Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I hate that 'now-it-all' twat in the Dell ads.

• 04-08-2005 1:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭

Am I alone, or is this geeky little know-it-all really that annoying? (or maybe I just need help, some sort of anger-management course perhaps?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Which advert?

They have many adverts with annoying gits in them.

Are you talking about the one with the poor foriegn looking guy travels all the way into a computer shop in down and is looking for the Dell computers in the shop window?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

What's a "now-it-all"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Do you mean the bo][ix that come's up to the guy that wants a Dell in front of the store and tells him that they are not available in the store. He's soooo f*ckin cocky. I bet he works in Dell.

LadyJ wrote:
    What's a "now-it-all"?
    I was going to point out the fact that he was missing a 'k' but I didn't want to end up becoming the very thing he hates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I was going to point out the fact that he was missing a 'k' but I didn't want to end up becoming the very thing he hates.
    I now,I now! :p

LadyJ wrote:
    I now,I now! :p
    Know, know then... lets not get smart...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Alright smart arses :D You know I had a typo because I'm sure you read my post and the 'k' is present (and it wasn't edited as you can also see :p ),

Anyhoo, yes-I'm talin about that twat in the ads with the big headphones who relishes telling the poor sod who's travelled a million miles to get his computer.

Arrghh, damn this old sony, perhaps I need a Dell. I hear they're available in the shops <gets coat and heads into town on Dublin Bus, forced to endure the smell of hash smoke all the way in, before punching 'Dell boy' in the face> :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

LadyJ wrote:
    What's a "now-it-all"?

If you read his first post you will see he spelt it correctly..

Actually, do you think that advert is the Dell TV ads division having a go at the Dell print ads division?

They seem to be suggesting that the print advert isn't very clear and that people are wandering around shops looking for Dells as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Actually, do you think that advert is the Dell TV ads division having a go at the Dell print ads division?

They seem to be suggesting that the print advert isn't very clear and that people are wandering around shops looking for Dells as a result.

So, this is a product of internal departmental strife, eh? Innnnteresting.

Me, I obviously hate that ad because a simple concept is being over-explained and it makes me despair for the species.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

I hate that ad...its so badly dubbed as well.

tvnutz wrote:
    I hate that ad...its so badly dubbed as well.
    Yep. It's right up there with the Kinder Beuno adverts.

It's amazing though.. someone obviously thought that advert was so good it was worth recylcling for a different country's market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

lol,ye those kinder ones are bad,have you noticed they even do it with ads that are in English,they just dub it over with an Irish accent,and they still cant do it right,you can tell its badly dubbed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Toothpaste ads are notorious for poor dubbing.

The Dell ads before this new wave clearly specify at least once that the machines can't be bought in shops, why this needs clarification is beyond me powers of understanding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I actually hate the poor disapointed schmuck in that ad more than the aforementioned 'you can't buy it in the shops so go online!' smartarse.

Never mind the fact that yer man STILL doesn't understand that you 'can't buy dell in the shops' (I mean how long is that company around now?) but add to that that anyone who HAS to pour themself a cup of coffee whilst sitting on a packed bus in 40degree temperature is clearly an asshole to begin with!

Bring back the DellDude is my final word on the matter tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

grimloch wrote:
    Toothpaste ads are notorious for poor dubbing.
    One word: Kinder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Everyone loved Dude, your getting a Dell!

Shame that Dude guy got a drug violation himself and then became known as Dude, I'm getting ass-raped in an American Jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

sceptre wrote:
    One word: Kinder.
    Because happiness is hippo-shaped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

People please

The biggest twat in any ad is the American nerdy student lad whos delivering McDonalds food to Destinys Child in that ad. His voice, his look, his acting.......jaysus what a ****ing tosser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

D-Generate wrote:
    then became known as Dude, I'm getting ass-raped in an American Jail.

Snopes makes for no fun.
    http://www.snopes.com/radiotv/tv/delldude.asp