Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I the only one hates concerts

• 24-06-2005 7:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭

Am I the only person in the country who has a U2 ticket and doesnt want it...I dont like U2, I hate concerts and gigs and all that thingy...The idea of a bunch of what I can only describe as sheep, jumping up and down and making complete prats of themselves just doesnt appeal to me... :mad: In fact its quite annoying....

The only reason I bought it was so my girlfriend wudn't be going alone....I must be mad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,705 ✭✭✭BrookieD

nope i had 2 tickets for a box for the monday Croker gig, gave them both to the ball and chain and let her go with the sister in law, Wow U2 middle aged boy band...............
    ME i get to stay home and play Xbox, Tiger Woods 2005, great game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭CTU_Agent

BrookieD wrote:
    nope i had 2 tickets for a box for the monday Croker gig, gave them both to the ball and chain and let her go with the sister in law, Wow U2 middle aged boy band...............
    ME i get to stay home and play Xbox, Tiger Woods 2005, great game

Now dats wat id rather do...or perhaps a few hours of command and conquer generals...

....mmmm I wonder can i get her sisters to go????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Don't like U2 myself.

I don't particularly like goin to gigs but i will go to see a band i really like.
    I don't think its really fair to call people that go to gigs a bunch of sheep,
    although i can see where you are coming from. Its a bunch of people that share a common interest.

Someone who doesn't like forums could say that everyone that posts on one is sheep also.

Ishmael wrote:
    Don't like U2 myself.

I don't particularly like goin to gigs but i will go to see a band i really like.
    I don't think its really fair to call people that go to gigs a bunch of sheep,
    although i can see where you are coming from. Its a bunch of people that share a common interest.

Someone who doesn't like forums could say that everyone that posts on one is sheep also.

Not neccassarily...we dont all jump up down wave our hands and shout and act really stupidly when we post on forums...People can share a common interest without making spa's of themselves (my opinion)...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

i'm not a fan of U2 myself & im a big music fan but i find gigs a real dissapointment mostly.I quite like the festivals though cos you can hang out & DRINK BEER & go see loads of bands that you'd never ever pay to see & its okay to walk away halfway through a band's set cos theres something else on! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

I am not a big fan of gigs either. Most times they are pretty disappointing. I love music but I rarely just sit and listen. I'd love to have a U2 ticket to sell it and use the money to go somewhere nice. I really dislike big gigs the most.

In saying that I spent a fortune to go to a gig in the US but it was a once off and a life long dream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

CTU_Agent wrote:
    Now dats wat id rather do...or perhaps a few hours of command and conquer generals...

....mmmm I wonder can i get her sisters to go????

The word Nerd springs to mind. I cant belive you would call people who share a common interest like a band Sheep or that they "look like spa's" I wonder if we went all around the world and asked everyone "who do you think is a spa a person that goes to a rock concert on a friday night and has a good time or a guy who has a ticket to said show and instead stays home and plays with his toys" what the answer would be.

besides all the idiots making bigger fools of themselves....

there is a huge security problem here,with big gigs like this weekends.. 80,000 people all in one place like that and the atmosphere that surrounds it....If anything was to happen.. i.e bomb scare, fire , anything like that amagine the crushing and disaster that would follow... absolute security nightmare...There is no way the security and gardai at the event could control the timley and calm exit from the event. By the time they stop jumping around like ticks and realise theres sumting wrong we'l all be crushed.

joejoem wrote:
    The word Nerd springs to mind. I cant belive you would call people who share a common interest like a band Sheep or that they "look like spa's" I wonder if we went all around the world and asked everyone "who do you think is a spa a person that goes to a rock concert on a friday night and has a good time or a guy who has a ticket to said show and instead stays home and plays with his toys" what the answer would be.

U can enjoy urself without acting like complete lunatics and show a bit of dignity...Im sure if yis saw urselves jumping up and down like little children waiting at the sweets counter for ur bag of sweets...competing to see who is the loudest and who can climb higher on peoples shoulders... Id much rather stay in the comfort of my house and watch the highligts on TV...

Its a middle aged boy band end of story...get over it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

You could always go to gigs for grown ups, instead of pop bands. Try one of the music venues around Dublin.

CiaranC wrote:
    You could always go to gigs for grown ups, instead of pop bands. Try one of the music venues around Dublin.

Nah....gigs just arent for me... But if i had to choose, i would prefer a small venue with well behaved well mannered people. that dont need to have a jumping waving shouting competion while the band are playing on stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

i enjoy concerts alot...simply i enjoy it like i enjoy any show. I love dancing (despite being a hairy fatman) and concerts have great atmophere and leads to a good time with my friends.

but do you hatejust concerts and gigs or is that everyform of social music event, like say a festival?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Meh, I don't think they're spa's just because they're showing a bit of enthusiasim(possibly spelled wrong) for what they enjoy. Just people having a bit of craic. Although it is well annoying when there jumping around in your face and you feel like punching them in the back of the head :mad:
    CTU_Agent wrote:
    Not neccassarily...we dont all jump up down wave our hands and shout and act really stupidly when we post on forums...People can share a common interest without making spa's of themselves (my opinion)...

Maybe you don't!!

*jumps around and waves hands in the air*

:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

CTU_Agent wrote:

there is a huge security problem here,with big gigs like this weekends.. 80,000 people all in one place like that and the atmosphere that surrounds it....If anything was to happen.. i.e bomb scare, fire , anything like that amagine the crushing and disaster that would follow... absolute security nightmare...There is no way the security and gardai at the event could control the timley and calm exit from the event. By the time they stop jumping around like ticks and realise theres sumting wrong we'l all be crushed.

Hey
    IF memory serves me correctly, Croke park hold's games most weekends, with crowds of up to 80,000 people ( exampe last weekend's double header).
    So I am sure they are used to dealing with these type of numbers.

CTU_Agent wrote:
    U can enjoy urself without acting like complete lunatics and show a bit of dignity...Im sure if yis saw urselves jumping up and down like little children waiting at the sweets counter for ur bag of sweets...competing to see who is the loudest and who can climb higher on peoples shoulders... Id much rather stay in the comfort of my house and watch the highligts on TV...

Its a middle aged boy band end of story...get over it!!

This would be a valid point if we were talking about Girls Aloud or a 50 Cent show, but U2 have been a major part of many Irish peoples lives. There music helped alot of people through there teenage years. When they came out the level of entertainment in Ireland was uncomparable to what it is now. Sure we had Lizzy and Rory Gallagher but there had been no sign of a revolution like what happend with U2. Our generation was looking for something. Meanwhile in London the punk scene was taking off and along came U2 who proved that you could be cool and Irish. I was speaking last night to my brother who has never seen them play live. He is 33, his first album was under a blood red sky (20 years ago) and his youth was spent listening to there records. Live Aid was a great show, but to a majority of Irish youths most of the day was spent in anticipation of U2's set.

You say there is "competing to see who is the loudest and who can climb higher on peoples shoulders..." well for those of us who are there for the music, we are there to hear songs that we have listened to hundreds if not thousands of times over played live. U2 are classed as a live band, in fact one of the greatest ever live bands so why would we ruin the music by competing to see who is the loudest. Perhaps in the Euphoria experienced by some in a croud makes them scream and push to get closer to there heros, but if I had to chose between that pure extacy or being an outsider frowning on "the spas" at a concert moaning that computer games are a better way to spend your Friday night.................. I know what I would choose.

But, each to there own.

well we'l have to agree to disagree then....When im in croker on monday counting the minutes til it ends, breaking peoples legs for pushing into me and jumping on me il be wishing I was at home on my comfortable dry warm couch... watching scrubs or sumting entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

You're just a dry shíte. Although in saying that, I dislike huge concerts, but I love live music. At concerts there's just too many people, and you can barely see the band. I was at U2 in Slane, and in order to see the boyos I went up the very front before they started. That was pretty much the end of the night for me. Fantastic couple of songs and a great buzz whie I was up there, but when I returned to find my friends.... no hope. I was píssed as well, and people had discarded loads of inflatable chairs, which I proceeded to fall over every few metres. Still... I've experienced that, and that's why there's no chance I wanted to see them in Croke Park. Nightmare.

I'd absolutely love to see U2 play somewhere like the Temple Bar Music Centre or The Ambassador or The Olympia. That would be a gig.

Sitting in a bar watching some cool band playing while drinking a refreshing beer?

OR

Sitting on a couch like a fat motherfúcker, playing Command and conquer?

You're calling concert goers sad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

@ CTU Agent

Most venues have wheelchair access. You could wheel yourself in with an x-box in your lap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

CTU_Agent wrote:
    ...a bunch of what I can only describe as sheep, jumping up and down and making complete prats of themselves just doesnt appeal to me... :mad: In fact its quite annoying....

You are spending too much time sitting on front of a computer!! Get out and live a little!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Look at it this way CTU Agent, the majority of us here enjoy going to gigs, and are not afraid of what people might think of us if we dont just stand still and listen. People like you need to take life less seriously and forget about what might be said about you.

Look at it this way, we enjoy going to gigs and meeting the outside world, you enjoy staying in by yourself. We all have different ways of spending our free time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭jacool

gigs are a great way to see band's interpret songs differently and if you worship the band, to actually see your heroes.

if you don't like the aggro you stay at the back

if you don't like the band you stay at home

life is full of wonderful choices !!

I love live music, and as someone up there said there are small intimate gigs to enjoy too.
    Tip: Roisin Dubh in Gaillimh - top venue

im sorry, i cant continue to have a conversation with people who call a band, a group of middle aged men standing on stage playing music, theyre heroes... its ridiculous...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭TheLedge

CTU_Agent wrote:
    im sorry, i cant continue to have a conversation with people who call a band, a group of middle aged men standing on stage playing music, theyre heroes... its ridiculous...

it's quite obvious you're a very anti-social person. i feel sorry for you. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

CTU_Agent wrote:

Who would be your hero then? Personally U2 aren't my favourite band in the world, but you can't deny the fact that they are extremely talented musicians.

Just because _you_ don't like going to gigs doesn't mean that people who do are idiots and fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭SteM

CTU_Agent wrote:

Do you take the rod out of your ass when you're at home playing the xbox or is it a permanent fixture?

As others have said, if you go to a gig with 80,000 there's nothing to say you have to get into the thick of it. Stand at the back and you won't get pushed. If you go in dreading it it'll be the longest few hours of your life.

Personally I prefer smaller venues when it's a group I really like but I'll enjoy U2 none the less.

CTU_Agent wrote:

Perhaps the fact that you have no ispiration in your life is the reason you only find solice in a computer game. Your girlfriend must wake up every day thinking how lucky she is to be with someone that loves life so much.

Dont knock something just because you dont like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭TheLedge

Stem,

Nice sig. You'll have to update it to 29 now though! :D

theyve updated it in the S.E but I dont have an image of it...

1st thing: Computer games arent my only source of entertainment most of the time im too busy ripping the piss from people who call 'bands' their heros and queue outside croke park just so you can get close enough to taste the sweat from bono and whoever...

2nd thing: My girlfriend understands i dont like concerts and crowds of people acting like fools and shes cudn't care less.

3rd thing:The 'rod in my ass' only comes out when I have to BEAT the people acting like plebs in public and cant control themselves.

4th thing: Having worked as a doorman on various Dublin Club/Music Venues ive seen enough of this type of behavior to turn me off it for a long time to come.

5th thing: Ive given my ticket away to my girlfriends friend, so i need not concern myself with it nemore.

TheLedge wrote:
    it's quite obvious you're a very anti-social person. i feel sorry for you. :o

This is getting very boring now really....

If being socialable means having to make a complete idiot of yourself,just because everyone else is doing it, then maybe ur onto sumting.

Id much prefer a night out with friends, dinner, wine, drinks maybe a club or home for some banter!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

[QUOTE=CTU_Agent
    Id much prefer a night out with friends, dinner, wine, drinks maybe a club or home for some banter!![/QUOTE]

Banter on.

Big bands, big crowds, big discomfort and so on. When a band is as popular as U2, only the big venues will do to make as much wonga as possible. Punters put aside the sheer awfulness of a venue like Croke Park because the upside of seeing the band outweighs it. Its personal choice in a free market.

Personally, I hate the big venues but I'm in the position that the only band that would entice me into such an arena are dead (RIP The Clash). :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

CTU_Agent wrote:
    Having worked as a doorman on various Dublin Club/Music Venues ive seen enough of this type of behavior

Why didnt you say so straight away, man....

Nuff said.

@ CTU_Agent, I'm stunned (and a bit sad for you) that you get annoyed by people enjoying themselves the way they want to - it's not like they're breaking the law or anything. Do you really care that much?

Enjoy your night in the way you want to and leave people to enjoy their night in Croker they way they want to. It should be no skin off your nose if they want to act like idiots (in your eyes).

@TheLedge - I'll get a new photo next season, honest ;)

SteM wrote:
    @ CTU_Agent, I'm stunned (and a bit sad for you) that you get annoyed by people enjoying themselves the way they want to - it's not like they're breaking the law or anything. Do you really care that much?

Enjoy your night in the way you want to and leave people to enjoy their night in Croker they way they want to. It should be no skin off your nose if they want to act like idiots (in your eyes).
    QUOTE]

Its simply my humble opinion... what people wanna do is up to them and ur right its no skin of my nose. And I dont care that much, i certainly wont lose any sleep over it...i had no intention of not letting them enjoy their night??? Just think if it was seated it would be much more civilised.

Why would u feel a bit sad for me...im perfectly happy i wont be goin to see a silly band sing in the middle of a big park...

CTU_Agent wrote:
    SteM wrote:

QUOTE]

Its simply my humble opinion... what people wanna do is up to them and ur right its no skin of my nose. And I dont care that much, i certainly wont lose any sleep over it...i had no intention of not letting them enjoy their night??? Just think if it was seated it would be much more civilised.

Why would u feel a bit sad for me...im perfectly happy i wont be goin to see a silly band sing in the middle of a big park...

Yet you still feel the need to knock the band and the fans on every post.
    enjoy your night in with the girls and your glass of Rose, dont leave your curlers in for too long

CTU_Agent wrote:
    Its simply my humble opinion... what people wanna do is up to them and ur right its no skin of my nose. And I dont care that much, i certainly wont lose any sleep over it...i had no intention of not letting them enjoy their night???
    CTU_Agent wrote:
    The idea of a bunch of what I can only describe as sheep, jumping up and down and making complete prats of themselves just doesnt appeal to me... In fact its quite annoying....

So in one post it annoys you but in another it's no skin off your nose? Which is it to be?

nite in with girls sounds a lot more promising that a nite in croker with U2 singin to the tune of people lining their pockets with plenty of money before they move to their next field of sheep for more....

SteM wrote:
    So in one post it annoys you but in another it's no skin off your nose? Which is it to be?

It does annoy me...but its not 'my life long dream to hear my hero's' blah blah blah....play some songs.... i wont lose sleep over it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

Johnny the clash are the only band i'd get exited about seeing too, i still dont think i'd be waiting outside all night in the rain to get a pit band though.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I love concerts so much. It's my favourite thing to do. Only if it's a band I like though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭mickomack

CTU_Agent wrote:
    well we'l have to agree to disagree then....When im in croker on monday counting the minutes til it ends, breaking peoples legs for pushing into me and jumping on me il be wishing I was at home on my comfortable dry warm couch... watching scrubs or sumting entertaining.

STOP moaning if you really don't wanna be there DON'T go you were lucky enough to get a ticket but yet you'd prefer to be at home mesmorised by a tv show or a computer screen.What about the poor misfortunate people that didn't get a ticket like me and doesn't want to pay an astronomical price to some enterprising conman who is denying fans their right to buy a ticket to see their favourite band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

CTU_Agent wrote:
    4th thing: Having worked as a doorman on various Dublin Club/Music Venues ive seen enough of this type of behavior to turn me off it for a long time to come.

lol, this explains everything. Leave the cro-magnon to his random beatings and 'girlfriend'. He seems to enjoy hitting people than enjoying decent music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

CTU_Agent wrote:

You're right. I really think we should give into terrorism and stay at home 24/7, we could design robots to do our shopping.

Live concerts are my favorite thing in the world. My holidays consist of Oxegen, this year download, and from now on any european festival I'm interested in I can get to. I just don't see your ****ing problem, sure people go a bit wild and jump into each other, but there's always room for people who prefer to just listen too. With your system the majority of the fans won't be able to enjoy themselves. I was there last night, excellent performance from the band but I couldn't get into it properly because I had seated tickets.
    Id much prefer a night out with friends, dinner, wine, drinks maybe a club or home for some banter!!

A club?!?!?!? A seated one I take it?
    Also you bitter fúck, if you're going to call people fools stop spelling couldn't as "cudnt" - makes you look stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Dr. Loon wrote:
    I'd absolutely love to see U2 play somewhere like the Temple Bar Music Centre or The Ambassador or The Olympia. That would be a gig.

exactly
    big venues like Croke Park, Marley Park, Lansdowne Road, Slane etc suck.

The Olympia would be great
    People who own all the U2 albums on vinyl (from Boy up to and including How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb) plus the 11 O'Clock Tick Tock and A Celebration singles could get preference for tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭superconor

While I don't like big outdoor gigs, U2, or see how people can call a band their hero's, the thought of not being able to go out every weekend and listen to music is a very, very depressing prospect.
    But if i had to choose, i would prefer a small venue with well behaved well mannered people. that dont need to have a jumping waving shouting competion while the band are playing on stage.

I would love to bring you to see Agnostic Front or Cannibal Corpse or a band with intense moshpits. Well i wouldn't like to actually bring you myself because you sound like an incredibly boring person, I would rather just throw you into the pit.

If you hate the thought of going so much, you should have sold the ticket to your girlfriends best friend or something. Or I would have taken her. She is used to hanging around with a big knob so she could appreciate a guy like me....WOOF WOOF! (Anyone who gives the episode name I will reward with jelly babies)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Gryzor

@ CTU_Agent

Live and let live mate....i was in croker on friday nite....not a big u2 fan by any means...thought it was a great show...glad i was there for the experience (you have those outside your front door, if u can tear yourself away from the xbox for a few hours)
    CTU_Agent wrote:
    most of the time im too busy ripping the piss from people who call 'bands' their heros and queue outside croke park just so you can get close enough to taste the sweat from bono and whoever...

sounds like you're too uptight to let yourself go and live a bit...so u have to spend your time taking the piss out of people who do, just to make your life seem that tiny bit more bearable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Scallop

Speaking of Piss

Does anyone, while at these supergigs, prefer to piss in a bottle or the pitch rather than spend 40 mins trying to get to the jax and back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 sweety4uall

CTU_Agent wrote:
    youl b glad u went.can sit on ur couch anytime.u could always bring the couch.haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭tripper

OH MY GOD, OH MY GOD, the thread is rising from the dead, SAVE THE GOOD CHINA AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH RUN FOR UR LIVES ZOMBIE THREAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Steoob

hey...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Now why on earth would someone ressurect this of all threads? :rolleyes: