Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Exam Results

• 12-06-2005 11:32pm

Does anyone know when the exam results for Senior Freshman TSM are out? In typical Trinity fashion I haven't heard a thing and need to know when to check them, as I will be abroad all summer. Also does anyone know the URL to get them? Is it part of that Student Information System bit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

no idea actually!

Probably should have found that out.

There may be something on your noticeboards if you go into campus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

Online results:
    http://www.tcd.ie/TSM/Results/ (check own result by student number)
    http://www.tcd.ie/Examinations/Results/tsm.html (same as what's on the noticeboard - long list of exam numbers and grades)

It tends to vary which one goes up first!

Non-online results:
    noticeboards @ Nassau St

Dates:
    JS/SS 28th June
    JF/SF 4th July

officially 5pm, although past practice has been to try and get them up by the afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

does that vary for sf students in each department, i thought we wer'e getting our provsional results on the 28th?(health science)

snorlax wrote:
    does that vary for sf students in each department, i thought we wer'e getting our provsional results on the 28th?

I think that Daithí was just throwing up the TSM result dates only. I wish I was getting my results on the 28th anyways...

i dont, thats just over 2 weeks time, seems like i just did them. they produce them alot faster in college then in school...

snorlax wrote:
    i dont, thats just over 2 weeks time, seems like i just did them. they produce them alot faster in college then in school...

Yeah but I still have exams from January that I have to get my results for. And the SF Engineers have exams from December and March. That's a longer wait then even the Junior Cert!

Anyways, what's done is done. I'd much prefer to know then not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

Yeah, it was a direct answer to the question from the TSM student...

we got our results from xmas exams in january...ah the junior cert so long ago...it seems so unimportant now...........

could potentially muck up a summer abroad all the same...and im supposed to know everything backwards for fieldwork placement, its very scarey when you have to apply what you'v learned in the real job world.......and there's not lecture waffling away and you have to deal with real clients..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

Everyone should follow the medical school tradition....

I finished my clinical exams with 1/3 of the class on thursday at 12o'clock. Our honours and pass/fail Viva lists were up just after 2. All vivas were finished at 4. Department meeting took place until 6pm. Examiners broke for dinner until 7. Final examiners meeting reviewing every candidate took place until 10:20 the night of the last exam and we knew our final results on the day.

Thats the way it should be....... all the other departments are pure and simple lazy ****es for taking such a long time to give you your results.

if your correcting essays id say itd take more then 2 hours to correct them properly, vivas are a bit more straightforward.....

yeah, but they correct 120 scripts in under a week just before the final cases. The principle is that in the medical school, they bust their asses getting everything done as fast and efficient as possible so we know our results on the day of the last exam.

Its a really cool tradition..... and the rest of college are lazy feckers who meander along and publish their results when they feel they can be bothered to......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

The medical school didn't do that with us. We won't have any results from them (even the viva) until July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

I think the med school have to be pronto with the results as the final years are heading into hospitals on the 1st of july for their intern year. Bad time for anyone to get sick...

Unless I'm treating you... ;)

meeh but whats the point in killing yourself in job unless its going to get you somewhere eg a promotion or something, you can work well and not kill yourself and still have a life at the same time....i think doctors have a habit of working too much/ hard...i don;t know about you but i work to live rather then live to work!:) eg i do enough to do well, but don't undergoe a CVA at the same time...!

snorlax wrote:
    meeh but whats the point in killing yourself in job unless its going to get you somewhere eg a promotion or something

Sorry, what?! There is something called selfless motives you know? Sure those lads at greenpeace are in it for the craic really...

i just don;t belive in killing myself unneccessarily, and i have done much voluntary aswell as paid work....the irish wildlife trust (2months), peer support netwerk (*2 years)....i think you missed my point slightly, i work hard but don;t kill myself cos i don;t want an early grave

snorlax wrote:
    i just don;t belive in killing myself unneccessarily, and i have done much voluntary aswell as paid work....the irish wildlife trust (2months), peer support netwerk (*2 years)....i think you missed my point slightly, i work hard but don;t kill myself cos i don;t want an early grave

Gotcha, it did seem a bit hypocritical the way I was seeing it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

I fully intend to do paid work in order to support myself, not to get to the top.

Voluntary work is for the good it is does and is another matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

yeah everyone knows that doctors by definition eat too much, sleep too little, do too many drugs and save people's life and tell them there's nothing wrong with them 50 euro please.

I quite like the idea of a few years of hard work, but then time out (hopefully to have a family). If only i could figure out what i want to do....a lot of this will depend on the results, out on July 1st for SF science.

I love the misguided notion of NGO/charity/voluntary sector work being cushy - it's one of the most competitive sectors i know of to get employed in, the contracts are short and if you don't perform well there's hoardes of people snapping at your feet to get your job.

you can get an awful lot of good experince out of voluntary work also....

yeah everyone knows that doctors by definition eat too much, sleep too little, do too many drugs and save people's life and tell them there's nothing wrong with them 50 euro please.

True...... but for you m'dear, its €60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

snorlax wrote:
    you can get an awful lot of good experince out of voluntary work also....

Very true. Despite my pro-hunting stance I've done a lot of conservation work and help with tagging birds to monitor their migration and breeding habits.

Volunteering can be very rewarding, my post a while back was about the rose tinted view of employment in the voluntary sector.

have you ever done dry stone walling John or worked on groundworks conservation workshops, http://www.groundwork.ie/?

i helped the IWT (irish wildlife trust- http://www.iwt.ie ) with illustrations of animals etc fro their book(and many of their pamplets), got the book at home and everything, very rewarding. also, i was secetary, co chair and at one satge PR person for the PSN, now im their webmaster for a website i helped set up for them on yahoogroups http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/peersupport_tcd/ ) hope you like the photo!;)