Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Buzz?

• 13-06-2005 10:21am
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Whats the best buzz you get during a game? For me it's when a bluff re-raise comes off. You read some players raise as a steal or a marginal hand and re-raise them and they back down. They won't try that again :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

any monster pot will do

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

It has to be when you are drawing to one card and it hits....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

Dub13 wrote:
    It has to be when you are drawing to one card and it hits....

i can only imagine, that's yet to happen to me

i like my 2 outers though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭whiteshadow

being ahead on the flop
    then a horrible card falls to make you behind on the turn
    only for you to river a miracle card, or pair the board giving you the nuts.
    ....nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭Vamos

Omaha, top set with nut flush draw and a couple of muppets betting into you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Slowplaying the nuts.

Buying pots with absolutely nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Hitting a miracle card, gutshot on the river or something against someone who has played the hand perfectly against you. He'll have slowplayed and got you to put all your chips in the middle when he has you drawing almost dead.

And you hit your 3 outer, he types "ffs", and you can to shout "How do you like them apples?!!" at the PC, while laughing like a loon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

so that was you then......

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Weird, hitting a one-outer is nice but it always leaves me feeling like a failure for getting myself into that situation in the first place, like anything I had to do with the hand was fubared and dumb luck got me out of it.

Like Muso a reraise steal has to be the biggest adrenaline rush in poker for me. Its SUCH a naughty play and you have to have perfect discipline to act normally etc... I did it once in the 20-in game and the youngish lad who obviously actually HAD a hand thinks for ages then folds saying "how can you look so calm" and I thought "If only you could feel my heart rate!".
    One BSOP semi final Quozl and Waylander could see my tshirt moving, my heart was beating so fast when I reraised Biteme! :)

Walking out with a big chunk of 50's in your pocket is one of the most singular feelings I've had in my life and god knows I've done one or two bizzare things in my life. Just walking out with a grand you didnt have walking in feels illicit. Knowing you just took the money of most of the people who came to compete with you feels deliciously self righteous and arrogant. Its almost calm with an evil self-satisfied chuckle in the back of my head!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭biteme

DeVore wrote:
    One BSOP semi final Quozl and Waylander could see my tshirt moving, my heart was beating so fast when I reraised Biteme! :)

Hehe, that was funny, but in fairness you had some huge hand. kings or something. or might of been one of the several hands where we both had the nuts.

Big rush I get is playing a hand perfectly and raking in a huge pot. I like the feeling when half the table go wow cuz none of them put you on the hand you have :) Oh and of course walking out of the casino with a lot more money than you came in with...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Poker players are a strange bunch....here we are talking about hitting miracle cards and inflicting bad beats on people and in the next thread we will all be giving out about bad calls etc.

I think you have to be abit mad to play this game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Trying to steal the blinds with your favourite hand, then raising the flop on the gutshot and hitting. :D

PokerStars Game #1851703440: Tournament #8418015, Hold'em No Limit - Level II (15/30) - 2005/06/07 - 15:24:11 (ET)
    Table '8418015 1' Seat #8 is the button
    Seat 1: cianosheehan (1777 in chips)
    Seat 2: rounders123 (1158 in chips)
    Seat 3: $eymour Aces (1840 in chips)
    Seat 4: eirewoodchip (326 in chips)
    Seat 5: zuppy (1431 in chips)
    Seat 6: Always-AK (1002 in chips)
    Seat 7: NickyOD (2579 in chips)
    Seat 8: Culchie (2351 in chips)
    Seat 9: lorenzo79 (2536 in chips)
    lorenzo79: posts small blind 15
    cianosheehan: posts big blind 30
    *** HOLE CARDS ***
    Dealt to NickyOD [9s 7s]
    rounders123: folds
    $eymour Aces: folds
    eirewoodchip: folds
    zuppy: folds
    Always-AK: folds
    NickyOD: raises 60 to 90
    Culchie: folds
    lorenzo79: calls 75
    cianosheehan: folds
    *** FLOP *** [5c 3c 8h]
    lorenzo79: bets 120
    NickyOD: raises 330 to 450
    lorenzo79: calls 330
    *** TURN *** [5c 3c 8h] [6s] BOOOM!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

There aint nothing sweeter than calling your entire stack off on the river with ace/king high and being right. I love hitting sets as well.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Biteme, I think it was the hand we both made the nuts with AJ filling an insider for a straight.

Hector, I love doing that offline, oddly, online I dont do it so much and dont really get a buzz from it. But you are right, its disgustingly enjoyable to call someone and say "I only have a pair of three's..." and leaving hanging the subtext of "...but its better then what you have you dim witted MONKEY.... now give me the money, give me my ****in' money bitch!!! MUHAH MUAAHAHAHAHAHHAHAH *cough*"... ahem.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

DeVore wrote:

Walking out with a big chunk of 50's in your pocket is one of the most singular feelings

DeV.

Yeah, this is what does it for me too! Especially one of those wins where it takes Luke about 5 minutes to count it out... the cash wont fit in your wallet... you have to check the street a few times to make sure there's no scumbags hanging around... it's about 6 in the morning and you're heading home with a pocket full of dollars, laughing at all the suckers on their way into work... it's all about those occasional big wins! smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Your solid groundwork of maniacal looseness paying off in hands like this:

[Jun 13 15:26:21] : Hand Start.
    [Jun 13 15:26:21] : Seat 1 : DapperG has $217.25
    [Jun 13 15:26:21] : Seat 2 : bigkahuna has $79.50
    [Jun 13 15:26:21] : Seat 3 : OTR has $194.88
    [Jun 13 15:26:21] : Seat 4 : calantro has $213.99
    [Jun 13 15:26:21] : Seat 5 : art.s. has $321.37
    [Jun 13 15:26:21] : Seat 6 : kungemil has $84.50
    [Jun 13 15:26:21] : kungemil is the dealer.
    [Jun 13 15:26:22] : DapperG posted small blind.
    [Jun 13 15:26:22] : bigkahuna posted big blind.
    [Jun 13 15:26:22] : Game [13709] started with 6 players.
    [Jun 13 15:26:22] : Dealing Hole Cards.
    [Jun 13 15:26:22] : Seat 1 : DapperG has Qs Ks
    [Jun 13 15:26:27] : OTR called $2
    [Jun 13 15:26:29] : calantro folded.
    [Jun 13 15:26:30] : art.s. folded.
    [Jun 13 15:26:32] : kungemil folded.
    [Jun 13 15:26:33] : DapperG called $1
    [Jun 13 15:26:33] : bigkahuna checked.
    [Jun 13 15:26:33] : Dealing flop.
    [Jun 13 15:26:33] : Board cards [8s Ac Js]
    [Jun 13 15:26:36] : DapperG bet $4
    [Jun 13 15:26:38] : bigkahuna called $4
    [Jun 13 15:26:45] : OTR called $4
    [Jun 13 15:26:46] : Dealing turn.
    [Jun 13 15:26:46] : Board cards [8s Ac Js Tc]
    [Jun 13 15:26:48] : DapperG checked.
    [Jun 13 15:26:53] : bigkahuna bet $5
    [Jun 13 15:27:00] : OTR called $5 and raised $15
    [Jun 13 15:27:04] : DapperG called $20 and raised $191.25 and is All-in
    [Jun 13 15:27:05] : bigkahuna called $68.50 and is All-in
    [Jun 13 15:27:15] : OTR called $168.88 and is All-in
    [Jun 13 15:27:15] : Showdown!
    [Jun 13 15:27:15] : Seat 1 : DapperG has Qs Ks
    [Jun 13 15:27:17] : Seat 1 : DapperG has Qs Ks
    [Jun 13 15:27:17] : Seat 2 : bigkahuna has 9s Ad
    [Jun 13 15:27:17] : Seat 3 : OTR has Td Ah
    [Jun 13 15:27:22] : Board cards [8s Ac Js Tc 6h]
    [Jun 13 15:27:22] : Seat 1 : DapperG has Qs Ks
    [Jun 13 15:27:22] : DapperG has Straight AKQJT
    [Jun 13 15:27:22] : Seat 3 : OTR has Td Ah
    [Jun 13 15:27:22] : OTR has Two Pair: Aces and 10s
    [Jun 13 15:27:22] : DapperG wins $229.29 with Straight AKQJT
    [Jun 13 15:27:22] : Seat 1 : DapperG has Qs Ks
    [Jun 13 15:27:22] : DapperG has Straight AKQJT
    [Jun 13 15:27:22] : Seat 2 : bigkahuna has 9s Ad
    [Jun 13 15:27:23] : bigkahuna has Pair: Aces
    [Jun 13 15:27:23] : Seat 3 : OTR has Td Ah
    [Jun 13 15:27:23] : OTR has Two Pair: Aces and 10s
    [Jun 13 15:27:23] : DapperG wins $236.97 with Straight AKQJT
    [Jun 13 15:27:38] : Hand is over.

God I love poker. :)

[Jun 13 15:27:04] : DapperG called $20 and raised $191.25 and is All-in

JESUS!! :eek:

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Waiting for Dev to neatly stack 18,000 worth of yellow chips then walking up and pushing said stack over :D

Tbh, chasing a nut flush draw in a four way allin on the flop Omaha pot with lots of greens and blacks in the middle, that moment of anticipation, praying for that card (c'mon diamond), hitting the card then waiting for that non board pairing card to come on the river! Great buzz.

Waiting for one of my mates to push over my monster stack of neatly ordered chips.... nothing I love better then ordering and reordering a huge stack. :):)
    (Its true though isnt it, its a lot of fun to have a huge number of chips to play with! :) )

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭biteme

DeVore wrote:
    Waiting for one of my mates to push over my monster stack of neatly ordered chips.... nothing I love better then ordering and reordering a huge stack. :):)
    (Its true though isnt it, its a lot of fun to have a huge number of chips to play with! :) )

DeV.

yah i love having a large stack in a cash game. Feels so good when most of it's not yours and it just keeps growing and growing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

for me its gotta be busting the guy at the table who's been pissing everyone off, just being an asshole, and watching him storm out of the room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Amaru

I'm going to have to agree with you there. Busting the loud mouth know it all at the table who thinks you're an idiot because you're not playing weak tight, especially with garbage, and then telling him "any 2 can win, you know!"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

NickyOD wrote:
    Trying to steal the blinds with your favourite hand, then raising the flop on the gutshot and hitting. :D

PokerStars Game #1851703440: Tournament #8418015, Hold'em No Limit - Level II (15/30) - 2005/06/07
    You weren't keeping that in reserve for an occasion such as this, were you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

nice one Nicky :)

my best buzz in poker (cash games anyway) is calling a raise with a mid/low pocket pair with a few other callers in the pot and flopping the set in late position.

just that feeling of watching the chips go in before you :)

first mr. overpair, then mr. tptk and bang!

shame you can't even see if you've been outdrawn on stars cash games until showdown but that feeling of knowing you're so far ahead and have them by the short ones tops it for me.

*add an A on the flop for even more fireworks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

hitting one of your two outs to a straight flush then watching some guy bet his stack on the nut flush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

It has all been said before but i thought i'd just reitterate the point. :D

Poker is such a game of 'buzz' that there are just so many moments to choose from.

Whether its building a castle out of the chips you have accumulated to outdrawing the ass at the table to send him packing to walking out of the place with da monnnnnnneyyyyyyyyyy.

But for me I think the best buzz is when you check with the nuts on the river just knowing that the guy who has been constantly barrating you for being 'just a kid' and telling you how he is going to give you a master class in poker will raise on the river.
    When he pushs his stack all in with a big smile on his face and you think about it for about two minutes just to see him smile for even longer and to make him think that you are about to fold. Then you say what the hell, through the man a wink and flip over the nuts to send him on his way.
    Best Buzz in the world.... ever!

I just love to see that smile turn upside down while the rest at the table are laughing.

shoutman wrote:
    When he pushs his stack all in with a big smile on his face and you think about it for about two minutes just to see him smile for even longer and to make him think that you are about to fold. Then you say what the hell, through the man a wink and flip over the nuts to send him on his way.
    Best Buzz in the world.... ever!

I just love to see that smile turn upside down while the rest at the table are laughing.
    Slow rolling is for total cúnts.

slow rolling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

shoutman wrote:
    slow rolling?

Feigning an agonising call for someones chips when u have the nuts is called 'slowrolling' and is the lowest play in poker. It is, in fact, fcuking disgraceful. People who do this are total fcuking dcikheards.

You asked........

don't get me wrong this is not something i often do or indeed ever do but this guy was an unbelievable dick head and maybe if dapper read the whole post he'd understand that i was in fact not too happy at the gent in question constantly disregarding me despite the fact that I had done nothing wrong.

I read the whole post. It's still cúntish.

shoutman wrote:
    don't get me wrong this is not something i often do or indeed ever do but this guy was an unbelievable dick head and maybe if dapper read the whole post he'd understand that i was in fact not too happy at the gent in question constantly disregarding me despite the fact that I had done nothing wrong.

Take his chips.....say gg.........move on. Karma.

well to be honest i thought it was pretty **** what he was doing to me. Trying to make a mockery of me because i am young. I put him in his place and do not regret being the bigger man but indeed took pleasure out of seeing the look on his face.
    He was a fcuking arse@*lE

shoutman wrote:
    well to be honest i thought it was pretty **** what he was doing to me. Trying to make a mockery of me because i am young. I put him in his place and do not regret being the bigger man but indeed took pleasure out of seeing the look on his face.
    He was a fcuking arse@*lE

In this situation neither of you were 'big' men. Dont stoop to this guys level. You just target yourself. The rest of the table now think your the twat at the table and should be 'put in you place'.

Learn from this, admit ur wrong and be a better person/player for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

if you have the nuts you insta call, you do not sit there for 1, 2 or 10minutes pondering a call. It doesn't matter if he's the biggest ******************
    in the universe. Having 15+ outs when there's a lot of heavy betting going on is rather nice too :)

Actually i got congratulated for doing that by some elderly man at the table who had earlier commented to the man in question to lay off me.

But in future i will, as I normally do flip the cards instantly and wait for the pot to be passed my way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Yeah, this is what does it for me too! Especially one of those wins where it takes Luke about 5 minutes to count it out... the cash wont fit in your wallet... you have to check the street a few times to make sure there's no scumbags hanging around... it's about 6 in the morning and you're heading home with a pocket full of dollars, laughing at all the suckers on their way into work... it's all about those occasional big wins! smile.gif

Spot on. And when you do get home, lying in bed staring at the ceiling, cant sleep with adrenalin and playing all the good hands over in your head again.

BTW, the money I have won always fits in my wallet.

Oh and the final bluff the following morning, when the wife asks how you did.
    "Not too bad, won a few quid ;) "

careca wrote:
    Oh and the final bluff the following morning, when the wife asks how you did.
    "Not too bad, won a few quid ;) "
    Ha Ha nice one. But i'm presuming this isnt on the same lines as danial negranu telling his mother about his ups and downs. Anyone else see that interview? Actually dont answer that thread hikacking sorry hehe

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Anyoen notice this thread has been resurrected from June?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

I get a great deal of satisfaction from folding the second best hand.

Or in a live game, raising from UTG with rags just to get the ol' ticker going mad and mess with peoples heads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭RMcG

Best buzz would have to be flopping the nutz while high on pure MDMA and receiving a hand job from the dealer (of eastern european origin) as she deals the river.........yep that would do it for me!!!!!!! Will this get deleted by the mods......hmmm i wonder!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,604 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

The great (or outrageously lucky) comeback is my fav.
    An example from like 10 minutes ago in a $5 STT on PPP.
    After having KK (I raised 4xBB) busted by JTs (rivered flush) and walking into
    a FullHouse with the NutFlush (double-paired board so I was stupid ) I find myself starting Hand9 with 140 chips. (6 of 9 players remaining) :mad:

The Comeback begins.
    Hand 11. All in with KJo. Called by KTo and win 310 chips.
    Hand 12&13. Lose BB & SB. Down to 220 chips.
    Hand 14. 220 chips All-in from button with 88. 4 callers. Board is 6J4QT.
    Chipleader (7000+) bets 400 after river and I assume I'm dead.
    980 chips come my way. Chip leader is a muppet.
    Hand 15. AQo in CO. CO-1 calls, I push. Co-1 calls with TQs. 2110 chips ;)
    Hand 18. Couple of limpers into my BB. I flop trip 2s win 600 chips.
    Hand 31 1910 chips. AA on button. UTG raise to 600. I push. All fold.
    Hand 32 We lose a player.
    Hand 33 3010 chips AA (again). Raise to 600 UTG. Small blinds calls. Flop KK3.
    2 checks. Turn 4. SB bets 800. Confused, I fold via time out.
    Hand 36. We lose a player, 4 left.
    Hand 44. The 2nd chip leader pushes pre-flop with AKo. Chip leader calls with A9s and rivers a 9. Happy days. I'm in the money.
    Hand 49 1560 chips. Again the two bigger stacks go all-in and the big stack wins.
    Hand 50 1160 chips. Push with A4 and lose to A2 flopping a 2. Finish 2nd.

Absolutely brilliant rush though from a game I'd written off. Shame I couldnt win it though (i'd have claimed a Sorrento SnackBox from Powers if I'd won).

The moral - never give up no matter how bad the chip stacks, there are muppets out there who will willingly do stupid things to get you into the money.
    AJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

Flopping the Nuts and a raise and reraise coming into you. Or Making a tough laydown and showing after he shows and you can hear the whispers around the table going wow good fold, good fold.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

winning a hand on the river.... Ive heard its pretty good..

No, no ... having a bad beat free night!

Ahhhh heaven.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

I recently enjoyed playing 22 in mid/late position, flop K2Q, and the early position players start putting chips in the pot. What could they have? Reluctantly I flat call.
    I just love letting others force the play in this situation. At the river a little re-raise, just enough that they can't resist calling. Then "surprise, surprise" :)

Figuring out how to beat the rigging software of online poker, and then laughing at the people who haven't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,604 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

When very shortstacked, on bubble, UTG, in an STT.....Putting your hand over
    the screen where your cards are, clicking Raise All-in, getting a call, keeping
    your hand over your cards so you don't know if the board is good or not.
    And then seeing the chips come your way.
    Great fun (not very sensible perhaps)

Amaru wrote:
    Figuring out how to beat the rigging software of online poker, and then laughing at the people who haven't!

dont suppose you wanna share the little secret do ya ;)

If I told people, then who would i have to laugh at?

hehe good point