Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Live 8 as it happens....

• 02-07-2005 1:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭

Sir Paul Mc Cartney and U2 - Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club

twas pretty good, a bit flat though

Lets see if U2 can lift the crowd a bit. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭moshpit77

they seem to be lifting them now with vertigo!

"GIVE IS WHAT WE WANT, GIVE US WHAT WE FU<KIN WANT!"

Fair play Bono

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭endac1

The crowd look incredibly dull.
    Looks like that ban on alcohol really had an effect.
    sound is pretty crap too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

just have the tv on listening to it and there seems to be a lot of microphone feedback.

fair play to them though as each act only has 15 minutes

In fairness, its not Wembley Stadium... Hyde Park is a lot more wide open so it's hard to create and atmosphere to rival Wembley. I can see them getting livelier as the day goes on thoug, it's early yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Jesus this crowd is sh1t compared to Croker last week. I suppose its not the point though. Good little speech by Bono too. Its a pity they only get the 3 songs..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭endac1

I suppose they will get more into it but jeez.
    it's u2 and Paul McCartney... what more do you need?

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Its hard to see how this crowd are going to get going at all today. Looks like the may end up regreting the alcohol banning

Come on Bono. Get off and leave on coldplay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭shacko

tHOUGHT SGT. PEPPERS'S WAS VERY FLAT.PICKED IT UP WITH BEAUTIFUL DAY. BUT THERE GONNA REGRET THE ALCHOL BAN.

Turn Off The ****ing Caps Lock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Network two have gone to Berlin, looks alot better than the london gig on BBC

This should be good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Best part of the day yet though has to be Jonathan Ross' comment about bono and bob geldof. He was commenting on the construction of the stage etc:

"Bono and Bob, I'm sure they're handy with a spanner and know their way around scaoffoling...being Irish and all"

the pure genius that is Mr.Woss... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭JimboPope

Coldplay just tried some improvisation, "I like it, I like it....", couldnt quite pull it off.

yea, was a bit dodgy. this bittersweet symphony isnt bad tho.

howya jimbo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Kazaanova

Anyone know any video coverage on the internet? I don't want to miss Placebo in Paris.

Good speech by Chris there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Astro1996

Bittersweet symphony was brilliant!!!:D:D

looks like coldplay will pull it out of the bag a bit with "fix you" - great song

Excellent set there by Coldplay.

Sorry dude. Probaly should of added iam here in hyde park. Loggin on with my XDA2. cOUld really do with a cold beer. Coldplay have just been amazing anyonw one know were i can stram the sound from my xda onto a web pae for any1 who WANTS to listen.Beer please

shacko wrote:
    Sorry dude. Probaly should of added iam here in hyde park. Loggin on with my XDA2. cOUld really do with a cold beer. Coldplay have just been amazing anyonw one know were i can stram the sound from my xda onto a web pae for any1 who WANTS to listen.Beer please
    ah the wonders of technology... as bono said... they are dangerous little pieces of technology :D

shacko wrote:

haha, thats class. whereabouts in the crowd are you? i cant believe there is a beer ban. The organisers might regret that if the crowd stays this morose for the rest of the day!

Did the BBc sHow The fiLm. Anyone Know wEre i can pull a set list off the net. Thought i might find one here. Oh Me and the cousin have a big 6 ft Make Poverty History Banner were holding with big sticks and were in the 1st 3rd of the crowd. Quese all night

hey that's pretty cool that you are there, anyway to make a makeshift boards.ie sign?

shacko wrote:
    Did the BBc sHow The fiLm. Anyone Know wEre i can pull a set list off the net. Thought i might find one here. Oh Me and the cousin have a big 6 ft Make Poverty History Banner were holding with big sticks and were in the 1st 3rd of the crowd. Quese all night

No they did not

did you hear chris martin's comment on BBC that he was thinking of his dinner while he was playing - smooth chris, really smooth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,184 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Anyone know of somewhere to listen to the gig? Not watch it streaming... just the sound streaming.

Kazaanova wrote:
    Anyone know any video coverage on the internet? I don't want to miss Placebo in Paris.

Try http://music.channel.aol.com/live_8_concert/home .Apparently its the exclusive online partner for live 8.

Is it just me or is Jo Whiley looking hot as sh1t in that dress and boots.... yum yum :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭DingChavez

OMG, the crowd is so ****e. I see people there standing with their hands at their sides and their backpacks on.....

and pete doherty looks like he's as high as a kite.... he's out of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,960 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

oh my god-that was just weird.
    pete doherty was loo-la

Have you ever seen Pete Doherty look any different?

I thought he looked sober actually.. Elton gave him a kiss on ther lips at the end!

Does anybody else think Jonathan Ross is the star of the show so far? Very funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Poz3D

...and Bill Gates takes the stage! :)

holy **** its Bill Gates!!

Cue technical difficulties...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

moshpit77 wrote:
    holy **** its Bill Gates!!

Cue technical difficulties...

Ha.

I didnt know Uber Geek would be there.

And also, Dear God thats a terrible crowd.

personnally i hate them little britain guys.Ricky Gervais videos were class along with JR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭rancheros

what is he doing there......

I despise Little Britain, I saw Gervais's video last night, it was pretty funny, but I don't think most people got it. That Make Povery History ad he was parodying, I've only ever seen it on CNBC inbetween Conan. Do the regular stations ever play it?

I only seen the ad once or twice on mtv. You'd think it would have been played more.

dido sounds terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Astro1996

Feck sake, will somebody wake the crowd up...:rolleyes:

Dido's looking dam fine :D