Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayfair Last Night

• 05-07-2005 7:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭

Toddled along to the freeroll in the mayfair last night to see what the place was like. Very nice I must say, nice chips, new tables all thats been mentioned before!
    Was only 18 runners or so, nice shorthand games as we had only about 7 on our table i think. Ended up next to ionapaul for the night.
    Started off a bit ropey, got outdrawn a couple times, wasn't getting great cards. Finally after a buy in the cards started appearing, i was getting A high flushes left right and centre and found myself in chip lead quite quickly.

7 of us brought to the final table after a couple hours and had a fairly healthy stack, but that certainly didn't last long. Was dealt 88, and flopped a set, and bet fairly strongly, ended up getting beaten with a flush, and that took a fairly big chunk away from me! Played a bit looser than I probably should have after that, chasing flushes and straights, and ended up with a measly 3 x BB (1200.)
    I landed the button and it was time for me to sit back and let others fight it out. there were 5 of us left and there were 4 tickets for the monthly €100 game. I didn't have to wait long before the other shortstack went out (who seemingly had a seat for the monthly already) courtesy of Ionapaul (who in the meantime had done his deal with the poker Gods and come right back up ;)) So my 3rd freeroll and my second ticket! All in all a pretty decent night.

Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Yeah it was good craic. I think I overheard Alex mention they pulled in €370 in rebuys / topups, so they added a little to the prize pool to bring it up to 4 full tickets. Wednesday should be a laugh - I have a good read on many of the players who have won tickets so far, so hopefully with some decent cards I can get paid :) Wonder will they add anything to the prize pool, being their 1st €100 tourney?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

was gonna ask what the prize for the €100 tourney is?
    Any ideas?? Who else is playing on Wednesday? That other shortstack from the final table is playing too right? He seems to chase hands a little..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭dsab

I will be there as well. Won two Freeroll tickets there in the last 2 weeks. Should be fun. Some weird gaming going on there at times, but overall nice experience.

They expect around 30 for the wednsday game. Should be a fun game.

Iona, when did you play there, then I can tell you if you might have a read on me. ;)

Cheers,
    DSAB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭dsab

Divers,

as far as I remember they will add some money, if there are more then 25 runners.

With around 30 people, there should be 4K in the pool, of which the winner gets 45%, IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Divers wrote:
    was gonna ask what the prize for the €100 tourney is?
    Any ideas?

Forget the prizepool, the buffet is at 10.30pm :D
    dont get ko'd before that anyway.

Forget the prizepool, the buffet is at 10.30pm :D
    dont get ko'd before that anyway.

darn tootin'!...priorities priorities :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

100 euro freezeout? Might head down there, the standard isin't great.
    Especially if they're adding money....

Have a great record down there. Played once made the money once!

What time does it start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

roryc wrote:

What time does it start?

How did the Fitz €100 go last night, any reports?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

didn't play it. went out on the piss instead

roryc wrote:

What time does it start?

registration from 7.30- starts at 9pm AFAIK

but I feel like winning my first money tourney tomorro :D