Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hurling Championship Quarter Finals

• 20-07-2005 10:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

So this weekend is the first weekend of the hurling championship quarter finals, and I am expecting two great games.

In the first game there are two tough teams who I am expecting to tear into each other. I am hoping that Wexford can win! If it is a warm day their fast light forwards might get a lot of joy out of Clares older, slower backs. However Wexford are sweating over the fitness of Adrian Fenlon and whether or not he play could be crucial in this game.

In the second game I am expecting a shoot out! But unless Waterfords full back line and goalkeeper can improve I am going to have to go for a Cork win. Having said that in both games against them to date the opposing midfield have ran up big scores against them (Eoin Kelly and Paul Kelly in particular), which could be a serious flaw in their game plan. Cork have named their team for the game
    D Óg Cusack; P Mulcahy, D O'Sullivan, B Murphy; J Gardiner, R Curran, S Óg Ó hAilpín; T Kenny, J O'Connor; B O'Connor, N McCarthy, T McCarthy; K Murphy, B Corcoran, J Deane

Going on a week, I expect to see a lot of fancy hurling in the Tipp versus Galway game. I would have questions about either team having the steel to go any further, but after Tipps second half performance (aided by Cork easing up) maybe they have a few players who can stand up physically.

In the fourth quarter final, especially following the problems in the Limerick camp, I cannot see anything other than a Kilkenny victory.

What do other people think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Kilkenny, Cork, Tipperary and Wexford, probably. Galway and Tipp along with Wexford and Clare are harder to call. Waterford could beat Cork, but Kilkenny probably must be rated as the hottest favourites. Now, if only I could get tickets! :(

Waterford could beat Cork, and I hope they do, but probably not. Wexford and Clare is hard to call, maybe just Wexford. Tipperary and Galway is another tough one. Probably Tipp, though I hope it is Galway. Equally I hope Limerick beat Kilkenny, but I don't give them much hope. Now, if only I could get tickets. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭McClane

Unfortunately Kilkenny will run away with it after a good first half performance by Limerick.

Galway to put on a decent performance against Tipp but Tipp to win fairly easily in the end.

I'd have to say Waterford could very well beat Cork. I'll put a few bob on it anyways. Corks weaknesses were clearly shown at the Munster final. Theres no doubt they're a great team but they had to rely on frees against Tipp in the second half and when their game plan gets counter-acted they've very little else to turn to. Saying that, the ball is in Waterfords court and they have to do the work but i feel they are well capable of it.

Wexford and Clare is going to be the closest game to call i think. I'll say Wexford by an inch. Clare made a fantastic recovery from their defeat by Tipp. Fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Have to echo most sentiments above although I reckon Galway may run Tipp a lot closer than some people are expecting. I've been really disappointed by the Deise this year and can't see them troubling Cork again. Kilkenny should have reasonably few problems against Limerick. The tightest match will be Wexford v. Clare but I just don't think the Banner have it in them to pull it off.

I'm hopefully getting tickets for the Bank Holiday weekend games so that I can cheer the Tipp lads on to victory against Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Guzzler

I think Wexford should be able for Clare. I can't see Clare getting soft goals on Fitzy and the Wexford forwards should exploit the space in Croker. If it had been at a Munster venue, they could struggle.

I think Waterford being beaten by Clare was probably the best preperation they could have had. Cork were ropey enough at times against Tipp. I understand teams with that sort of lead ease off but they went out of it. On another note how does Timmy McCarthy make the Cork team ??

Wexford and Waterford.

I got a ticket on Ticketmaster for Sunday week's game and my ticket for this Saturday's replay has already arrived, but no luck for this Sunday. Their contradictory links, saying they have and then haven't tickets are annoying.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

What is the problrm with geting tickets for Sunday? Where are you from if I can ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

What is the problrm with geting tickets for Sunday? Where are you from if I can ask?
    The "problem" is they are expecting 80,000. The Croke Park ticket office is sold out and there are no more going on general sale. If you are in one of the competing counties you should have no real problems, but if you are a neutral like Flukey, then it seems difficult.

You probably should have been on to Croke Park directly Flukey, rather than going via ticketmaster - although maybe you were as well. There's probably still a chance a few tickets will appear on Friday or Saturday

I'm a Dub Cruiserweight, but I hardly ever miss a big match in Croke Park and if I do, I have a damn good reason. It has taken the last Pope himself to get me to miss them, I kid you not. :) I've been there 11 times so far this year. That's more than a lot of the fans that will be there on Sunday have been there in their life. :) I don't begrudge them their tickets though. I expect a few will turn up before Sunday Rooster, as usually happens. Still, it is nice to have them early. I've already got mine for Saturday and have Sunday week's one ordered as I said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Flukey wrote:
    I'm a Dub Cruiserweight, but I hardly ever miss a big match in Croke Park and if I do, I have a damn good reason. It has taken the last Pope himself to get me to miss them, I kid you not. :) I've been there 11 times so far this year. That's more than a lot of the fans that will be there on Sunday have been there in their life. :) I don't begrudge them their tickets though. I expect a few will turn up before Sunday Rooster, as usually happens. Still, it is nice to have them early. I've already got mine for Saturday and have Sunday week's one ordered as I said.

Should have known you were a Dub from posts in other threads :o
    Just curious about the ticket situation because I never have trouble getting tickets for games (although I normally only go to Wexford games be they football or hurling). I would say though that tickets will turn up an be floating around before and on Sunday!

I expect as much as well. I am a big GAA fan, so it doesn't really matter who is playing in Croke Park, I want to be there. From the Club Finals on St. Patrick's Day to the All-Ireland Finals in September, or the International Rules series in October when they are on, I am there. I was in Croke Park 26 times last year. I have been at the Football Final for the last 25 seasons, including replays. I have been at the Hurling Final 24 out of the last 25 seasons, but then the Hurling was final was in Thurles in 1984, which I wasn't at. :) So, as you see, I am a big fan. How do I get tickets? With great difficulty! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Norinoco

Just heard about the injuries on the kilkenny team for sunday week.

Richie Power maybe out due to a suspected broken bone in his shoulder,

Noel Hickey out due to a viral illness.

Peter Barry out due to a groin strain

Has some sort of bad luck plague come down on kilkenny players...!

I wouldn't think so, but we can live in hope! :)

According to the GAA site, some tickets have been returned and will be on sale at Croke Park tomorrow. Problem solved!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

hennessey
    feeney
    hartley
    murray
    browne
    ken
    murphy
    bennett
    kelly
    dan
    brick
    flynn
    pender
    mullane
    kennedy

Has some sort of bad luck plague come down on kilkenny players.

They have been fairly lucky injury wise the last few years compared to teams like Tipp. I reckon Brian Cody sold his soul for 5 years of good luck and now all the bad lucks coming down.

I got a ticket at Croke Park earlier. I am in the Upper Canal End. There was a bit of a queue, longer than I expected, but nothing compared to what I have seen for Dublin matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭River Allow

Guzzler wrote:
    On another note how does Timmy McCarthy make the Cork team ??
    I hate people that diss Timmy McCarthy. In my opinion, he is a good hurler, has proved himself many times. People often seem to forget his goal against Tipperary last year which was badly needed. Granted, he's not Henry Shefflin but he's still worth his place.

First a disappointing match and then after that a disappointing result. :(

Let's hope next week is better and that Galway and Limerick win.

Flukey wrote:
    First a disappointing match and then after that a disappointing result. :(

Let's hope next week is better and that Galway and Limerick win.
    Wasn't disappointing at all Flukey... The champions won, fair and square!!! Although, being honest, it was dodgy for bits! But we still did it.
    Bring on the Banner County!!!

UP THE REBELS!!

Having Galway connections and never wanting to see one of the big three win, I was very pleased with Galway winning. Limerick could have done better against Kilkenny. The only really played in the second half. The thing is now for them to build on it. Here's hoping for a Clare v Galway final with Galway to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭bbbbb

Was at Croker yesterday for the first time in a while. As a Galway man, really enjoyed the first game :-) though I'm sure Tipp will feel they let it slip away.

Limerick/Kilkenny wasn't as good. Limerick gave them a good game, and got stuck in, but missed too many chances. Kilkenny didn't seem to be at their best, not sure if they were there for the taking, or just did enough on the day.

Would still think Kilkenny are favourites for the semi, Galway will need to be at least as good at they were against Tipp, plus match the Limerick grit. As my uncle said yesterday (Limerick man), "you won't out-skill Kilkenny".

Just need tickets now...

Galway need to up their performance a lot. They missed a lot of scoring chances in the first half. They should have been a lot closer than they were. They can't afford to do that the next day. Kilkenny don't look great, but they have more in the tank. You'd have to put them as favourites for the match, but hopefully...! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭johnnyc

Cork have to be the hot favourites for the all-ireland this year they have a more rounded team especially the defence..kilkenny are suspect in the back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

johnnyc wrote:
    Cork have to be the hot favourites for the all-ireland this year they have a more rounded team especially the defence..kilkenny are suspect in the back!

I don't know about that, Would have to be them or Kilkenny I suppose but I don't think I would consider them 'hot' favourites. Clare isn't exactly gonna be a walkover and Galway are a pure enigma.Having said that i don't thinmk Kilkenny are as unstoppable as most people thought before Sunday.

By the way when are the two semi finals gonna be played.

God no, Kilkenny are definitely stoppable. Take last year as example... Beaten by Wexford, drawn by Clare and beaten by eight points by Cork(You can never say that too much!!) I agree that Clare won't be a walkover, they've had a great championship so far. However, they are a more physical team, will run with everything at us. Reckon that Cork will have more in the tank, more speed and Clare will find it difficult to stop their run, draw a man, pass technique! Galway will threaten Kilkenny and after Sunday's display can't say who would win. However, I do believe that KK are better than their display on Sunday. Its always been said that you play to the level that the opposition plays. I believe that was the case on Sunday. They plyed to Limerick's level. They are without doubt or hesitation better than that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Lads do ye think the Clare -Cork game will be a sell out?
    IMO i doubt it but ya never know.
    Where can you get tickets for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭KnowItAll

Flukey wrote:
    Galway need to up their performance a lot. They missed a lot of scoring chances in the first half. They should have been a lot closer than they were. They can't afford to do that the next day. Kilkenny don't look great, but they have more in the tank. You'd have to put them as favourites for the match, but hopefully...! :)
    Yes. Their skill levels were way above Tipps but they seemed to lack something (other than their shooting accuracy) until they got the second goal. Too many times they took the wrong option, like hitting the ball straight into the hands of tipps keeper cummins and shooting from everywhere.

People are talking about Cloonan but he's overrated in my opinion. He dosn't try at all!

I think they'll match KK though. There won't be more than 2 or 3 points in it either way.

Kilkenny are a team in decline, many people seem to forget that this team has been around for what ? more or less the last 9 years ?
    You can see it in their game too, they would still be very much favourites and Cork actually look more like a team thats not got its head in the right place yet.

Overall Kilkenny and Cork are both not as good as they were last year, although still above Galway and Clare. Kilkenny would still be the favourites though.
    Yes. Their skill levels were way above Tipps

Tipp were pathetic. Moreso the Tipp management were pathetic. It should be quite obvious to everyone that Tipp team was never going to go far. Did you see their half forward line ? Two defenders and a mid-fielder.

Galway were the much better team but Hogan picked the wrong Tipp team, just as he has done all year. Bringing on C O'Mahoney in the FB when the lad hasn't even got a run this year and leaving J Devane in CF when the lads CLEARLY a FB ?

Thats madness and the Tipp fans around me at the match were saying it from first puc till the last whistle. They were not happy with the team from the word go, even when Tipp were leading well they seen the cracks of Doom. (The far far far too easily stepped by Midfield and defense.)

No disrespect to Galway but Tipp lost the game before the throw in, Galway didn't win it. They will have to seriously improve to prove any sort of threat to Kilkenny, that performance would get them nowhere against Kilkenny, Cork or a proper Tipp selection.

Saying that i'll be shouting for them from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I'm from Mayo, so I won't pretend to know about the intricate details of Hurling....... however Kilkenny are not a team in decline, in evolution maybe.
    Please post the Kilkenny team of 9 years ago here, and also todays team, and I would be surprised if there are 5 or 6 players from that 1996 team ( I am completely open to correction here, so I'll take my punishment)

One of these key success factors is they bring in 2 or 3 new players every year to an already successful team.

They might not win the All Ireland this year, on the law of averages you can't win every year.

I'm from Mayo, so I won't pretend to know about the intricate details of Hurling....... however Kilkenny are not a team in decline, in evolution maybe.

Oh ? How do you figure that ?

9 semi-final appearances and 3 AI's to show for it ? Piss poor return if you ask me. Kilkenny have being in decline for a while now. They shouldn't have beaten Cork in 2003, look at how many wides Cork had and Kilkenny still struggled to beat them. But i'll give them that, thats the way the game goes.

Reliance on DJ is going to destroy them, hes still vital to them as is seen in a lot of games. Thats clearly a sign of decline.

In the future is history going to remember a great Kilkenny team or remember a kilkenny team that won 3 AI's when their greatest rival Tipperary and everyone else's (Barr a rejuvenated Cork team) standards was piss poor.

Look at Kilkennys apparent inability to score goals ? Their recent matches against Wexford, Limerick. Kilkenny undoubtably have the deadliest full forward line in the country but thats about it and i'm not overly impressed with R Power having seen him in club matches. DJ has to be gone soon, he certainly has lasted longer then i thought but times up for a great player.

A real worry for a lot of Kilkenny people is the fact Kilkenny don't seem able to play for 70 minutes anymore. You give Shefflin and co space and they'll put over points all day but the same can be said of Eoin Kelly. Kilkenny have a very good team but its on the way down for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

KnowItAll wrote:
    Yes. Their skill levels were way above Tipps but they seemed to lack something (other than their shooting accuracy) until they got the second goal. Too many times they took the wrong option, like hitting the ball straight into the hands of tipps keeper cummins and shooting from everywhere.

People are talking about Cloonan but he's overrated in my opinion. He dosn't try at all!

I think they'll match KK though. There won't be more than 2 or 3 points in it either way.

I agree with your first and third point but not the 2nd. I think Cloonan tries as hard as anyone on the galway team when he's playing. Look at it this way as far as natural hurling ability goes he wouldn't be in the top 20 hurlers in Ireland, but he trains so hard on certain aspects of his game that it puts him in the top 10-15. I think that has to be considered effort.
    But I don't think he will be making reappearing in a Galway jersey in 2005. He would be a huge asset though cause they were seriously missing some weight in the Full Forward line.

If Galway had him and a fully fit Kevin Broderick they would give KK a serious match. At the moment I don't think they will beat KK. too many inconsitent performers on their team at the moment. Kerins, Murray and Tierney can all be brillant on their day but can be equally anonomus when it isn't

Galway have always had a problem putting two good performances back to back. They can play stunning stuff one day but disappoint the next day. Still, they've had a few good performances this year and their confidence will be up. Neither Galway or Clare will fear their next opponents and both Cork and Kilkenny will be aware that they don't have an easy ride into the final. Personally, I hope Galway beat Clare in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Flukey wrote:
    Here's hoping for a Clare v Galway final with Galway to win.

Second that :D I was there in Croke and even though I first thought Tipp was going to win the second Galway goal really fired up the crowd and the team.
    Galway is usually a "almost made it" team and I sincerely hope this year we'll go all the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Guzzler

I'd be betting on a Cork vs Galway AIF.

Having said that, I thought Galway would have beaten the cats last year and they got a right hiding. KK have the potential to turn it around for the next day but Galway should come on from their first big performance in CP since 2001.

Cork should be well able for Clare. I was at the first set of Qfs and got the impression that Waterford did 75% of the hurling but Cork were able to keep with them while alot of lads didn't perform for them.