year ON HIS OWN .... championship came around last year, and he brought him on for 3 minutes against Roscommon (and he scored a goal), and then tried to bring him om against Kerry with 5 minutes to go in the All Ireland Final and O'Malley told him to (rightly) F Off, after leaving him sitting on the bench all year.

He finally finally finally got a run out against Cavan last week.

Maughan and Liam McHale don't get on.
    Ballina All Ireland Club champions ... feck all representation, best full forward in Mayo (David Brady's brother) has not been given a chance, I'd say he'd be one of the top 3 full forwards in the country at the moment.

Seriously, there are probably 8 fellahs not playing for Mayo that should be, because of Maughan related friction, and this is undermining the confidence of present players such as the Mortimers, McDonald and Nallen. They know well the story. Mayo are waiting a long time for an All Ireland, they have the players to do it, but we're being let down by poor man management and selection. if we can't put out the best 15 players in the county, we've no hope against those hungry hungry men from the north and elsewhere.
    No team spirit.

and then, just to have the cherry on top ....we have John O'Mahony a true Mayo man (he taught me (badly)in School and I know him well) ...who is tantalising close by without a job.

100%, I kid you not, of Mayo supporters are hoping and praying that Johnno will pick up this team and give it a right good lash.

Problem is, Johnno got shafted by County board when he was in charge before, so he'll only take job on his terms now, which will upset the cosy status quo in Mayo county board.

I've probably missed out a fair bit, but that might give you a fair idea of whats going on.

Mayo has probably (and I know alot of counties would say the same) but genuinely, the best support of a football team in the country .... they have had enough this year...Maughan has sickened them, took the fight out of them, the same way you'd be sickened by someone hitting a gutshot in poker

BTW, I'm following Mayo since 1983 when I was a 12 year old, so I know the craic.

Well....you did ask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Originally posted by cougar
    Maughon probably realised this and has stepped aside before he is pushed. Maybee someone like John O'Mahoney can push the team forward however without a few new forwards I still don't expect them to do much for a few years.

Well Austin O'Malley definitely looks the part. So, with him and Ciaran McDonald, Mayo have got two first-class forwards. And that's without mentioning the Mortimers, who would walk into a lot of teams.

Apparently Mayo have a good few forwards that Maughan wasn't willing to pick as well. I've heard that Ballina's full forward, from their All-Ireland winning team, is very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Culchie wrote:
    I answered this on the other thread, before the weekend.

Hi Waylander.

2 main things really.

Maughan is a great man for getting a team fit, old sargeant major stuff (ex army man) however he has been found out on numerous occassions with a lack of tactical awareness.
    Major Fault.

However, the real reason for extreme discontent in Mayo at the moment ( and it has stayed within Mayo to a large degree) is the basic fact that he has fallen out with our best players, and also has failed to pick the best 15 players in the county.

David Brady is the obvious example, a difficult player to handle, but by far and away the best midfielder (and leader) Mayo has to offer....also present All Ireland Club winning captain.
    He felt out with him the eve of the Mayo/Tyrone game last year and never spoke since (Brady wanted to be captain when existing captain got injured).

He fell out with Kieran McDonald for a year. Damien Munnelly and Michael Conroy, probably the 2 best under 23 footballers in Mayo (very good).
    Then there is the Austin O'Malley episode. Every single Mayo supporter will tell you he is the best thing since sliced bread, kept Mayo in Division 1 of the league last year ON HIS OWN .... championship came around last year, and he brought him on for 3 minutes against Roscommon (and he scored a goal), and then tried to bring him om against Kerry with 5 minutes to go in the All Ireland Final and O'Malley told him to (rightly) F Off, after leaving him sitting on the bench all year.

He finally finally finally got a run out against Cavan last week.

Maughan and Liam McHale don't get on.
    Ballina All Ireland Club champions ... feck all representation, best full forward in Mayo (David Brady's brother) has not been given a chance, I'd say he'd be one of the top 3 full forwards in the country at the moment.

Seriously, there are probably 8 fellahs not playing for Mayo that should be, because of Maughan related friction, and this is undermining the confidence of present players such as the Mortimers, McDonald and Nallen. They know well the story. Mayo are waiting a long time for an All Ireland, they have the players to do it, but we're being let down by poor man management and selection. if we can't put out the best 15 players in the county, we've no hope against those hungry hungry men from the north and elsewhere.
    No team spirit.

and then, just to have the cherry on top ....we have John O'Mahony a true Mayo man (he taught me (badly)in School and I know him well) ...who is tantalising close by without a job.

100%, I kid you not, of Mayo supporters are hoping and praying that Johnno will pick up this team and give it a right good lash.

Problem is, Johnno got shafted by County board when he was in charge before, so he'll only take job on his terms now, which will upset the cosy status quo in Mayo county board.

I've probably missed out a fair bit, but that might give you a fair idea of whats going on.

Mayo has probably (and I know alot of counties would say the same) but genuinely, the best support of a football team in the country .... they have had enough this year...Maughan has sickened them, took the fight out of them, the same way you'd be sickened by someone hitting a gutshot in poker

BTW, I'm following Mayo since 1983 when I was a 12 year old, so I know the craic.

Well....you did ask

Hi im new to this forum. I usually post in the Poker section (I know strange). I have to say that I agree with your article above. I am a Dub myself but work for Mayo People, alot of them and have to say I felt for them last year, but that Kerry team are awesome and I can't see anyone being close to them if they play to their best. I always felt that Maughan was a little bit like tommy Carr, loved to hear themselves talk and did alot, alot of chat in papers instead of letting the respective teams do the talking. I hope for Mayos sake that John O'Mahony takes over the panel. I wish you luck in the future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Sean og

Maughan is gone and that is great news for mayo, we are the only county in ireland that would have the all ireland club champions and then only have 2 of them on the county panel, the sub goalkeeper and the midfielder. There are other players on the ballina team that would walk onto any team in the country and yet they are not picked for mayo, or else they wont play for him because of the way he treated david brady one of the best midfielders in the country and it was because of brady that mc garrity looked like a good player in 2004, this year without brady at his side mc garrity looks like the average player that he is and his weaknesses have been proved. the mistake that mayo made was reappointing john maughan the county board should have gone for peter ford at the time but the county board didnt want him. and that is another problem the county board has been there too long they should all leave along with maughan and then we can rebuild this team and challenge for an all ireland again in two years, because this team is mainly a young team and there are a lot of young players coming through from our underage teams, the likes of barry moran who is only 19 and had a great first half against kerry the last day.

Now that maughan is gone john o mahoney is the man to do the job and we can hopefully bring sam back to mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

It would be friggin sweet if omahoney or maughan came to kildare.

Also rumoour around the campfire is that O'Mahoney is taking a break from management. Not sure how true that is though

Johnno will be back in Management in time for the league next year, I guarantee it.

If not for Mayo (fingers crossed), then Roscommon.
    I can't see him taking the Kildare job, when he wasn't interested in the Dublin job.

I hold nothing against Maughan, he gave it his best shot.
    His weakness is his man management and tactical nouse.

His dedication and committment is not under question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Sean og

Well The Rumouur down this part of the country is that o mahoney will take the mayo job and that maughan will take the roscommon job. and i think o mahoney was just taking a break to wait for the mayo job. but he definitely wont take the kildare job. Mc Manus wants o mahoney to take the limerick job and has offered him a free ride to training in his helicopter. but i dont think he'll take that job cause limerick wont be challenging for an all ireland. Paudi o shea has said that he would take the mayo job but the county board said that they want a mayo born manager so it will be an interesting few months to see what happens

O'Mahony will take the Mayo job, no doubt about it, if the County Board allow him his free role and selection process (which has always been the problem in Mayo since I was a kid).

If the County Board can't sort things out internally so that O'Mahony gets the job, then the supporters will be disgusted.

Disgusted Supporters = No Fund Raising Successes + No Gate Receipts + No Shirt Sales + No Sponsorship = No Money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 magi

I Think Culchies analysis of why Maughan was not a good Mayo manager is spot on. Course, those failings will dog him if he becomes manager of any other county team. I have always thought too that he is not a great "reader" of a game. This may not be the case but any post match interviews I have seen with him over the years are heavy on the "Please Gods" and "Thank Gods" and decidely light on why Mayo won or lost games.