Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Change my CPU?

• 11-07-2005 6:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭

Hi lads.

I have a celeron 2.4

Its ****e.

How do i know what CPU to look for to replace the celeron?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭angelofdeath

what motherboard do you have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭astec123

If your looking to replace the chip it most likely will involve swapping to another board if your looking to get something faster, plus there are several types of celerons on offer so what one is it do you know? You may want to get belarc advisor to help in determining the equipment on your PC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

We need to know what socket you your mother board uses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭zuma

The celercon is either a:

Intel Socket 775
    or more than likely:
    ntel Socket 478

The Intel Socket 775 is far more uopgradeable than Intel Socket 478 socket CPU's.

Which you do you have?
    Open your case and do a check on your mobo serial number.
    Failing that remove the cpu and do a quick count or get pint charts for the 2 type of possible CPU's and compare the edges/blank pin spaces to find your chip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

As Zuma said, it is most likely a socket 478. This means it has 478 pins :D so it a lot of cases (not all) you can swap it with another 478 pin chip.

I also had a Celeron 2.4 Ghz and I just whipped it out and stuck in a 3.2Ghz - no modifications, nothing. The BIOS recognised it and I could then play HL2. And mine was a laptop.

But, and it's a hell of a big but, you need to do your homework. Make sure your motherboard and chipset can support it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Ok.Looking for the type of mobo number -

ach cant find the manual

Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P4S533MX REV 1.xx
    Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
    BIOS: Award Software, Inc. ASUS P4S533-MX ACPI BIOS Revision 1004 01/24/2003

2.67 gigahertz Intel Celeron
    8 kilobyte primary memory cache
    128 kilobyte secondary memory cache

Sounds really ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

http://usa.asus.com/products/mb/socket478/p4s533-mx/overview.htm

Basically you can stick any 533 Hyper threading P4 in there. Probably a 3GHZ is the max. You'll see a big boost there. What gfx card do you have. If thats dire theres no point upgrading the CPU.

Ok,thanks first of all.

I have Operation Flashpoint (www.flashpoint1985.com)
    Its old,but when i put in an Afghan Map its slow.

I have 512 RAM and a Radeon 9600XT.

I am gonna get 1GB of ram.
    But theres no point,i need a better CPU.

Would you do me a favour and let me know and advise me if you see a suitable CPU in the shop?

Or even to make up a suitable wanted thread ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

A 2.6 Celeron would still handle any OF map with ease.

I used to run it maxed graphics and tonnes of vehicles and placements on a 933mhz machine perfectly.

If you based your Celeron being **** on not being able to run OF maps correctly there is definately something bigger wrong.

Well...its... when i fire an AK,which i got new,its...slowish rate of fire,when i aim in the air it comepletely multiplies ye know?

Seems like RAM to me but i have 512,PC2100

your rig should have no problem with flashpoint, so yeah theres probably something else wrong, was it always this slow?

Sort off... i dunno what to say,it works ok for everyone else,and they havent a celeron.You have to understand,the game is great,just for one of maps,which i always use is slow,then i cant have any units.

I play on the net with my dialup,there is a map where we have to liberate all of Iraq.

Now...thats a lot to liberate,its slow for me and not anyone else.Its either the CPU or ram,ram of which i have 512.

Either way my CPU is still crap?

oh right well if it's just one map and your on dialup, possibly it's just bad lag, anyway back on topic, yeah if you've got the cash get yourself a 3.0ghz p4, and extra 512, or even better if the motherboard supports pc3200, get some of that, and throw in a 6600gt or if you can, or a 6800gt, then you'll see a huge leap in performance

edit:// it only supports up to pc2700, but you could get a gig of that and sell on the pc2100

I have a P4 3.0 with 512mb and initally a GF4, then a 9600XT, then 9800Pro and now a X800Pro. The graphics became smoother with each upgrade. Very noticable when using scopes. Never really had a problem with big maps. Not that I played that many with this machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

I play on the net with my dialup

Thats your problem right there - Im betting the iraq map is one of the biggests. Its you dialup line that cant handle the map. To much info trying to squeeze down a small hole.

Get Broadband instead of a new cpu. (keep saving for the cpu)

Oh god :(

I cant get broadband,iam in one of those Groub broadband schemes:P

No2 this isnt just online :)

A 2.6 Celeron would still handle any OF map with ease.

I used to run it maxed graphics and tonnes of vehicles and placements on a 933mhz machine perfectly.

If you based your Celeron being **** on not being able to run OF maps correctly there is definately something bigger wrong.

What res is that at 320x200? :rolleyes:

Recommended system requirements: CPU 733 MHz or faster, 32 MB 3D card, 256 MB RAM, 800 MB HDD, CD-ROM, keyboard, mouse, sound card, DirectX 8

it's above the rsr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,125 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I cant get broadband

Everybody in Ireland can get broadband. It might cost you a bit more than Eircon'$ DSL though ;)

unkel wrote:
    Everybody in Ireland can get broadband. It might cost you a bit more than Eircon'$ DSL though ;)

Going by that reasoning...Broadband is available in Africa as well...but when it costs an arm and a leg(literially)...then no not everyone can get broadband.

Stop being so pedantic unkel!

No 1 - my system isnt WAY above the rsr for flashpoint, i have flashpoint resistance which needs 256 min.
    Not to mention all these high detail maps.

no 2 - Ive just mentioned the broadband scheme which i am in.There is no broadband here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

What res is that at 320x200? :rolleyes:

Actually, it ran at about 1024x768 or there abouts, and before you say more, It used to run on my P3 550mhz at 800x600 with most options on as well.

Its not a resource comsuming game.
    Originally Posted by http://www.flashpoint1985.com/index2.html
    Recommended system requirements: CPU 733 MHz or faster, 32 MB 3D card, 256 MB RAM, 800 MB HDD, CD-ROM, keyboard, mouse, sound card, DirectX 8

These are the recommended requirements. Seeing as it ran PERFECTLY on my old 933 pIII, I hardly think a 2.6 ghz celeron and 512 ram should have any problems even at the highest res his monitor can support. I used to have a 32mb tnt2 diamond - predecessor to the Geforce cards - and I could turn all options on. His spec is definately not the problem.
    I play on the net with my dialup

This is the problem. A large map on dialup with produce the effects you describe. Either get broadband or stop playing that particular map.

Your CPU is fine and unless you want to start playing the latest games don't bother upgrading yet.

I dunno what magic PC's you have, when I had a P4, 2.4 and GF4 or even a 2400XP and the same GF4/4600 I definately had slow down on the large single player maps. I run at 1280x1024 because thats the native res on my monitor. I now have a x800 and its much smoother.

Still its hard to know are we talking about slowdown over all or just lag when online? Easy to test. Try it offline with loads of objects.

The specs on a side of games box are usually complete fantasy. Is that even relevent?

I'm in Dublin and I can't ASDL. (line fails) I'm on NTL BB when it decides to work that is. So I can imagine its even hard to get it down the country.

Again...how could it be the net when i play the map offline as well as on.

Infact they are both just as bad,the map has nothing to do with online play.....its the units,soldiers....cars etc.Not the map.

Also.Should i buy RAM or a CPU first?

This may be stupid but maybe it loads from a bad area on his hard drive?

hmmm no one has suggested that,iam defragging it at the moment,and ive just done error check.

Is that right?

That would only effect load times. I reckon.

Iam about to test it defragged.

That would only effect load times. I reckon.

Not if it loads the data but the data is slightly corrupt,that would slow up the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,125 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

zuma wrote:
    Going by that reasoning...Broadband is available in Africa as well...but when it costs an arm and a leg(literially)...then no not everyone can get broadband.

Stop being so pedantic unkel!

Didn't mean to be pedantic, lighten up mate :p

Before cable / dsl / wireless broadband was available in Ireland, I actually had 1-way satellite broadband :)

Nowadays you can get 2-way satellite for a couple of times the price of cable, etc. e.g. €99 per month plus some setup costs

Even a student can afford that if he is keen (Saturday morning job, saving on going out for a pint, explaining that daddyo really needs this and himself too for studying and what not)

The only thing thats corrupt is my brain according to my dad,thats because of dailup.

He thinks PCs are taking over the world.

Iam always in my bedroom - he calls it ''His Pit''

ah :(

The drinking money excuse used by many of my friends when we were at college was "Could i borrow some money for books?".
    As even the cheapest books were €50...a couple of hundred handed over by their parents wasnt unheard of!!!

I agree that even satellite broadband isnt terrible expensive...but the €50 a month to make up the cost of satellite broadband could be impossible to find in some households!!!

Not if it loads the data but the data is slightly corrupt,that would slow up the game.

I would have thought it would crash the game.

A student - €99 - That used to feed me for a couple of months in college...

I though satellite broadband was unsuitable for gaming due to lag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

It is, and at 512/128 its crazy dear. How i wish for dsl.

On topic fellars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭Balfa

Heheheh. no one's suggested the "Fade" technology that Codemasters incorporated into OpFlash, that made the frames per second worse and worse over time if you were using a cracked version of the game.
    That's one possibility.

It's definitely not your processor. I used to play that game with no problems using a duron850 and a Voodoo3 at 1024x768. Now I never played a map that covered the whole of Iraq, but a large map isn't going to be "unplayable" on a Celeron 2.4 and "perfect" on a P4 3.0. There just isn't enough performance difference in games between the two CPUs.

If you can hear your hard disk churning away every time it becomes unplayable, it's probably RAM. With a really large map, that'd be the most obvious thing.

Give a URL for the map so others with similar systems can download and try it. I don't have a resistance, but if it works on original OpFlash or the soviet expansion, i'll give it a try on my Cel1.6/348MB/GF2GO and see how horrible it is.

Balfa.I dont use copied games.I have more respect.

It is probably RAM,i have 512 PC2100.

www.ofp.info - Islands - Scroll down - Afghanistan V 1.2 - Cant find IRaq

It probably wouldnt hurt having a nerdy mate give your pc the once over.

Check the usual stuff, antivirus scan, spyware scan, virtual memory config. Disk space yada yada....

Spyware...now thats a suggestion.
    I could reinstall windows..

Edit : a freind told me - Start - Run - Prefetch,delete all files..IT WORKED!
    flashpoint runs...amazingly well...

prefetch is a new one on me - just souped up my laptop with it. ta.

I dunno what it is still :P ?

Edit : a freind told me - Start - Run - Prefetch,delete all files..IT WORKED!
    flashpoint runs...amazingly well...

Whats that??? :confused: Never heard of it. Give us a link to that map too.

www.ofp.info Afghanistan v 1.2 by ag smith.

Whats that - Try it.Add me to MSN,i wanna give you a game :P

Double posted :(

Operation Flashpoint V's Battlefield 1942

Which is the superior game???

Off topic......................But seeing as my game works...OFP :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭Balfa

OFP gan dabht!