Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LIVE8 a good idea or not?

• 02-07-2005 4:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭

Right I have read and heard a lot of people saying live8 is stupid. They believe that Bob Geldof does all this for himself and that he is not thinking about the people in Africa. They don’t believe he is honest with the way the money is being divided.

Now this is most definitely not how I feel. I think its great and the people that think that are idiots because he is trying to do as much as he can to draw as much attention on Africa because of all its problems and the people that die every 3 seconds. I understand that the tsunami was huge but that was an extraordinary occurrence and alot of money was going there even after countries had given millions if not billions to the cause all there problems can be helped with money for example building buildings and giving them boats to fish. But in Africa people need medicine and to be allowed to live in the countries that the tsunami hit they are not suffering from diseases such as aid's and HIV that Africa are in the huge numbers.

People have been saying about the way Bob just put the concerts there and doesn't care about the policing and if people get hurt. In my opinion why does it matter if you get hurt like if you fall to the ground why should Bob take responsibility for this its not his job. If you fall to the ground you will not die from Aids or have to live in the conditions that the people in Africa have to. You should have your own cop on to be careful and I am sure by the looks of the crowd there is no chance of anything happening because they seem pretty relaxed. I am sure though anyone that does mess will be dealt with. I have been to many other concerts and nothing happened at them when I was expecting a lot to happen. I doubt anything will happen at these.

People who don’t see the advantages of debt relief are blind. I understand there ahs to be conditions and I agree there has to be conditions but as I saw the African continent has paid back what they owe and then some but they are still paying back interest. Why should we allow this? We are the ones putting them into debt. They have paid us back but we still expect more even though we exploit them as well. What do people want? I honestly don’t believe you can satisfy everyone even on such a necessity.

Well anyway to my question under the reasons I have stated and maybe some of your own 'Do you believe LIVE8 is a good idea?'
    Maybe explain a bit about why as well.

Do you believe do you LIVE8 is a good idea? 25 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 25 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭beardedchicken

colin300 wrote:
    Right I have read and heard a lot of people saying live8 is stupid. They believe that Bob Geldof does all this for himself and that he is not thinking about the people in Africa. They don’t believe he is honest with the way the money is being divided.

what money? it's not a fundraiser, it's a consciousness-raiser.

the event itself won't actually make any fundamental differences, but it has and will continue to put the issues more prominently on the public agenda. It's then up to the public to put pressure on their elected representatives to make those changes, and to in turn put pressure on those with the real power to change the system.

i've heard those criticisms too, and some of them do have merit, but doing something is better than doing nothing, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

You'll find out in a week if it was all worth it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

I can't understand the people who come out and criticise Geldof and Live Aid/Live 8. As far as I'm concerned, anything at all, no matter how big or small, that makes any kind of difference whatsoever to the lives of people living in poverty or dying of starvation should be welcomed and not criticised. Personally, the way I see it, if the life of just one single child is saved, it was worth it all.

To those who criticise Geldof, Live Aid/Live 8, Band Aid, the artists involved, Bono going around the world trying to highlight these problems to Bush and the other world leaders, or whatever else it may be, to those cynics and people coming out with these criticisms all I can say is what are you doing to make a difference then, eh? At least these people are trying to do something, no matter how big or small a difference it might make, at least it's something! So shut the f**k up! :mad:

As I said before, when all is said and done, if even one life is saved it's worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭RVN10

Fair play to sir bob one of the best things to come out of ireland woooooooo LIVE8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,744 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I dont see why they didnt charge something like €20 a ticket or something and give it to charity. Its just the same really, it would raise awareness and earn money and it wouldnt have been expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭RVN10

ya you can only help but wonder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Dagnir Glaurung

The more time attempts to end poverty appear on the front pages instead of Jordan's knickers the better for the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭Geiger

Absolutely, I think it's a great idea. It's got everyone talking, even those who weren't interested before. With this amount of pressure the leaders are going to have to act or lose the support of the people who made them 'the worlds most powerful men'. Oh, and everyone feels cool cause they're helping Bob ;)