Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

guinness ads

• 15-06-2005 2:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭

are the facts they say in the guinness ads actually true???

like the harp because of the coin toss???
    the 17:59 because of the time of day

yada yada yada.... can anyone sort fact from fiction???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

there all fiction.

tribute to the old "draw your own conclusion" cathphrase

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭JackieChan

Dannie,
    1759 was when the brewery was established...nothing to do with the time of day!!!
    The 9999 year lease is true though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

all bull, apart from the recent one. Yer man did really swim to New York from Dublin to say sorry. It took hi 8 weeks with no food and water or sleep but the typical hard irish man went on the piss as soon as he arrived.

I hear he is in training to swim to Australia to visit his sister.....their not talking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭*Angel*

Good ads though, I always like the music aswell.

They had great hurling ads in the last couple of years. The current billboard they have with the hound and Setanta are fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭digitally-yours

well if that started to happen more frequently ryanair will go bust :eek: :eek: :eek:
    have a pint and on ur journey in the sea :)

JackieChan wrote:
    I hear he is in training to swim to Australia to visit his sister.....their not talking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

danniemcq wrote:
    are the facts they say in the guinness ads actually true???

like the harp because of the coin toss???
    Guinness had the logo long before the Irish state used the Harp. The state uses a harp facing in the other direction as a result. I believe Guinness are the only company in the world allowed to have the harp as a logo, simply because they had it first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

JackieChan wrote:
    They had great hurling ads in the last couple of years. The current billboard they have with the hound and Setanta are fantastic

I cant stand it, the hound looks like a sock puppet, and setanta looks like some gay 70s roller skater with that silly headband on his napper, wouldnt be suprised if he's wearing ankle warmers too :D

and my old hurling team was called setanta and all :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Ah, the current ads are nothing compared to the Guinness ads of yore! ;)

The surfers and the boyos rowing out to the island in the currach. And your man dancing around the place like a mad yoke to that Perez Prado tune. Now those are true classic Guinness ads, in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

JackieChan wrote:
    The 9999 year lease is true though
    Is it really 9999?
    I thought it was just 999.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

[starts dancing]

DADA!!! Dadadadaaaa DADADADAAAA dadadada dididididididid DADA!!! dadadadadaaaa DADADADAAA DADA DAAA

[POSE!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Norinoco

Is it really 9999?
    I thought it was just 999.

Straight from some unofficaly website!...

The lease on the Guinness brewery ends in 10,759 A.D. A 9000 - year lease

(Wahoo - my 100th post!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I miss the dancing guinness man :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭eefs

LadyJ wrote:
    I miss the dancing guinness man :(
    I served him chilli at a party once. I didn't ask him to do the dance though, I didn't recognise him. :< Damn my ignorant 10 year old self!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Nothing from Guinness even approaches the "All the time in the world" advert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭eefs

Wertz wrote:
    Nothing from Guinness even approaches the "All the time in the world" advert.
    Would that be the Bulmers ad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I think Carlsberg ads take the cake tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

i love the "would vyou like to use ve vathroom" farewell. :D
    classic

eefs wrote:
    Would that be the Bulmers ad?

pfft (BTW I hate those damn Bulmers ads)

No I mean this one:
    http://www.absolutelyandy.com/tvadverts/videos_wmv3/guinness_fly_through.wmv
    right click and Save As to download

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

The surfers and the boyos rowing out to the island in the currach. And your man dancing around the place like a mad yoke to that Perez Prado tune. Now those are true classic Guinness ads, in my opinion.

No to mention the 30 second adds back in the days of ESB powercuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Anyone have a link to de dancing guy ad, i'd love to see that again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

If you do the tour of the guiness storehouse you can watch all the old ads on one of their audio-visual stands...

Its pretty cool. I was standing at it for about half an hour looking at all the old ads....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

danniemcq wrote:
    the 17:59 because of the time of day
    Don't think
    a) they had TV then
    b) they all rushed into church for a minute, and then back to the pub

=-=

You wouldn't happen to be American, would ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Easily_Irritated

JackieChan wrote:

the guinness radio ad where theyre 'interviewing' the guy who swam to new york and he says ^^ that is very amusing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 smoocher

the surfer add won the best ad ever on one of them channel four thingys, was pretty good imo.

smoocher wrote:
    the surfer add won the best ad ever on one of them channel four thingys, was pretty good imo.

You're on about the newer one with the leftfield tune and the horses in the waves...aidan_dunne is on about the old one from the 80's.
    Haha...just thinking about the Harp ads from the 80's, Vikings and Brian Boru; classic.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

annoying guiness ads...i love the old slogan though ''guiness gets you fuc*ked''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Wertz wrote:
    You're on about the newer one with the leftfield tune and the horses in the waves...aidan_dunne is on about the old one from the 80's.

That's the one I'm on about alright, Wertz. The one with the really cool guitar music in it. :D And immortalised in Christy Moore's 'Delerium Tremens' ("As I sat looking up at the Guinness ad I could never figure out, how you're man stayed up on the surfboard after 14 pints of stout!" Classic! :D).

The horses in the waves one was pretty good too....... but I still say you can't beat the old ones from the early 80's! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

my favourite is the fish cycling the bicycle

makes me smile every time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

the guinness radio ad where theyre 'interviewing' the guy who swam to new york and he says ^^ that is very amusing!

How can someone say ''^^''? :p

The Guiness ads are great. The horses one, the complaining one and the '1759' ones in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

whats the song in the newest, where yer man is in the rain getting his pint watered down while watching the match in a tiny shebeen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Caliden wrote:
    whats the song in the newest, where yer man is in the rain getting his pint watered down while watching the match in a tiny shebeen
    is that the one with the prodigy music...think it's "spitfire"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

It's spitfire, it's on the album "allways outnumbered, never outgunned"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

the_syco wrote:

You wouldn't happen to be American, would ye?

feck no i'm as irish as they come it's just something that was buggin me for ages and causing all sorts of hassle and arguements in the pub thats all