Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bloody Typical

• 27-06-2005 1:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭

Forgive me for ranting about a night out, but its late, i cant sleep and am bored , so just thought I'd stick my story up here and let it drift down the pages. Hope no one minds and some will probably find my misfortune funny ( is it misfortune if its self inflicted?)

Having been out of "the game" for a long while, and not likeing being single I decided to get back on the horse so to speak.Ive been singl for a few months so last thursday I headed out to the george with my cousin ( a friend of a friend was in the final of the stars in your eyes). I know it isnt exactly the best place for a straight guy to go looking for a girlfriend but I was exactly expecting the love of my life to fall into my arms (not on my first night looking anyway,lol). But tbh it was more of a have fun exercise. Anyway the night was going great, having great craic being able to dance like an goon to music I actually like and getting drunk into the bargain when I turn around and spy a dark haired beauty standing a the far side of table. Now normally I'll have a look at a pretty girl and leave it at that, I'm not the go up and strike a conversation type, I tend to be quite shy with strangers but after a few minutes really open up like they were my best friend, but this particular girl really intrigued me, she was very pretty , with dark hair and eyes and a hint of freckles accross her nose.She was tall enough, bout 5' 8", slim and sexy So after snatching a couple of quick glances I resigned myself to the fact that she was probably a lesbian ( hey, dont judge me, the mind of a straight man is very simple, especially after a few drinks)

A few minutes later she was still standing there and i noticed her looking when i was messing, I plucked up the courage and made a comment to her about her being there alone. To my surprise she responded and we started chatting. The details of the next while are a bit sketchy due to me being fairly drunk, but it turns out she was 27 and sketchy Scottish. I was having great fun at this stage, stop thinking dirty people, I was enjoying her company and I really like the scottish accent. Anyway it seemed as though we were hitting it off and then she kisses me. So needless to say, my night counted as an over whelming success from that point regardless what happend ( obviously barring some David Brent style **** up on my part like punching here in the face) . To my surprise and enjoyment she didnt up and leave but stayed and we spent the next hour or two ( I wa sdrunk remember) having fun till it was leaving time

. So we grabbed our coats and headed outside and over to eddie rocketswhere we chatted for a while over some food. We then headed out to get a taxi, at this stage I was begining to notice just how very very drunk I was, and when I get drunk I get tired. So we got our taxi and were heading towards hers as i said I'd drop her. She says shes going to sandycove so I said grand figuring that I could just squeeze a trip from Dame street to Sandycove to Tallaght into the budget. As we were getting out of town and heading toward sSandycove I decided that I should probably at least get her number as I really liked her and would like to see her again, but as I'm saying this to myself I can feel myself drifting off. What followed was a battle with myself to stay awake, which I lost, it was like in the movies when someone is in a coma and is talking but is wondering why noboday can here them or is answering them. I have vague recolections of her and/ or the taxi driver asking me if I was getting out in sandycove but a response wasnt forthcoming. So I ended up at 5 o'clock in the mornig waking up as we pulled into my road and cinderella ( I cant for the life of me remember her name, if you happen to be reading this, sorry, but it was loud when you told me and the converstaion had gone too far to admit I hadnt heard you) was gone.

Well thats pretty much the end of my story/rant. I really have to make sure if anything liek this happens again to saty coherent enough to get a number so I can see a girl again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

crash and burn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

stinger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

lol, thats harsh. If its meant to b, etc. she'll show up somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

That's a fantastic story man. Reads like a seinfeld episode..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Stuff

I do try. Hopefully there'll be more in the future, although they might not be as amusing if the ending is the opposite ( crosses fingers)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Maynard.

The opposite?
    You mean if she falls asleep? what a filthy mind you have.
    (if ur thinking what my filthy mind is thinking that is :rolleyes: )

Maynard. wrote:
    (if ur thinking what my filthy mind is thinking that is :rolleyes: )

I wasnt till you said it. STOP TRYING TO CORRUPT ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm incapable of impure thought :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Son_of_Belial

Are you sure "she" was a woman OP?!

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Scottish accent is awesome tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

ColHol wrote:
    Scottish accent is awesome tbh

On a hot girl

On a drunk smelly hairy man, no (this is where I hear it most :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭MooShop

good story, really unlucky though hard luck man better luck next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

That should be in the humour forum tbh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

in fairness, you'd have to 'drop the lámh' to make sure in a place like that... guarentee you it was a bloke :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Any chance of tracking down the taxi driver (I know, it's a long shot) and finding out where he dropped her. Although with your luck they're probably going steady by now. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

ApeXaviour wrote:
    That's a fantastic story man. Reads like a seinfeld episode..

:D yeah, could see something like that happening to george!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Haha, that is very funny..

You should try out The George again though, same night as last time..
    Maybe, just.. maybe she might be there ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Any chance of tracking down the taxi driver (I know, it's a long shot) and finding out where he dropped her....
    That'll go down well, "I really like you so I stalked you" :D

Look on the bright side OP, you were out of the game for ages and on your first attempt back in the game you scored. Be happy and another will come along. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

to be honest, i thought the story wa gonna end up like in Trainspotting when the bloke drops the hand on ur one and finds "unexpected results". wat proof exactly do u have that it was a female? im not sayin she was a bloke but this story just needs that little extra something to become Story of the Week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭logic

head back out to the george next week, she might be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

chalk it up to a missed chance and learn from it, the potential of the wonderful relationship you were going to have with her is probably worth more to you than the horrible predictable reality anyway. i have two similar stories and the more one thinks about them the they frustrate, so just forget about it, it was still a good night by the sounds of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Same time. Same place. Same day. One week on.

You can but try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Same time. Same place. Same day. One week on.

You can but try.
    It's not an entirely illogical suggestion tbh, quite the opposite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

Sickner. Great story, you could get a book out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

ah bummer man,
    I'm with you on the scottish accent though...great on a good lookin girl... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Same time. Same place. Same day. One week on. You can but try.
    OR Same time. Same place. Same day. Every day for the next three months. But that might get him a reputation. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I thought she was going to end up in your bed, only got you to find out she had a cock. Unlucky though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Binomate wrote:
    I thought she was going to end up in your bed, only got you to find out she had a cock. Unlucky though.

That story probably wouldnt have seen the light of day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

Great story, something very similar happened to me last week on Leeson Street. 2 bottles of wine, getting on great with the most perfect girl, got to the end of night snog outside on the steps, half way through which the air hit me and I blanked out. Amazingly, I did get a number from her though - must have been before I hit the deck.

I really thought your story was going to end in a 'Crying Game' moment....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

robbie1876 wrote:
    Great story, something very similar happened to me last week on Leeson Street.
    How much did she cost ye? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

Victor wrote:
    How much did she cost ye? :D
    A twisted knee and a big scrape on me arm.... The old reliable 'black out when its time to pay up' routine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

The_B_Man wrote:
    to be honest, i thought the story wa gonna end up like in Trainspotting when the bloke drops the hand on ur one and finds "unexpected results". wat proof exactly do u have that it was a female? im not sayin she was a bloke but this story just needs that little extra something to become Story of the Week.

a good oul fleecing by the taxi driver would of rounded it off nicely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Intresting story.. lets hope you turn up next week at the same time/place and continue the story. :p