Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help!

• 02-08-2005 5:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24

Do any one else have a problem with excess sweating?

I play alot of sport. An i sweat normally like everyone, so thats grand.

But i find, when im jus in the house doing nothing, sweat drips down my arms.

I find this happens mailny, just after a shower when im getting ready to go out. Maybe its the excitement? Its really embarassing. I have to wear certain colours so big patches dont show up. Gladly it dont stink, it jus pours out of me.

I was wondering if this is something in my head of medical, and also... how do i deal with it like going out etc....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Pistol Pete

Right guard.... OOOH THAT'S A FRESH PIT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

You can get special anti-perspirants at your local chemist AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

i know a ton of people that sweat after a shower.. its because sweating is releasing heat from your body thru your pores and u are really warm when u get out of the shower so u sweat like a lunatic...this weather has everyone sweating...maybe your not using strong enough anti persperient deodrant...try wearing more natural fibres eg cotton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Firstly: the shower. Turn it to warm, instead of hot, and see the effect. Another way is to turn it to cold for about 5 seconds before you switch it off.

As for sweating: get used to it. I prefer the cold, but recently, I'm only wearing t-shirts, as its just to hot to wear a jacket during the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭dragona

Ok - you need an anti -perspirant, as opposed to a deodorant such as Lynx.
    Try Mitchum, available at Boots and most pharmacies - very very good, in actual fact you can use it every other day rather than daily. It helps with the wetness factor! Also has a pleasant scent.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

dragona wrote:
    Ok - you need an anti -perspirant, as opposed to a deodorant such as Lynx.
    This will stop you sweating... which if what you want will work, but your body usually sweats cos its too hot, so if it can't sweat, you become too hot. Talk to the doc about this, me thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

You want Driclor! Available in chemists methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭hada

Funnily enough I have had the EXACT same problem as you until up to recently.

Just walking back from town I'd usually have been soaked in sweat. And just as you said, just as I'm zipping around the house getting ready to go out, before I'd have even left, my arms would be covered, actually soaked, in sweat. It never really smelt, but it was just a) so damn uncomfortable and b)damn embarrassing.

So anyway, to make a long story short, one day my mam arrived home with this stuff called "Triple Dry". It's a roll on cream sort of stuff. She got it from Boots. And it is absolutely positively one of the best things that has happened to me in the last 6 months... And you only need to use it 2-3 times a week!

Go for it, and tell me if it works (it will, I have no doubt) :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Paradox

thanks for all the advice people, I am say it to the doctor anyway cause i have to head there anyway.

As i said, im not worried about the stink, Its jus all the wet-ness. propper annoying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭DawnMc

Check out Mitcheum - it's a green roll on deodorant and it's u-n-b-e-l-i-v-e-a-b-l-e!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭thegloriousend

you need a soap based roll-on. anti-p and deodorant don't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭hada

you need a soap based roll-on. anti-p and deodorant don't work.

that's what triple dry is - a cream sort of substance that is absorbed into the sweat pores. I wouldn't really go to the doc, as he will probably say exactly what I am saying. My mam is a nurse and she was the person that did a little research and came up with the solution.

but i suppose it's no harm if you feel like it's a serious serious problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 neadla

A lot of people sweat excessively, usually underarms and palms. I reckon if you go to your doctor and discuss this problem that you've probably had since puberty, he'll/ she'll be able to give you advice and /or medication.
    Be careful with the medication though, remember that it could take a few months before you will get any real effect from them.
    Shower twice a day anyway.

Take care, :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 PatPete

This was a really helpful Thread!

I sweat a lot particularly in Summer and especially when I exercise. I am quite overweight and I always thought it was related to that. I am happy that others have similar problems and solutions.

At a recent visit to the GP he noticed that I was sweating but he blamed some tablets I was taking at the time. I haven't found it a Major problem just slighly embaressing.

The Thread has come up with some great tips. Sweating after a warm shower is my usual problem, but I towel myself dry and lie on the bed for a while until I cool down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭TinCool

I had the exact same problem since my late teens and like you had to be very careful with the shirts or tops that I'd wear. Like you, I could be sitting watching TV or whatever not hot at all and my under arms would be sweating perfusely. I used to wear t-shirts under my shirts or tops to help. I tried all sorts of so called anti-perperants but they never worked. I spoke to a friend of mine who is a surgeon and he said that this condition is known as hypohydrosis. So I did some research on this condition.

I found this product which I bought online from some UK pharmacy called anhydrol forte (recommended by a fellow boardster I might add). Lets just say this stuff changed my life. Bloody amasing. You put in on every 2nd day for about 2 weeks at night before you go to bed and wash it off in the morning. You'll see a noticable affect after about 2 or 3 applications. Now I only put it on about once a month. It is pretty harsh and tt does sting when you have it on but I think it's a small price to pay to be able to wear shirts that you want to wear. Does wonders for your self confidence too.

TC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

http://vanderbiltowc.wellsource.com/dh/content_print.asp?ID=573

Interesting article, particularly how diet effects sweating. In summer I sweat standing still, but moreso if I was on a bender the night before.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Lynx have a range of Anti-Perspirants called Lynx-Dry I think (there silver cans).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭DAEDULUS

maybe your eating too much salt ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

if it really is a problem for you, and you think anti-de's are a waste of time(like i do, they never work). A lot of people who sweat excessively go to a clinic for botox injections, they inject it into your underarms etc and it prevents sweating, don't ask me why, cos i can't remember, but it's 100% effective and lasts for around 6 months(i think) but it will cost a few hundred euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

TinCool wrote:
    I found this product which I bought online from some UK pharmacy called anhydrol forte (recommended by a fellow boardster I might add). Lets just say this stuff changed my life. Bloody amazing. You put in on every 2nd day for about 2 weeks at night before you go to bed and wash it off in the morning. You'll see a noticable affect after about 2 or 3 applications. Now I only put it on about once a month. It is pretty harsh and tt does sting when you have it on but I think it's a small price to pay to be able to wear shirts that you want to wear. Does wonders for your self confidence too TC.

i second Anhydrol forte. Its about 12.60, lasts ages and will change your life!!! Ya can get it in most chemists [usually the larger better stocked ones like Sam McCauleys, Boots etc.}
    I'm also a sufferer of excessive sweating -hypohydrosis [sp] and i have become so much more confident i dont have to worry about sweat patches and life is so less stressful since i started usin it!!

Botox isnt worth it btw its ridiculously expensive doesnt last very long for the price of it and many people if not all who have gotten it done notice excessive sweating in other areas [ewww]

Anhydrol forte - How long are ye using it that yous only have to use it once a month?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭TinCool

Paradox wrote:
    Anhydrol forte - How long are ye using it that yous only have to use it once a month?

I got it last September or there abouts. Used it on and off for about two weeks, then took a break for two weeks, than used it on and off for another week. Since then it's been once a month.

But as I said, you will notice a marked improvement after only two days.

TC

cheers man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

i've also suffered from the same problem as the op and after reading all the replies,i decided to try out Mitchum.It's true that it does help with the sweat patches and I feel much more confident going out,however,i have found that by the end of the day,while i have no sweat patches,a slight odour from my underarms is starting to become a problem,a problem that i never had when i was using normal deodorant.

does anyone have any ideas on how to stop this?