Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WSOP Predictions .. who have you put a few quid on?

• 06-07-2005 2:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭

To make final table, I've a few pennies on

Dan Harrington 50/1
    Padraig Parkinson 80/1
    Paddy O'Connor 100/1

If I can get a few prices for some of the boardies I'd throw a couple of bob on Oscar and Fintan Gavin, and all the lads for that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I have a small piece of about 9 players from another forum I post on. The chances of an unknown winning are very high. I mean a third of the field qualified from PS (I think) I think atleast 2/3 of the field must be internet qualifiers. Of the well known players I'm going for Scott Fischman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

I would take 10/11 about Daniel Negranu,Howard Lederer,Scotty Nguyen,Gus Hansen,Greg Raymer,Chris Ferguson all not to reach the final table.

How about posting this special up paddy power?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I would take 10/11 about Daniel Negranu,Howard Lederer,Scotty Nguyen,Gus Hansen,Greg Raymer,Chris Ferguson all not to reach the final table.

How about posting this special up paddy power?

Doh, don't you mean 5/1 ?

I'm not sending you in to any tricky negotiation talks on my behalf ;)

NickyOD wrote:
    I have a small piece of about 9 players from another forum I post on.

When someone has 'a piece' of a player whats the usual deal. How much € do you have to give a player up front to have lets say 10% of him.

Culchie wrote:
    Doh, don't you mean 5/1 ?

I'm not sending you in to any tricky negotiation talks on my behalf ;)

Theres no way the price would even be 6/4. Nearly 6,000 runners. if pp offered me even 5/4 im all-in.
    if i were a price maker i would chalk this up at 10/11(paddy power feel free to offer me this job)!. If i was paddy power and the odds room priced up 5/1 i would be looking for heads to roll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

When someone has 'a piece' of a player whats the usual deal. How much € do you have to give a player up front to have lets say 10% of him.

It's usual to have level equity ie 1% of buy-in for 1% of winnings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

€2 on Hasin Habib, €2 on John Juanda (one is 50/1, other is 66/1 - can't remember which).

Oh and a tenner double on Johnny Moss and Stu Ungar :)

Culchie wrote:

Dan Harrington 50/1
    Padraig Parkinson 80/1
    Paddy O'Connor 100/1

If I can get a few prices for some of the boardies I'd throw a couple of bob on Oscar and Fintan Gavin, and all the lads for that matter.

If Harrington makes it three years in a row, I reckon that would be equal any WSOP achievement and a Hall of Fame spot beckons.

Eamon O'Reilly is on there but PPP Qualifier 'Pokertroll' nowhere to be seen????

Come on Pit Boss, let's have all the boardies priced up so we can have a punt !!!

You'll make more from the crowd here than directly through paddypower.com !

BigDragon wrote:
    Eamon O'Reilly is on there but PPP Qualifier 'Pokertroll' nowhere to be seen????

I'd wait for the tournament to start before having a few bob on Eamon. Didn't the guy he beat heads up for the ticket threaten to shoot him in Vegas before the tournament started. I think Eamon called your mans all in bet with 64o and of course won. The guy followed him around the website for hours screaming obsenities at him. Nice fellow I'd say, well able to take his bad beats.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

The group betting and match betting are probably safer territory. I would like to see prices to make the money as that would be an achievement in itself.

Dan Harrington at 7-1 to place better than

Phil Hellmuth
    G Hansen
    Phil Ivey
    H Lederer
    D Negreanu
    Dave 'Devilfish' Ulliot
    Chris 'Jesus' Ferguson
    Johnny Chan
    John Juanda

Hellmuth fav to make final table???!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

Given that there will be 6000+ runners, picking players to make the final table is a complete lottery. However, I'm known to like a small gamble and I've backed all the following players for €4 (minimum bet allowed) on Betfair:

Surinder Sunar @ 119/1
    Donnacha O'Dea @ 149/1
    Simon Trumper @ 169/1
    Jeff Shulman @ 199/1
    Sam Farha @ 119/1

The first three are my favourite players, Sam Farha has been there before and Jeff Shulman looked like a nice name!!

Betfair ... darn .... good idea.

P.S ...I disagree with your lottery comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

Culchie wrote:
    Come on Pit Boss, let's have all the boardies priced up so we can have a punt !!!

You'll make more from the crowd here than directly through paddypower.com !
    He he.. The PPP qualifiers will go up today / tomorrow priced at 200-1!

Culchie wrote:

Dan Harrington 50/1
    Padraig Parkinson 80/1
    Paddy O'Connor 100/1

Just got my quote from Paddy Power for Fintan 66/1

Bit tight methinks (no disrespect to Fintan), Doyle Brunson is 85/1 on betfair !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I put some money on a few players to make final table too (on PP).

PP won't let me see who I backed now though as all the poker transactions use up my account transactions which only go back about 2 weeks. I know Dan Harrington was in there but can't remember who else. I also can't remember how much it was for :(

They really need to change that interface to show bets that are still outstanding.

Did you select 'Unsettled' bets, should narrow it down (hopefully ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

Imposter... you can def check your bets from longer than two weeks ago... as culchie said... just check the unsettled box.. then change the date to last year. It ill give you all unsettled bets from the entire year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Oops, never saw that unsettled option before! - must get eyes checked.

So anyways I have a mighty 2€ on Negreanu, Hansen, Harrington, Willie Tann and Sam Farha!

I have €100 on the 'Age of winner to be 29 or less' at 10/3 with ppowers. I figure at least 3 players on the final table will be under 29 so i'll hopefully have 1/3 of the final table. This age group should include the majority of internet qualifiers and a small percentage of pros so i figure 10/3 is good value.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Johnny Moss I'm so gettting fired

DeV.

DeVore wrote:
    Johnny Moss I'm so gettting fired

DeV.

Was that you?....LMAO. Gimp!