Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bigger Girls...Yes/No

• 06-07-2005 3:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭

Due to the debate started here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=272838
    I thought it might be aided with a poll to see what the general opinion is....

Bigger Girls... Yes/No 103 votes

I love the ladies with curves
    0% 0 votes
    Size 10 and under for me please...lets see those ribs
    39% 41 votes
    Big bum and big boobs but no excess flab for me
    27% 28 votes
    Big, small, tall, thin, ribs with poky hips, I take anything you got
    33% 34 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭peterk19

How much bigger are we talkin like a little bit around the waist or whale size?
    your not really clear i dont like stick thin girls but i also dont like big fat whales give us some options
    1 Paris Hilton (Stick Thin)
    2 Angelina Jolia (Full Body)
    work it from there to a Blue Whale
    Pete

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Velvet Vocals

peterk19 wrote:
    your not really clear i dont like stick thin girls but i also dont like big fat whales give us some options
    Pete

Angelina Jolia is NOT full Body!!! COME ON! She is a stick insect!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭poobum

Angelina Jolia is NOT full Body!!! COME ON! She is a stick insect!!!!

how can you say she is a stick insect when she has complete curves!stickinsects would have little or no ass or boobs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭peterk19

Angelina
    Stick hilton
    Just look at the difference between a stick insect and Angelina Jolie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

As previously stated, a nice bit of meat on the bones for me. Angelina Jolie is pretty thin to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

Well every1 likes their chick to have a bit of meat in the right places, and have a nice figure. Just the "right" size. You don't have to be able to see ribs to be a size 10, so it's a crap poll.

There are girls that are
    0. Anorexic
    1. Too skinny (model)
    2. Right Size (no excess but stuff in the right places)
    3. A bit overweight (average mary)
    4. A bit fat (this is where I draw the line ;))
    5. A bit fatter
    6. A lump of lard
    7. A huge shrek-style lump of lard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Rozie

Ugh, looking at those results further makes me loose faith in common Irish men >.>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭WUSBDesign

Er....can we replace Angelina with Cindy Crawford? ;)
    peterk19 wrote:
    Pete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

Fat (as in BIG) women are a HUGE turn-off for me, God fat is horrid and unhealthy.

Now that's the kind of thing that makes poor fat girls get depressed :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I mean it depends on the girl. Some girls carry off the slightly tubby thing to great effect. Others, not so great.....

Generally I like something in between curvy/slightly larger (slightly!)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Well, it's true. Stick insects are unattractive too.

Healthy is attractive (tough getting there though). Anyone see the pictures of Patsy Kensit these days? Very nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭rainglow

Lads, Angelina Jolie is a stick insect - if she didn't have her enormous boobs she'd be just as skinny as (if not skinnier than) Paris Hilton. She's just genetically gifted in a way I can only dream of being! :D In the context of the OP's poll I don't think Cindy Crawford counts as curvy - I bet you couldn't pinch an inch on that woman, and the way I read the poll curvy = bigger, not rock solid but blessed with a decent rack!

To get back to the question in hand....I wouldn't be a fan of fat on anyone of any sex. I think some people can carry it but I don't enjoy seeing fat people naked and can't imagine I'd enjoy grabbing somebody's lovehandles!! It's probably not going to be a popular view but it's my personal taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Aurther Hugh

Poll is moot; wording is biased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

I got this the other day what do you think???

or maybe these???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

*Page* wrote:
    or maybe these???

Those poor females....its sad how they don't realise that they are actually ruining their natural good looks :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

They're hideous :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Poll is a sham, size 10 is a beautiful size; not too thin.
    I'd suggest the size 10 isn't thin at all (and not fat before you jump down my throat); it's a healthy size.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

if it had eaten lunch I'd feel sick now.

ty *Page* :-/

Zulu wrote:
    Poll is a sham, size 10 is a beautiful size; not too thin.
    I'd suggest the size 10 isn't thin at all (and not fat before you jump down my throat); it's a healthy size.

Indeed, there's a breed of what I would call 'militant fatties', who shout 'loudly and often' about size 10 beiing 'stick-thin' and unhealthy, simply because their own view is skewed by their own excessive flabbiness. To me, size 10 represents ideal healthy size for a girl of average height, say 5"4 - 5"5

well i kinda am a bit pi$$ with mens attitude to a womans size!!

girls starve themselves because remarks like the ones that have been spoken about on this site!!

this is what some men turn certain woman into!!!

Dont think thats fair.

IMO women are their own worst enemy when it comes to issues of their weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Some women will never be a size 10 or a size 12 or a size 14 , simply due to thier bone structure. They can lose every excess pound and all unhealthly fat and still be a bigger build.

http://www.campaignforrealbeauty.com/flat3.asp?id=2450

http://ad-rag.com/117084.php
    Kingstonwomenposterad.jpg

http://www.femail.com.au/2249.htm

Duckjob wrote:
    Dont think thats fair.

IMO women are their own worst enemy when it comes to issues of their weight.
    i said some men and certain woman.... not all and i'm sorry but the only person ever in this world that ever made me feel bad about my size was a man!! i love my body!!! and i'm a big girl!!

i've heard more than one story of how a bf or husband made comments to the extent that the woman felt so ashamed of herself and her body that she gave up eating!!!

by the way i was once one of those woman when i was 16!! i was made go to councling and i met a few girls there with the same problem as me!

So some men do this to certain woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Skitbra

By the way those pictures weren't real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭p~b

i like a bit of cushion for the pushing, if you get my drift

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

personally (& i'm a bloke btw) stick thin is sick thin.
    no probs with big ladies
    id worry about men who know womens sizes though...
    12 or 14 ? means nowt to me & dats the way i likes it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Blut

Size 10 is very far from stick thin, so is Paris. Kate Moss, the Olsen twins recently, theyre stick thin.

As Duckjob mentioned the militant fatties are most amusing, blaming 'MEN' and 'SOCIETY' for their ills when what they need to do is put down the cupcake and get on the treadmill. Curves as in Angelina Jolie size is one thing, fat that ripples over your waistband is another. 99% of the male population will agree here, only the desperate ones will lie about it.

Oh and the fact that even with the horribly biased poll wording only 15% of voters think fatness is acceptable is most amusing, especially when you take into account how much lower standards are on the internet than in real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Wow, size 10 is stick thin? I guess my gf being an 8 is quite disturbing to some of you then? (And before anyone says it, she feeds like a demon! Fast metabolism, she's actually trying [unsuccessfully] to put on weight because she feels too thin in comparison to most "normal" people.). I don't find large women attractive, at all, just the way I am I guess. Being a thin guy probably means I'd rather not a woman be wider than me! I'd be flattened! Hahaha! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭WUSBDesign

RE: those JPG files.

Oh my, oh my :( . Shall we call in the SPCA?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Rantorama

TBH, I know a lot of women who try and stay thin not because they think they look better slim, but the supposed competition from other women makes them do so. A lot of the (anti-bigger girls) men would be lucky to get a second look from an intelligent attractive looking woman (big or small)

Those pictures are completely photoshopped, tell me you guys didn't think they were real!!! Gisele (2nd picture) looks absolutely nothing like that (see here - slender, yes, emaciated, no) and here , and the girl on the Yahoo anorexia group is completely stretched - did nobody notice that her legs are twice the length of her torso? :confused:

I don't think you realise that women are naturally fatter than men, and Size 10 is actually "thinner" than the actual biological "Normal" weight, as is one that you see in BMI charts.

That said, I'm sure there are plenty of great looking Size 10s, but any thinner gets a bit twig-ish for me.

I really think you're deluding yourself (or trying to convince yourself) that a size 10 is stick thin. Like somebody else said, Mary-Kate Olsen or Nicole Richie (weighing in at a mighty 7st 7lbs) is stick thin. I'm a size ten (and would be a 8 in shops with generous sizing like M&S or Dunnes) and am by no means a stick - I'd have to lose another 20lbs to be a stick! And since you mentioned BMI, I could lose a whole stone and still be in the "healthy" category according to BMI. Those girls are fitting into designer sample sizes which would be the equivalent of a small 6 or even a 4 over here. Size 10 isn't twiggy no matter what way you look at it.

i have no problem with size10 on some girls a 10 is really sexy.. then again a 10 could look terrible on a girl who was 5'10''....

and the cup cake remark please get a life... not all woman over eat...

i went on diet pills when i was a size 10 and 8 stone because i was "too fat" not my words. after i droped to an 8 he was happy i stayed on them pills for the 3 months then went on weight watchers to keep my weight down. after i did that i went up to a size 14 and 10 1/2 stone!! i've been working my ass off for the past 2 years to get my size down to 12 but its not happening.. i excersize i lift weights and jog and swim... but i cannot shift the weight!

but i'm kinda really happy and i feel sexy. my guy loves my body and the persn i am..

but even if those pictures are photo shopped there are girls out there like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I much prefer girls on the bigger side - anything from size 12 -18 is fine
    but preferably in proportion - nothing worse than a big girl with small breasts.

Skinny girls ('famine victims') are a real turn-off. My worst nightmare is being in bed with a size 8 flat-chested girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭DAEDULUS

this poll is retarded...when the lads here say curvy they do not mean fat with curves that are unatural,they mean nice big breasts and firm ass...not big in general- no guy likes that...
    also what really gets me...is when girls think their breasts are big and great when they are actually 90% fat and 10%flesh :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I hate when guys describe girls size 12 or 14 as being 'bigger'... I'm a size 14, very curvy and carrying quite a lot of muscle due to 10 years of martial arts. I actually don't think I could be a size 8 or 10. *shrug*

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Thaed wrote:
    Some women will never be a size 10 or a size 12 or a size 14 , simply due to thier bone structure. They can lose every excess pound and all unhealthly fat and still be a bigger build.

http://www.campaignforrealbeauty.com/flat3.asp?id=2450

http://ad-rag.com/117084.php
    Kingstonwomenposterad.jpg

http://www.femail.com.au/2249.htm
    That dove ad is hilarious, insult all the women who keep themselves in good shape by insinuating that they aren't 'real' women :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

*Page* wrote:
    i have no problem with size10 on some girls a 10 is really sexy.. then again a 10 could look terrible on a girl who was 5'10''....
    Very true.
    and the cup cake remark please get a life... not all woman over eat...
    True but the fact is you cannot be obese if you don't overeat(certain rare medical problems aside). It is more complicated than that though. I've seen it with some male and female friends of mine. They overeat for a while, pile on the weight then go back to a normal diet. The problem is the fat doesn't shift when they do. It seems you do have to overeat to put it on in the first place, but to maintain the weight doesn't require that much food. You really have to work to get it off, especially if you're a woman(less muscle mass, lower metabolism etc).
    i went on diet pills when i was a size 10 and 8 stone because i was "too fat" not my words. after i droped to an 8 he was happy i stayed on them pills for the 3 months then went on weight watchers to keep my weight down. after i did that i went up to a size 14 and 10 1/2 stone!! i've been working my ass off for the past 2 years to get my size down to 12 but its not happening.. i excersize i lift weights and jog and swim... but i cannot shift the weight!
    Well the diet pills would raise your metabolism and reduce your appetite. Coming off the pills might screw up your appetite control too. I'd imagine you would have to really exercise hard and really reduce your food intake to achieve the same result. Regardless of that, if anybody convinced you to take drugs like that, I for one am glad you got shot of the creep.
    but i'm kinda really happy and i feel sexy. my guy loves my body and the persn i am..
    Fair play and the main thing is that you like your body. The fact that he does is a welcome bonus.
    but even if those pictures are photo shopped there are girls out there like that!
    Yes, but if they're not in hospital, they should be.
    Rozie wrote:
    I don't think you realise that women are naturally fatter than men, and Size 10 is actually "thinner" than the actual biological "Normal" weight, as is one that you see in BMI charts.
    Of course women have more fat tissue than men, but that doesn't mean that a size 10(without taking onto account height/bone structure) is lower than normal. Not by a long shot.

Fat is like great art, you know it when you see it. Luckily enough, taste in both art and women has a wide range.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Fair play wibbs ... thats all i've got to say at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Ania

In the magazine 'Cosmopolitan' they analysed what kind of man attrackts what kind of a woman's body type, (shortened):
    Very skinny women attrackt men with bisexual tendences:
    These men prefer a boyish built and they just get it on very skinny ladies.

Curvey women rather attrackt the major group of men:
    Many eldery men were witnesses of the war or the hard post- war times when people were underfed. A curvey woman is also a symbol for fertility.

Men who are attrackted to the typical 'modern' sex symbol, i.e. thin body but big breasts and firm bottoms, are usually sex hungry machos:
    Usually men for one- night stands only.

Men who don't care what body type are self conscious guys who are satisfied if they get any woman:
    Men who have no imaginations of "their lady of their dreams" have no imaginations of themselves. Now in fairness: "Only personality is important, not the appearance" is a dying- out phrase nobody believes anymore, does anybody?

Do you agree?

Id have to say yes i do agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

All except the part where it says that i have bisexual tendencies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

*Page* wrote:
    I got this the other day what do you think???

They look like photoshops tbh

edit; just saw others have covered that. Move along.

Personality is important, so is appearance. Its all part of the package.

An Angelina Jolie lookalike wouldn't interest me if she was a silly annoying airhead. By the same token, I couldn't go out with a girl with the most sparkling fun personality in the world if my stomach secretly heaved when she took her clothes off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭DAEDULUS

Duckjob wrote:
    Personality is important, so is appearance. Its all part of the package.

An Angelina Jolie lookalike wouldn't interest me if she was a silly annoying airhead. By the same token, I couldn't go out with a girl with the most sparkling fun personality in the world if my stomach secretly heaved when she took her clothes off.

You are full of it lol...Your ACTUALLY saying that you would turn down Angelina Jolie even if she was totally mad about you,but you werent fond of her attitude?..bull****.. I think it would be fair to say for men in general,looks come way before personality..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭The Clown Man

Actually, I'll just put one thing in here and then bolt.

My GF is a size 8 and the's 5'8". So she is thin. However, she had the most shapely, firm, squeezable bum in the world. She has an incredibly flat stomach and a B cup bust.

If most guy's here are talking about how they like curvy women - implying that they like a little weight if it is in the right places - then why is it that she can't go anywhere without having people slobbering all over her. Like ANYWHERE. ie - the chipper on a tuesday night.

I have been with some fantastic looking girls - and because we are in Ireland a lot of them would have been size 10-12 - but I have never seen anyone get the attention she gets. It's bloody amazing. And it IS all down to her figure. I'm positive of that.*

So basically, guys do go for skinny girls. Subconciously or whatever.

All this curvy stuff is nonsense. If there were two girls, both good looking and one was a size 12 and one was a size 8 - almost every guy would go for the size 8. I understand it because there is just something far sexier about a delicate female. Some sort of ugha-bugha cave man thing - I dunno.

And btw that's an opinion derived from "case study" not personal preference. I know there are people who like larger girls and I know people including myself do not mind an extra bit of weight, it's certainly not un-sexy, but the majority of people think skinny is sexy.

I dont mean to burst girls bubbles or anything but this is just a fact I have recently realised.

* The fantastic looking girls bit is fair comment and is a basis for the proof I'm trying to give. Please dont be childish and flame. Thanks.