Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

opening a letter

• 02-06-2005 5:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭

just opened a letter that i thought was addresed to me,
    looked like a bill and just ripped it open.

turns out its a fixed penalyt notice for some other chap,
    probably a previous tenant.

what do i do?
    should i go up to the garda station and explain what happened or throw it in the bin?

i dont want to get in trouble or anything....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

This happened to me recently. About three or four summons arrived for a guy who used to live in the house. He was a non-national who had moved out to another country. I rang Store St. Garda station (where the Garda involved was stationed) and was told to post the summons back to them addressed to the Super-Intendent with a cover letter explaining the situation. I promptly did this.

Got another fine/summons for his failure to show, which i ignored. My efforts appeared to have been in vain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

its a penalty point thing for speeding.
    ill ring the phone number on it in the morning.
    it say hell get a bigger fine if he doent respond so i dont want to leave it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Chalk, It was unintentional.
    Your not going to get in trouble for it, relax.
    Can you seriously see them putting you in jail for:
    opening a letter you thought was addressed to you and after realising it was someone else you went straight to the guards and told them?

Its not manslaughter. Relax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

ok, but your my star witness at the grand jury trial.