Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My car got torched!

• 19-06-2005 2:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭

I went camping up in Glencree with my mates for the day yesterday and after hiking back upto the 'carpark' I found my car half lodged under the barrier completey toasted. Absolutely ****ing nothing left of it, not even the license plates. I found my alarm near by, where they hacked the thing off due to the noise and then realised it was immobilised. So obviously they thought it would be great idea to burn it out !

One of my other mates also had his car door bent off.

Do I loose my no claims bonus over this now, does anyone know? I didn't need this **** right now as I'm about to buy a house :(

And the poxy thing is if I caught these little nackers in the process I would have tried to beat them to a pulp in a frenzied rage ... of course ... I'd be the "bad guy" then.

I hope they lead underprivileged lifes for the rest of pityfull little existence and then die of aids !

</rant>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Unless you only have basic third part insurance (ie no fire/theft) then you are covered. Clearly you have to get in touch with the insurance company (who prolly have a 24 hr emergency line) and the Garda.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭shakenbake

Yeah, just did the garda thing, they were very sympathetic. I'm with quinn direct and I don't think they have a 24hr line. I'll get in touch with them 1st thing tommorrow and work out what my options are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

shakenbake wrote:
    IAnd the poxy thing is if I caught these little nackers in the process I would have tried to beat them to a pulp in a frenzied rage ... of course ... I'd be the "bad guy" then.

I hope they lead underprivileged lifes for the rest of pityfull little existence and then die of aids !

sorry to hear that, the same thing happened my cousin's car last month. His wish for vengeance encompassed a desire for the perpetrators to have handicapped children that went on to die of leukemia after being falsely given the all clear.

the guys who do this stuff are losers, pure and simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭30-6shooter

I hope they die of aids too. Scummy *****s! Sorry, bout your loss. What sort of car was it. Was it parked near the bottom of the mountain, or up a good bit up the hill like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭crang

. His wish for vengeance encompassed a desire for the perpetrators to have handicapped children that went on to die of leukemia after being falsely given the all clear.

Woah! Thats a bit harsh. Not the kids fault their father(or mother) was a little terrier. I wish all the bad on that person, not their kids. lol :)

It was a 5th gen vti civic, no cosmetic modifications at all (not even alloys) ! I'm just as pissed off about my cd collection too as I lost alot of origonal cd's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

If this is in Crone Wood car park, I think they have cameras. Contact the council.

Maybe dying of Aids is a teenshy bit extreme for a car? I know you're hurtin' though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭SonicDoom2005

you need to wish death upon everyone they know, are related to, have ever talked to, their family...wipe them out from the outside in before finally putting them out of the loop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭colin300

Well you could have beaten them to a bloody pulp then put him in the car and burned him in the half that wasn't under the barrier and say they tried to rob it.

Also i would like to say that this is typical of ireland and also that i hope they die as mention above.

you need to wish death upon everyone they know, are related to, have ever talked to, their family...wipe them out from the outside in before finally putting them out of the loop

exactly

their kids suffering is bound to hurt them too.

My friend Mick was stopped by two guys on the South Circular Road back in 1992. They robbed his cigarettes and his money (which was about £2).

When recounting the incident to us in the pub later that evening he expressed a wish that the two guys would return home to discover that their whole family had been wiped out in a car crash that wasn't their fault.

shakenbake wrote:
    And the poxy thing is if I caught these little nackers in the process I would have tried to beat them to a pulp in a frenzied rage ... of course ... I'd be the "bad guy" then.

I wonder what Ivana Bacik would think?

yeah, she'd probably say you're the bad guy for having the car in the first place. Rubbing their disadvantaged noses in the fact that you have a car and they don't. So when they decided to burn it out they were only expressing their inner injustice at the way society has deprived them.

Okay enough of the Death Wish already!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

To answer you're original question .... Yes, chances are you will lose the bonus. As an insurer told me a few years back "It's a no claims bonus, not a no blame bonus". He said it nicely though.

But look on the bright side, you got your alarm. :rolleyes: The piece of sh!t that totalled my Civic even took the poxy rain jacket out of the boot.

As for the scum who burnt out your car, I too hope they .................... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭kdevitt

DubTony wrote:
    To answer you're original question .... Yes, chances are you will lose the bonus. As an insurer told me a few years back "It's a no claims bonus, not a no blame bonus". He said it nicely though.

Most insurance companies won't remove your NCB if the car was fitted with an alarm and immobilser. Best way to find out is the phone them. Sorry to hear about the car by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Thumper Long

yeah man sorry for the loss, i hope the scurvy ridden bastards get the outbreak monkey for christmas and ring in the new year perishing from ebola etc etc. ive heard of a good few cars being stolen and broken into in various carparks around the mountains, as the little sh1tes reckon you'll be gone most of the day and can do what they like to it without much interuption, 2 of my mates had their cars badly vandalised out by stepaside while hiking, now they take turns in one person staying off the hike and dropping the others up in a van because it seems to be so widespread. hope quinn direct just pay up without affecting your ncb fingers X'ed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

kdevitt wrote:
    Most insurance companies won't remove your NCB if the car was fitted with an alarm and immobilser.

Where did you get that from ?

It all depends on your policy Shakenbake. Even if you have full no claims protection you more than likely may loose some of your NCB as it's only protected providing you don't claim over a certain amount, such as €2,000 in two years for example. If you have a step back clause on your policy you will probably loose 2 years, so if you had 5 it would be reduced to 3.
    But as has been said, ring Quinn for exact information. I know of people who have had their car stolen and their NCB wasn't affected (nothing to do with having an alarm and immobiliser) but Quinn aren't the best to be insured with, they're great for getting cheap quotes but this is reflected in their cover and customer service.

Jip wrote:
    Where did you get that from ?

From the 5 separate companies I've been insured with in the last 10 years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Where abouts was the car left?

Well you'd want to think about changing from any of those 5 before you ever need to make a claim. The only benefit you get from having an alarm and immobiliser is a reduction on your premium.

Jip wrote:
    Well you'd want to think about changing from any of those 5 before you ever need to make a claim. The only benefit you get from having an alarm and immobiliser is a reduction on your premium.

whatever, you obviously know it all... :rolleyes:

Why yes, yes I do, I obviously know more than you in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

kdevitt wrote:
    Most insurance companies won't remove your NCB if the car was fitted with an alarm and immobilser. .

They might have him on a technicality seeing as th ealarm isnt actually in the car. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭fjon

Sorry to hear about this! May I ask where the car was parked? I would have thought the whole area around Glencree would be pretty safe. Unless you were in Sally Gap?

Jip wrote:
    Why yes, yes I do, I obviously know more than you in this case.

From Hibernians website:

'No loss of no claims bonus for theft of cars with professionally fitted alarms'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

The last time I went camping, some knackers tried to steal my friends car. They were incompetent and didn't get it far. They left it in a terrible state though, it would have been better if they had torched it. The insurance company (Hibernian if memory serves), left him around 2 grand out of pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭johnnyc

i hate people who just vandalised and burn out your cars scum. hope things work out for you shakenbake. One of those scum bags tried to scratch my car just caught in the act before he did it gave him a big kick in the asse call the gardas.it was one of those kodak moments satisfaction Guaranteed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

kdevitt wrote:
    From Hibernians website:

'No loss of no claims bonus for theft of cars with professionally fitted alarms'

very same on my policy(s) too - both present and past

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭528i

Unless it's either a bmw or Mercedes, you can expect to receive about half of what you think the car is worth in compensation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Praetorian wrote:
    The last time I went camping, some knackers tried to steal my friends car. They were incompetent and didn't get it far. They left it in a terrible state though, it would have been better if they had torched it. The insurance company (Hibernian if memory serves), left him around 2 grand out of pocket.
    Would it not have been better to accidently drop a fag near it and oh sh*t! it combusted the car :D You could easily blame the Knackers.

The car was parked just a bit down from Glencree hostel for those who asked. I've called QD and I'm awaiting someone from the 'claims dept' to call me back. It may actually turn out cheaper for me to keep my NCB by not claiming depending on what car I'm going to get next.

I really want to sympathy shop and buy myself a more powerful car but I'm seriously vexed with all the break in attempts I suffered with my three civics over the years (also I have to be realistic). Getting a quicker car will only entice them more, but I don't see why I should have to buy a particular car just to be left alone.

I've posted a picture of the final product. Looks like these kids decided to take "Mary Fitzgeralds, Make & Do" to a whole new level.

"it's just a little burnt, it's still good, it's still good"

sorry. Homer has a quote for everything.

shakenbake wrote:
    The car was parked just a bit down from Glencree hostel for those who asked. I've called QD and I'm awaiting someone from the 'claims dept' to call me back. It may actually turn out cheaper for me to keep my NCB by not claiming depending on what car I'm going to get next.

is there anyway of knowing how much they will charge you with or without a claim? do suppose they'd tell you. How much was the car worth? might not be worth claiming as you say if your premium is going to go up by more than the value of the claim.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

shakenbake wrote:
    I really want to sympathy shop and buy myself a more powerful car but I'm seriously vexed with all the break in attempts I suffered with my three civics over the years (also I have to be realistic). Getting a quicker car will only entice them more, but I don't see why I should have to buy a particular car just to be left alone.

Civics are them most broken in to/stolen cars around. Joy riders love em unfortunitly. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭MR DAZ

Jip must have choked on humble pie!!! :D

Unfortunately Civics are way too easy to break into... and they've always been the vehicle of choice for scumbags looking to nick something fast. I've had four of them and a CRX, was kind of lucky in that only 1 got nicked... and it was the slowest as it happened.

There are plenty of faster cars out there that aren't as easy to get into and are cheaper to insure, I'd seriously consider another manufacturer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

shakenbake wrote:
    I've posted a picture of the final product. Looks like these kids decided to take "Mary Fitzgeralds, Make & Do" to a whole new level.
    Ooh that picture makes me so angry!! :mad: What gives them little fckers the right to do that to your pride n joy!

Well u dont have to be restricted in the type of car u buy. A good deterent would be a steering wheel disconnect. So they can see even if they do get in it, it aint going to be steerable.
    On another note though they probably only wanted to burn a few cars nothing else!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭528i

you cant blame the kids where there no facilities.

528i, where's the ;) ?

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭ross_castle

I Did It

colin300 wrote:
    Well u dont have to be restricted in the type of car u buy. A good deterent would be a steering wheel disconnect. So they can see even if they do get in it, it aint going to be steerable.
    !!

I saw a guy years ago steering a stolen car with a pliars as it had no steerign wheel. The gob****e probably broke it off trying to break the steering lock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭ross_castle

Hey that was me

Go away.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

528i wrote:
    so true so true :D

528i wrote:

yes you can
    the punishment should be doubled if there are no facilities :rolleyes:

Well, just spoke to Mr Quinn Direct and after a chat he's going to write me a cheque for 1950 euro. Not bad considering I paid 2200 for it a year and half ago. It doesn't account for the 2k I put into though. Oh well, better than a poke in the eye with a hyperdermic needle I suppose.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

shakenbake wrote:
    Well, just spoke to Mr Quinn Direct and after a chat he's going to write me a cheque for 1950 euro. Not bad considering I paid 2200 for it a year and half ago. It doesn't account for the 2k I put into though. Oh well, better than a poke in the eye with a hyperdermic needle I suppose.

What happened with your no claims in the end?

He said I'll loose it but my premium won't be loaded. He worked it out on the same car that I'll probably have to fork out about 180euro extra. Not too bad all things considered.

when the time to look around for quotes comes again u might wanna try tesco. I believe there insurance is cheap well i have heard it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

shakenbake wrote:
    He said I'll loose it but my premium won't be loaded. He worked it out on the same car that I'll probably have to fork out about 180euro extra. Not too bad all things considered.
    check to see if you're being tied into quinn direct for the next 3 or 5 years. You'll have no NCB with any company.