Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hypothetical Question of Doom

• 26-06-2005 9:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭

Fantasy time. :D

You have six months to train for a street assault (you saw it in your crystal ball) by one attacker of unknown physical attributes, age and size with an unknown skillset.

Assuming that the attack is unavoidable what would (combat sports/martial arts) you train in for those 6 months?

NOTE: There is only 1 attacker. No weapons are involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

Personally I would go with MMA training. I would focus more on the clinch range (specifically Greco Roman upright clinch) and I would train a lot of thai at Bridgestone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

personally i would join the Police ..
    assuming the attack is unavoidable i would prosecute him for assaulting a police officer

HAPPY DAYS :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭dent

If no weapons I'd train in the TMA Bando. If weapons allowed id train with Irish Special Forces.

columok wrote:

Are you just trying to bait people :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭soma

columok wrote:
    You have six months to train for a street assault (you saw it in your crystal ball)

I'd hide under my bed for seven months.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

game pit by armbar. end of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I'd hide under my bed for seven months..
    But maybe THAT'S where it happens! After all, is the future changable once it's seen? Man this topic throws up so many questions about temporal causality.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

No training required, go on pure instinct :)

Probably a double armbar followed by repeated headbutts to the nose :rolleyes: (wishful thinking)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

columok wrote:

You have six months to train for a street assault (you saw it in your crystal ball) by one attacker of unknown physical attributes, age and size with an unknown skillset.

Assuming that the attack is unavoidable what would (combat sports/martial arts) you train in for those 6 months?

Well I rekon you would have to go with Sagats Tiger Uppercut!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Id continue training in my JiuJitsu without a doubt.

As you mentioned colom, Muay Thai would also be nice, but you can only choose one one no ?... :)

As for anyone who hypothetically changes what Art they are doing in response to this topic(Good idea) they need to reconsider their training..

Correctimundo! Unless of course you don't train with self defence in mind...

Are you just trying to bait people

Nope. just wondering if those who train with self defence in mind feel that the way they are training and what they are training in is the optimum way of changing things.

By the way, what's Bando?

For the sake of the argument I'll make some restrictions.

1) The fight cannot be avoided.

2) You can train in as much as you like.

Exactly if you're training with self defence in mind as the good Roper said.

columok wrote:
    Nope. just wondering if those who train with self defence in mind feel that the way they are training and what they are training in is the optimum way of changing things.

Cool, so you where kind of baiting then :D
    columok wrote:
    By the way, what's Bando?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bando

Its like thai. One of our instructors teachs it. Sparring is no fun. Even got a burst ear drum as a result :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

dent wrote:

Its like thai. One of our instructors teachs it. Sparring is no fun. Even got a burst ear drum as a result :(
    Ouch!! But nobody said it would be easy!!!!!:D

Probably train more or less the same but with vale tudo in mind. So a little more ground and a lot more clinch.
    I've yet to figure out which of my vast arsenal of kicks ;) it is that keeps getting my ass taken down.... so probably work on that for 5 and a half months.

Cool, so you where kind of baiting then

Nope. The intent of my post wouldnt be akin to the definition of baiting

dent wrote:
    Yeah, stitching with head butts would not be my thing....... But I'd say it's headache-tastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

columok wrote:

For the sake of the argument I'll make some restrictions.

2) You can train in as much as you like.

Oh the paradox...

Anyway, If I can train in as much as I like, and being realistic about it...

Keep my JJ, train in MMA with ye sbg lads, and Muay Thai as well.

columok wrote:
    Nope. The intent of my post wouldnt be akin to the definition of baiting

Wikipedia has made a powerful enemie today. Just let me sign up and I'll have that definition re-written to suit my purposes :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

Month One
    Nip over to the UK and train every day with Geoff Thompson and Peter Consterdine

Month Two
    Head state side and spend the month training in WWII Combatives with Carl Cestari

Month Three
    Give a month going over more Combatives and maybe some weapons stuff with Kelly McCann,maybe we could go visit Gunsite or Thunder Ranch for a week each??

Month Four
    Getting the hang of this stuff now so it's a month of Padded Assailant Training,two weeks at RMCAT with Peyton Quinn and two weeks working with Lee Aldridge of RBFC,possibly in his garage and yard :) That should take care of the sneaky stuff and "woofing" and multiples, in case the fecker lied about it being one to one and weaponless!!

Month Five
    Time to up the body conditioning and timing/Range work so it's off to the Jet Centre to train with Benny "The Jet " Urguidez and his team.

Month Six
    Finish up with contest prep type training with Bas Rutten especially working his street defenses into the Combatives I already got from the others . Hopefully the imaginary opponnent will tackle me while Bas is around just in case his mates don't like seeing their buddy blinded and throat chopped to bits :)

Bit of a wish list fantasy training camp there but no-one said I couldn't go to the best.
    In reality a Geoff Thompson Weekend Seminar and work the fitness would be more do-able.And if it were going to be a more formal scrap possibly Six months training with John Kavanagh would be more suitable.
    However,Colum did stipulate a street fight,I know I'm not starting one so I'm going to ba attacked by some guy out on the street? That is potentially a fatal assault on my person so I want to best prepare for any and all eventualities.I'd say the above scheme would be a good way to go about this!

Month Five

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I'd focus on my chi and make sure that it was positive and smooth. Only then would I be ready for combat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

I'd stop training and drink a bottle of whiskey everyday to give the guy a fair chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭EPO_MAN

dunno.
    I'd carry a stick. (oh no weapons...)

I'd ring tank abbott and pay him to be mean to this guy.

seriously I'd continue training as normal (well maybe a bit more intensity)

If you're gonna go.....

I'd stop training and drink a bottle of whiskey everyday to give the guy a fair chance.

Well you've got the whiskey thing sorted anyway. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

columok wrote:

How do you know you are gonna get attacked for sure? Because if we saw it in our crystal ball then we must have seen the attacker in the act of attacking us?? If this person is still totally unknown to us, then there can not have been an attack?

But there is a possible way of preparing.

Tell the cops in "Minority Report"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭grosser

maybe the guy you saw,saw you in his crystal ball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭briano

Jogging. A lá the gladiator scene in "The life of Brian" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Id do more or less what I am doing which is KM with a bit of Thai, and I'd get the basics of mma clinch and bjj down and practice the basics until im blue in face.

Id be concentrating on serious strikes to nasty places.

and I would be doing me NLP to ensure I had max killer instinct.

and I would find out where he lived what he drove and have someone put something under his car just in case. LOL!

away way It all goes out the window when a real life attack comes off. anything can go, and does and what you prepared for....getthe picture. Murphys law!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

columok wrote:

If you knew this attack was coming, then it is unavoidable irregardless.

But to humour the question, I'd walk into the nearest cop shop just before the attack was due to happen.

Alternatively just don't be in the vicinity of where it's meant to occur at the time it's meant to occur

And then tell people to stop pimping their art

Lemming,
    If you knew this attack was coming, then it is unavoidable irregardless.

Yes. The thread established this some posts back. The assault being unavoidable dictates that you cant simply seek refuge in a garda station. Its a hypothetical.
    I'd walk into the nearest cop shop just before the attack was due to happen.
    Ok, the attack is unavoidable.
    Alternatively just don't be in the vicinity of where it's meant to occur at the time it's meant to occur
    UNAVOIDABLE!
    And then tell people to stop pimping their art
    ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

it's only a random violent attack. 9/10 it won't leave you with any lasting damage. just go with the flow.

Lemming,

I also meant to clarify that while the incidence of the assault is unavoidable the outcome may at least be majorly effected by the 6 month preparation that you have had.

Question for the door working community. Do you think it would be advisable to get a month working on the door to give your system a bit of acclimitisation to being in an aggressive situation? Not fun but does anyone think it'd be beneficial?

columok wrote:
    Lemming,

Question for the door working community. Do you think it would be advisable to get a month working on the door to give your system a bit of acclimitisation to being in an aggressive situation? Not fun but does anyone think it'd be beneficial?

Your motivation is probably a bit suspect/mis-guided.
    A lot of doormen would be wary off a guy working teh door for that reason...they might think you're a hot head or just wierd.
    So if you try it out keep the reasoning under wraps...

For me door work taught me more about fighting than MA. The number one thing (IMO)is it teaches how to handle the adrenline rush from a threat.
    That cannot be recreated in any dojo/gym.

It's a great experience (but unpleasant at times) I'd warn you though that a month mightn't be enough to learn to handle it.

A final word - try and get a busy but not too rough place in town.
    If you get on a local bar nothing will ever happen (usually) so it's a boring 6 hour wait (well you do get paid) not productive for your objective of doing the work.

Incidentally saw ian freeman fight on bravo tonight he's an ex doorman. I reckon it helped him...particular coming into MMA at an older age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

There are always weapons grasshopper, one must just choose to see them.

One type of training I did a few years back that really got the adreline rushing and frightened the crap out of me, was when training for a fight.

Me teacher at the time, had the class phsyco 16 stone, no neck do 5 x 1 min rounds pounding the head off me and I was only allowed to cover up and not punch back.

so what you may say, bit deal.

but after the 2nd round of it and knowking 3 more to go and your seeing stars, now that was frightening for me.

One type of training I did a few years back that really got the adreline rushing and frightened the crap out of me, was when training for a fight.

Me teacher at the time, had the class phsyco 16 stone, no neck do 5 x 1 min rounds pounding the head off me and I was only allowed to cover up and not punch back.

so what you may say, bit deal.

but after the 2nd round of it and knowking 3 more to go and your seeing stars, now that was frightening for me.

I wouldn't be so vulgar as to say "Big Deal" but I'vebeen through that kindas training and although painful - it is controlled insofar you aren't gonna be bitten, stabbed, glassed or just plane beaten to a pulp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

One on One,no weapons,unknown guy but you have to fight!

Did I enter ROT4 while drunk and now have six months to train for it?
    That is what it sounds like you are angling toward, an actual Street fight won't have those or indeed any conditions attached?
    What kind of scrapper is gonna fight man to man without balancing things in his favour? Be it weapons or mates he's looking for every advantage.

Your question should read "You have to fight in the Octagon in six months,what do you do?"

EPO_MAN wrote:
    I wouldn't be so vulgar as to say "Big Deal" but I'vebeen through that kindas training and although painful - it is controlled insofar you aren't gonna be bitten, stabbed, glassed or just plane beaten to a pulp.

yes I accept that. but I was glassed in lillie bordelloe 5 years ago. thank god bottle did not break, so sore mate when it hit me felt like a bomb in me head, sorry for the glasser he paid!!!

thank god never stabbed..yet. but been battered with aweapon once over head. thank god I managed toget away!

beaten to a plup. yes head slammed into the kerb while 10 others kicked my head like a football. that was the worst for ever. in hospital for a while after that!

bitten..never..but have bite ,,see previous thread. MMA do not like this talk but but unfortunately has to happen to save yourself some time.

I totally agree with what you say, but you may concurr with me, what you train hard for means little when 10 criminals are jumping on your head.

still in training you cannot make it that real maybe animal day is the nearest IMHO?

One on One,no weapons,unknown guy but you have to fight!

Did I enter ROT4 while drunk and now have six months to train for it?
    That is what it sounds like you are angling toward, an actual Street fight won't have those or indeed any conditions attached?
    What kind of scrapper is gonna fight man to man without balancing things in his favour? Be it weapons or mates he's looking for every advantage.

Your question should read "You have to fight in the Octagon in six months,what do you do?"

Nope. Im asking the how someone would train for the most basic simple assault known to man. Before people get talking about the usual weapons/multiple opponent distraction tools I wanna talk about the thing that the majority of martial artists train self defence for. Being attacked by one person when there is no weapons or other opponents involved. I never mentioned a trip to the ring or cage.

I dont see where the harm is in asking a bunch of people who train for self defence how they would train for the actual physical assault if they knew it was coming.

SD people, too we train for alot of knife attack stuff too, and gun disarms (I have to get better at the gun stuff myself personally).

Plus the psychological role playing, which is just as important to learn to avoid a situation, as it is to defend yourself.

Train for lost of escapes from headlocks, grabs, etc etc.

Palm shots, eye jabs, face rakes, hammer blows, low level kicks (dont do too much kicks). lots of drills.

the only thing with SD when practicing shots to vitual areas is you cannot "spar them" however we get someone padded up and work them as best we can.

Personally I back this up with Thai, which is excellent.

and later this year I will get down the basics of BJJ and clinch stuff. I want to get the basic and practice, practice , practice, so I know I have a few moves that I can do with me eyes closed.

With all that I would feel fairly well rounded for SD training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

OK in this fantasy situation I understand the scenario that you have no choice about fighting, can't go to the cops etc but why then are you restrained on not having a crew with you and arming yourself also? Faced with that type of situation the first thing I'll have is a weapon and I'll also have backup, regardless of whether or not I'll use both theres nothing stopping your opponent of doing the same. Besides if its just a fight you CAN walk away whereas if its this type of situation who'll say you'll be able to walk let alone survive this type of scenario?