Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fired on my second day for being 10 minutes late

• 08-07-2005 8:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭

Ok, If you all have been around for a while you would know that I have been having problems finding a permanent job in Dublin.

I have been 2 1/2 years and am married to a Dublin man.

First Job: I worked for a year as an administrator/coordinator/PA I had to leave the place the boss was a tyrant and everyone who worked for him knew it but they stayed because the name was well known and they were teaching at a well known school. But my first day someone asked me how long I planned on staying as my people in my job change every couple of months. I stuck it out for a year of 60 hour weeks with no extra renumeration.

Second Job: I have been working the last 11 months for a temp agency as a Senior Administrator. It is fine but not permanent so any holidays and sick days aren't paid. Every place I have worked have said I am wonderful and very useful and love me (6 different jobs in 11 months) all had the same opinion.

Third Job: Last Friday I was hired by a Dublin Recruitment agency to work for them directly. I started yesterday had a grand day learning bits and pieces. Last night after wrok they took everyone in the company shopping to buy them shirts and cuff links women too. This morning I was 12 minutes late because the LUAS was held back by a Garda this morning and I arrived into work and was fired shortly after. About as long as it took to write the cheque. I did call in just before 9 to let them know I was stuck.

I asked if they would give me a reason as to the dismissal and they said they are not prepared to give any further information.

They cut me a cheque for yesterday and today and told me to keep the 250 worth of shirts and cuff links bought at stores on Dawson street.

After I got home I wrote a letter saying I think they made a huge mistake. And I appreciate the gesture of keeping the clothes but I returned them hopefully they can take them back or someone else can use them.

Again in this job several people came to me on the first day and pointed out people that were nice and people to avoid.

So now I have given Dublin 2 years and the job market keeps kicking my ass. I can't get a permanent job. I am married and live here with my Dublin Husband but I think it is time to head back to the states. That would be heading back to the states minus one husband. Which means I stick him with rent and the car loan. But I told him I would help pay for those things. He his happy to let me do what I need to do!

I NEED HELP WHAT SHOULD I DO. I DON'T WANT TO LEAVE MY HUSBAND!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭p~b

have a kid and become a stay a home mom, that way you cant get sacked, well for 18 years anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I'll be having an administation position opening up soon.

I'll drop you a PM when we advertise it if you'd like... and you can come out for an interview.

It'll be in the IT Training sector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Name and shame - sounds like a place to avoid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Glipmac

that sucks, good luck in the future though... i have had the same sort of thing happen to me as well, pick your self up and try again. thats all i can advise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

Talk to a lawyer, you can't be fired just like that without any reason given even after one day in a job and certainly not for being 10mns late.

Citizens advice centres have free legal advice available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

John R wrote:
    Talk to a lawyer, you can't be fired just like that without any reason given even after one day in a job and certainly not for being 10mns late.

Oh, im the husband, in case this information seem odd! SF is currently sleeping silently beside me ;)

Unfortunately you can be fired! IIRC they can do what they want under law until 100-odd days of employment. (overheard that during the day, not a hardcore rule!)

However, her contract did state that a weeks notice was required before termination on either side. Im guessing this is why they wanted her to keep the clothes.

Its all a bit academic at the end of the day. I don’t see what a lawyer could do TBH that would be The dilemma is would you really want to work for a company who behaves like this?

I think its fair to expect more from a recruitment agent IMO, ive seen a lot of people get off to a bad start in a job, but in a good working environment these people can be brought up to scratch in no time. The flip side of this is that the company, although clearly in tatters ATM, may do well in the future and it could be a good time to come onboard.

Im just astonished that everyone that she has worked for so far, without exception, has remarked that she is excellent. Not good, not useful but excellent.

The more I experience her woes with recruitment agents the more I think they are mostly chancers and BS’rs (awaits flame from recruitment peeps). I have to say my experiences with them three or four years ago were not much better.

Problem is that she turned down two other permanent positions for this one.

Should be interesting to see if she hears back from them.

Oh, im the husband, in case this information seem odd! SF is currently sleeping silently beside me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

John R wrote:

it really depends on the contract you sign.

you can be let go during a period of probation for no reason at all, at any time.

sounds like a crappy situation, however, my advice would be to move on. i can see nothing that can be gained from enquiries etc after a single days work.
    while it sucks that 2 positions were turned down, i guess its simpley a case now of getting another job. if two positions were turned down, at least you know there are jobs out there you want to do (one assumes you want to do them if you got to the stages where they asked you to join them).

anyway, good luck and happy hunting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

My cynical nature tells me that the reason you were fired wasn't that you were late but probably something more personal. Perhaps something to do with your attitude or something. I wouldn't worry about it.

I'd say **** em. You got some nice clothes out of it. Move on and look for a new job.

I don't know you, so I don't know your qualifications but..

Have you thought about doing some extra qualifications on the side? Maybe a cert through the OU or something? A bit of accountancy if you've got good number literatcy, or perhaps some IT skills if you like computers. Just a thought though. You may not want to continue your education, which is fair enough. Formal education doesn't suit everybody, and it not suiting someone is not a bad reflection on them. It just means their skills lie elsewhere.

The fact that you were described as "excellent" in previous jobs does not mean much. Every workplace is different and people who are "excellent" in one might be completely ill-suited to another. The key is finding a place where you fit into the "dynamic" well and settling into a nice job there that you are happy with.

Keep looking, you'll find something. Just try not to dwell on the bad stuff. You'll gain nothing by stressing yourself out over it and it might just make you unhappy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I also believe there is more to this story.

I know lots of people who "cannot keep a permanent job" or "get fired" or "have difficulties because of their boss". The problem is always their own.

And no offence, I'm being serious here, but are you a spoiled American (I'm just asking)? I'm friends with a few American girls here who are so ****ing lazy it's unbelievable, and have a serious attitude problem regarding work.

I really think there is more to this story than you are letting on.

As I have stated in previous threads, I deal with the HR aspects in the company I work for, and NO ONE fires someone lightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

My wife is American and had terrible trouble getting work. From the moment she landed here (before we married) she had a job with a call centre who after 2 weeks or more realised she was expecting them to sort out work permits. They knew she was a US citizen before she came here. They knew she had never lived here before. They offered her the job BEFORE she got here and still they told her to come over. When she asked when she would get her PPS number etc they realised she had no work permit??? Only and employer can get one so how they thought she would not need one i dont know.

Anyway after we got married she got a job she liked at first but her old 67 year old boss did not like her. He kept telling her to do things, then forgot he asked her to do it and kept giving her other crap to do then he would make other mistakes and blame her. One example is someone asked her to do something just before she went home. She did but they were gone so she left a message saying she would call again in the morning. The next morning the guy came in (not her boss) and asked if she got through and she said no and she was going to do it this morning (she was only just in!!) and her boss overhearing this said "see you had NOTHING on your desk to remind you to do that" and so on etc.. point is he used post it notes and stuck them on the desk. She however had it written down in her notebook but because she did not do things the same as him he always gave out to her. Even though she helped him all the time with his computer and doing excel stuff which he could not do.. he could not even print emails or even print in colour. Anyway she was fired one day for no reason.

She had a terrible trouble for months doing temp work. She had a wonderful temp job for 4 months or more but they were not hiring full time so finally it ran out.

She now finally has a full time job at a car rental broker company and she likes it.

My point is.. it can be hard to find a job you like, and while hers is not ideal she mostly likes it and most of the people there. So dont despair, im sure you will find something. Leaving your husband to back to the US to work should not be an option and should not seriously cross your mind. Im assuming you are not skilled in anything in particular just like my wife so take what you can get. If you want better do a Fás course, you get paid a little for it and then you have a skill when done.

oh by the way agencies SUCK!! Her temp agency was good for temp work but not much else.. Direct is the best option.

Try Dell or google/ebay etc... US companies so not a culture shock and they are hiring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Souperfreak

dublindude wrote:
    And no offence, I'm being serious here, but are you a spoiled American (I'm just asking)? I'm friends with a few American girls here who are so ****ing lazy it's unbelievable, and have a serious attitude problem regarding work.

I am not sure there is a way that the above quote can not be taken without offence. No I am not a SPOILED AMERCIAN, are you a drunk Irishman? I don't think lumping me in a stereotype based on your friends is going to help me with my situation.

I am an extremely hardworker and every temp job has commented on my ability to adapt easily, pick up a job, organise a job better than previous employees, have a never say no attitude, and bring fresh ideas to the table. One company wanted to hire me full-time but decided that the reception role they had for me would be too easy and they felt I was better than that. That I was PA material. Another wanted to keep me but as they were a healthboard facility the healthboard had an embargo on all new hires. The other places I was filling in for someone out or just helping with a specific project but they all remarked how great a worker I was. My agency highly recommends my work as well. But to be honest I think I make them more money as a temp then if they placed me in full - time employment.

Further to the orignal post....

The company is undergoing a re-construction by an image consultant and many of the employees are unhappy with the way that it is being forced upon them rather than discussed with as they have been with the company since the beginning or very nearly the bginning. Everyone workes in one room except the 2 receptionists (one was me) and it was made clear to me on the first day that there were some very clear divisions in the company. Every 5 minutes there were little private meetings being held in the hallway between the MD and the image consultant and then the MD and each individual staff member.

Also the day I arrived it was announced that the 2nd receptionist would be leaving in 6 weeks time. That receptionist informed me on my first day that it was because of the changes occuring with in the company and the way that it was headed was very different from the day that she started 3 years ago. At the end of the day I met with the director who wanted to find out how my day had gone. I explained the tasks I had performed and that I felt I was picking it up. She said the other receptionist was leaving in 6 weeks and tehy wanted me to get as much from her as possible as I would assume and office manager role following her depature. I said good and I look forward to that.

The next morning I called to say that I was on the train and would be 10 minutes late. The receptionist said all late calls have to be put through to the Director or MD. I got the director apologised and said I would be in no later than 10 or 15 minutes. When I arrived the MD and the image consultant were at my desk and scattered when I arrived. I sat down and started to work. I asked the 2nd receptionist had they been saying anything? she said she had been upstairs I stated I was embarrassed at being late and that the garda had stopped our train.

And dispite efforts of leaving earlier than the day before was still late. I asked if I should email the director to apologise and explain it won't happen again. She stated the director's email wasn't working. So I dismissed the thought and continued working with every intention of going to her office directly later in the day. 10 minutes later the MD fired me with no explaination. I really can't see what I could have done wrong other than being late. They do have a VERY strict lateness policy but I assumed I would have gotten at talking to first. In all my years of working I have NEVER EVER BEEN FIRED. I have never even been asked to step down I have just quit positions.

I have two BA's
    1) theatre Performance
    2) theatre techincal design and direction

I am not looking per se to get into that industry here as there isn't enough work to support yourself full time. I do work evenings and weekends for a local Dublin Theatre and have done so for the last couple of years. But would prefer to keep that as a hobby as my first job was in that area and it made me hate the industry cause my boss was so horrible. and I don't want to hate the industry I have worked in since I was 8. So I went to office work because I am good at that as well. I like where I am at with the local theatre they love me as well and think I am great.

So I must be a spoiled american who is ****ing lazy that I usually hold two jobs and work my ass off.

From someone who deals in aspects HR I would have expected a more constructive approach and I hope you don't read cv's with the same lack of detail that you read my post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

Sounds similiar to my experience in B&Q tbh.

As somone whose partner of 6 years is also american, I will say im constantly amazed at the cultural differences. A lot of (mainly older) irish employers dont really understand the "directness" and high effiency of the american work ethic and it can often be mis-understood as "attitude".

Im in no way implying its in any way your problem, just an observation based on 6 years experience.

In fairness he asked a question, he wasn't making any insinuations. Yes he was terribly unsubtle and yes, your nationality shouldn't have come into it. But it was in my eyes a fair question. As I more subtly put, I sincerly doubt you being 10 minutes late was the reason they fired you. It is far more likely that the MD didn't like your attitude or something similar. This happens. It's not a bad reflection on you. No one can make a good impression on everyone. It's not possible.

Ok, going to try and give you a little advice. I'm not attacking you here or trying to make you look bad. What I'm doing is trying to give you another perspective on this. :)

You seem to have a high opinion of yourself. This is not a bad thing. I think we all need to project ourselves in the best light in order to get anywhere in life. But, a little modesty is also useful if you want to get ahead in this country (in my experience). Are you a hard worker? Sure, most probably, it's not that rare a trait tbh. But then you go on to say:
    my ability to adapt easily, pick up a job, organise a job better than previous employees, have a never say no attitude, and bring fresh ideas to the table.

Look, thinking like that will only get people's backs up. You adapt easily, hmm, as in you can straddle many departments and are multi talented? ie as comfortable working in IT as you are working in admin, or as comfortable in management as you are in logistics?

A never say no attitude is grand, but I wouldn't employ it. Give me a reasonable person who can balance a situation and choose the most efficient option. Never say no people don't (in my experience) work well on their own and need to be supervised.

You bring new ideas to the table? As what a secetary? What areas and ideas do you bring? Is the present system bad and needing change? What if the other employees are happy with it? What if you are being employed just to do the typing and answer the phones? ie what is expected from most secetaries in this country. Your attitude has to fit your role. It isn't professional for you to be telling your superiors what to do, you need to be more diplomatic about it.

I'm not demeaning you here. I'm just trying to give you some perspective.

Also, what are you doing working as a secetary if you hold two BAs? Or is it that you hold a double major BA? There is a huge difference here between the two over here. Different edu system and all that. Saying two BA's over here means you did two seperate degrees. Doing a second "add-on" major is not the same.

I know a BA in Theatre is not the most employable thing in the world, but just holding a BA should open quite a few other doors for you. Maybe admin clerk or senior administrator in a large office might suit you?

As is. Tbh. I can't see you being happy as a secetary in this country. You think you are better than that (and possibly rightly so, I don't know you so I can't say).

The big thing is, the "american work ethic" just pisses people off over here. You need to be more subtle. In a job, don't mention how highly skilled you are unless you are asked. People should notice your skills by the work you do, you shouldn't have to reinforce it verbally.

While in the US that could be considered as being enthused and pro-active, over here it just screams insecurity.

Try not to take the above in the wrong way. It's meant as friendly advice to help you save yourself some pain. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Did you sign a contract?

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Ah I know you have probably heard this before,but chin up and hopefully things will pan out.One door shuts,another one will open for you.

Goodluck.

nesf wrote:
    You seem to have a high opinion of yourself. This is not a bad thing. I think we all need to project ourselves in the best light in order to get anywhere in life. But, a little modesty is also useful if you want to get ahead in this country (in my experience). Are you a hard worker? Sure, most probably, it's not that rare a trait tbh.

Listen those things that I said are not my words but the words of temp jobs I worked in. I merely poster them on the board to give a indication as to what other employers thought of my work. I never day those things to anyone.
    NESF wrote:
    You bring new ideas to the table? As what a secetary? What areas and ideas do you bring? Is the present system bad and needing change? What if the other employees are happy with it? What if you are being employed just to do the typing and answer the phones? ie what is expected from most secetaries in this country. Your attitude has to fit your role. It isn't professional for you to be telling your superiors what to do, you need to be more diplomatic about it.

Ideas on the efficeny of the office or systems that were put in place. I of course only mention those when I am in an environment that I am allowed to do that. Otherwise I shut up and did my job.

Nesf wrote:
    Also, what are you doing working as a secetary if you hold two BAs? Or is it that you hold a double major BA? There is a huge difference here between the two over here. Different edu system and all that. Saying two BA's over here means you did two seperate degrees. Doing a second "add-on" major is not the same.

I hold to seperate degrees with seperate requirements I obtained them concurrently but they are different degrees at the end of the program I was presented with seperate degrees. I am working as a secretary because the industry here is far smaller than the indsutry at home and it is MUCH harder to get a FULL time job as I do work part-time in a theatre.

nesf wrote:
    I know a BA in Theatre is not the most employable thing in the world, but just holding a BA should open quite a few other doors for you. Maybe admin clerk or senior administrator in a large office might suit you?

That is what I was doing I was a Senior Administrator and that is the type of job I am looking for. This company said it was a Senior role but had reception duties as well.
    nesf wrote:
    Try not to take the above in the wrong way. It's meant as friendly advice to help you save yourself some pain. :)

I appreciate the advice. The previous post was to help paint a clearer picture of what has happened, jobs wise.

Also as I hope you can all understand I can't open my mouth in this country without being fleeced for where I am from. I am serious taxi's, interviews, shops, it is a bit irritating to be constantly fleeced for where you were born. Sometimes I use my acting training to put on an irish accent to avoid such conversations...but this is off topic.

LUMP

yes I did sign a contract that says they have to give me a week's notice. But I wasn't sure if I should bother.

Mad m
    thanks I am trying to! I am trying to think about it much.

I did have to another job offer last week and an interview request. On Friday I rang the interview request and said I would be happy to meet her if she had sometime today and I interviewed at 3pm. The other job offer was a long term contract with the last place I temped and after leaving her to take a job I wouldn't feel right about going back to there despite the fact that she would take me back instantly. I will move on I reckeon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

tbh, your post came across as arrogant to me. Not saying that you are, I can't know you from a couple of posts, just saying that that is how it came across to me.

Nesf's post is very enlightened and you would do well to pay heed to it.

You say you are adaptable, well if so, you would be wise to use that skill to study and adapt to work attitudes and behaviours in this country. I think you'll find people are accepting unless they detect an attitude.

btw, the fact that you think that some acting training means you will be able to put on an accent for another country that is authentic enough to fool natives of that country speaks volumes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

The other job offer was a long term contract with the last place I temped and after leaving her to take a job I wouldn't feel right about going back to there despite the fact that she would take me back instantly. I will move on I reckeon.

Are you turning down a long term contract in a job you want to do because you would feel awkard. She obviously doesn't have any problem. If you like it take it. And if you don't take it (and i mean this in the nicest possible way) then you are being illogical, short sighted and stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Well if you signed a contract and they are "In Breech of contract" take them to court.

John

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Recruitment Agencies, the worst story I heard about them was two lads doing work experiance back in the bad old days when jobs were scarce. They wern't paid. And here is the kicker , there were complaints that they were drinking the coffee !!

The agencies charge up to 1/3 of someones first year pay for placing them. With that sort of income for the little they do, you'd think they'd employ competant people and treat them and their customers and clients properly. Bit like estate agents really in that respect..

Anyway best of luck in getting a job with a more ethical outfit.

I am not sure I see any benefit of taking them to court other than 400 euro. I think it would waste everyone's time and not help me get a job at all.

I am far from arrogant but I understand how you might think that. Since the words being said are written and not spoken and can have completely different meanings and intentions.

Thanks to all those that have given food for thought so far. I appreciate it.

The agencies charge up to 1/3 of someones first year pay for placing them. With that sort of income for the little they do, you'd think they'd employ competant people and treat them and their customers and clients properly. Bit like estate agents really in that respect..

Anyway best of luck in getting a job with a more ethical outfit.

Thanks!

They do charge outrageous prices. My last temp job I processed all the invoices including the invoices from the agency I worked for. they charge what they paid me plus 30% then holiday pay, PRSI, and VAT at 21%. Every invoice was essentially double what they paid me. Maybe I should open my own agency!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

nesf wrote:
    The big thing is, the "american work ethic" just pisses people off over here. You need to be more subtle. In a job, don't mention how highly skilled you are unless you are asked. People should notice your skills by the work you do, you shouldn't have to reinforce it verbally.

Nail. Head.

I work for an American company and so know plenty of Americans both superior to me and who work along side me and holy jesus, it severely pisses us off how Americans ****e on about...well, ****e.

It's possible you may be a little *too* outspoken and maybe even loud? These are the characteristics of pretty much every American i know and it does go down well with the office if ya get me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 atDendOFdDAY

Hello,

Just a quick point. I recently also started working for a Recruit agency, was working 2 weeks, all going well, before I was sacked.

The reason I was sacked in laughable... someone unrelated to the company happened to badmouth me to the boss (a relation). Now this person is a disgraceful person who everyone knows can't be believed. But that was it, I arrive in, all having been going smoothly until out of the blue sacked! The direct reason (comments) not even given (but something "got back to me", "someone doesn't like you", and I know who it was), no chance to defend myself, nothing. Instant dismissal.

Now how unfair is that?

Luckily my contract had a wonderful paragraph in it that stated even during probabtion both the employer and employee have to be given a months notice. So am following this up like ya wouldn't believe.

My experience thought me a few things...
    Recruitment agencies are Cowboys
    Some people (esp. women) are twisted resentful people

Make sure you get your 1 weeks notice (ie. pay).

Send them a letter stating that you intend to consult a solicitor unless the details of the contract are adhered to directly. And give them back the stupid clothing they "let you" keep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Stephanos

The post does not seem arrogant. I think it sounds more annoyed than anything else. The exact same thing happened to me and regardless of whether I did or did not do something I deserved to be treated with a bit more respect.

Temping can pay relatively good rates but for the reason that the job sometimes can provide little security.

I say apply for jobs and temp if you can in the mean time.

It's easy to sound arrogant online.

People can't hear your tone of voice so they can misinterpret stuff easily. Happens to me all the time.

Although, to be honest, I am arrogant ;)

My experience thought me a few things...
    Recruitment agencies are Cowboys
    Some people (esp. women) are twisted resentful people

Some recruitment agencies are very good. I've friends working in the industry and I know from first hand experience that there are plenty of professional and proper outfits in the field. There are some cowboys, but then it's hard to find an industry that lacks them.

Women are twisted and resentful people? Eh. That's such a broad and meaningless generalisation that I'm not sure if it's worth my time correcting you.

Still, if you hold opinions like that from a handful of bad experiences I can see why it's so hard for you to hold down a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

@nesf just wondering if you would name those recruitment agents you have found to be good. Post or PM to me or SF is grand.
    I work for an American company and so know plenty of Americans both superior to me and who work along side me and holy jesus, it severely pisses us off how Americans ****e on about...well, ****e.

It's possible you may be a little *too* outspoken and maybe even loud? These are the characteristics of pretty much every American i know and it does go down well with the office if ya get me.

I personally would have thought that this was the problem at first, two years ago or so. Truth be told, she is outgoing, but not one of those people who $hites out of them for the day. I think the fact that she still stays in contact with some of the people she temped with says a lot.

The funny thing is that sometimes americans drive her crazy!
    That said a lot of people thought she was from NI! I think as soon as some Americians open their mouth, alarm bells go off in peoples heads and make a judgement.

Is it worth her while to persue a weeks pay from this crowd? She will MTL be out of work for a week anyway, I can give her some work, but I cant afford her fulltime!

@nesf just wondering if you would name those recruitment agents you have found to be good. Post or PM to me or SF is grand.

They'd be of no use to you hun. First off they are in Cork not Dublin. Secondly they were specialised in a different field. I wasn't doing temp or admin work through them. Was sales, and a few years back.

I've not been going through agencies for a while tbh. Just going through contacts of my own for jobs (between, people my family know, people I've met through college, people I've met through working, people I know through clubs/associations/socialising. I hate the word networking and the concept behind it. I just know a lot of people.) This, in Cork, is very doeable. I've never worked in Dublin, so I've no idea if it'd work there.

Although... Hmmm. Maybe a sticky with recommended agencies and their fields might be a good idea. I'll discuss it with WWM.

Sorry I can't be of more help :)

Obviously she was not fired for being 10 minutes late (seriously, who is she trying to fool.)

The law protects people who've been employed for more than 1 year. Anything less than a year and you have to see a "rights commissioner", but they are fairly useless.

Her contract most likely states she is on probation for X months. This means they can get rid of her without the usual notice periods.

Forget about it and move on. Also, some inward reflection might be worthwhile. I really think there is some dillusions/lies going on here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

I hold to seperate degrees with seperate requirements I obtained them concurrently but they are different degrees at the end of the program I was presented with seperate degrees.

The big word here is concurrently. Isnt that just 2 majors and being given a degree for each of them, which is kinda the same at the end of the day?

Anyway i kinda agree with alot of people here (especailly nesf, great advice by the way!). It seems that there may be more to it then being late but if they are going to fire your that then **** them. WHy work for them

Another thought that came to me is that maybe they wanted to make an example out of you because of the conflict you mentioned between MD,Image consultant(whatever that is!) and the rest of the staff. Maybe snuff out the rebelion with a sacrafical lamb i.e you

The american work culture is so weird. I thought I was the only person that
    noticed it when i spent a summer in Boston. OK i was only working for 3 months( had 3 different jobs though) but that was enough to notice the differences.

Seemly talking utter ****e about yourself over there is a national past time.
    Now I did meet some really sound down to earth guys but there were far and few between. These very same guys were probably thought of as weak willed, too quiet and not ambitious enough for there bosses liking!

As someone who hates cocky arrogant ****ers who talks ****e all the time this aspect of the american work place really annoyed me and in fact would consider it the biggest downer as i always planned of working in the States full time for a few years.

Anyway hope you find something more suitable and to your liking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

It's not only a cultural thing either. I've had an experience where I went from being someone who was apparently doing my job well, getting promotions, pay increases, good career reviews to being redundancy fodder almost overnight. The difference? A new manager. Apparently my keeping my manager up to date with status reports and my signalling of potentially difficult situations ahead, which was much appreciated by my first manager was somehow seen as a sign of weakness and a alack of initiative by the new one. Sometimes you just can't win.

jank wrote:
    The big word here is concurrently. Isnt that just 2 majors and being given a degree for each of them, which is kinda the same at the end of the day?

To the best of my knowledge 2 majors is only if you finish the degrees within the required credits. If you go over those credits to obtain a second degree then it is considered a second bachelor's as opposed to a second major. That is what I did. I finished my degree and then went on to finish the second degree.

I agree that the MD fired me to send a message to the rest of the crew. I also agree that they couldn't have just fired me for being late, that was merely a catalyst, I reckeon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

My gf did some temp work for CPL a good while back, replacing their receptionist while she was on holidays. She was a single receptionist, a busy company, pretty much taking calls constantly (she had to ring someone else to take over if she wanted to go to the toilet ffs). The MD rang down twice while she was on another call, and then later on had a "quiet word" with her. She was raging.

TBH if the attitude of recruitment companies (that we know so well) are anything to go by, then I'm not surprised that the MDs and upper management are just a pack of ****.

Move on, remember not to accept work in a recruitment agency again. :)

To the best of my knowledge 2 majors is only if you finish the degrees within the required credits. If you go over those credits to obtain a second degree then it is considered a second bachelor's as opposed to a second major. That is what I did. I finished my degree and then went on to finish the second degree.

It doesn't work like that over here.

Over here, claiming two BA's or two degrees of any kind means that you a) paid fees for both, b) did a full lot of credits for both degrees individually, ie 60 credits for both with no overlap (for each individual year), you cannot count a subject for both degrees.

Over here, for a double major, you don't get the same credits for each subject that you would for a single major plus minor. You do more classes but you still only get "60 credits awarded". ie each subject is exactly the same except it's worth less credits.

For instance, I'm completing a BSc and a BA. I have to get a full lot of 60 credits "a year" for both of them individually (180 credits for the BA in total and 240 credits for the BSc in total, no overlap allowed, and i can only count each subject and it's credits towards one of the degrees not both. Although, it's not really an issue since BA courses couldn't count towards a BSc course and vice versa). I cannot count any subject twice for credits. You can only count a subject for credits once, not twice. I'm not taking a full 60 credits for both years at once. To just take more than 60 credits I need the permission of the college I attend, ie UCC, and they only allow people to take an extra 30 and then only in special circumstances.

As I said, a very different education system over here. What you did would be considered as holding a double major BA, not two BA's. A double major is still something to be proud of though. What you did would be considered as "topping up" a BA. ie completing more credits to add another major. It doesn't mean a second degree. It's normally done by teachers. In this country, teachers (second level) get a pay rise for each major completed and can then teach that subject at second level. I know one teacher who has 7 majors completed for her BA. But she still only holds one BA.

Although tbh, you wouldn't be allowed (generally) in an Irish college to take two majors which were so similiar. You're not allowed have overlap. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

actually, if you get a 2:1 or higher in physcis in DCU, you can do an additional year and get a degree in engineering as well.

at least, it was like that 12 years ago when i was in uni.

anyway, i thought a BA in arts or something in UCD you did 2 subjects (like english and history) and you just got a single degree?

actually, if you get a 2:1 or higher in physcis in DCU, you can do an additional year and get a degree in engineering as well.

at least, it was like that 12 years ago when i was in uni.

anyway, i thought a BA in arts or something in UCD you did 2 subjects (like english and history) and you just got a single degree?

Times have changed. With modulisation it's a different ball game. Unfortunately. Otherwise, I'd have my BSc by now :(

You have to take two subjects for a BA here. You can take a joint major, where it's a 30/30 spilt or a single major/minor where it's 50/10 (iirc), i can't remember which way it goes.

We don't have a general ed system though. You specialise early when you get into college and can only take modules from a small selection that you are given. Ie in physics in UCC you usen't have any choice of modules until final year. You did specific courses for each year with no choice involved. I think it's similar for most small (class size) courses in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

Just want to add to the point of the work ethic here.
    My GF works for the eastern healthboard in dublin. She definately gets treated alot different to her irish counterparts. Her ideas get dismissed most of the time or some of the other managers pass them off as their own and then get praise. One particular manager has made life unbearable for her over the last year and now she cant wait to leave and go back to the states. All this because she is an American just trying to do her job and some irish ppl have this idea that americans are full of s**t. What a load of crap.

Only going from my experience here so dont flame me!!!!!!

galwaydude wrote:
    Just want to add to the point of the work ethic here.
    My GF works for the eastern healthboard in dublin. She definately gets treated alot different to her irish counterparts. Her ideas get dismissed most of the time or some of the other managers pass them off as their own and then get praise. One particular manager has made life unbearable for her over the last year and now she cant wait to leave and go back to the states. All this because she is an American just trying to do her job and some irish ppl have this idea that americans are full of s**t. What a load of crap.

Only going from my experience here so dont flame me!!!!!!

I don't see why anyone would flame you. :)

Personally, I have issues with America as a nation. But I do not translate those issues directly onto Americans that I meet/work with/whatever. The nation does not represent the individual etc.

For instance, I'm sure there are some inefficient Germans out there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270

John R wrote:

Agreed. Well actually there prob was a 6 month trial period? If so they are covered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

nesf wrote:
    I'm sure there are some inefficient Germans out there!
    Nein! Ve are ze effeciency master race.

Im pretty sure they are on dodgy ground giving you clothes in lieu of your 1 weeks pay that you are legally entitled to have.

Agreed. Well actually there prob was a 6 month trial period? If so they are covered.

No they are not in breach of the unfair dismissals act because she's been working there for less than a year.

Relevant part of the Oasis.ie site on this
    The Unfair Dismissals Acts apply to an employee who has at least 12 months continuous service with his/her employer. However the Acts will apply to the dismissal of an employee who has less than 12 months continuous service if the dismissal results wholly or mainly from:

* Trade union membership or activity;
    * An employee's pregnancy, giving birth or breastfeeding or any matters connected therewith;
    * The exercise or proposed exercise by an employee of a right under the Maternity Protection Act, 1994;
    * An employee's entitlements, future entitlements, exercise or proposed exercise of rights under the National Minimum Wage Act, 2000;
    * The exercise or proposed exercise by an employee of the right to adoptive leave or additional adoptive leave under the Adoptive Leave Act, 1995;The exercise or proposed exercise by an employee of the right to parental leave or force majeure leave under the Parental Leave Act, 1998
    * The exercise or proposed exercise by an employee of the right to Carer's Leave under the Carer’s Leave Act, 2001.

You can be fired for many many reasons in your first year. You get very limited protection during it. There is better, but still limited, protection after your first year.

Personally, I find people's heart-felt belief that they are "owed" a job and cannot be fired quite disconcerting. If you want a job for life, work in the public sector or similar. If you work in the private sector, then you are being paid a premium for the fact that your job isn't secure (in theory anyways).

Im pretty sure they are on dodgy ground giving you clothes in lieu of your 1 weeks pay that you are legally entitled to have.

Probably, but my guess is that the clothes are worth more than a week's pay.

They are entitled to get the clothes back iirc. Plus it's a hell of a lot of hassle for a small amount of money. A months wages, possibly worth fighting for, but a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270

Yeah screw it forget it and move on and omit it from your cv!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,352 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Also the day I arrived it was announced that the 2nd receptionist would be leaving in 6 weeks time. That receptionist informed me on my first day that it was because of the changes occuring with in the company and the way that it was headed was very different from the day that she started 3 years ago. At the end of the day I met with the director who wanted to find out how my day had gone. I explained the tasks I had performed and that I felt I was picking it up. She said the other receptionist was leaving in 6 weeks and tehy wanted me to get as much from her as possible as I would assume and office manager role following her depature. I said good and I look forward to that.

So going on the evidence the MD was clearly very happy with your first days performance if she/he wanted you to assume the office manager role.

So by that timeline, you either did something to upset someone when ye all went shopping, or else they are just scarely strict on lateness.

Boggles wrote:
    So going on the evidence the MD was clearly very happy with your first days performance if she/he wanted you to assume the office manager role.

So by that timeline, you either did something to upset someone when ye all went shopping, or else they are just scarely strict on lateness.

Yeah, something about her story is very fishy indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

they seem very strict alright as you shouldnt be sacked for been late by 10 mins. Very fishy indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,352 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

dublindude wrote:
    Yeah, something about her story is very fishy indeed!

I wouldn't say it's fishy, it just boils down to 2 things. Something happened when they were shopping or it's just because of the lateness.

Sorry I haven't posted in a day or two... I have been busy interviewing with other companies. The good news is I interviewed with a new company that have 34 employees and I would be the PA to the MD. I interviewed Tuesday at 3pm the interview was 1 hour 15 min. I met the girl who was leaving...and tomorrow I meet the MD. So that is promising.

I just was reading through the posts here and have a couple of things I wanted to touch on:

Education Wise: I understand that Ireland sees majors and degrees differently but at the end of the day I have two pieces of paper stating I obtained 2 seperate bachelor's. So shoudl that information be needed by an employer I would present 2 certificates. The thing is it may be different here but I wasn't educated here, ya know?!

The Recruitment Agency: I did not hear back from them after I returned the clothes. I am not pursuing them for the week's wages.,.,which was their contractal agreement. They stated in the contract that at anytime they could end the contract without reason but are obligated to give a week's notice. They did not do that. I could call them up on that but why when it would probably work out worse for me at the end of the day. Because they could make something up, it is their word against mine.

I would say the reason they fired me is the Image Consultant that took us shopping did not like me 'attitude'/personality.

Oh well their loss.