Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cavan V Mayo....the Verdict

• 24-07-2005 7:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

Who'll win....You decide

Who will win 15 votes

Cavan
    0% 0 votes
    Mayo
    100% 15 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Who voted Mayo!!!????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

Lemlin wrote:
    Who voted Mayo!!!????

*cock's gun :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Mayo to win. Will probably make heavy weather of it but should win by about 5 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

mayo to win by 3 points.last years finalists and with great players such as ciaran mcdonald i think mayo will pull out a win.cavan are on a good winning streak but i expect mayo to win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Cavan wil win they have rugged roughness about them that will bring down Mayo, they will not allow Mayo to play as they will win, this Cavan team are by no means super but it depends on who they are drawn against they could even reach the Semi-finals. Mayo were useless against an even more useless Galway side. I swear my local club would beat wither Galway or Mayo that day in the Connaught final.

05-KY-SAM

I agree with Netwhizkid. All Ulster teams are tough for the opposition to play. Mayo won't be used to the Ulster style of football and may struggle.

McDonald will have it hard. Anthony Forde, one of Cavan's more experienced team members and best players, will be marking him and he's a very hard opponent to play against. Cavan also tend to use Tyrone's tactic of dropping a half forward back to support the half backline line to win breaking ball.

If McCabe and McKenna are in the form at midfield that they were against Donegal and Meath, then McDonald will be starved of posession anyway and will have to drop out the pitch away from the goal where he does his damage.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Forde will mark McDonald out of the game and Mayo will struggle because of it. I reckon Cavan will win by two points. McCabe and McKenna will win it from midfield.

McDonald has looked very subdued so far. I just hope he doesn't burst into life against Cavan.

I don't know Lemlin, I know a few people over in that part of the world and they say that Mayo aren't a team at the moment. They are all fighting with each other and no one is really getting on. I was told this before the Connacht final and it looked like what he said was correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

Lemlin wrote:
    I agree with Netwhizkid. All Ulster teams are tough for the opposition to play. Mayo won't be used to the Ulster style of football and may struggle.

Didnt struggle against Tyrone last year! Mayo to win but it wont be pretty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I'd fancy Mayo to win, but I think it will be a close game. Also, if Mc Donald is playing well on the day, Cavan do not have anyone that could keep him under wraps, very few counties do.

I think you're underestimating Anthony Forde. McDonald has looked subdued to say the least in the Championship thus far anyway.

The Mayo support are already planning for the Kerry match and I think this bodes well for Cavan. Meath and Donegal supporters have already been sure of beating us and got a shock.

I think Mayo caught Tyrone out last year in that Tyrone underestimated them. Armagh did the same with Fermanagh.

Hopefully Cavan can win and setup a return to Croker against Kerry like in '97!

I cant explain why Meath thought they would win, they should have known after the Leitrim game they had little chance. I am not underestimating anyone, I just think that when Mc Donald is at the top of his game, there are only a few players in the country who can live with him. You are right though, he is inconsistent, but if he plays well he will run amuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

I think (and hope) Mayo should win at the weekend. There probably won't be a worse game this year than the Connaught Final and as a result a lot of people think Mayo are easy pickings. For the past few years, when expected to do badly, Mayo come up with a strong performance and I think that's what'll happen this weekend. McDonald is due a big game as is McGarrity so although my heart says Mayo, my head is in agreement. The only disaster is that I heard at lunchtime (not from an official source) that the game is in Hyde Park on Saturday evening at 5.30 which means a long evening in the pub - not a problem usually but when I'm getting married on Sunday....... :D

Waylander, to answer your question, Meath thought that they would hammer Cavan because of the same reason that every team think Cavan are an easy touch - our 21 point loss to Tyrone.

If anything, I think that has spurred the team on because the last thing they want is for their Championship to be remembered by that.

Congrats (I think :D ) on that threebeards. Lemlin I do not really agree with you there. Yes, Tyrone beat Cavan badly, but Cavan had beaten Donegal and got a draw against Tyrone as well. It was quite short sighted of the Meath fans to assume a victory in that one. I do think Mayo are a bit too strong for Cavan, but having said that they have not yet turned in a good performance in this years championship. So I think Mayo will win, but would not be hugely surprised if I was wrong.

Waylander wrote:
    Congrats (I think :D )

lol

DaBreno wrote:
    Didnt struggle against Tyrone last year! Mayo to win but it wont be pretty.

Could not agree more. There is more to the Mayo team than McDonald, and they certainly had a very bad day against Galway. Crap game but indecision in front of the posts was what cost them that day. It was evident against Roscommon as well. I expect them to learn from that and to put in a decent performance.
    Can't see them getting past Kerry on performances so far this year, but there is a score to settle there, so you never know. Have to beat Cavan all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Mayo should win
    at a guess I'd say 1-12 to 0-12

does anyone think the Irish translation of Mayo looks retarded?

Maigh Eo

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Are you saying that Jason isn't going to find the back of the net?! ;)

Cavan....... the underdogs again. Just the way I like it! If everyone was expecting them to win, I'd actually get worried then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,902 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Lemlin wrote:
    Cavan....... the underdogs again. Just the way I like it! If everyone was expecting them to win, I'd actually get worried then.
    Everybody expected Cavan to hammer Antrim and look what happened. Just about got a replay.
    Blackjack wrote:
    There is more to the Mayo team than McDonald, and they certainly had a very bad day against Galway. Crap game but indecision in front of the posts was what cost them that day.
    Equally, with one or two exceptions (Finbarr Reilly), Cavan's forwards have struggled to finish, and have had very high wide counts. It cost them against Tyrone, and nearly did them in against both Donegal and Meath. If the Cavan forwards find the form that they're capable of, Mayo will be in a lot of trouble.

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

A question for ye all:Cavan and Mayo have not met since the All-Ireland Final in 1948, but what else hasn't happened since that final?

No idea...

is this match being played in the Polo Grounds?

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    does anyone think the Irish translation of Mayo looks retarded?

Maigh Eo
    No. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
    Mayo is the anglicised version of the name. Maigh Eo translated means "Yew Plain".

1947 was the Polo Grounds Final. Keep thinking about it. I'll post the answer tomorrow.

Thanks Flukey

John Bannon has been chosen to referee the match.

I'll post the answer to my question this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Well, as I dedicated Mayo follower (God Help Me)....I've got to say I have divided views on the match.

Of Course I want Mayo to win, I think they will, Ulster teams strangely enough have not been a problem to Mayo in Championship football.

But, if Cavan win, please please please let it be the end of the John Maughan era.

If we can't (and we can't it seems) get the best 15 fellahs out onto the pitch, then what chance do we have of winning an All Ireland?

Maughan has destroyed the team spirit in Mayo, and the team is going nowhere without that.

One player from Ballina, all Ireland Club Champions it's a disgrace.
    Full forward from Ballina, one of the Brady's, is probably the best full forward in Ireland at the moment, hasn't even got a look in.

So .... Mayo to win, but I won't be crying if Cavan turn them over either.

Bring on John O'Mahony !!!!!

Flukey wrote:
    A question for ye all:Cavan and Mayo have not met since the All-Ireland Final in 1948, but what else hasn't happened since that final?

There hasn't been 8 goals scored since, and the ref hasn't blown up 2 minutes early either since (in the final)

The answer to my question is this:

Cavan v Mayo in 1948 was the last All-Ireland Senior Football Final between an Ulster and a Connacht team. The Armagh v Tyrone final in 2003 was the first since then that did not feature a Leinster or Munster team.

[size=+1]Creeping through summer unnoticed[/size] 28/07/2005

Gavin Cummiskey talks to Martin McElkennon as he prepares his Cavan team to face Mayo

Martin McElkennon has a good one for the superstitious types. Two years ago he was part of the Dominic Corrigan management team that guided Fermanagh to the All-Ireland quarter-final, when they beat all the teams Cavan have overcome this year.

For good measure, Tyrone inflicted heavy defeats on Fermanagh back then, and Cavan this time.

Fermanagh beat Mayo that year and Cavan are planning to complete the chain on Saturday in Dr Hyde Park.

Only it is not McElkennon's Cavan. It is Eamonn Coleman's. The former Derry manager, of 1993 All-Ireland winning fame, left his number two in command last April after being struck down with a rare strain of pneumonia.

Thrown in at the deep end, the man from Cookstown in county Tyrone has done a commendable job.

Word is already out about his abilities up north - when Coleman and Corrigan seek your expertise you have something special - and if Cavan beat Mayo he will automatically become a household name down south. Also, he'll become the story of the summer.

"It's been a roller-coaster year. We lost Eamonn a few months ago and to say it had a strained effect on everyone is an understatement. Although more than anyone it was the players that responded," says McElkennon.

There were enough survivors from the Ulster title-winning year of 1997 to help McElkennon carry the load. Brothers Peter and Larry Reilly, Dermot McCabe, Jason O'Reilly and Anthony Forde are all still around.

They've been putting it up to everyone since that summer without ever building on the breakthrough. Instead, they have become a springboard for others - see the extra-time dogfight with Derry in Celtic Park last summer that generated enough momentum for their opponents to make an All-Ireland semi-final.

After six games this time around - Mayo have played two - is it finally their turn? McElkennon takes a deep breath before giving you a breakdown on the story so far. A shaky opening draw with Antrim before dealing with them in the replay; let Tyrone off the hook before being stuffed; then showed remarkable grit to beat Donegal and Meath.

"That's six games played when we have won three, drawn two and only lost one. Tyrone have played five, won two, drawn two and lost one," he says.

So what was the key moment? "After being convincingly beaten by Tyrone in the replay the players took responsibility there and then. The management left them alone in the dressingroom and some harsh words were spoken. Several lads spoke. It showed we had a great team spirit still in place."

After beating Meath two weeks back to make it this far the players let off some steam. Not much, but enough.

"They are a level-headed, mature bunch of lads," says McElkennon. "After Meath, they all went for a couple of pints as a team. I encouraged it and it was only two pints. Thirty lads together for two hours really impressed me, with no lads going their separate ways."

He talks to Coleman regularly. The manager has been unable to even come to any training sessions since April 16th, but that doesn't mean McElkennon can't pick his vast football brain.

"When Eamonn went to Derry (for the second stint) he took me with him and then again to Cavan. Without Eamonn Coleman I wouldn't be here. We still chat about the team's progress and, with the help of God, he will be well soon."

Considering all the circumstances, Cavan and McElkennon are in a no-lose situation. This season's goals have already been achieved and after what they have been through already, Mayo don't hold any fear.

"We set out to make the under-21 Ulster final and did so by beating the All-Ireland champions Armagh and then Monaghan at home in Clones. We only lost to Down. Then we wanted to make the top 12 and here we are.

"I know we're not going to win the All-Ireland title, but this is something to build on. Really, it is all a bonus and the lads are training and talking that way.

"There has not been a run like this since 1997 or, for some, 1996 when the under-21s beat Meath in Dr Hyde Park to make the All-Ireland final (they lost to Kerry).

"We have made it this far without anyone really noticing us.

"Mayo may have been All-Ireland finalists from last year, but all the pressure is on them."
    I thought Cavan didn't give interviews? There was even an article in the programme at one of the Tyrone games about their "lack of respect for the media".

He sounds pretty confident, and the team seems pretty together, despite reports. Of course he would say that, but still

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

Yup, we shall see.

I think Mayo have more than enough for them tbh, however I wouldn't begrudge Cavan a run this year, because Mayo are going nowhere with Maughan in charge anyway :(

He mentioned 1997, I 'd say that was the easiest All-Ireland ever won in the modern era.

Kerry beat Clare, Tipperary, Cavan and Mayo (who didn't show up yet again :( )

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I don't know Lemlin, I know a few people over in that part of the world and they say that Mayo aren't a team at the moment. They are all fighting with each other and no one is really getting on. I was told this before the Connacht final and it looked like what he said was correct.

You are not wrong my friend :(

Lemlin wrote:

The Mayo support are already planning for the Kerry match

I wish :( .... Confidence is very low, so I wouldn't advice this as a tactic of motivating your troops.

Lemlin wrote:

I think Mayo caught Tyrone out last year in that Tyrone underestimated them.

In fairness, Mayo played Tyrone off the pitch last year,

gaa.ie wrote:
    Mayo make two changes

Friday, July 29

Mayo boss John Maughan has made two changes to the team that lost the Bank of Ireland Connacht SFC final to Galway on July 10, for this weekend's All-Ireland qualifier meeting with Cavan.

Trevor Mortimer has been handed a four-week suspension by the CDC for an incident in that final defeat, and so is ruled out of the game. Into his place at left corner forward comes Aidan Kilcoyne. The second change sees Alan Roche named at right wing back in place of Conor Moran.

Otherwise the team is unchanged with Ronan McGarrity and Shane Fitzmaurice retaining their midfield partnership, team captain Ciaran McDonald leads the attack from the 40 and Billy Joe Padden again at full forward.

Mayo - D Clarke; D Geraghty, D Heaney, G Ruane; A Roche, J Nallen, P Gardiner; R McGarrity S Fitzmaurice; A Moran, C McDonald, A Dillon; C Mortimer, BJ Padden, A Kilcoyne.
    The Mortimer suspension could be a factor in the game. Not necessarily because he's so much better than Kilcoyne (I don't know enough about them to call that), but the way the suspension happened. I'd say there'll be a bit of ill-feeling in the Mayo camp that they only got 2 days notice. And if they allow themselves to become distracted by it in any way, Cavan will wipe the floor with them

gaa.ie wrote:
    Rabbitt, Johnston make Breffni line-up

Friday, July 29

Defender Darren Rabbitt and attacker Seanie Johnston have both been included in the Cavan team that takes on Mayo in the Bank of Ireland All-Ireland SFC Qualifier fourth round on Saturday.

Both players had started the third-round meeting with Meath two weeks ago, but had been forced out of the game in the second half because of injury. However, they came through training on Thursday night unscathed and so are named at full back and right corner forward respectively.

It means that Cavan have named an unchanged side from the one that beat the Royals. Dermot McCabe and Pearce McKenna are again the midfield partnership, while Nicholas Walsh is named at centre forward.

Jason O'Reilly and Larry Reilly complete the full forward line with Johnston, while in the defence Pauric O'Reilly retains his place at left corner back and Peter Reilly at left wing back.

A victory in Saturday's game would provide the Breffni men with a chance to place in the All-Ireland series proper for the first time since 1997, when they were Ulster champions, and the first chance to play in the fully redeveloped Croke Park.

Cavan - J Reilly; M Hannon, D Rabbitt, P O’Reilly; M Cahill, A Forde, P Reilly; D McCabe, P McKenna; M McKeever, N Walsh, F O’Reilly; S Johnston, J O’Reilly, L Reilly.
    Good to see Johnston and Rabbitt are fit. In contrast to Mayo, Cavan are coming into the game having 'gained' 2 players. There'll be a bit of a feeling of "things are going our way, it's a good sign". Hopefully anyway. Pity Lyng isn't back to full fitness though. At least I assume that's why he's not starting

I had a very good view of Mortimers 'challenge', he deserves his ban, and got off lightly.

Kilcoyne as a replacement for him isn't up to much I'm afraid. :(

Conor Moran is a class act, but hasn't played well yet, he's a play maker....Roche is more defensive player, extremely tough and physical, can 'roast' his opponent if on form.

All in all, these changes weaken Mayo, who are not a team in harmony at the moment anyway. Still think they have enough to beat Cavan, but could well be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

congrats Threebeards

What can I say... very disappointed. I know Mayo kicked 18 wides but they were there for the taking.

Our backline did its best (Conor Mortimer having to be taken off because he was doing nothing) but the forwards struggled. They couldn't get the scores on the board and Finbarr missed a few frees too.

Think Rabitte having to go off so early affected the team and ruined the gameplan. The wholesale changes at half time didn't seem to work either, I thought Cavan were winning alot more ball around midfield before they were made.

I wish Mayo the best but another performance like that and Kerry will chew them up.

Mayo were terrible, Cavan were abysmal.

Was nearly hoping Cavan would win, and finally help us get rid of Maughan.

We are going nowhere fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Jeebus that second half was as bad as I've ever seen. Mayo completely dominated the midfield sector and both half back/fwd lines. Mayo won every single high ball in the second half, yet the Cavan keeper kept kicking it out to them! I think it was injury time before he played a short one to a Cavan man.

I suppose Mayo do have potential if they get their shooting boots on, and maybe Kerry will take them too lightly - but its hard to see anything other than a comfortable Kerry win. I presume Cavan arent always that bad... It was absolutely amazing that they were still only a kick of a ball behind at the end after being so totally outplayed.

I could set a thread up here and talk all week about the potential in Mayo.

7 out of the last 9 Connaught Club champions have been from Mayo, we consistently churn out teams that get to the last 4 at underage level.

There are 5 or 6 fellahs that should be on the present Mayo team, but Maughan has fell out with them.

The supporters, and more importantly the team have lost all confidence in Maughan, only 3000 supporters went to Roscommon, everyone is completely despondent.

We have the footballers, we do not have the proper selection and management.

Anyways Rant over..... Hard Luck Cavan supporters, I know what it feels like when your team doesn't even show up for the game.

Did anyone see Jason O'Reilly at the game? I didn't see him anywhere. He must have been hiding somewhere as usual.

Alany wrote:
    congrats Threebeards
    :D Thanks Alany, deed is done and I'm now under the thumb.

That game on Saturday was as bad as the Connaught Final and I'm dreading that because I fear Kerry will have an easier game than they did against us in 97. I kept a special eye on Conor Mortimer because I think he's hugely over rated. He got the ball 3 times in the first half and "fell" 7 times. Me thinks Cristiano Ronaldo is his role model. He's just not good enough.

I agree with Culchie about the Maughan situation. It's past time for him to go and I only hope that John O' Mahoney gets the chance he deserves although I think changes need to be made at county board level before he'd ever be happy to come back.

Can anyone tell me is there anywhere in Orlando I can watch the game next w/e?

I seen a match in an Irish bar around Church Street threebeards in '95 .... don't know if it is still there or not.

Congrats by the way ! :)

P.S You are sad to be on boards now !!! :eek:

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Threebeards - suprised your head is up to coming on here!!! ;)

God if I ever wanted Mayo to lose it was last Saturday, it was cringe cringe and more cringe!! Not a hope in hell of me going to Dooblin to pay 100 notes plus to get hammered, maybe not hammered, I actually think we might keep it to 3 or 4 points, time will tell.!!!

Enjoy Orlando jock ;)

Culchie wrote:
    You are sad to be on boards now !!! :eek:

Since I joined, I brought the average age of boards up by about 8.3 years :D
    yop wrote:
    Enjoy Orlando jock ;)

I'll do my level best! Headin away on Friday, can't wait :)

The only Cavan forwards I saw were the half forwards roaming around the backline. Finbarr O'Reilly caught the ball twice in his own square and he was a wing forward.

James Reilly can't be blamed for the kick outs. The half backs and backs weren't looking for short balls, because they're not used to doing that, so all he could do was drive the ball to midfield. This probably wasn't evident when you saw the game on TV.

Cavan's biggest problem was bringing on subs. John Tierney was non existent and Anthony Gaynor was obviously not match fit. He has a very long kick though and he was more than likely brought on to try and drive the ball onto the forwards.

Like I said before, the team lost alot of its shape when Rabitte went off. Its a pity he was injured.