Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Modder/Cruiser/Boy Racer Scum.

• 10-07-2005 11:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭

After what I saw tonight on the Long Mile Road, I am now more convinced than ever that Boy Racers are the lowest form of life in Ireland. My only regret is that I didn't get the reg number of the two cars weaving in and out among the normal drivers.

And both cars looked f*cking ridiculous. I assume that your average cruiser/modder has to have an operation to remove all the good taste cells from their brains. How else could anyone explain the jaw-dropping crapness of the things they do to their cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

Very original thread..... :rolleyes:

Try the search function in future, this has been discussed for the last week or so in a similar thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I always say that you can take the skanger out of the boy racer but you can't take the boy racer out of the skanger..........

No no no I mean....you can take the boy racer out of the skanger but you can't take the skanger out of the boy racer

Ah I give up, you know what I mean.

I honestly accept the assurances of those in the know that most modders/cruisers/boy racers are responsible drivers who just like to individualise and take good care of their cars.

I've never seen one mind but I must just be very unlucky in that I've only ever seen skangers driving modded cars, with music blaring, seats down so low and far back that you can only see the top of the baseball cap over the steering wheel and pulling of from a junction with a wheelspin every....single......time.

Muppets.

Where are these responsible modders/cruisers/boyracers???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

How come up get muppetts like you shouting your head about modders.

Boy racers grand but get it into your thick head there is a difference between boy racers and ppl who spend time and money on their cars.

Get yourself down to one of the shows in the RDS or Mondello and see proper modified cars.

Theres another thing, no driver can put there hand on there heart and say that they are the perfect driver.

What about the guys in there BMW or Merc and anything bigger that a 1.4l speeding on the motorway twice as fast as the rest of us, what just because they pay extra road tax does this mean they are entitled to do this.

This thread has been over done and theres not enough ppl have to cop on to know the difference between a boy/girl racer and a modifier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

In fairness Kluivert, I have some nice cars, and I have been to them shows in the Kennel club, its 2 minutes away from my house, and the scum that go there race up and down the n1. When I go out in the 300 on these days all I get is a carful of idiots, wheelspinning at lights/revving engines trying to get a race. I know its not all of them, but there are enough that I wont go near them shows. Donuts in the carpark... ffs. idiots. And I have a 'modified' 300zx , but I have nothing to with modifiers or boyracer scum. And they are scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

You had your rant about this last week, Reef. Wasnt that enough or are you going to go on about this EVERY week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭ReefBreak

Yeah probably. Tell me, are not embarressed that you actually defend those vermin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

which are vermin?

the boy_racers who dont necessarily drive modded cars? || the modders who aren't all boy_racers ?
      Boy Racer A child minded man with a drivers licence and a vehicle who has no regard for the saftey of self or anybody else. Totaly incompatent driver, masively insecure about self and inability to get laid.
      Some Johnno/Deano who owns a ****ty Nova, Corsa, Fiesta, Escort, Clio (the list goes on) or anything remotely ****e and whacks aload of ****ty max power freebie stickers (without actually owning any of the makes), driving like a **** and generally being a tit end. Not to be confused with a Modder or Tuner which actually put in the time and money to increase performance from their car substantialy and partipate in real, legal events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

ReefBreak wrote:
    Yeah probably. Tell me, are not embarressed that you actually defend those vermin?

I'm not defending anyone. I just think its silly to keep going on about the same thing over and over. Do you not? Why not just continue the other post?
    You dont have many replys here coz everyones already said their piece in the other post from MorningStar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

It's getting like a broken record at this stage, or to keep it in context of the boy racer, a badly skipping cd.

I'm a car modifier, I'm young and drive a modded car, I don't speed as my job is a truck driver and without my licence, I don't get any work. There is a difference between boy racers and car tuners/modifiers.

Saying that all car modders drive recklessly is the exact same mentality that sees mosques attacked by fools looking for retribution for the london bombings. As seen in New Zealand this week sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

Kersh

I totally agree with you, pricks who do that sort of carry on at lights and stuff dont desire to be behind the wheel.

Very nice car by the way the Nissan 350z just doesnt do it for me.

I love cars especially the classics and i hate pricks who drive the crap out of them. They do not have any respect for their cars or other road users.

They should get anywhere near the shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

I have seen some really good tuned/modded cars and i mean modded where as even the maker of the car can hardly tell its theres, and like the other posters say these are cars that are done for shows etc,
    Where as a corsa, punto, micra etc painted a really shiny colour with neons and a sound system that argos had a deal on, there just not right, and you do see them around areas where they literally put there lives and ours at risk.
    Its no wonder that all our insurances are mad, were actually paying for the accidents that these boy racers have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭kstanl

Anyone who's old enough to drive and feels they need to stick bodykits, headlight modifications, tinted windows, 5 million inch alloys or blue lights under their 1.1 litre car... is a twat. But do we REALLY need to discuss it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

well perhaps if insurance in this country wasnt so high,
    young people could afford the bigger engines.

since they cant even get insured in them,
    who are you to tell them what to do with their money.

post in fashion/appearance as this is nothing to do with cars,
    just some old boy with a merc who sh!ts himself when he sees 4 lads in hoodies.

bring on the asbos...

nah we shouldnt discuss it, because we will make all the boy racers cry, and they will drive home at a slow speed while the tears are rolling down there spotty faces, and maybe not kill someone on there way.

wheres pighead when we need a thread locked?

I have modded my car and im 21, its a VW Golf and i dont drive like a moron, or put anyone at risk anymore than any other driver on the road. Ive never been involved in any accidents let alone caused any.

Am i a Boy Racer? Im sure a lot of you would think so if you saw me drive by. Its a bad stereotype in my opinion. Just cos i want to make my car look a little unique i get an instant bad reputation. Its pretty idiotic to be honest.

we have to see the car TBH, but im sure you have seen some cars that are a really bad style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

im reminded somewhat of that VW ad of some time ago with the cars 'crying' because they had been distastefully modified.. great ad.

Great definition there from the good ol' urban dictionary too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭dceire

Modder/Cruiser/Boy Racer Scum.

Scumbag sounds about right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

they are all a bunch of scum. and they cannot even drive properly.the problem is most of them are from a rough background and they wish to have powerful cars so they do up there micras so they can try and be like everyone :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

WellyJ wrote:
    I have modded my car and im 21, its a VW Golf and i dont drive like a moron, or put anyone at risk anymore than any other driver on the road. Ive never been involved in any accidents let alone caused any.

Am i a Boy Racer? Im sure a lot of you would think so if you saw me drive by. Its a bad stereotype in my opinion. Just cos i want to make my car look a little unique i get an instant bad reputation. Its pretty idiotic to be honest.

Unique?How?

If you say
    WellyJ wrote:
    Am i a Boy Racer? Im sure a lot of you would think so if you saw me drive by.

then what makes your car unique?
    Typical ppl like Chavs wouldn't know unique if it came and knocked of their Burbury caps of their shaved heads onto the street.
    What is more annoying than the way these idiots drive is their inability to think independantly. This imho is the only reason groups of scumbags like this exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

Unfortunately you used the word "Chav"......

I cant reply to someone who uses such a stupid English word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭Revalco

I agreed with WellyJ , im in the same age group and own a car and never had or caused any accidents, but i like modding my car whats wrong with trying to make your car the look that little bit better , its no different from sum1 modding there pc i.e neon lights and sleeving dont make it faster but we all do it