Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Josh Rouse thought of Oxegen

• 14-07-2005 4:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭

The bullsh1t hype
    =============

'Fantastic line up... Great place. Will totally come back again an amazing festival, what a weekend!' - Zoe Ball Radio & TV celebrity

'The line up of the year, it is just incredible! Oxegen has placed Ireland at the pinnacle of Europe's music festivals... I am having a brilliant time.' - Zane Lowe, Radio 1 UK & MTV Networks

'It's a non stop rollercoaster action packed weekend of successes', - Pat Long, NME

The sun, the craic, the carnival, the music, OXEGEN is already legendary at this stage and it's only 2 years old. Bring on OXEGEN 2006' - Dave Fanning, RTE & 2FM

More bands in two days than played Ireland in the 70's. Great Festival, the very best Ireland has ever had! - Tom Dunne, Today FM

The Reality
    ========

From Josh Rouse's website journal

the news.......the quart festival(norway) on friday was alot of fun, only 2 stages, of course we were on the small one but there was a nice sized crowd there to welcome us. very good-looking and polite people there in that beautiful place. the next day we woke up at 4 in the morning to catch a flight to scotland for t-in the park festival. the festival was very well organised and i had a chance to see the la's for the first time. lee mavers has one of the best voices of all time. the drummer isn't very good unfortunately. our show went smoothly and we drove that night to the oxegyn(this is how they spell it) festival outside dublin. this festival was not very well organised, bad catering and too many people. our show went well i thought, although we're only playing 30min sets, and they are very strict about the times(1000 dollar per minute you go over)! audioslave, foo fighters, keane, and a few others were playing all 3 festivals with us. i had a chance to see a band called the earlies who were very good, but other than that, there wasn't anything that impressed me, except for the la's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,181 ✭✭✭✭Basq

He was on Ray D'Arcy this morning.... don't know who he is but seemed a bit too far up his own hole!!

Was rambling on about selling official Josh Rouse coffee cups or something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭comet

I saw him last night in Cork, he's pretty cool, he's not a flash in the pan either he has released 5 albums. If you listen to Pet Sounds, Tom Dunne has been playing him a lot over the last few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Altheus

Still can't help but laugh at this: "oxegyn(this is how they spell it)"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Why is it so cool these days to be inept at spelling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭eskimo

Is the fact that some person thought Oxegen had some flaws actually a surprise to you and worth starting a thread about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

I wasn't there and I've no regrets about missing it or anything... but just because one guy moans about his sandwich being soggy and it being overly packed (which it probably was seeing as it was piss easy to get in free, apparently) doesn't mean the rest of the reviews are "bullsh1t hype".

No I don't think it is "Bullsh1t hype" because of what Josh Rouse said, I know its bullsh1t hype from past experiences of the festival (I didn't go this year). I am using Josh Rouse as an independent source who unlike the rest is not a puppet of MCD or does not have a vested interest in saying that it is a great festival. His opinion is also interesting because in the previous couple of days had been to a festival in Norway and T in the park in scotland so he could directly compare it to other festivals.
    I went to Glastonbury this year, now thats a great festival, I know for a fact Tom Dunne has never been. Informed opinions are best. Of course Oxegen might be the best festival in Ireland, that wouldn't be hard, until last year it had no competition!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

This oxegen sucked cock - majorally and i've been to the last 4 or so, badly run, crap lay out of tent,remedial security (when they actually showed up) and from what i've read about the campsite i'm so glad i stayed in the car park. MCD are the greatest shower of money grabbing bastards, if they could tout tickets they prob would. For those who haven't heard you could buy camping tickets directly from them for 150E on the saturday morning or upgrade your tickets to camping, this continued til at least 1pm on saturday and no told sorry it's sold out.

Roll on the picnic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

describing an audience as "good looking and polite" makes me doubt his opinion on anything has much worth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 McUdar

you go to oxegen for the music not the 5* hospitality. who cares if the jacks are a kip, just get wasted and enjoy the tunes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

comet wrote:
    ... they are very strict about the times(1000 dollar per minute you go over)!

Why would they be fining in dollars rather than Euro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Serbian

0utshined wrote:
    Why would they be fining in dollars rather than Euro?

I'm sure they do fine in Euro. Josh Rouse is American so he probably just put dollars in because it's what he's used to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

Ah, the penny drops.

0utshined wrote:
    Ah, the penny drops.

or maybe the cent! :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

McUdar wrote:
    you go to oxegen for the music not the 5* hospitality. who cares if the jacks are a kip, just get wasted and enjoy the tunes

go for the music? up until this year i might have agreed with you, but in all fairness the line-up was averageat best in my opinion and musically this was far behinf the previous 3 i've been to... roll on EP