Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Supervisor pissing me off!!!!!

• 03-08-2005 8:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭

Ok, this is a pain in the ass and i apologise in advance if it turns out to be a bit too long.

Basically, NO ONE likes this new supervisor, she forces her opinions upon others, rants and raves about showing respect and respecting ''the business'' and herself and other colleagues. Which is all well and good, but she's a complete hypocrite, team spirit has declined and everyone is in a fowl mood because of her.

Basically, I personally have had a few problems with punctuality over the last couple of months; firstly about 6-8 weeks ago I had problems with my car, which prevented me from being on time for a few days, basically something that was out of my control. As well as my productivity going down, as in I wasn’t completing as much work as I should have been, we had a one-one about this last month and discussed it and agreed I would try harder, which I did, and I proceeded to meet my targets for the month, all well and good you’d think? :rolleyes:

Ok, she was away for two weeks and was back yesterday, I was also back yesterday from the long bank holiday, it’s the start of a new month and I focus on getting my stats back in order.

She notices that I was reading an email in hotmail (surfing is prohibited), so she pulls me up on it, brings me in for a one-one to ‘’discuss it’’, imo reacted totally over the top and ended up forcing the issue as usual, she’s a hypocrite because I would bet my house in there that every single employee in there uses/has used the internet at some point, including her. She has been known to lie so I do not believe her when she tells me other wise.

Because she is such a psycho, she start to bring up old issues, such as my productivity and punctuality, all of which had been dealt with, I remind her that I met my targets for productivity and that wasn’t a problem, but for her it was, apparently I can do more:rolleyes:, as far as I’m concerned if I meet my targets then that’s all I have to do, if they want me to do more then raise the targets ffs!

Today, I received a complaint because of comments I made in the appeal to a bad quality score I received for part of my work, I complained because it was marked badly and I received scores that were complete BS, my colleagues thought so too, the person who marks our work tends to deduct points for very petty reasons which do not affect the quality of our work, so in my frustration I say in my appeal that it is wrong and I asked for an explanation in my own subtle ways, I meant everything I said in the appeal and stand my comments as I asked very valid questions, but it was perceived as being ‘’smart’’, so instead of acting like an adult and talking to me about it the quality guy decided to email my supervisor as well as her manager expressing his concerns.

So my super brings me in for another one-one today, about the comments, the manager was supposed to be there too but apparently he had another meeting, personally I though she was bull****ting about him being there, as I said, she’s been known to lie.

So she decides to go over the work in question that was marked, she can see that there is nothing wrong with it but decides to nit pick and then bring up old issues like my punctuality and productivity (which is fine at this stage) and she just keeps pushing and pushing the issue.

She basically says that I have to ‘’respect the business’’ and be on time ALWAYS, which I agree with but no matter what I said she just couldn’t comprehend that sometimes, JUST sometimes people are late because of reasons that are out of their control, but she couldn’t accept this. This coming from a woman who, after two weeks holidays, arrives 40 mins late for work on her first day back.

I am SUPPOSED to finish work at 2.30pm, but I was in the one-one with her today from 2pm-3.30pm and I was seriously SERIOUSLY pissed off afterward, to the point where I actually thought of just not going back tomorrow or any day after, and it takes a lot to get me like that.

But even worse, because the manager wasn’t there today, she wants to go through ALL this **** AGAIN tomorrow, and I have to be honest, it’s just stressing me out too much and I can’t take it. I feel like I’m being bullied or something.

She asked me what she can do to help, and I say that I honestly don’t like being called into meetings all the time, I’m not stupid, I know when my productivity is down and I know how to deal with it myself, I don’t need this added stress.

Sorry for my rant, but I just can’t take her any more, if tomorrow is anything like today then I seriously see myself just going home there and then.

All this is probably hard to understand and it probably doesn’t even make much sense on the screen, but believe me, if you were in my team you’d know what I mean.

I can’t even remember my question now, just basically how can I tell her to leave me the **** alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

You sound as if you work in Irish Life contact centre in Dundalk.

Same type of atomsphere when i worked there a couple of years ago.

Let me tell you something, everyone is human and EQUAL. Because your super is on a power trip do not i repeat do not let that annoy you. Give as good as you and stand up for yourself.

Meaning if your have a 'one on one' involving the two of you and she doesn't listen to your end of the story. Turn around and say that this meeting is over due to your inability to comprehend my side of the situation and any futher meetings between you and i must be conducted in the presence of your supervisor for offical record purposes in order to eliminate any bias that i feel is being protrayed towards me in regards to matters previously stated and reckified.

I treat my bosses with the respect that they have earned plus the respect that they are willing to show me. If she carries on like that report her for misconduct ie bullying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

get an appointment with her boss, send him an EMail explaining that you are not happy the way your Supervisor deals with things and you would like to discuss this in person with him.

Worked wonders in my previous job

I agree with the above spot on.

There's always someone goes to be over her.

the main reason why it works, is because bosses on a power trip never see the point that you can make a complaint about them to a higher place, is a b!tch if you work in a family business but in a corporation it works extremely well, unless they are shagging each other, but then you can go higher yet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

poison her!!!

:mad:

No offense. I have worked in alot of places. manufacturing, customer service, Bookies and now accounting.

I have notice on each occassion that where there is a female supervisor or boss that they are effective but not efficenct as a majority of them are on a power trip and this is no joke.

I current work in an accounting practice. The partner is male and i got on really well wioth him have the craic a joke and a laugh but at the same time work gets done on time and he would he respect for the people who he works "WITH".

I also work p/t for a very well known bookies in their head office as a data entry person. There's 6 on the team, all male pls note, and the boss is female. She is on just a power trip its unreal and my goal is to take over her job. If you are 5 mins late she takes you up on that. Every time she does i remind her i left 5 mins late in a sharpe tone as to say dont mess with me kinda way. The supervisor is male and totally different character and in fact more work gets done when he's there.

In other places i have worked where women are supervisors/bosses they have been on power trips as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

sounds to me like a lot of people have issues wth having a woman as a boss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

heh, no problems with her being a female, my previous super was female and was excellent, firm but fair.

I sent her an email this morning, basically saying that I have given my explanation for my actions and I stood by the things I had said, I said as far as I’m concerned it was all blown out of proportion and that it could have been handled better by all parties.

I pretty much said that that’s the end of the issue from my point of view, and if she wishes to escalate it further to the manager, then I would happily oblige, but I wanted to speak to him privately, without her there.

Seems to have done the trick, I haven’t really had a reply back.

To be honest I don’t even think the manager knew about it in the first place, she just used it as a threat.

Well done play them at their own play.

I have no issue with female bosses just female attitudes at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,326 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Today, 11:45 #9
    LundiMardi

hey! - back to work you!

wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭tirl

thought you weren't supposed to be on the internet:)

Anyway, sounds like you work for a fairly sizable company, and if so then they have to have procedures in place to deal with bullying, this is the law. Do others in your team have a problem with her? if so can you not all get together and make a formal complaint to the manager, that is his job, how long has she been in this position? there are a lot of factors to consider, if the problem is just with you, before you complain you have to be 100% sure that you are in the right or it could appear to be sour grapes on your part, but whatever the reason you are entitled to be treated fairlt and most companies will know about these procedures and normally nip it in the bus in order to avoid any further trouble. Do you have a HR dept, then they would be best to approach

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

tbh .. it sounds like you do have an attitude problem.

bad punctuality, bad productivity and breaking 'surfing' rules are all that you have admitted to, what about the other things that you haven't mentioned.

Plus .. from your post I get the feeling that you just want to do the bare minimum to get by in work and offer nothing more. I am in a management position and there is nothing more frustrating than an employee who offers nothing more than the bare essentials to get by.

Before you condem this supervisor (who is obviously regarded by senior management to have the necessary qualities to be in the position), have a look at yourself.

Don't treat work as a 'me and them' situation, look at the bigger picture. You sound like you just want to do enough so that they don't have 'ammo' against you.

With regards to the time-keeping, lateness happens very occasional for reasons beyond our control, but people who are late on a regular basis tend to be the first out the door, spending the afternoon 'clock watching'. Personally I go hard on those who 'clock watch' and are late, but I excuse anyone who I know will not run out the door at half five on the button and who makes themselves available when needed.

Maturity in the work place is a great asset.

whippet wrote:
    tbh .. it sounds like you do have an attitude problem.

bad punctuality, bad productivity and breaking 'surfing' rules are all that you have admitted to, what about the other things that you haven't mentioned. .

None, infact i recieved my quarterly bonus info just earlier on and i've doubled what i got last quarter, not too shabby if i do say so myself.
    whippet wrote:
    Plus .. from your post I get the feeling that you just want to do the bare minimum to get by in work and offer nothing more. I am in a management position and there is nothing more frustrating than an employee who offers nothing more than the bare essentials to get by. .

If you are not happy with the targets your employees hit, then raise the targets. It's not a question of ''oh you COULD do more'', if i meet my targets (which i do) then there should not be an issue. However, if you should know, i've doubled my daily targets already today, that's why i'm chillaxing now;)
    whippet wrote:
    Before you condem this supervisor (who is obviously regarded by senior management to have the necessary qualities to be in the position), have a look at yourself.

Don't treat work as a 'me and them' situation, look at the bigger picture. You sound like you just want to do enough so that they don't have 'ammo' against you. .

I meet my targets AND exceed my targets, that IS enough, if you want more out of me then give me a reason to do it, don't just expect it.
    whippet wrote:
    With regards to the time-keeping, lateness happens very occasional for reasons beyond our control, but people who are late on a regular basis tend to be the first out the door, spending the afternoon 'clock watching'. Personally I go hard on those who 'clock watch' and are late, but I excuse anyone who I know will not run out the door at half five on the button and who makes themselves available when needed.

Maturity in the work place is a great asset.

I agree, however, no one intends to be late, if i have car troubles then there's not a whole lot i can do about it. In fact i spent around €100 of my own money to join the AA, so it wouldn't happen again. Plus having to get into for 9am is one thing, i have to get up at 4.30am, it's not exactly the same now is it? Treating being 5mins late as something major is a tad petty, especially since she's not exactly the greatest time keeper herself.

I'm not on my own here, the whole team agrees with me, she doesn't practise what she preaches, that's the main issue.

[
    I agree, however, no one intends to be late, if i have car troubles then there's not a whole lot i can do about it. In fact i spent around €100 of my own money to join the AA, so it wouldn't happen again. Plus having to get into for 9am is one thing, i have to get up at 4.30am, it's not exactly the same now is it? Treating being 5mins late as something major is a tad petty, especially since she's not exactly the greatest time keeper herself.

I'm not on my own here, the whole team agrees with me, she doesn't practise what she preaches, that's the main issue.[/QUOTE]

who exactly except yourself did you expect to pay for the AA. You seem to be getting well paid for the job in hand doulbe bonus etc etc, if the Company sre looking after you financially then you do actually owe them some loyalty, surely it was your choice in the first place to get a job where you get up at 4.30am, if the rest of the team feel the same then as I said in my last post appraoch your HR dept, if not then look for another job

tirl wrote:
    who exactly except yourself did you expect to pay for the AA. You seem to be getting well paid for the job in hand doulbe bonus etc etc, if the Company sre looking after you financially then you do actually owe them some loyalty, surely it was your choice in the first place to get a job where you get up at 4.30am, if the rest of the team feel the same then as I said in my last post appraoch your HR dept, if not then look for another job

I never said i expected anyone to pay the money for me, i'm saying that that's what i did to show that i'm not trying to take the piss or anything.

I'm only saying that getting up at 4.30am is not the same as getting up at 7 or 8, it's a tad fúcking rediculous to give out over being 5 mins late, making a big deal out of it isn't going to achieve anything.

LundiMardi wrote:
    it's a tad fúcking rediculous to give out over being 5 mins late, making a big deal out of it isn't going to achieve anything.

it is a big deal, especially when accompanied by that type of attiude.

Regardless of the start time, you should be expected to be on time.

You have stated that productivity was an issue previously and now you are exceeding targets ... like a rollercoaster ... you were slacking, got a rocket up your ass, started to work again until the next slacking period?

In my experience, targets are usually set as minimum acceptable levels and everyone should aim to exceed them by as much as possible. Not just get the target and 'chill' or 'relax' as you do.

Again based on the evidence that you have shown, I believe you will spend the rest of your days doing the minimum, getting by and getting bitter about people who work harder and move upwards, bypassing you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭hawkmoon269

whippet wrote:

Again based on the evidence that you have shown, I believe you will spend the rest of your days doing the minimum, getting by and getting bitter about people who work harder and move upwards, bypassing you.

Wow. Where the hell do you get off judging people that you have never met like that? :confused:

whippet wrote:
    it is a big deal, especially when accompanied by that type of attiude.

Regardless of the start time, you should be expected to be on time.

You have stated that productivity was an issue previously and now you are exceeding targets ... like a rollercoaster ... you were slacking, got a rocket up your ass, started to work again until the next slacking period?

In my experience, targets are usually set as minimum acceptable levels and everyone should aim to exceed them by as much as possible. Not just get the target and 'chill' or 'relax' as you do.

ha ha, man, talk about making assumptions of people on the internet.

We have targets to reach monthly, if i'm not meeting those targets by the middle of the month, i'll know about it because i know how much i do and i work as much as i need to meet those targets. This is how it worked before she even came here and it was never a problem.

Unfortunately, you seem to have the attitude of most management, the 'live to work' attitude, where as i have the 'work to live' attitude. It's quite simple, i'm not bitter, i don't care who is above me, it doesn't bother me, i have my own ambitions in my life so there's no need to tell me what you 'believe'. My whole team believe i am in the right in the issues above as do i. I wouldn't expect you to understand though.

my judgment are based on evidence offered. everyone else seems to think it is ok to judge his boss based on obviously biased comments.

I am in the position I am in now purely based on hard work and good work ethics. My position now allows me to live the lifestyle I want. My life isn't dictated by my work, but my lifestyle sure is.

whippet wrote:
    my judgment are based on evidence offered. everyone else seems to think it is ok to judge his boss based on obviously biased comments.

I am in the position I am in now purely based on hard work and good work ethics. My position now allows me to live the lifestyle I want. My life isn't dictated by my work, but my lifestyle sure is.
    good for you, i'm pleased.

Whippet

Have you considered the reason why people dont want to be at work and only do the bare minimum, as a manager, what have you done to improve MORAL. Going hard on someone is only going to cause resentment. You need to find out what the problem is and stop thinking that the person is the problem.

As a manager how would you description your role.

If you what to work in an environment where everything runs to clock-work and runs like clock work go work for a company that specialises in Robots. Rememeber you're working WITH people.

Maturity in the work place. My god man take a dose of your own medicine.

Agree with you Whippet, and LundiMardi you seem to be your own worst enemy, as Whippet said your own posts stated what he commented on. Lateness - more than once , lagging behind on targets and well able to get up there if you are brought to task about it.

If you and your team have such a big problem with the supervisor for doing what she is being paid for then you know the route to take.

You also said that you got called for checking hotmail and personal internet use is prohibited, yet you are still on the internet most of today, not a lot of respect for rules it seems like

I just read the other posts by Whippet and am sorry but someone like you (Whippet) would never be employed by me. And if you did i'd give you a good kick in the arse out the door, personally.

You appear to think within the box, therefore being narrow minded to the fact that others factors need to be considered at all times before calling a judgement.

Such thinking within the box syndrome leads to a lack of productivity, as you (whippet) targets are set at a minimum level of reasonableness. Targets are goals to be achieved, met and broken and then new targets are put in place to change the productive levels, so you see you'll never get anywhere by setting low targets.

In fact high targets are only achieveable if reasonable, something you dont seem to understand. You should be ashamed of your previous posts for your lack of understanding on motivation and motivation techniques, organisational behaviour as well as sound managament skills, go back to school.

tirl wrote:
    Agree with you Whippet, and LundiMardi you seem to be your own worst enemy, as Whippet said your own posts stated what he commented on. Lateness - more than once , lagging behind on targets and well able to get up there if you are brought to task about it.

If you and your team have such a big problem with the supervisor for doing what she is being paid for then you know the route to take.

You also said that you got called for checking hotmail and personal internet use is prohibited, yet you are still on the internet most of today, not a lot of respect for rules it seems like

sweet jesus, will people actually read what i write?

Lateness - how in gods name can i help if i have car troubles? Show a little cop on ffs.

Targets - our targets have to be met on a monthly basis ok? Is that hard to understand? So, if i'm not on target midway through the month, I KNOW what i have to do to make it up, i DON'T NEED a kick up the arse, i'm not stupid. She asked me what she can do to help, i told her that her putting pressure on me DOES NOT HELP, i told her to just leave me alone and let me get on with it, did she listen? not a chance. She made me write an ''action plan'', so i wasted 45 mins of my day to write this crap, i told her that it wouldn't help, but she insisted. It was pointless, i just bull****ted my way through it JUST to get her off my back, in the end i did it my own way and met my targets fine. There is no issue, she just makes it an issue.

Internet - She uses the internet herself, how is that showing respect? I don't mind all this if it's warranted, but if you don't practise what you preach, as well as lie to your team, then you don't get my respect and don't deserve any respect. I haven't been on the internet most of today, if you must know i'm now at home, i doubled the amount of work i was ''expected'' to do today, so it's not exactly a huge deal, and if you truely think so then that's your problem.

Hpyocritics the lot of ya. And your not using the internet as well.

I am not prohibited from using it, i pay for it

man, this is getting quite amusing, Whippet, you are funny, hehe

now then.... ahem.....

I need to take out on Whippet first, tbh, I would classify you as a Power hungry Dictatoresque kind of boss, sorry if you are insulted but that is how I classify you.
    I woudl have a serious problem working with you too, and tbh, if I were, I would have probably been sacked by you at this time as I don't take sh!t about nothing from my bosses, life is just too short for that.
    the problem with Management is this, you can either destroy all moral in the team under you so they have no more emotions left and do their job as required and nothing more, this works to a certain extent, until your underlings actually say something, or even worse, leave the company and look elsewhere, productivity stays good for a time and targets are met, but that's just about it. If it is a major Corp, then it could even be that the department will just be closed or swallowed completely.

the next way to do things is to try and be the 'best friend', while moral is high with this, productivity laxes due to the fact that you let the people get away with too much stuff. and they think they don't have to take you for serious anymore, and it is a b!tch to get this attitude changed.

You need to find a basis between the both of them, I would be okay with it if someone was late for work, BUT HE HAS TO CALL IN SO PEOPLE KNOW THAT HE/SHE WILL BE LATE, and this happens way to seldomly. also, people should have a person who is bound to and keep to basic ground rules of this, you cannot in your right mind believe that if a boss is constantly late, that they have the right to kick someone else's bum, it just backfires behind their back. in this case, the time is actually a very valid factor, not from the point that ' Oh, damn, I can't be arsed to get up now' but from the point, that there is practically no public transport at that time, and yes, I am aware that he could walk or cycle, but if the distance is too far, you cannot factor this.
    I personally have the rule, that if I am happy and comfortable within my team, then during the worktime I will do as much as I can to assist others even, if my work is done, don't see anything wrong with that.
    So, once again, Whippet...... you're funny..... hehe

now who is judging people based on a few posts on a web forum?

I am stating facts from many years of managing sucessful sales teams in a few different companies.

I have in my time worked for a great variety of bosses and have learned lessons from them all. They all have strong and weak points. I don't profess to being a 'perfect' manager of people, but i can safely say that I am a relative success based on the progression of my career so far and the relationships with my staff.

Targets and sales are incumbent and go hand in hand - as a sales manager I don't think I need any one on a forum to explain to me how targets work or should work.

If you feel there is a problem with your boss, go through the available channels for regress, otherwise nothing will get better. I was giving my opinions based on the little 'one-sided' evidence that you gave and would always say - 'before blaming others, make sure that you have done all you can to help the situation'

It is far too easy to assume that others are to blame for your situation.

In the end of the day, I manage a department where by everyone knows what is expected of them, are motivated to achieve their goals, though a very fair working enviorment, occasionally going over and above to get there and are very handsomely rewarded for doing so. End result being winners all over, the company achieve a healthy bottom line, I get my cut of department earnings, employees who are engergetic about their work and control their own earnings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

whippet wrote:

Preaching on here is exactly what not to do. If you had any experience or skill as a manager, if you're not one you're trying to aspire to being one, then you would approach it in a completely different way.

I agree with some of your points, but she (his super) approached it in a completely unprofessional and incorrect way. You cannot expect professionalism from your employees unless you treat them in that manner.

Of course, I have only Lundi's version of events to go off here, so maybe she's a good manager, I don't know. But since I don't have the full story, I'm not going to assume anything or try and read between the lines here. Gilgamesh's advice in going to his manager's manager is the only way to go here. Follow the chain of command, make it work for you etc.

Aggressive "teacher-style" management is only the recourse of low level people who are way out of their depth. A decent manager with the requisite social skills can get the most out of a team without resorting to this.

Of course decent managers are hard to find. They do exist though.

whippet wrote:

Are you implying that others on here are different to this? Most of us started at the bottom and worked our way up mate. Even us young ones for the most part have done our work in the trenches so to speak.

whippet wrote:

I am stating facts from many years of managing sucessful sales teams in a few different companies.

I have in my time worked for a great variety of bosses and have learned lessons from them all. They all have strong and weak points. I don't profess to being a 'perfect' manager of people, but i can safely say that I am a relative success based on the progression of my career so far and the relationships with my staff.

Targets and sales are incumbent and go hand in hand - as a sales manager I don't think I need any one on a forum to explain to me how targets work or should work.

If you feel there is a problem with your boss, go through the available channels for regress, otherwise nothing will get better. I was giving my opinions based on the little 'one-sided' evidence that you gave and would always say - 'before blaming others, make sure that you have done all you can to help the situation'

It is far too easy to assume that others are to blame for your situation.

In the end of the day, I manage a department where by everyone knows what is expected of them, are motivated to achieve their goals, though a very fair working enviorment, occasionally going over and above to get there and are very handsomely rewarded for doing so. End result being winners all over, the company achieve a healthy bottom line, I get my cut of department earnings, employees who are engergetic about their work and control their own earnings.

indeed, now ask yourself how i could have possibly doubled my quarterly bonus. I may just say that last quarter i was second in my team with regards to productivity.

kluivert wrote:

Such thinking within the box syndrome leads to a lack of productivity, as you (whippet) targets are set at a minimum level of reasonableness. Targets are goals to be achieved, met and broken and then new targets are put in place to change the productive levels, so you see you'll never get anywhere by setting low targets.

In fact high targets are only achieveable if reasonable, something you dont seem to understand. You should be ashamed of your previous posts for your lack of understanding on motivation and motivation techniques, organisational behaviour as well as sound managament skills, go back to school.

what rubbish, firstly targets and their function are unique to each organisation. I have very little respect for 'management speak' type 'guys' that use american guru phrases like 'think outside the box' .. in my opinion its pretensious nonsense and actually means very little.

Where did i ever say 'low' or 'high' targets. In my place, we set targets which are achievable, if you surpass these you earn more commission, if you don't you recieve less obviously. Every year target levels are reassessed and commission structures are reviewed.

Where have I made any reference any where to my motivational techniques?

Whippet

I worked in sales as well, it is very target driven. Its a very tough place to work in and i have great admiration for those who stick with it. Different horses for different courses, a diplomatic approach often works best though.

Its actually a shame that money is the only motivator. McGregor (spelt wrong) had two theories on motivation. One was that people only work for money, the second one was the fact that others dont. First one wins hand down.

What is your motivation for going to work in the mornings is my question.

nesf wrote:
    Preaching on here is exactly what not to do. If you had any experience or skill as a manager, if you're not one you're trying to aspire to being one, then you would approach it in a completely different way.

Are you implying that others on here are different to this? Most of us started at the bottom and worked our way up mate. Even us young ones for the most part have done our work in the trenches so to speak.

I have plenty of experience of management.

You have taken that other quote totally out of context, I was replying to an accusation by the OP that I 'live to work'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

LundiMardi wrote:
    Targets - our targets have to be met on a monthly basis ok? Is that hard to understand? So, if i'm not on target midway through the month, I KNOW what i have to do to make it up, i DON'T NEED a kick up the arse, i'm not stupid. She asked me what she can do to help, i told her that her putting pressure on me DOES NOT HELP, i told her to just leave me alone and let me get on with it, did she listen? not a chance. She made me write an ''action plan'', so i wasted 45 mins of my day to write this crap, i told her that it wouldn't help, but she insisted. It was pointless, i just bull****ted my way through it JUST to get her off my back, in the end i did it my own way and met my targets fine. There is no issue, she just makes it an issue.

Internet - She uses the internet herself, how is that showing respect? I don't mind all this if it's warranted, but if you don't practise what you preach, as well as lie to your team, then you don't get my respect and don't deserve any respect. I haven't been on the internet most of today, if you must know i'm now at home, i doubled the amount of work i was ''expected'' to do today, so it's not exactly a huge deal, and if you truely think so then that's your problem.

Your problem definitely sounds to be with your attitude, I hate playing the game even though I know it I feel it debases me to pretend these pathetic mechanisms such as "action plans" actually count for something. If I get one though, I certainly dont tell the person who is already causing me hassle and can ultimately cause me a lot more, that it is pointless, that translates as "take your stupid games and stick them where the sun wont shine", that wont wash , think about it.
    I think people are a bit down on Whippet who is giving his opinions on what he ( i assume gender am not reading back to check) thinks and cos he is the manager people disagree, well I hate to say it but I agree with Whippet to an extent.

whippet wrote:

Really, what area of sales would that be then? Are we talking team leader here? Or telesales? Or business to business sales? As you know yourself there is a huge difference between managing a door to door or telesales team and managing a multi million euro business sales team.

The only way to learn how to manage is from the bottom. But if you manage by attacking as you did on here then you have a lot to learn about it.

Different areas, different targets. Sales and Manufacture targets are totally dissimilar. And within sales there is huge variation. Some targets are requirements, some are aspirational.

You should know this.

Gilgamesh already suggested this at the start of the thread.

And this makes your opinion right here how?

The OP might not be working in sales, he might be in a totally different field. Not every field has the sales system of good rewards for hitting targets. Most in fact don't. Targets are just a guideline in them and you get nothing for achieving them bar a possibility for promotion and a pat on the head.

I really think you need sit back and chill and look at this from a more general perspective mate. Sales is a very different field to the rest of the workplace.

whippet wrote:

You have taken that other quote totally out of context, I was replying to an accusation by the OP that I 'live to work'.
    accusation is a bit of a strong word don't ya think? I merely stated that that is a trait of management imo.

whippet wrote:

As have I. That doesn't make either of us right here. Just gives us a different perspective on things.

You should have quoted him then to make it clear what you were replying to. I didn't lift you out of context, the context and phrasing wasn't clear.

i don't work in sales by the way. Nor would i want to.

LundiMardi wrote:
    i don't work in sales by the way. Nor would i want to.

Really?

It's nice here, we have cookies. :)

kluivert wrote:
    Whippet

I worked in sales as well, it is very target driven. Its a very tough place to work in and i have great admiration for those who stick with it. Different horses for different courses, a diplomatic approach often works best though.

Its actually a shame that money is the only motivator. McGregor (spelt wrong) had two theories on motivation. One was that people only work for money, the second one was the fact that others dont. First one wins hand down.

What is your motivation for going to work in the mornings is my question.

I enjoy sales, it is tough but I am good at it and once you keep up with the changes in the industry and have an interest in it you can stay with it a long time. It really depends what area of sales you are in. Sitting on a phone selling broadband to home users, wouldn't be my cup of tea.

Money is not the only motivator, we usually run additional incentives during the summer quarter (our traditional slack spell), for years we offered triple commission on over target earnings, which never really hit the imagination. Last year we decided on offering everone who got 125% of target a €2500 holiday of their choice (including a week's extra holidays) .. the reaction was off the scale, and a huge success

ooooh, we have muffins! mua ha ha;)

In all fairness whippet there is alot of opinions flying about here at the moment and the topic is well off the beaten track.

Everyone to their own thing ok but the short and simple reasons for my posting is that the blame lies on both ends.

Right here it is....You'll never ever going to bridge the gap between management and employees only smooth the ground between them. There's no such thing as a perfect employee or managers because as human beings we are not perfect. But as a manager you should have enough experience and knowledge to realise this and at the same time know what to do to keep this "peace" between the two.

You (whippet) seem to realise this but the orginal posting in which this trend relates to, that manager "seems" that she does not understand this, in fact increases the resentment by dragging past events futher into the future.

whippet wrote:
    I enjoy sales, it is tough but I am good at it and once you keep up with the changes in the industry and have an interest in it you can stay with it a long time. It really depends what area of sales you are in. Sitting on a phone selling broadband to home users, wouldn't be my cup of tea.

Money is not the only motivator, we usually run additional incentives during the summer quarter (our traditional slack spell), for years we offered triple commission on over target earnings, which never really hit the imagination. Last year we decided on offering everone who got 125% of target a €2500 holiday of their choice (including a week's extra holidays) .. the reaction was off the scale, and a huge success
    a huge success......................and completely irrelavant.

can I have a cookie, please ;)

whippet, the only thing you did wrong is to put in EVERY post, that you are a manager, WE GOT IT THE FIRST TIME!!!!
    I don't come here to brag about what I have achieved sofar and I don't think it is healthy for anybody else to do so, as it means just about diddlysquat in an anonymous Internet Forum.

Whippet, go manage.
    OP goes to your supervisor's boss.

and everybody Have a nice day

LundiMardi wrote:
    a huge success......................and completely irrelavant.

as is half the thread
    WE GOT IT THE FIRST TIME!!!!

not everyone did !!!

whippet wrote:
    not everyone did !!!

they did, but they just don't care ;)

Have to agree with whippet there.

At this stage the trend is way off track.

More about management approach

Ok, we've all indulged ourselves enough on this one. Myself included.

Let's all get back on topic and discuss managerial approach. I think the OP's query was answered on the second post of this thread tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

nesf wrote:
    Ok, we've all indulged ourselves enough on this one. Myself included.

Let's all get back on topic and discuss managerial approach. I think the OP's query was answered on the second post of this thread tbh.

They will be back tomorrow, work is over for them now god love them ;)