Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just back from John Kavanagh's seminar.

• 24-07-2005 4:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭

I'm so beat. I was out of training for 9 months with an ankle injury so this is really my first time back training and what a seminar it was. John's training methods are without a doubt, brilliant. His approach to teaching and the attention he gives to even minor details is amazing.

We covered clinch work, working for takedowns, the takedowns against resisting partners. Before even showing the correct way to take a person down, John let us try for ourselves and see what worked and what didn't. This right here is what seperates what's functional and what's not. After drilling what worked, John should us some other takedowns that he alrady had in his arsenal. We added these to our drills and the percentage of takedowns rose amongst everyone.

I don't have the time frame to post everything covered in great detail, but we went over the ground game, worked some butterfly guard, some sweeps and submissions. I've seen John roll before over in England and had the pleasure of rolling with him back then but I didn't get a fair assessment of his real ability. I saw that today. His jiu-jitsu is not good, it's fluent. His training ethic is great and I'll most certainly be asking John to come abck down to us another time.

I'm sure Musashi will give his thoughts on the day as will Shane. Great day and thanks again John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Nice sounded like you have fun..

A little off topic, but what happened to your ankle which put you out for 9 months?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Popped it in training :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Ger Healy

dlofnep wrote:
    I'm so beat. I was out of training for 9 months with an ankle injury so this is really my first time back training and what a seminar it was. John's training methods are without a doubt, brilliant. His approach to teaching and the attention he gives to even minor details is amazing.

We covered clinch work, working for takedowns, the takedowns against resisting partners. Before even showing the correct way to take a person down, John let us try for ourselves and see what worked and what didn't. This right here is what seperates what's functional and what's not. After drilling what worked, John should us some other takedowns that he alrady had in his arsenal. We added these to our drills and the percentage of takedowns rose amongst everyone.

I don't have the time frame to post everything covered in great detail, but we went over the ground game, worked some butterfly guard, some sweeps and submissions. I've seen John roll before over in England and had the pleasure of rolling with him back then but I didn't get a fair assessment of his real ability. I saw that today. His jiu-jitsu is not good, it's fluent. His training ethic is great and I'll most certainly be asking John to come abck down to us another time.

I'm sure Musashi will give his thoughts on the day as will Shane. Great day and thanks again John.

I won't say I told you so!!

We're going to get him down again Ger, and I'm going to try get a job in TV production in in dublin when I do a tv production course there. I can train in John's place. I think my game would pick up alot.

Musashi, where are you? I bet he's asleep after today. LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

I been formatting this heap of a PC to get online man! Again!

Right, PC is working again for the minute but I dunno how long that will last :)

First off thanks to John and the boys for inviting me down and to John Kavanagh for his time,had a good session with the lads yesterday:)

I knew this ground thing would be tiring and awkward but it was all that and more.I was sweating like a priest in a playground,and that was only doing drills,not all out grappling for submission.Thanks to Tony,Warren,Francis and the other lads for the tips and practice.
    John Kavanagh was a nice guy,no BS or attitude at all,just a good laugh and a nice guy.I know very little about this ground game thing,but to me watching him it just seemed so easy for him to tap out the bigger lads there.
    They were obviously trying to win but he just rolled around and then locked or choked em up.Like anyone that is very good at what they do,he made it look easy and as if what he'd done was the only possible outcome from the outset.Whether he started off giving the lads every advantage or whatever,in ten seconds or less they were done.
    He obviously has a depth of technical knowledge as well,explaining stuff very clearly and simply,then getting us to try it out and see wahat worked,what didn't and going over the various "what ifs".
    The time flew,and being as unfit as I am that was just as well.At one stage I didn't know if I was gonna pass out or throw up,trying to escape the mount is a tough drill!! I thoroughly enjoyed myself though,and would recommend any of the lads on here to try train with John,or any of the MMA/SBG lads.Even if you have no interest in ground or clinch for your sport,it's well worth seeing what others are doing and how different it is to the standing striking styles.
    For myself its opened a new area of study and shown me a huge gap in my own training.I'm hoping to remedy this out in Tramore and Waterford with Shane and John,if my body ever stops hurting! Everything from my ears down is aching,and we did no "Exercises" as such,just purely shooting for leg takedowns and grappling (man wrasslin') on the ground.
    Good laugh all round and I'm certainly glad I got to do it.Especially for my first introduction to SBG to have come from John Kavanagh himself,cheers lads, hope to see ye again soon.

Glad you had a good time. My body is in pain too as I've been out for ages. Drop out to us in tramore whenever you want, you have my number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

Fight shorts and their like should be kept for pro wrestlers, brazilians and swimmers. No one else has an excuse. Especially with the Ireland pastiness factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭kerinsp

Can anyone go to these type of seminars? Is it open to people who have never done bjj?

kerinsp wrote:
    Can anyone go to these type of seminars? Is it open to people who have never done bjj?

Anyone is invited to come along, Musashi came and he had never did BJJ before and he did just fine. It's a great experience and should be tried by everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭waterford mma

just to say thanks again to john for coming all the way down. i've been getting good feedback by all who attended, his workshop approach to jiujitsu is what made this seminar great, rather than show us lethal secret moves or counters to counters of the reversal of a counter to a rear naked choke etc he simply covered some basics, paying attention to detail on how they were carried out and showed us how to drill them properly, rather than repeat a certain number of moves a certain number of times and then spar, he let us experiment with the moves, then helped us to work out any problems we were having, then we worked them on a resisting opponent, if it wasn't working we identified what the problem was and more importantly what the solution was, i found this Introduction, isolation and integration theory very sensible and will continue to train like this. At the end we did get to roll around with everyone and i had my opportunity to roll with jk, his technical ability is amazing and just proved that what he does works, and works well. (didn't bother using my touch of death since we were only training) will hope to get john back soon, with a bit more notice we'll have a lot more people at the next one too i'm sure.
    anyways must be off now
    thanks to all the lads for attending especially to francis heagney for showing up on such short notice, and thanks again to jk.
    (hope you enjoyed the sunny south east john)
    later folks

shane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

thanks very much for the kind words lads

was great to train with you guys again and was amazing to see how much you've come on since the last time at Quannum - definately doing something right down there!!

looking forward to the next one already :)

also nice to put a face to Mushashi - fair play for coming along and trying something new, true spirit of the open minded martial artist!

jk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭paul moran

John will be in Blackrock (Dublin) this Wednesday the 27th of July if there are anybody interested in coming along.

We have had John out 3 times this year already and hope to set-up another 4 workshops in Sept - Dec, it is essential for those people who train only in stand-up to at least understand the basics of groundfighting so as to be able to stand and fight (or run :) )

We are based in Newpark Sports centre on Newtownpark Ave (down the road from the Playwright pub).

It is open to all but you must email me on pm@ymaa.ie if you are interested in attending as alot of those who attended the previous workshops will be there.

Cost €20
    Time 6.30 - 9.30

Topics (if I am correct, may be changed)
    North-South Escapes, Ground and Pound defense and Mount Attacks.

John,
    Thanks again for the chance to train SBG stylee :)
    And for not pointing and laughing when I got arm barred by a girl (Suzie?)

Goes to show when your outside your own area ,skills will win over size,I had a couple kilos on her after all!

Most I knew about this came from watching "The Ultimate Fighter" and a bit of "Pride" on the Playstation.
    All the lads who were there accepted I knew FA about grappling and just showed me what I was supposed to try to do,rather than taking the chance to show how superior grappling is to whatever MA I had done before.
    I've been to a few TMA clubs could take a lead from these boys as to how to treat visitors and new students.Beating hell out of a lad won't convince him that your MA is the mostest.
    fair play for coming along and trying something new

My pleasure, if I were to keep doing what I always did,I'd only ever be able to do that and anything outside of that narrow area will flummox me completely.
    One of the younger lads told me he's only been training since January but he got my back and choked me.Lucky chance,or does a Dan Grade in TKD put me well behind the curve when it comes to ground?
    I know myself which it is as I went and found out,I think more TMA folks could do with being more open to the idea that they may not have all the answers for all ranges.So now I'm gonna get out to the lads and hopefully next time I won't be tapped or choked as easily.
    Whatever else,it's a hell of a workout and a fun way to get back into training for anybody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

January to july is a fairly long time, especially if you've spent that time trying your damndest to choke people all most of the time. I'd be dissapointed for anyone training that long if they couldn't choke a newby, regardless of what training they had done.

Musashi wrote:
    John,

John's girl. Watch that ;) Suzie is a great grappler. I was amazed by her technical ability. As far as John goes, I will definitely be dropping by SBG when I'm going up to Dublin. John proved yesterday what a great teacher he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

damn i really want to train with "JK" and find some faults so I can say something negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

Musashi wrote:
    One of the younger lads told me he's only been training since January but he got my back and choked me.Lucky chance,or does a Dan Grade in TKD put me well behind the curve when it comes to ground?
    I was a second dan in Taekwondo when I started grappling and I was about three motnhs behind the other guys I started rolling with. I wouldn't like to say that TKD sets you back when it comes to grappling, as that probably isn't true, but it certainly doesn't help!

Those 9 months off really didn't do much for me, my legs and arms are still sore. I need to do some serious excercising. Musashi, are you still feeling the pain today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

Man my girlfriend has been known to tap me out, imagine how I feel!! :eek: :o
    I don't think your dan grade in TKD will make much difference one way or the other. Have to agree with mick, you'd expect someone training since january to beat a newcomer pretty easily. a TKD black belt won't mean much once you hit the ground, unless of course you can use it to pull off a sneaky choke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Man my girlfriend has been known to tap me out, imagine how I feel!!

Dude whatever you do in your own time....

pics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

Someone ban john for that

;(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

Yes, no disrespecting of the Ruth - she was very nice when I (accidently I assure you) nicked her pint after Bushido Rings.

Any further such requests will be met with pics of me in speedos - YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

speedos? pics.

Totally rad!

a TKD black belt won't mean much once you hit the ground, unless of course you can use it to pull off a sneaky choke!
    Strange coincidence but I was actually choked out by someone tonight using his belt. B%stard must have been reading this thread :mad:

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    Strange coincidence but I was actually choked out by someone tonight using his belt. B%stard must have been reading this thread :mad:

Naughty naughty using the belt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

lol! try rolling with 'flying fist of judu' andy ryan, finds horribly creative ways of tapping you out :D

i actually think he may be the same guy i heard about a while back who was getting a lot of hassle from the judo association for trying to have competitions that devalued stand up and wanted to give more emphasis on groundwork in competition. having said that, may not be anything to do with him at all.

Tim_Murphy wrote:

You see sometime when you say sh*t it comes back to haunt you

say things, create websites etc etc....
    story of my life!

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    say things, create websites etc etc....
    story of my life!

Hey Tim fook them if they can't take a joke :D