Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where are you from? Who are your Second team? Who do you dislike?

• 04-08-2005 1:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

Hopefully this thread does not get out of hand (with the who do you dislike bit). While it is obvious where most people who post regularly are from, for example Pornapster(Cavan) or Alany (Dublin), it would be nice to know where everybody is from! Also most people have a second team, maybe not that they would support but that they like to see doing well in the Championship. Also people have teams that they love to see being beaten. So I am going to put up a template, and see if people fill it in!

Where are you from:

Football
    Who is(are) your second team(s):
    Why:

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike:
    Why: For this part please don't put "whoever are crap", proper reasons

Hurling
    Why:

Why:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭*marie*

Where are you from: Dublin

Football
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Laois
    Why: Because I've lived here for 10 years, also I like teams that play clean, genuine football.

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Armagh, Tyrone
    Why: Although they can be very good, I dislike the animal-like tactics they sometimes resort to, and I don't like the way they get away with it.

Hurling
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Kilkenny
    Why: Because my grandfather was from there! (I don't really follow hurling!)

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: none
    Why: See above...!

Also, I don't think anybody should dislike an actual team, just the way they play...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Where are you from: Wexford

Football
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Kerry
    Why: As a kid my father had a number of videos of Kerrys golden years which I saw a lot.

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Dublin
    Why: While a lot of counties have bandwagon supporters, and people who don't know what they are talking about, Dublin seem to have more. Maybe that is just my experience. However, I must say after the Leinster semi final this year it is the first time I have had a complete stranger come up to me and say hard luck. Also it is great to hear the Hill be silenced.

Hurling
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Clare
    Why: I have family in Clare and was there a few times as a child, and fondily remember 95.

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike:Waterford and Tipperary
    Why: Tipperary because I have lived with a few people from Tipp for the last few years. One of them in particular believes without fail that Tipp will win the All-Ireland every year. Also because it is the only county in which I have gotten hassle about wearing a Wexford jersey (I mean hassle not banter)

Waterford because of one person. John Mullane and his conduct jsut put me off of that team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I am from Dublin. My parents are from Galway and Roscommon, so I'd support them too. In more general matches I'd like to see the underdog win or a team that has generally has less success than their opponents, so if Roscommon were playing Galway, I'd have a slight leaning towards Roscommon. It has been great to see Armagh, Tyrone, Donegal and Derry win their first All-Irelands in recent years, and great in particular to see Kerry being beaten by Armagh in the 2002 final and Tyrone beat them in the 2003 semi-final. Seeing the likes of Leitrim, Laois and Kildare win their provincial titles after a very long gap and Westmeath winning their first ever Leinster title was great. I'd love to see some other counties having some success after a long gap. Seeing Mayo win their first All-Ireland since 1951 would be great, and particularly because of their disappointments in finals in 1989, 1996, 1997 and of course last year. I hope they beat Kerry on Sunday, though I think it unlikely.

As a Dub, obviously Meath are the old enemy so it's great to see them lose. There is only one county I would like to see them beat and that is Kerry, because of the amount of success Kerry have had. So in 2001 I was delighted when Meath hammered Kerry in the All-Ireland Semi-Final and delighted that they in turn were comfortably beaten by Galway in the final.

For Hurling a lot of the same rules apply. I don't like to see any of the big 3 win as they have won a lot of All-Irelands: Cork(29), Kilkenny(28) and Tipperary(25). The next nearest is Limerick on just 7, with Dublin next on 6. So it is great to see any of the less succesful teams win. For this year then, I'd like to see a Clare v Galway final, with Galway to win.

So generally I like to see teams with less success win, as it is better for the game, and even if one of them beat Dublin in football, there is a little consolation, which is not there when they are beaten by the likes of Meath or Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Where are you from : Monaghan

Second team: Usually Tyrone but I've suspended that for this weekend!!

Like them because when I used to go to all the matches when i was younger, they were the nicest for getting things signed etc

Teams I don't like: Armagh. Cause I don't like their style of play

I don't really follow hurling but I like when Kilkenny don't win, makes it a bit more interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Where are you from: Mayo

Football
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Any Connaught Team, Dublin, Laois
    Why: Laois - Lovely brand of football, Dublin - The buzz it brings to the sport. I also support our neighbouring counties, and generally the underdog.

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Kerry & Tyrone/Armagh
    Why: Kerry because they beat us, and are very arrogant and like rubbing it in with their subtle jibes. Tyrone/Armagh for their ruining of freeflowing football.

Hurling
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Clare & Galway
    Why: Galway from Connaught, and Clare is a Connaught county really, love their committment

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Tipperary
    Why: Sore losers. When they win, they don't bring any craic to the table. A dry bunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

Where are you from:Meath

Football
    Who is(are) your second team(s):Cork
    Why: Relations there

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Dublin and Westmeath
    Why: For this part please don't put "whoever are crap", proper reasons
    Dublin: bandwagon supporters, the crap that comes from the Hill. Westmeath. Neighbours. Pity Louth. Dislike Tyrone and Armaghs style

Hurling
    Who is(are) your second team(s):Wexford and Cork
    Why: Relations

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike:Waterford
    Why:Mullane...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Football
    This week its Monaghan, generally its any Leinster team not managed by a Sean Boylan or a Kerry man.

1. Armagh because they are filthy
    2. Meath because they are Meath

Hurling
    2. Limerick because of other half
    3. Wexford except when they play like wimmin, like they did last week
    4. Kilkenny because of relations
    5. Waterford because I feel sorry for them
    6. Clare because of Ger

1. Galway because they are always crying at what a disadvantage they are at, but are too cowardly to enter the Leinster championship.
    2. Cork because of they way they put on those "funny" voices when they're interviewed after games.
    3. Tipperary because my Kilkenny relations hate them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 The Fish

Football
    Who is(are) your second team(s): New York
    Why: Because I pity them

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike:Cork, Meath, Armagh and Tyrone
    Why: Cork and Meath because of the rivalry, Armagh and Tyrone because they smell!

Hurling
    Who is(are) your second team(s):Kilkenny
    Why:They're the best Leinster team so as a fellow Leinsterman I like to see them do well

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike:Dublin
    Why:Because they're sh!t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

Football
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Monaghan
    Why: My fathers from Monaghan. As simple as that.

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Kerry.
    Why: Their style bugs me, but their fans really annoy me and they really only like going to the finals!

I don't love Meath either, but that's probably just a local rivalry attitude. Some of the Northern teams can be quite petty at times, and on the very odd occasion their fans can make a show of themselves.

I don't really support a hurling team, but it is a beautiful game ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Where are you from: Westmeath

Football
    none.

Meath - neighbours and generally filthy scumbags :p
    Offaly - see Meath
    Dublin - Not the team as much as the hype they get because they are always going to win everything, apparently. Annoyingly this year they have won something :)

Hurling
    You'll never get better than Westmeath :o
    Seriously though I enjoy seeing a good game of hurling. No real favourite teams but I did take a dislike to Kilkenny and Cork when I was younger. Not so much now though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Where are you from:
    >> Laois

Football
    Kerry/Galway. [Kerry cos of seeing Fitzgerald play in his prime, Galway for the football the last year they won the All_Ireland.]
    Imposter wrote:
    Meath - neighbours and generally filthy scumbags
    Offaly - see Meath
    Dublin - Not the team as much as the hype they get because they are always going to win everything, apparently. Annoyingly this year they have won something

Hurling
    I enjoy seeing a good game of hurling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Football

None

Meath - Cause they are Meath
    Cavan - Cause they are dirty
    Tyrone - Cause they are dirty and sly and they like to dive

Hurling
    Up the Banner

Mother is from Clare, and I was down in Ennis in 95 when they won their first final for 80+ years, great party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭River Allow

Where are you from:
    Cork

Football
    Westmeath- My grandfather grew uo there.

Limerick- Right on the border so rivalry is HUGE!
    Kerry- Always has been huge rivalry between Cork and Kerry

Hurling
    Galway_ Also have relations up there and one played in goal for them.

Limerick- On the border!
    Kilkenny- They are Cork's biggest rivals at the moment and they are so close to us in the amount of all-Irelands!

By the way, the Rooster, they dont put on funny accents, that actually happens to be the way we talk down here! If uve a problem with it, you know where the mute button is!

That really is a case of the pot calling the kettle black Mocking our accent and he from Dublin himself like!! What next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

That really is a case of the pot calling the kettle black Mocking our accent and he from Dublin himself like!! What next?
    Eye dunno boy. Tis like he's a langer boy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,906 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Where are you from: Cavan

Football
    Who are your second teams: Clare, Westmeath, Kerry and Cork
    Why: Clare and Westmeath - Parents' home counties. And they're great as the perpetual underdogs.
    Kerry and Cork - Because they play attractive football, and are an antidote to the teams I dislike.

Who are the teams you dislike:
    Meath, Tyrone and Armagh
    Why:
    Dirty, divers, they invariably make any match a poor one to watch.

Hurling
    Who is your second team:
    Clare
    Why:
    See Football

Who is the team you dislike:
    Don't really dislike any team
    Why: Don't strictly follow hurling, more of an occasional fan. Especially when Clare are involved

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

2. Cork because of they way they put on those "funny" voices when they're interviewed after games

Well considering the Dublin accent is probably the worst in the world im glad I have a "funny" voice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Which accent did esat digifone give to the guy in the bar (the odeon I think ) in their add. Anyone remember the add I am talking about? A girl slips this bloke her number, he steps outside and calls her but when she heard the accent she hung up.

Hellooo Kate .... is that yoooouu ?

Classic :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭McClane

Where are you from: Sligo

Football
    Who are your second teams: Tipperary
    Why: Going out with a Tipp girl. I'd shout for Tipp because i think Declan Browne is one of the most gifted footballers i have ever seen. The man shows such committment to the game and to his county it would embarrass most other players. This year he played against Westmeath and he was clearly in a lot of pain, on medication, injured and he still played for 70 minutes and played better then most fit players would have.
    In football i'd also usually shout for the underdogs, Leitrim (Regardless of our defeat), Antrim, Wicklow. I'd also shout for Kilkenny when they put out a team.

Who are the teams you dislike: I don't dislike any teams.
    Why: I dislike Tyrone and Armaghs play because they have great footballers with great skill but prefer to play dirty most of the time. Diving in a GAA match is the most disgraceful thing i have ever seen and i can't stand anyone doing it. Hopefully they'll cope on and show us the great football everyone knows they are capable of.

Hurling
    Who is your second team: Tipperary.
    Why: Absolutely passionate about their hurling. Its not a sport, its a religion. They criticise their own team more then anyone else does and the passion and committment surpasses anyone else. Even when Tipp have bad players they are a dangerous team. Theres nothing quite like a KK v Tipp or a Cork v Tipp match for raw passion, guts and determination.

Why else ? Nicky English & John Leahy.

Who is the team you dislike: Not anyone in particular. Used to dislike Galway but not anymore.
    Why: Galway are always whinging about having no-one to play. They were allowed to play in Munster for a few years and couldn't get out quick enough.
    They've stopped whinging now.

Why 2: Can't stand the hurling ref's, the media articles, Commentators (Donal O'Grady and the other git on the sunday game. Ger Cannings & Ger Lochnane are the only ones that know their stuff and the only ones i'd listen to and i can't stand Ger's voice.

Imposter wrote:
    Eye dunno boy. Tis like he's a langer boy!

I know boy like, he's a complete langer cove, we'll have to sort him out sham!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Where are you from: Waterford

Football
    Why: Because micko has done a fantastic job with them and he and the county deserve an all ireland

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Armagh
    Why: Because their style of football puts me off football for good and makes me thankful i have a hurling team to support and not a football team. They should concentrate more on skill then strength and realize that there are other ways of playing a football match.

Hurling
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Wexford
    Why: Great, passionate fans and they manage to be all ireland contenders every year even though they lack real quality stars in their team.

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Cork
    Why: Apart from the fact that they beat us twice this year, cork hold acclaim to the worst supporters in the country. Firstly, they come over to dungarvan and buy our tickets for munster matchs. They have their share, so why cant we have ours? Then, those cork fans who stand in the waterford terrace shout disgusting abuse at john mullane, and surprisingly, paul flynn, one of hurlings most likable characters. The one advantage about this is seeing the look on the cork fans faces when we beat them.

PS Why is everone having a go at john mullane. So he passionate about his county, so what? In my opinion he has every right to say what he wants to opposing fans who abuse him during matchs. The fans obviously let the public know what they think of him, so why cant he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Where are you from: Laois

Football
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Carlow
    Why: I've always had a soft spot for them. They're not really good enough to be serious rivals but I like to see them do well. And their funky jersys are pretty cool too!

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Meath
    Why: I've always found their fans fairly arrogant.

Hurling
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Wexford, Waterford.
    Why: Wexford - For keeping hurling in leinster slightly competitive.
    Waterford - Not sure, just admire them and would like to see them win an all-ireland.

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Kilkenny
    Why: For always winning though its hard to blame them for that. I know a few KK people who never shut up about hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Where are you from: Gaillimh

Football
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Any other Connaught team
    Why: It's obvious really.

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Mayo/Dublin
    Why: Even though I've said that my 2nd fav team(s) is "any other connaught team", I hate Mayo cos of their fans. Such a crowd of eejits. As for the Dubs, *shudders* I don't know where to start.

Hurling
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Waterford.
    Why: The nearly men every year. Just want to see them win

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Kilkenny
    Why: Cos they're too fcukin good. Its not fair :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Where are you from: Mighty Mighty CAVAN!

Football
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Armagh
    Why: Like their style of football and think they have talented footballers. I would also support any upcoming team on a roll like Fermanagh last year. Think people pick on them unfairly about their physical side as an excuse to admitting that they're one of the best teams out there.

Why: Don't even get me started!

Meath
    Why: Travelling back through there in 1997 after Cavan lost the All-Ireland semi and listening to the abuse from their fans.

Tyrone
    Why: Arrogant fans and players like Peter Canavan who seem to get away with doing what they like. Not to mention the best diving since the last Olympics!

Hurling
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Waterford
    Why: Would love to see them win something.

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Kilkenny, Cork
    Why: Don't really dislike anyone but these two seem to have a stronghold on hurling at the moment and I'd like to see someone else come through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

my fave 2nd team:

1.Mayo.
    three quarters of my family are from mayo going back generations.nice county,nice people,nice football most the time.

2.Limerick.
    did well against kerry the last two years and were unfortunate

teams i dislike(2 many here but i'll say it anyway)

1.Meath
    rivalry.plus they are dirty on the pitch and off the pitch
    2.Offaly
    Just don't like them.
    3.cavan
    never had a problem with county and the people or their football but cavan supporters saying a county shouldn't be proud of winning leinster is a poor reflection.
    4:Kerry
    nice people,nice football but am sick of their dominance in the all ireland.
    5.armagh
    don't like their football anymore.they remind me of meath from the 80s til 2000.this is very recent in the last few weeks.

Hurling

teams i like

Kilkenny and waterford......kilkenny for bringing silverware to leinster and Waterford because they play well but unfortunatley lose out minimally to teams like cork.

teams i don't like

cork and Offaly....no particular reason,just indifferent to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

I was born in Monaghan so they are my first team

Football
    Who is(are) your second team(s):I look out for Armagh results
    Why: All my family are from Armagh.

Why: I only really do it to annoy my mates. I have lived in Dublin near 20 years and just do it to wind the lads up.

Hurling
    Who is(are) your second team(s): All teams i like to watch them all. Not a big fan but like to see a good game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

deise59 wrote:
    PS Why is everone having a go at john mullane. So he passionate about his county, so what? In my opinion he has every right to say what he wants to opposing fans who abuse him during matchs. The fans obviously let the public know what they think of him, so why cant he?

Because he is IMO (and a lot of other peoples) a tramp(to put it mildly)! Every player gets abuse during a game, instead they concentrate on playing, instead of abusing fans.

Also did you see the RTE program about the 2004 Munster final, before this years Munster final? When talking about his sending off for striking another player, he just thought he was unlucky and could not understand it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

Where are you from: Kildare

Football
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Cork
    Why: I'm living in the county and although I'm in the hurling stronghold I favour the football because of being from Kildare. I have always liked the style that Cork play.

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Kerry, Armagh
    Why: Can't stand listening to Kerry fans. They think they have a divine right to win every All-Ireland. Armagh because of their tactics. If only the GAA could bring in a yellow card rule where ifyou get two in a row you're suspended for the next game. Bye Bye Francie!!

Hurling
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Clare
    Why: I 've always followed Clare hurling since my mother, a bannerwoman, brought me to their games. In a dilemma the next day for Cork v Clare. Wife not too happy as her cousin plays with Cork.

Why: Stems from a certain Munster final and what they were saying to the Clare fans. They got theirs in '97.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

deise59 wrote:
    Where are you from: Waterford

Football
    Why: Because micko has done a fantastic job with them and he and the county deserve an all ireland

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Armagh
    Why: Because their style of football puts me off football for good and makes me thankful i have a hurling team to support and not a football team. They should concentrate more on skill then strength and realize that there are other ways of playing a football match.

Hurling
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Wexford
    Why: Great, passionate fans and they manage to be all ireland contenders every year even though they lack real quality stars in their team.

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Cork
    Why: Apart from the fact that they beat us twice this year, cork hold acclaim to the worst supporters in the country. Firstly, they come over to dungarvan and buy our tickets for munster matchs. They have their share, so why cant we have ours? Then, those cork fans who stand in the waterford terrace shout disgusting abuse at john mullane, and surprisingly, paul flynn, one of hurlings most likable characters. The one advantage about this is seeing the look on the cork fans faces when we beat them.

I would like to add my bit to the above. I attended the Cork v Waterford game this year and I was disgusted at the abuse thrown at John Mullane. All the man is doing is playing for his county for the entertainment of the crowd. He's very passionate about Waterford hurling and I don't see any fault with that. Leave his private life private.

The abuse??? Hes only paying for the year he stuck up his fingers at us, I'll never forget it boy. Was in the terrace myself... It was just sick, you wouldn't see any of the Cork players responding. His private life, Hawker, is no longer private when he does **** like that. We as Cork supporters had no problem with John Mullane until he started doing that eejiting boy! We don't see any fault with his passion either... We see a fault with the way he portrays it! Worst supporters... Thats right. We follow them wherever they go! Look at the stats Deise boy, look at the stats! He can't show the way he feels towards supporters because he's a senior hurler, he would have so much respect if only he would cut out the s**t! I think hes a class hurler, although Brian Murphy did keep him very quite this year!!! Plus, listen to your own fans lad, you seem to have forgotten the semi of the munster, was next to a group of fellas bout 25 from Waterford, were constantly taunting Brian Corcoran(The God) but did he respond in the same manner as Mullane???? Ah, no like! Maybe Mullanimal should take a leaf out of his book! The look on our faces when ye beat us??? Thats not very often now is it??? Kerry come over to North and west Cork when they are playing us in the football... It happens everywhere boy, get over it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I think its six of one, half a dozen of the other. He shouldn't have stuck his fingers up but different players, act differently. Depends on a person's temper.

At the end of the day though, he is only an amateur and I can understand a player getting frustrated if he and his team mates are getting abuse. They're trying to play a game after all.

The abuse??? Hes only paying for the year he stuck up his fingers at us, I'll never forget it boy. Was in the terrace myself... It was just sick, you wouldn't see any of the Cork players responding. His private life, Hawker, is no longer private when he does **** like that. We as Cork supporters had no problem with John Mullane until he started doing that eejiting boy! We don't see any fault with his passion either... We see a fault with the way he portrays it! Worst supporters... Thats right. We follow them wherever they go! Look at the stats Deise boy, look at the stats! He can't show the way he feels towards supporters because he's a senior hurler, he would have so much respect if only he would cut out the s**t! I think hes a class hurler, although Brian Murphy did keep him very quite this year!!! Plus, listen to your own fans lad, you seem to have forgotten the semi of the munster, was next to a group of fellas bout 25 from Waterford, were constantly taunting Brian Corcoran(The God) but did he respond in the same manner as Mullane???? Ah, no like! Maybe Mullanimal should take a leaf out of his book! The look on our faces when ye beat us??? Thats not very often now is it??? Kerry come over to North and west Cork when they are playing us in the football... It happens everywhere boy, get over it!!

Hold on a second, you're saying it's SICK that John Mullane responded to you're disgusting abuse? How do you think he feels? He puts up with it every day from ye cork people and just because he responded once, ONCE, ye act like he's the devil. When was that anyway? 2003 or something? Sounds like you're the one who should get over it!

Mullane is one of those players who wears his shirt on his sleeve. All players respond in different ways. Just because "The God" (lol) doesn't react doesn't mean Mullane shouldn't either! If Corcoran can keep calm on the pitch, thats fine by me. But don't go comparing probably the two most opposite players in Irish hurling.

So youre saying the only reason ye are the best fans in the country is because ye follow you're team everywhere? That makes you and about 30 other countys in Ireland, (minus killkenny fans). So what makes ye different? Shouting abuse at players? Yeah, that surely puts ye the ranks! For the last 3 waterford/cork matches ive been to i've had to drive home with stupid cork fans either shouting abuse to the car about john mullane or put up with mocking to us about your victory. I will admit that their can be some idiotic deise fans, but can you honestly say they out number the disgusting cork fans? Not a chance, boy!

Lads, why do all these threads end up as slanging matches, your last few posts have nothing to do with the thread title.

We are GAA fans, so let's behave like them, instead of Soccer fans.

Please don't shoot. :)

Deise59, you are completely ignoring the fact that Mullane brought this on himself. Once, you say, once... Don't think so love. Numerous times he has made gestures at us that are completely undeserved! He isn't exactly an angel like, I think we all know that like... Remember his little courtcase?? He puts up with it??? Rightly so!! He brings it on himself. Should that not be heart on his sleeve that u mean to say??? Well, if he can't take it boy, then he shouldn't have started this. If you can't stand the heat, get out! But he shouldn't respond, thats what we're saying... An intercounty player of his standard shouldn't go on with that ****!! Oh, so you don't think that we have to put up with the same abuse. Well, your last statemnt really is quite "idiotic" considering the population of Cork and the population of your county!! Now, I suggest ye go lick ye're wounds for the rest of the year down in Waaherford and have yet another unsucessful year next year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Triton

Originally Posted by Culchie
    Lads, why do all these threads end up as slanging matches, your last few posts have nothing to do with the thread title.

We are GAA fans, so let's behave like them, instead of Soccer fans.

Please don't shoot.

Because everyone has opinions, they're like @ssholes!

OK, Culchie's right. This is getting a bit out of hand. You have your opinions and I have my mine. While I have my opinions about carks fans, i have nothing bad to say about cark as a team. Ye have good players, and any team that beats mullane, mcgrath, kelly etc twice deserves to be all ireland champions. While I hope ye dont win the all ireland this year, (I have clare relatives), I hope the right team wins on the day. But don't worry, Waterford (and mullane) will be back next year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Mullanimal
    LOL :D

Imo everythiing mullaine gets he deserves. If he is willing to dish out the premiership/rooney style treatment to opposing fans then he has to take that treatment back. And you can clearly see that his antics are effecting his game. He scored 3-2 in that munster final in 2003. What did he do this year? Nothing!
    Last year? Gets sent off in the munster final!

He is just better fo concentrating on his game. A perfect example was the 1/4 final against cork. He spent half the game running around looking for a fight. Nobody bought into it and Sully rightly blew him out of the way like a rag doll.

Cork fans only give that treatment to Mullane becuase of his gestures towards us. Remember the GAA swept all this under the carpet. If this happened in England he would have gotten a nice big fine and lengthly ban.
    But he is scum anyway. How many more suspended sentences is he going to get?

He deserves everything he gets IMO.

The deise need a bit of a overhaul if they are going to win Liam McCarthy in the near future. And with Cork winning all before them in Munster (7 titles this year!) its not looking good for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

On the subject of Cork fan's being abusive to Waterford player(s), I remember standing on the Town End terrace in 1998 during the Cork v Waterford League Final and listening to a group of Waterford "fans" chant "Who's the ni**er playing with Cork?" (directed at Sean Og O hAlpin).
    So if you want to get into that game....

On the subject of this thread:

Where are you from: Cork

Football
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Limerick
    Why: Because a few of my mates are from there.

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Kerry
    Why: Apart from the obvious (border rivalry), they are the biggest fair-weather supporters in the country. Every year I know of Kerry people who don't go to championship games in such far-flung locations as Limerick, Thurles and Cork because "it's too far away", "I couldn't be bothered" etc.
    Yet when the third Sunday in September rolls around they suddenly become the best supporters in the country if their beloved "Kingdom" happen to be in the All-Ireland Final.

Hurling

Who is(are) your second team(s): Waterford
    Why: Despite the feeling not being reciprocated on this thread, I'd genuinely like to see them win an All-Ireland (provided Cork are already out of course)
    because I think it would be good for the GAA

Why: Because of the way their supporters behaved in the 1991 Munster Final replay and because their supporters talk a load of ****e.

Deise fans call mullane mullanimal aswell, just in better way then you say it.