Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism by other nationalities in Ireland

• 16-07-2005 6:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭

I work part-time in a shop which, like alot of stores in Dublin, has a variety of different races in the staff. We've always got along fine.

That was though until a fella from Pakistan started the other day. The staff from India refuse to talk to him and to quote what one told me, "the Paki will be sweet to your face and then stab you in the back, he will kill you" while another said "the Paki will rape your girlfriend".

I realise that India and Pakistan have had their problems in the past but these lads were trying to brainwash me with their propoganda and it shocked me that this was allowed in the workplace. The managers just don't seem to care that the Indians are ignoring the new staff member.

My point though is that can you imagine what would happen if it was the Irish staff who were treating another nationality like this? There'd be uproar to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Yup, India really doesn't like it's Pakastani neighbours, though I've heard just as bad coming from Irish people speaking of the English

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Double the standards, double the fun! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

In the construction trade you see an awful lot of these type of interrace disputes...usually with the former soviet bloc countries. I've seen guys squaring up to each other all the while snarling at each other in Russian (their only common trait).
    We Irish get blamed for being unwelcoming of late, but racism is just as prevalent in other countreis and other cultures...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

The thing that annoys me though is that the Indians are sales people and if an Irish person is uninterested in buying an item or tell them they're fine when approached (more than likely because they don't want to be badgered endlessly by annoying salespeople), they often brand the person a racist.

I also remember them one day giving out about a person who entered the shop and asked to be helped by an Irish assistant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Can't remember the quote exactly (I've changed it slightly) but as Terry Pratchett wrote 'Just because a person is part of an ethnic minority doesn't stop him from being a dick'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭kstanl

If I was in your position I would make it quite clear that their disputes are better left on foreign shores and now that they're living in Ireland, they're going to have to leave their hate behind them and get along with each other. Failing that method of communication, I'd get a dictaphone and record these fascist bigots on the sly and be sure the boss gets a copy of the tape. If the boss turns a blind ear, hand the tape into the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

kstanl wrote:
    If the boss turns a blind ear
    hahahaha

Anyway, these people are also from different cultures. They have a lot of compromising to do to get on in irish society. Some are v.unwilling to do this. Leaving their troubles at home is easier said than done when all they know is hatred for the "pakis"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭kstanl

ColHol wrote:
    hahahaha

Thanks, I'll be using that one again. ;)
    ColHol wrote:
    Anyway, these people are also from different cultures. They have a lot of compromising to do to get on in irish society. Some are v.unwilling to do this. Leaving their troubles at home is easier said than done when all they know is hatred for the "pakis"

Sadly, they don't really deserve a choice. Being a free country, you can hate who you want but when it spills over to slander like the OP describes then it becomes a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭rsynnott

Lemlin wrote:

I also remember them one day giving out about a person who entered the shop and asked to be helped by an Irish assistant.

That is unacceptable, in fairness. Why did said customer want an Irish assistant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Think Ireland -v- England, with a land border (not a sea in between), and they both have nukes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭madfistbt

I wonder what Paul McGath thinks of the immigrants coming to Ireland, the poor fella might not feel as special as he did when he was young. I wish all immigrants that came to Ireland were like Paul McGrath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

rsynnott wrote:
    That is unacceptable, in fairness. Why did said customer want an Irish assistant?

Got tired of having to repeat themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

I dont think asking for an irish sales assistant is that out of order. I work in Superquinn part time and there are a good few Lithuanian staff with little or no english. It must be very frustrating for customer's trying to ask for help finding something and the member of staff not understanding!

I hope this doesnt sound like I'm giving out about foreign sales assistants in general, all the one's I work with are both lovely people and good workers, I'm just trying to explain why it can be annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

the_syco wrote:
    Think Ireland -v- England, with a land border (not a sea in between), and they both have nukes.
    We have nukes? Berthie has his finger on THE BUTTON? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

madfistbt wrote:
    I wish all immigrants that came to Ireland were like Paul McGrath
    Washed-up alcoholics? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

madfistbt wrote:
    I wonder what Paul McGath thinks of the immigrants coming to Ireland, the poor fella might not feel as special as he did when he was young. I wish all immigrants that came to Ireland were like Paul McGrath

He's an immigrant? I don't know for sure but judging by his accent I really woulda thought he was Irish born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

He's an immigrant? I don't know for sure but judging by his accent I really woulda thought he was Irish born.
    Oh, he's one of them immigants all right. See below.
    madfistbt wrote:
    I wish all immigrants that came to Ireland were like Paul McGrath
    Wot, you want them all to have been born near London with an Irish mother?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭madfistbt

Wot, you want them all to have been born near London with an Irish mother?

Ye thatd be great Id have no problems with the immigrants then. And Ireland would win the world cup. Paul McGraths a legend. I dont want no immigrants like Clinton Morrison though hes just ****e. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

We have nukes? Berthie has his finger on THE BUTTON? :eek:
    Google "cork" and "nuclear reator".

=-=

India & Pakistan are both nuclear powers. Me thinks they had some war, as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

I think that's terrible...I generally wouldn't be a "rat" but in that situation i would have reported the Indian staff to my manager for those remarks and especially for refusing to talk to the Pakistani person

And better still if i was the manager, they would be jobless now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

The person who asked for an Irish assistant openly admitted they were racist. My point though is that if the Indians are giving out about that they are hypocrites as they are just as racist themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭Gross Halfwit

Everyone ca nbe a racist. When a foreign national is racist to another foreign national or even an Irish person here in Ireland it is ignored. Noone wants to be labeled a racist. People seem to think that racism goes only one way White -> Colour or Home -> Foreign btu it can go many ways. Racism is not only when you act because of someones race but also when you dont act because of it. Ill give two examples.

1) There is a guy where I work from Nigeria. He is a lazy person and does not do his fair share of work. When confronted by his white boss he becomes beligerant and starts spouting off that he is being oppressed. The Boss does nothing and instead puts the screws to the other workers to pick up the slack. This is racist as he is making a distinction based on Race.

2) A girl was pushed over in work, again, by a Nigerian. He claims it was by accident but he never helped to pick her up. He just walked off. This is physical abuse by an employee which is grounds for immediate dismissal but he wasnt sacked or reprimanded. Again inaction based on race.

People are so afraid to be called racist that they do nothing. Thats a form of Race discrimination from the boss and also racial bullying from the employee.

You dig?